هل الإدمان هو مرض في الدماغ؟

هل الإدمان هو مرض في الدماغ؟

ووباء تعاطي مواد الأفيون هو بند كامل في حملة 2016 ، ومعه تساؤلات حول كيفية مكافحة المشكلة ومعالجة الأشخاص المدمنين.

في نقاش في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، وصف بيرني ساندرز الإدمان بأنه "مرض ، وليس نشاطًا إجراميًاوقد وضعت هيلاري كلينتون خطة على موقعها على الإنترنت حول كيفية مكافحة الوباء. هناك ، توصف اضطرابات تعاطي المخدرات بأنها "الأمراض المزمنة التي تؤثر على الدماغ".

المعاهد القومية لإدمان المخدرات تصف الإدمان بـ "مرض مزمن ومهبط للدماغلكن عددًا من العلماء ، بما فيهم أنا ، يشككون في فائدة مفهوم الإدمان كمرض في الدماغ.

علماء النفس مثل جين هيمان في كتابه 2012 ، "الإدمان اضطراب الاختيار" مارك لويس في كتابه 2015 ، "الإدمان ليس مرضًا" وقائمة من الأكاديميين الدوليين في خطاب إلى طبيعة يشككون في قيمة التسمية.

لذا ، ما هو بالضبط الإدمان؟ ما هو الدور ، إن وجد ، الذي يلعبه الاختيار؟ وإذا كان الإدمان ينطوي على الاختيار ، كيف يمكن أن نسميه "مرض دماغي" ، مع ما يترتب على ذلك من عدم الاكتراث؟

وباعتباري طبيباً يعالج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مشاكل متعلقة بالمخدرات ، فقد دفعني إلى طرح هذه الأسئلة عندما وصفت وكالة نيدا الإدمان بأنها "مرض دماغي". وقد أدهشني كمنظور ضيق للغاية يمكن من خلاله فهم مدى تعقيد الإدمان. الإدمان ليس مشكلة في الدماغ ، على الرغم من تورط الدماغ بالتأكيد: إنها مشكلة الشخص.

لماذا ندعو الإدمان بمرض دماغي؟

في منتصف 1990s ، قدم المعهد الوطني لتعاطي المخدرات (NIDA) فكرة أن الإدمان هو "أمراض الدماغتشرح نيدا أن الإدمان "مرض دماغي" حالة لأنها مرتبطة بالتغييرات في بنية الدماغ ووظيفته.

صحيح أن الاستخدام المتكرر للأدوية مثل الهيروين والكوكايين والكحول والنيكوتين يغير الدماغ فيما يتعلق بالدارات المعنية بالذاكرة والتشوق والمتعة. يعتبر بعض المراقبين الإدمان شكلاً من أشكال التعلم: حيث يكتشف الناس أن مادة - أو نشاطًا ، مثل القمار - يساعدهم على تخفيف الألم أو رفع مزاجهم ، فهم يشكلون تعلقاً قوياً به. داخليا، اتصالات متشابك تعزيز لتشكيل الجمعية.

لكنني أزعم أن السؤال الحاسم ليس ما إذا كانت تغيرات الدماغ تحدث - إنهم يفعلون - ولكن ما إذا كانت هذه التغييرات تمنع العوامل التي تحافظ على ضبط النفس للناس.

هل الإدمان فعلاً خارج سيطرة المدمن بنفس الطريقة التي تكون بها أعراض مرض الزهايمر أو التصلب المتعدد خارج سيطرة المصابين؟


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

ليس. لا يمكن لأي قدر من التعزيز أو العقاب أن يغير مسار حالة بيولوجية مستقلة تمامًا. تخيل رشوة مريض من مرض الزهايمر للاحتفاظ بخرفها من التدهور ، أو التهديد بفرض عقوبة عليها إذا فعلت ذلك.

النقطة هي أن المدمنين يستجيبون للعواقب و المكافآت بشكل روتيني. لذا في حين تحدث تغيرات في الدماغ ، فإن وصف الإدمان بأنه مرض دماغي محدود ومضلل ، كما سأشرح.

الانتعاش ممكن

خذ ، على سبيل المثال ، حالة الأطباء والطيارين مع إدمان المخدرات أو الكحول. عندما يتم إبلاغ هؤلاء الأفراد إلى مجالسهم الرقابية ، يتم مراقبتهم عن كثب لعدة سنوات. يتم تعليقها لفترة من الوقت والعودة للعمل تحت المراقبة وتحت إشراف صارم.

إذا لم يلتزموا بالقواعد الموضوعة ، فإن لديهم الكثير ليخسروه (الوظائف والدخل والحالة). ليس من قبيل الصدفة أن معدلات التعافي الخاصة بهم عالية.

وهنا بعض الأمثلة الأخرى للنظر فيها.

في ما يسمى ب تجارب إدارة الطوارئيكافأ الأشخاص المدمنون على الكوكايين أو الهيروين مع قسائم قابلة للاستبدال بالنقود أو السلع المنزلية أو الملابس. هؤلاء الذين يتم اختيارهم بصورة عشوائية على ذراع القسيمة يتمتعون بشكل روتيني بنتائج أفضل من أولئك الذين يتلقون العلاج كالمعتاد.

نظر دراسة إدارة الطوارئ من قبل الطبيب النفسي كينيث سيلفرمان في جامعة جونز هوبكنز. تم تقديم مواد مدمرة من 10 دولارًا أمريكيًا في الساعة للعمل في "مكان عمل علاجي" إذا كانت قد قدمت عينات بولية نظيفة. إذا كانت العينة إيجابية أو إذا رفض الشخص إعطاء عينة ، لا يمكنه حضور العمل وجمع الأجر لذلك اليوم. قدم المشاركون في مكان العمل عينات بولية أكثر سلبية من الأفيون أكثر من الأشخاص في ذراع المقارنة في الدراسة وعملوا أكثر من أيام ، وكان لديهم دخل أعلى في العمل وأنفقوا أموالاً أقل على المخدرات.

عبر محاكم المخدراتيطبق نظام العدالة الجنائية عقوبات سريعة ومحددة على مخالفي المخدرات الذين يخفقون في اختبارات المخدرات. التهديد بالسجن إذا ما فشلت الاختبارات مراراً وتكراراً هو العصا ، في حين أن الجزرة هي الوعد بأن يتم شطب الرسوم في حالة اكتمال البرنامج. المشاركون في محاكم المخدرات يميلون إلى ذلك أجرة أفضل بكثير من حيث إعادة التدخين واستخدام الكحول أكثر من نظرائهم الذين تم الفصل في أمرهم كالمعتاد.

توضح هذه الأمثلة أهمية - في الواقع ، إمكانية - تشكيل السلوك من خلال الحوافز والعقوبات الخارجية.

مرض الاختيار؟

في نموذج الاختيار ، يعتبر الإدمان الكامل انتصارا للقرارات الفورية الحسنة - لتهدئة الانزعاج النفسي أو تنظيم المزاج - على العواقب طويلة الأجل مثل تدهور الأسرة وفقدان الوظائف والصحة والمشاكل المالية.

ولكن إذا كان الإدمان خيارًا ، فلماذا "يختار" أي شخص المشاركة في مثل هذا السلوك التدميري الذاتي؟ لا يختار الناس استخدام عقاقير إدمانية لأنهم يريدون أن يدمنوا. الناس يختارون المواد الإدمانية لأنهم يريدون الإغاثة الفورية.

دعونا نتبع مسار نموذجي. في بداية حلقة من الإدمان ، يزيد الدواء من قيمة الاستمتاع بينما تتراجع الأنشطة ذات المكاسب ، مثل العلاقات أو العمل أو الأسرة ، من حيث القيمة. على الرغم من أن جاذبية الاستخدام تبدأ في التلاشي مع تراكم العواقب - إنفاق الكثير من المال ، والأحباء المخيبين للآمال ، وجذب الشكوك في العمل - لا يزال العقار يحتفظ بالقيمة لأنه ينقذ الألم النفسي ، ويقمع أعراض الانسحاب ويؤخر الرغبة الشديدة.

في العلاج ، والأدوية مثل الميثادون والبوبرينورفين لالاعتماد على المواد الأفيونية ، أو Antabuse أو النالتريكسون لل إدمان الكحول، يمكن أن تساعد بالتأكيد على منع الانسحاب والشغف ، ولكن نادرا هل هي كافية في غياب المشورة أو العلاج لمساعدة المرضى على تحقيق الانتعاش الدائم. الدافع ضروري ل إجراء التغييرات اللازمة.

يجب أن يكون فهم القدرة على الاختيار جزءًا من العلاج

إن الثنائية بين الإختيار بين المرض والخيار لها بعض القيمة لأنها تؤدي إلى التركيز على العلاج على الحبس. لكن هذا deemphasizes نوع العلاج الذي يعمل على أفضل وجه: ألا وهو العلاج الذي يعتمد على تحسين اختيار المريض والتحكم في نفسه والذي يعزز قوة الحوافز والعقوبات. هذا ما يستحقه المدمنون لمساعدتهم على اتخاذ قرارات أفضل في المستقبل.

إنه لأمر أكثر إنتاجية بكثير ، في رأيي ، أن أعرض الإدمان على أنه سلوك يعمل على عدة مستويات ، بدءا من الوظيفة الجزيئية والهيكل ووظائف الأعضاء الدماغية إلى علم النفس والبيئة النفسية والاجتماعية والعلاقات الاجتماعية.

لكن الباحثين في NIDA يدعون أنه كلما فهمنا أكثر العناصر العصبية الحيوية للإدمان ، كلما سنرى هذا الإدمان هو مرض في الدماغ. بالنسبة لي ، من المنطقي أن نستنتج أنه لأنه الآن نعرف المزيد عن دور سمات الشخصية ، مثل القلق ، في زيادة خطر الإدمان ، يمكننا ، أخيرا ، إدراك أن الإدمان هو مرض للشخصية. انها لا. الإدمان ليس مشكلة ذات بعد واحد.

إن الخطاب الرسمي يدمر الخلل عندما يشير ضمنا إلى أنهم مجرد ضحايا عاجزين لأدمغتهم المختطفة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ساتل ساليسالي ساتل ، دكتوراه في الطب ، وهو طبيب نفسي ممارس ومحاضر في كلية الطب بجامعة ييل ، يدرس سياسة الصحة العقلية وكذلك الاتجاهات السياسية في الطب. وتشمل منشوراتها الكمبيوتر ، دكتوراه في الطب: كيف تصحيح الصحة هو الفساد في الطب (الكتب الأساسية ، 2001) ؛ The Health Disparities Myth (AEI Press، 2006)؛ عندما لا يكون الإيثار كافياً: قضية تعويض المتبرعين بالأعضاء (AEI Press، 2009)؛ ودولة واحدة تحت العلاج (مطبعة سانت مارتن ، 2005) ، شاركت في تأليف كريستينا هوف سومرز. كتابها الأخير ، Brainwashed - النداء المغري لعلم الأعصاب غير العقلاني (الأساسي ، 2013) مع سكوت ليلينفيلد ، كان مؤهلاً لـ 2014 في جائزة لوس أنجلوس تايمز للكتاب في العلوم.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

at سوق InnerSelf و Amazon

 

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لاعب بيسبول ث ؛ بشعر أبيض
هل يمكن أن نكون كبار السن؟
by باري Vissell
نعلم جميعًا التعبير ، "أنت كبير في السن بقدر ما تعتقد أو تشعر." الكثير من الناس يستسلمون ...
هل هو مرض كوفيد أم براز التبن 8 7
إليك كيفية معرفة ما إذا كان فيروس كوفيد أم حمى القش
by صموئيل ج. وايت ، وفيليب ب. ويلسون
مع الطقس الدافئ في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، سيعاني الكثير من الناس من حساسية حبوب اللقاح ...
تغير المناخ والفيضانات 7
لماذا يتسبب تغير المناخ في جعل الفيضانات أسوأ
by فرانسيس دافنبورت
على الرغم من أن الفيضانات أمر طبيعي ، إلا أن تغير المناخ الذي يسببه الإنسان يتسبب في حدوث فيضانات شديدة ...
التضخم حول العالم 8 1
التضخم يرتفع في جميع أنحاء العالم
by كريستوفر ديكر
زيادة 9.1٪ في أسعار المستهلكين في الولايات المتحدة في الاثني عشر شهرًا المنتهية في يونيو 12 ، وهي الأعلى في أربعة ...
صنع على ارتداء قناع 7 31
هل سنتصرف وفقًا لنصائح الصحة العامة فقط إذا طلب منا شخص ما ذلك؟
by هولي سيل ، جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز ، سيدني
مرة أخرى في منتصف عام 2020 ، اقترح أن استخدام القناع كان مشابهًا لارتداء حزام الأمان في السيارات. ليس الجميع…
عصي اللطخة المريمية والريش وصائد الأحلام
التطهير والتأريض والحماية: عمليتان أساسيتان
by ماري آن دي ماركو
لدى العديد من الثقافات ممارسة تطهير طقسية ، غالبًا ما يتم ذلك بالدخان أو الماء ، للمساعدة في إزالة ...
القهوة جيدة أو سيئة 7 31
رسائل مختلطة: هل القهوة جيدة أم سيئة بالنسبة لنا؟
by توماس ميريت
القهوة هو جيد بالنسبة لك. أو لا. ربما يكون كذلك ، ثم ليس كذلك ، ثم يكون مرة أخرى. إذا كنت تشرب ...
التغلب على الوحدة 8 4
4 طرق للتعافي من الشعور بالوحدة
by ميشيل اتش ليم
الوحدة ليست أمرًا غير معتاد نظرًا لأنها عاطفة إنسانية طبيعية. ولكن عند التجاهل أو عدم الفعالية ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Is Addiction A Brain Disease?

Is Addiction A Brain Disease?

The opioid abuse epidemic is a full-fledged item in the 2016 campaign, and with it questions about how to combat the problem and treat people who are addicted.

At a debate in December Bernie Sanders described addiction as a “disease, not a criminal activity.” And Hillary Clinton has laid out a plan on her website on how to fight the epidemic. There, substance use disorders are described as “chronic diseases that affect the brain.”

The National Institutes for Drug Addiction describe addiction as “a chronic, relapsing brain disease.” But a number of scholars, myself included, question the usefulness of the concept of addiction as a brain disease.

Psychologists such as Gene Heyman in his 2012 book, “Addiction a Disorder of Choice,” Marc Lewis in his 2015 book, “Addiction is Not a Disease” and a roster of international academics in a letter to Nature are questioning the value of the designation.

So, what exactly is addiction? What role, if any, does choice play? And if addiction involves choice, how can we call it a “brain disease,” with its implications of involuntariness?

As a clinician who treats people with drug problems, I was spurred to ask these questions when NIDA dubbed addiction a “brain disease.” It struck me as too narrow a perspective from which to understand the complexity of addiction. Addiction is not a problem of the brain, though the brain is surely involved: it is a problem of the person.

Why call addiction a brain disease?

In the mid-1990s, the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) introduced the idea that addiction is a “brain disease.” NIDA explains that addiction is a “brain disease” state because it is tied to changes in brain structure and function.

True enough, repeated use of drugs such as heroin, cocaine, alcohol and nicotine do change the brain with respect to the circuitry involved in memory, anticipation and pleasure. Some observers consider addiction a form of learning: as people discover that a substance – or an activity, such as gambling – helps them assuage pain or elevate their mood, they form a strong attachment to it. Internally, synaptic connections strengthen to form the association.

But I would argue that the critical question is not whether brain changes occur – they do – but whether these changes block the factors that sustain self-control for people.

Is addiction truly beyond the control of an addict in the same way that the symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease or multiple sclerosis are beyond the control of the afflicted?


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It is not. No amount of reinforcement or punishment can alter the course of an entirely autonomous biological condition. Imagine bribing an Alzheimer’s patient to keep her dementia from worsening, or threatening to impose a penalty on her if it did.

The point is that addicts do respond to consequences and rewards routinely. So while brain changes do occur, describing addiction as a brain disease is limited and misleading, as I will explain.

Recovery is possible

Take, for example, the case of physicians and pilots with drug or alcohol addiction. When these individuals are reported to their oversight boards, they are monitored closely for several years. They are suspended for a period of time and return to work on probation and under strict supervision.

If they don’t comply with set rules, they have a lot to lose (jobs, income, status). It is no coincidence that their recovery rates are high.

And here are a few other examples to consider.

In so-called contingency management experiments, subjects addicted to cocaine or heroin are rewarded with vouchers redeemable for cash, household goods or clothes. Those randomized to the voucher arm routinely enjoy better results than those receiving treatment as usual.

Consider a study of contingency management by psychologist Kenneth Silverman at Johns Hopkins. Addicted subjects were offered US$10 an hour to work in a “therapeutic workplace” if they submitted clean urine samples. If the sample tests positive or if the person refuses to give a sample, he or she cannot attend work and collect pay for that day. Workplace participants provided significantly more opiate-negative urine samples than people in the comparison arm of the study and worked more days, had higher employment income and spent less money on drugs.

Through drug courts, the criminal justice system applies swift and certain sanctions to drug offenders who fail drug tests. The threat of jail time if tests are repeatedly failed is the stick, while the carrot is the promise that charges are expunged if the program is completed. Participants in drug courts tend to fare significantly better in terms of rearrest and alcohol use than than their counterparts who have been adjudicated as usual.

These examples show the importance – indeed, the possibility – of behavioral shaping through external incentives and sanctions.

A disease of choice?

In a choice model, full-blown addiction is the triumph of feel-good immediate decisions – to quell psychological discomfort or regulate mood – over long-term consequences such as family deterioration, job loss, health and financial problems.

But if addiction is a choice, why would anyone “choose” to engage in such a self-destructive behavior? People don’t choose to use addictive drugs because they want to be addicted. People choose take addictive substances because they want immediate relief.

Let’s follow a typical trajectory. At the start of an episode of addiction, the drug increases in enjoyment value while once-rewarding activities such as relationships, job or family recede in value. Although the appeal of using starts to fade as consequences pile up – spending too much money, disappointing loved ones, attracting suspicion at work – the drug still retains value because it salves psychic pain, suppresses withdrawal symptoms and douses intense craving.

In treatment, medications like methadone and buprenorphine for opiate dependence, or Antabuse or naltrexone for alcoholism, can certainly help suppress withdrawal and craving, but rarely are they sufficient in the absence of counseling or therapy to help patients achieve lasting recovery. Motivation is essential to make needed changes.

Understanding capacity for choice needs to be part of treatment

The disease-versus-choice dichotomy does have some value because it leads to emphasis on treatment over incarceration. But it deemphasizes the kind of treatment that works best: namely, treatment that relies on improving patient choice-making and self-control and that leverages the power of incentives and sanctions. This is what addicted people deserve to help them make better decisions in the future.

It is far more productive, in my view, to view addiction as a behavior that operates on several levels, ranging from molecular function and structure and brain physiology to psychology, psychosocial environment and social relations.

But NIDA researchers claim that the more we understand the neurobiological elements of addiction, the more we will see that addiction is a brain disease. To me, this makes as much sense as concluding that because now we know more about the role of personality traits, such as anxiety, in increasing addiction risk, we can, at last, recognize that addiction is a disease of personality. It’s neither. Addiction is not a problem of one dimension.

Official rhetoric does addicts a disservice when it implies they are merely helpless victims of their own hijacked brains.

About The Author

satel sallySally Satel, M.D., a practicing psychiatrist and lecturer at the Yale University School of Medicine, examines mental health policy as well as political trends in medicine. Her publications include PC, M.D.: How Political Correctness Is Corrupting Medicine (Basic Books, 2001); The Health Disparities Myth (AEI Press, 2006); When Altruism Isn’t Enough: The Case for Compensating Organ Donors (AEI Press, 2009); and One Nation under Therapy (St. Martin’s Press, 2005), coauthored with Christina Hoff Sommers. Her recent book, Brainwashed – The Seductive Appeal of Mindless Neuroscience (Basic, 2013) with Scott Lilienfeld, was a 2014 finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in Science.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

at InnerSelf Market and Amazon

 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
coffee good or bad 7 31
Mixed Messages: Is Coffee Good Or Bad For Us?
by Thomas Merritt
Coffee is good for you. Or it’s not. Maybe it is, then it isn’t, then it is again. If you drink…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.