Le docteur dit que je vais bien... Alors pourquoi est-ce que je me sens si mal ?

image latérale de trois visages de femmes... de l'adulte à l'enfant
Image Szilárd Szabó 

Avez-vous déjà eu l'expérience de la visite à votre médecin parce que vous ne me sentais pas bien pour se faire dire qu'il n'y avait rien de mal à vous ou que vous étiez "en parfaite santé"? Peut-être on vous a donné cette information après une batterie de tests ou après un examen physique de routine. Dans les deux cas, vous avez quitté le bureau se demandent encore pourquoi vous ne me sentais pas bien. Était-ce tout dans votre tête?

"Si je suis si bien", vous vous êtes demandé, "pourquoi je me sens si mal?" Peut-être on vous a dit que le médecin a voulu garder un œil sur les choses et que vous devez retourner pour une autre visite au bureau en quelques mois. "Garder un œil sur les choses» signifiait votre médecin voulait s'assurer que vous n'aviez pas passé de «sain» à «malsain», dans un effort pour veiller à ce que toute maladie a été identifiée et traitée à son stade plus tôt détectable.

Il n'y a pas que toi !

Ce genre d'expérience est assez fréquent, parce que notre modèle médical occidental n'est pas équipé pour faire face à la maladie avant le diagnostic d'une maladie identifiable. C'est parce que le modèle occidental est un modèle de maladie: les médecins traitent la maladie.

Quand vous savez que "quelque chose ne va" et aucune maladie est évident, vous pouvez être laissés avec un sentiment d'égarement. Que pouvez-vous faire? Quelles sont les options?

Tout ce qui est en vous faisant sentir mauvais, de se sentir hors de l'équilibre, se traduit par votre corps de façon que vous pouvez apprendre à observer. Chaque type de déséquilibre vous rencontrez possède certaines caractéristiques. Vous pouvez, par exemple, présentent des déséquilibres qui peuvent être caractérisés par l'idée de froideur - pieds froids et mains, toujours froid, même dans une pièce chaude, sentant émotionnellement froid, etc Ou vous pouvez rencontrer la caractéristique inverse, trop de chaleur . Cela peut se manifester comme des éruptions cutanées, les infections, les fièvres, clignote même chaleur, l'irritabilité et la colère. Il est possible d'avoir à la fois l'excès de chaleur et l'excès de froid -, vous pouvez alterner entre des frissons et une fièvre, ou avoir les mains et les pieds froids, mais aussi avoir un estomac chaud à partir d'un estomac trop acide.

Pour que vous puissiez être en mesure de comprendre la nature de vos déséquilibres, deux choses doivent se produire. Vous devez développer une manière conceptuelle de vous regarder, et puis il faut savoir quoi chercher.

Ce que nous voyons est déterminée non seulement par où nous regardons, mais aussi par les questions que nous posons. La légende veut que les résidents locaux qui ont vécu sur la pointe de l'Amérique du Sud a eu une expérience vraiment unique. Ces «indigènes» littéralement pas pu voir les navires des premiers explorateurs qui approchait. Ils n'avaient aucune idée qu'un navire a même existé. Pas jusqu'à ce que le explorateurs est sorti du navire et sur la terre ont-ils été vu.


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Quelques-uns des concepts que nous décrivons peut se sentir comme vous ne connaissiez pas que les navires étaient aux "indigènes". Cependant, une fois que vous «voir», vous pouvez les appliquer immédiatement pour comprendre ce qui se passe dans votre propre corps.

Qu'est-ce qui se passe?

En utilisant des concepts de la médecine orientale, la médecine chinoise et ayurvédique surtout, il ya cinq idées interdépendants qui peuvent vous aider à comprendre ce qui se passe dans votre corps avant l'apparition de la maladie:

  • Le concept de qualités: comment certaines qualités telles que le chaud et le froid, le sec et le humide, et le léger et le lourd affectent votre santé.

  • La relation entre les qualités et l'équilibre: les déséquilibres peuvent être créés par «trop» ou «trop peu» de qualité. Par exemple, «trop» de chaleur peut entraîner une inflammation.

  • L'interaction de la matière et de l'énergie: la transformation de la matière en énergie et vice versa se produit constamment dans chaque être humain. La nourriture, par exemple, est une forme de matière que nous ingérons pour créer de l'énergie. L'exercice convertit plus de matière en énergie. Le manque d'exercice peut entraîner un gain de poids.

  • La nature du type de corps ou de la constitution: chaque personne est une expression unique du type de corps, de l'esprit et de la conscience. Cette unicité est exprimée au niveau physique, émotionnel / mental et spirituel, ensemble appelé la constitution de chacun.

  • Comment la constitution est affectée par les qualités: «trop» ou «trop peu» de toute qualité affecte tous les niveaux de notre constitution de base. Trop de chaleur, par exemple, peut rendre quelqu'un physiquement chaud, mentalement et émotionnellement agité, et spirituellement épuisé.

La médecine occidentale se concentre sur la physique, ce que nous appelons la matière. La médecine orientale, en revanche, met l'accent sur l'énergie force de vie et la façon dont l'énergie est utilisée d'une manière qui soit de favoriser ou prévenir la maladie. "Énergie de force de vie" est l'énergie qui soutient toute la vie, et sans laquelle la vie n'existe pas. Il se compose de plusieurs types d'énergies, qui, ensemble, que nous appelons la "force de vie." L'interaction de cette énergie vitale subtile et la matière crée des modèles de santé et la maladie, et ces modèles sont reflétées par notre corps dans des marquages ​​spécifiques.

Le changement de paradigme

Pour nous, Occidentaux, cette approche peut être nouvelle et radicale, pour ne pas mentionner amusant et excitant. Dans l'Est, cependant, il est la sagesse antique. Ces concepts ont été utilisés en Inde pour des milliers d'années et en Chine et au Japon pour presque aussi longtemps.

Ce moment dans l'histoire de la médecine est passionnant. Nous croyons que la santé est à l'aube d'une ère nouvelle et se trouve au milieu d'un changement de paradigme à de nouvelles façons de percevoir la santé comme un reflet de la relation de toutes les parties d'un individu - nos corps, les émotions, l'intellect, de l'énergie et esprit. Le nouveau paradigme a pas encore complètement sorti, mais nous estimons que le changement sera intégrer les meilleurs éléments que la médecine à la fois de l'Occident et l'Orient ont à offrir. Et il permettra à une personne d'assumer une certaine responsabilité personnelle pour la gestion de la santé de son / sa propre afin de créer et de maintenir un mode de vie sain.

Ici, en Occident, les soins de santé est en grande partie basé sur la technologie et le corps est considéré d'une manière mécaniste. La maladie est généralement supposé être le résultat d'une sorte d'ingérence extérieure, qui va tout le chemin de «rattrapage de la dernière bogue» pour identification de bactéries, les virus et les micro-organismes qui sont liés à des conditions spécifiques. Alors que nous sommes conscients de différences individuelles uniques, notre système occidental de la médecine ne peut pas anticiper ou expliquer ces différences.

Dans la médecine orientale les sources de la santé et la maladie sont enracinées dans la façon dont nous percevons et expérience de la vie - la façon dont nous vivons, y compris la façon dont nous pensons, sentons, d'agir et manger - de la façon dont nous utilisons notre force de vie. Ces différences individuelles sont considérées en relation avec la constitution individuelle et à la notion d'équilibre. Bien que nous reconnaissions que les agents pathogènes externes peuvent nous rendre malades, l'accent est mis sur l'examen de la manière dont un individu réagit à l'externe, y compris l'invasion par des agents pathogènes externes qui causent toutes sortes d'infections et de maladies. Deux personnes peuvent être exposés à la même maladie. On reste ainsi alors que l'autre tombe malade. Pourquoi est-ce le cas? Beaucoup disent que l'on a un système immunitaire plus fort que l'autre. Toutefois, la médecine orientale, en particulier l'Ayurveda, qui va au-delà d'expliquer pourquoi une personne est plus forte et l'autre est plus faible.

Que nos marques physiques reflètent l'état de notre santé peut sembler un peu radicale pour certains. Cependant, nous appliquons cette approche lorsque nous chercher des indices sur l'état d'un bâtiment. Il ya des marques sur un bâtiment qui révèlent qu'il a besoin de réparation: c.-à-la peinture écaillée, de la moquette humide, plancher bouclée, l'humidité autour des appareils de plomberie, les perfusions et les fuites. Tous ces symptômes sont qu'il ya trop d'une qualité - l'humidité. Si le propriétaire accorde une attention, trouve la source de l'humidité et coupe la source, en plus d'effectuer des réparations nécessaires causées par les dommages causés par l'humidité, le bâtiment restera en bon état. Différentes marques sur un bâtiment pourrait suggérer que l'ensemble des problèmes en face - la pourriture sèche, fissurés murs de pierres sèches, bardage boursouflée. Toutes ces marques se rapportent à une autre qualité - la sécheresse. Problèmes dans n'importe quel bâtiment peut entraîner de l'humidité trop ou trop sec. Les deux sont des termes relatifs. Il est difficile de cerner un sens exact de «trop». Cependant, quand vous voyez un bâtiment qui est en mauvais état, il ne prend pas un pas de géant d'imagination pour se rendre compte que d'importantes causes sous-jacentes sont présents.

Nous pouvons voir ce même principe s'applique à l'écoulement de l'électricité. Quand il ya une quantité excessive d'électricité qui coule à un équipement donné, l'équipement peut surchauffer, court-circuiter, ou même prendre feu. Si, d'autre part, il ya trop peu d'écoulement de l'électricité, les feux peuvent brown-out et de l'équipement peut ne pas fonctionner correctement. Les mêmes processus se produisent avec le flux d'énergie force de vie dans nos corps.

Qualités de cause à effet

La plupart du temps nous faisons des choix de style de vie sur ce que nous faisons, pensons ou manger sans aucune conscience particulière de l'effet de ces choix ont sur notre santé. Tous nos réactions ont des qualités certaines. Penchons-nous à nouveau les qualités de chaud et froid. Si nous nous sentons trop chaud, nous avons instinctivement chercher des moyens pour nous rafraîchir. Lorsque trop froid, nous recherchons quelque chose pour nous réchauffer. Si nous sommes cool et nous voulons être plus froid, nous recherchons quelque chose avec plus froides attributs, peut-être remplacer un ventilateur avec un climatiseur. En général, nous recherchons des qualités comme pour augmenter un certain état, dans ce cas d'augmenter la froideur. Nous recherchons des qualités opposées pour réduire cet état, comme dans le remplacement froideur avec son contraire, la chaleur. A tout moment nous pouvons nous demander comment nous nous sentons, froide ou chaude, et faire les ajustements pour maintenir le confort. De cette façon, nous pouvons regarder à chaque expérience comme englobant les attributs associés. Froide est associée à une constriction, de la condensation, la tension, l'étanchéité, la lourdeur, la lenteur. Chaleur crée l'expansion, la sécheresse, la relaxation.

Dans la médecine orientale, une quantité excessive de toute qualité est identifiée comme une cause de déséquilibre, et les déséquilibres prolongés conduisent à l'apparition de la maladie. Traditionnellement, certaines qualités ont été examinés pour leur impact sur la santé d'une personne. Ces qualités sont énumérés ci-dessous. Il peut y avoir d'autres qualités que vous trouvez utile. Qualités traditionnelles qui ont été utilisés pour des milliers d'années sont présentés sous forme de paires d'opposés:

Populaire

Du froid

Clair

Lourd

Sharp

Terne

Uni

Liquide

Mobile

Statique

Efacer

Nuageux

Sécher

Huileux

Ralentir

Blanchiment

Rugueux

Lisse / Slimy

Douce

Dur

Subtil

Brut

Ces qualités sont présents autour de vous, et que vous rencontrez tout le temps, à tous les niveaux de votre être - corps, âme et conscience. Toute action, de pensée ou d'un événement qui augmente ou diminue d'une qualité donnée a un effet sur vous. Si vous mangez un repas copieux Thanksgiving d'aliments lourds, vous vous sentirez lourd, terne et statique. Vous voudrez probablement faire une sieste plutôt que d'exercer. Si vous mangez beaucoup de repas lourds, vous allez devenir plus lourd, peut-être même obèses. Pour perdre du poids, vous mangez des aliments de la qualité en face, qui sont légers, les aliments secs. De même, toute forme d'agitation va augmenter le sentiment d'être agité. L'agitation liée à la qualité de la mobilité et peuvent provenir de nombreuses sources - votre esprit tourne en rond, des troubles émotionnels, de voyage trop, constante de mouvement physique, de l'agitation corporelle, trop de lumière et de la nourriture de production de gaz (tels que les haricots), même trop vent (commencer à vérifier si vous êtes plus inquiet sur les jours de grand vent). Pour atténuer les sentiments de l'agitation, de ce que nous appelons la mobilité excessive, vous pouvez consulter ce qui, dans votre vie est en augmentation de mobilité et de commencer à faire des modifications à apporter quant à l'effet contraire. Par exemple, vous pourriez apprendre à contrôler votre esprit grâce à des techniques de relaxation, de changer votre forme d'exercice à un type plus calme, manger plus lourds, non-gazeux aliments produisant, rester en dehors de l'excès de vent, etc

Lorsque vous commencer à voir ce qui arrive à votre corps, l'esprit ou la conscience du point de vue des qualités, vous commencez à avoir une poignée sur ce que vous devez faire pour amener cette qualité sous contrôle, pour l'amener à l'équilibre. Vous commencez tuning dans vos biorythmes naturels et apprendre à faire de ce moment-à-moment, tous les jours, ou de façon saisonnière. Lorsque vous commencez à éliminer la cause, vous commencez à retirer ses effets.

Droit d'auteur 2001. Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Éditions Blue Dolphin.
www.bluedolphinpublishing.com

Source de l'article:

Mon médecin dit que je vais bien? Alors pourquoi ne I Feel So Bad?
par Margaret Smith Peet, ND et Shoshana Zimmerman, ND.

couverture du livre Mon docteur dit que je vais bien ? Alors pourquoi je me sens si mal ?, par Margaret Smith Peet, ND et Shoshana Zimmerman, ND.Mon médecin dit que je vais bien ... alors pourquoi je me sens si mal concerne les processus qui créent des déséquilibres dans notre corps et comment les identifier entre le moment de la vraie santé et le début de la maladie. Cinq concepts interdépendants de la médecine orientale décrivent ces processus. Comment la constitution est affectée par les qualités : " trop " ou " trop peu " de n'importe quelle qualité affecte tous les niveaux de notre constitution de base.

Info / Commander ce livre.

À propos des auteurs

photo de Margaret Smith Peet et Shoshana ZimmermanMargaret Smith Peet, ND, (à droite) est un docteur en naturopathie avec une spécialité en Ayurveda. Elle était étudiante à temps plein du Dr Vasant Lad à l'Institut ayurvédique d'Albuquerque. De plus, le Dr Peet a beaucoup étudié dans les domaines du T'ai Chi, de la phytothérapie chinoise et du Shiatsu. Le Dr Peet vit dans le Maine.

Shoshana Zimmerman, ND, (à gauche) est un docteur en naturopathie avec une spécialité dans l'Ayurveda. Après les premières années dans le Corps de la Paix et dans le monde des affaires, elle se tourna vers l'Ayurvéda comme son objectif de carrière principale. Le Dr Zimmerman a passé un certain nombre d'années à étudier avec le Dr Vasant Lad à l'Institut Ayurveda à Albuquerque. Elle maintient une pratique privée en Californie.
  


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Doc Says I'm Fine... So Why Do I Feel So Bad?

side image of three women's faces... from adult to child
Image by Szilárd Szabó 

Have you ever had the experience of visiting your doctor because you didn't feel well only to be told there was nothing wrong with you or that you were "perfectly healthy"? Perhaps you were given this information after a battery of tests or after a routine physical exam. In either case, you left the office still wondering why you didn't feel well. Was it all in your head?

"If I am so fine," you asked yourself, "why do I feel so bad?" Perhaps you were told that the doctor wanted to keep an eye on things and that you should return for another office visit in a few months. "Keeping an eye on things" meant your doctor wanted to make sure you had not gone from "healthy" to "unhealthy," in an effort to ensure that any disease was identified and treated at its earliest detectable stage.

It's Not Just You!

This kind of experience is quite common, because our Western medical model is not equipped to deal with the disease process prior to the diagnosis of an identifiable disease. That is because the Western model IS a disease model: physicians treat disease.

When you know "something is wrong" and no disease is obvious, you can be left with a feeling of bewilderment. What can you do? What are the options?

Whatever is causing you to feel bad, to feel out of balance, is reflected by your body in ways you can learn to observe. Each kind of imbalance you experience has certain characteristics. You may, for example, have imbalances that can be characterized by the idea of coldness -- cold feet and hands, always feeling cold even in a warm room, feeling emotionally cold, etc. Or you may experience the opposite characteristic, too much heat. This can manifest as rashes, infections, fevers, even hot flashes, irritability and anger. It is possible to have both excess cold and excess heat -- you can alternate between cold chills and a fever, or have cold hands and feet but also have a hot heartburn from an overly acid stomach.

For you to be able to understand the nature of your imbalances, two things need to happen. You have to develop a conceptual way of looking at yourself, and then you have to know what to look for.

What we see is determined not only by where we look, but also by the questions we ask. Legend has it that the local residents who lived on the tip of South America had a truly unique experience. These "natives" literally could not see the ships of the early explorers approaching. They had no concept that a ship even existed. Not until the explorers got out of the ship and onto the land were they seen.

Some of the concepts we describe may feel as unfamiliar to you as the ships were to the "natives." However, once you "see" them you can immediately apply them to understanding what's happening in your own body.

What Is Happening?

Using concepts from Eastern medicine, primarily Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine, there are five interrelated ideas that can help you understand what is happening in your body prior to the onset of disease:

  • The concept of qualities: how certain qualities such as hot and cold, dry and wet, and light and heavy impact your health.

  • The relationship between qualities and balance: imbalances can be created by "too much" or "too little" of any quality. For example, "too much" heat can lead to inflammation.

  • The interaction of matter and energy: the transformation of matter into energy and vice versa is constantly occurring in every human being. Food, for example, is a form of matter we ingest to create energy. Exercise converts more matter into energy. Lack of exercise can lead to weight gain.

  • The nature of body type or constitution: each person is a unique expression of body type, mind and consciousness. This uniqueness is expressed at the physical, emotional/mental and spiritual levels, together referred to as one's constitution.

  • How constitution is affected by qualities: "too much" or "too little" of any quality affects all levels of our basic constitution. Too much heat, for example, can make one physically hot, mentally and emotionally agitated, and spiritually exhausted.

Western medicine focuses on the physical, what we call matter. Eastern medicine, in contrast, focuses on life force energy and how that energy is used in ways that either foster or prevent illness. "Life force energy" is energy that sustains all life, and without which life does not exist. It consists of many types of energies, which taken together we call the "life force." The interaction of this subtle life force energy and matter creates patterns of health and illness, and these patterns are reflected by our bodies in specific markings.

The Shift in Paradigm

For us Westerners, this approach may be new and radical, not to mention fun and exciting. In the East, however, it is ancient wisdom. These concepts have been used in India for thousands of years and in China and Japan for almost that long.

This moment in the history of medicine is exciting. We believe that healthcare is at the cusp of a new era and is in the midst of a paradigm shift to new ways of viewing health as a reflection of the relationship of all parts of an individual -- our bodies, emotions, intellect, energy and spirit. The new paradigm has not completely emerged, but we submit that the shift will incorporate the best that medicine from both the West and East have to offer. And it will enable a person to assume some personal responsibility for managing his/her own health in order to create and maintain a healthier lifestyle.

Here in the West, healthcare is largely based on technology and the body is viewed in a mechanistic way. Disease is usually assumed to be the result of some sort of outside interference, which ranges all the way from "catching the latest bug" to identifying bacteria, viruses,and microorganisms that are linked to specific conditions. While we are aware of unique individual differences, our Western system of medicine cannot anticipate or explain those differences.

In Eastern medicine the sources of health and illness are rooted in how we perceive and experience life -- the way we live, including the way we think, feel, act and eat -- the way we use our life force. These individual differences are viewed in relationship to individual constitution and to the concept of balance. While we recognize that external pathogens can make us ill, the emphasis is on examining the way an individual responds to the external, including invasion by external pathogens that cause all kinds of infections and illnesses. Two people may be exposed to the same disease. One remains well while the other becomes sick. Why is this the case? Many say that one has a stronger immune system than the other. However, Eastern medicine, particularly Ayurveda, goes beyond that to explain why one person is stronger and the other is weaker.

That our physical markings reflect the condition of our health may seem a bit radical to some. However, we apply this approach when we look for clues about the condition of a building. There are markings on a building that reveal it needs repair: i.e., peeling paint, wet carpeting, buckled flooring, dampness around plumbing fixtures, drips and leaks. All these are symptoms that there is too much of one quality -- wetness. If the owner pays attention, finds the source of the wetness and cuts off the source, in addition to making needed repairs caused by damage from wetness, the building will remain in good condition. Different markings on a building could suggest just the opposite set of problems -- dry rot, cracked dry walls, blistered siding. All these markings relate to another quality -- dryness. Problems in any building can result from too much wetness or too much dryness. Both are relative terms. It is hard to pin down an exact meaning for "too much." However, when you see a building that is in disrepair, it does not take a giant leap of imagination to realize that significant underlying causes are present.

We can see this same principle applying to the flow of electricity. When there is an excessive amount of electricity flowing to a given piece of equipment, the equipment can become overheated, short-out, or even catch fire. If, on the other hand, there is too little flow of electricity, lights can brown-out and equipment cannot operate correctly. The same processes occur with the flow of life force energy in our bodies.

Qualities and Cause and Effect

Most of the time we make lifestyle choices about what we do, think or eat without any particular awareness of the effect those choices have on our health. All of our reactions have certain qualities. Let us look again at the qualities of hot and cold. If we feel too hot, we instinctively look for ways to cool ourselves. When too cold, we look for something to warm us. If we are cool and we want to be colder, we look for something with cooler attributes, perhaps replacing a fan with an air conditioner. In general, we search for like qualities to increase a certain state, in this case to increase coldness. We look for opposite qualities to decrease that state, as in replacing coldness with its opposite, warmth. At any moment we can ask ourselves how we are feeling, cold or warm, and make adjustments to maintain comfort. In this way, we can look at every experience as encompassing associated attributes. Cold is associated with constriction, condensation, tension, tightness, heaviness, slowness. Warmth creates expansion, dryness, relaxation.

In Eastern medicine, an excessive amount of any quality is identified as a cause of imbalance, and prolonged imbalances lead to onset of the disease process. Traditionally, certain qualities have been examined for their impact on a person's health. These qualities are listed below. There may well be other qualities that you find helpful. Traditional qualities that have been used for thousands of years are presented as pairs of opposites:

Hot

Cold

Light

Heavy

Sharp

Dull

Solid

Liquid

Mobile

Static

Clear

Cloudy

Dry

Oily

Slow

Fast

Rough

Smooth/Slimy

Soft

Hard

Subtle

Gross

These qualities are present around you, and you experience them all the time, at every level of your being -- body, mind and consciousness. Any action, thought or event that increases or decreases a given quality has an effect on you. If you eat a large Thanksgiving meal of heavy foods, you will feel heavy, dull and static. You will probably want to take a nap rather than to exercise. If you eat many heavy meals, you will become heavier, perhaps even obese. To lose weight, you will eat foods of the opposite quality, which are light, dry foods. Similarly, any form of agitation will increase feelings of being agitated. Agitation involves the quality of mobility and can come from many sources -- your mind running in circles, emotional upsets, too much travel, constant physical movement, bodily restlessness, too much light and gas producing food (such as beans), even too much wind (start checking out whether you are more restless on windy days). To lessen feelings of agitation, of what we would call excessive mobility, you can review what in your life is increasing mobility and begin making changes to bring about the opposite effect. For example, you might learn to control your mind through relaxation techniques, change your form of exercise to a more calming type, eat heavier, non-gaseous producing foods, stay out of excessive wind, etc.

When you start viewing what happens to your body, mind or consciousness from the perspectives of qualities, you begin to have a handle on what you need to do to bring that quality under control, to bring it into balance. You begin tuning into your natural biorhythms and learn to do this moment-to-moment, daily, or seasonally. When you begin to remove the cause, you begin to remove its effects.

Copyright 2001. Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Blue Dolphin Publishing.
www.bluedolphinpublishing.com

Article Source:

My Doctor Says I'm Fine? So Why Do I Feel So Bad?
by Margaret Smith Peet, ND and Shoshana Zimmerman, ND.

book cover of My Doctor Says I'm Fine? So Why Do I Feel So Bad?,  by Margaret Smith Peet, ND and Shoshana Zimmerman, ND.My Doctor Says I'm Fine ... So Why Do I Feel So Bad is about the processes that create imbalances in our bodies and how to identify them between the time of true health and the onset of disease. Five interrelated concepts from Eastern medicine describe these processes. How constitution is affected by qualities: "too much" or "too little" of any quality affects all levels of our basic constitution.

Info/Order this book.

About the Authors

photo of Margaret Smith Peet and Shoshana Zimmerman Margaret Smith Peet, ND, (right) is a naturopathic doctor with a specialty in Ayurveda. She was a full-time student of Dr. Vasant Lad at the Ayurvedic Institute in Albuquerque. In addition, Dr. Peet has studied extensively in the areas of T'ai Chi, Chinese Herbal Medicine, and Shiatsu. Dr. Peet lives in Maine.

Shoshana Zimmerman, ND, (left) is a naturopathic doctor with a specialty in Ayurveda. After early years in the Peace Corps and in the business world, she turned to Ayurveda as her main career focus. Dr. Zimmerman spent a number of years studying with Dr. Vasant Lad at the Ayurveda Institute in Albuquerque. She maintains a private practice in California.
  

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

happy woman 's face
How To Experience A Mystical State of Consciousness
by Ora Nadrich
Whatever it is we seek pleasure from, relying on external things to give us the high or a feeling…
a blurred clock expanding over a starry background
Horoscope Current Week: December 6 - 12, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
12 05 from rigidity to change 647528 complete
From Rigidity to Change
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
In order for things, or people, to change they need to be flexible. A willow tree bends in the wind…
man and dog in front of giant sequoia trees in California
The Art of Constant Wonder: Thank you, Life, for this day
by Pierre Pradervand
One of the greatest secrets of life is to know how to constantly marvel at existence and at the…
Photo: Total Solar Eclipse on August 21, 2017.
Horoscope: Week of November 29 - December 5, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
young boy looking through binoculars
The Power of Five: Five Weeks, Five Months, Five Years
by Shelly Tygielski
At times, we have to let go of what is to make room for what will be. Of course, the very idea of…
man eating fast food
It's Not About the Food: Overeating, Addictions, and Emotions
by Jude Bijou
What if I told you a new diet called the "It's Not About the Food" is gaining popularity and…
woman dancing in the middle of an empty highway with a city skyline in the background
Having the Courage to Be True to Ourselves
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Each one of us is a unique individual, and thus it seems to follow that each one of us has a…
What If The World Was One Country? A Psychologist On Why We Need To Think Beyond Borders
What If The World Was One Country? A Psychologist On Why We Need To Think Beyond Borders
by Steve Taylor
There are countless different species on the surface of this planet. One of these is the human…
A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials
A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials
by Elizabeth Fournier
The basic tenets of environmentally friendly living are now being posed for environmentally…
The Three Constructive Ultimate Attitudes
The Three Constructive Ultimate Attitudes
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
The three constructive Ultimate Attitudes are universal concepts that are at the root of every…

Selected for InnerSelf Magazine

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
by Tracy Marks
Astrology is a powerful art, capable of enhancing our lives by enabling us to understand our own…
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
If you're waiting for a change and frustrated it's not happening, maybe it would be beneficial to…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.