هل يجب أن تحصل على جرعة معززة لـ Covid-19 الآن أم تنتظر حتى السقوط؟

الحصول على اللقاح المعزز 4 28

بينما تستمر لقاحات COVID-19 في الظهور فعالة للغاية في منع الاستشفاء والوفاة ، أصبح من الواضح أن الحماية التي توفرها اللقاحات الحالية يتلاشى بمرور الوقت. هذا يستلزم استخدام طلقات معززة آمنة وفعالة في تعزيز الاستجابة المناعية ضد الفيروس وتوسيع نطاق الحماية.

ولكن متى تحصل على التعزيز الأول أو الثاني ، وأيها تختار ، هي أسئلة مفتوحة. يجد الكثير من الناس أنفسهم غير متأكدين مما إذا كانوا سينتظرون تركيبات جديدة ومحدثة من لقاحات COVID-19 أو لخلط مجموعات من سلالات اللقاح الأصلية ومطابقتها.

يستخدم SARS-CoV-2 ، الفيروس الذي يسبب COVID-19 بروتين سبايك على شكل مقبض للدخول إلى الخلايا والتسبب في العدوى. يعتمد كل من اللقاحات الحالية والقادمة على محاكاة بروتين السنبلة لتحفيز الاستجابة المناعية. ومع ذلك ، فإن كل نوع من أنواع اللقاح يقدم بروتين سبايك لجهاز المناعة بطرق مختلفة.

As علماء المناعة دراسة التهابات و الأمراض المعدية، بما في ذلك COVID-19 ، نحن مهتمون بفهم كيف تختلف تصاميم لقاح COVID-19 في نوع المناعة التي تطلقها والحماية التي تنتج عنها.

لقاحات جديدة ثنائية التكافؤ

Moderna و Pfizer-BioNTech ، الشركتان اللتان كانت لقاحات الرنا المرسال هي الخيارات الأساسية لتلقيح COVID-19 في جميع الفئات العمرية ، لديهما تركيبات لقاح جديدة في الطريق. من المقرر أن تجتمع لجنة استشارية تابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء في 28 يونيو 2022 إلى تقييم أحدث الإصدارات ولتحديد أيهما من المرجح أن يوصى باستخدامه في اللقطات المعززة لهذا الخريف.

يمزج لقاح موديرنا الجديد ثنائي التكافؤ mRNA الذي يشفر البروتينات الشائكة لفيروس SARS-CoV-2 الأصلي بالإضافة إلى بروتين سبايك المختلف قليلاً عن أكثر متغير omicron المعدية.

في أوائل يونيو 2022 ، قالت موديرنا إنه في التجارب السريرية ، لقاحه ثنائي التكافؤ يتفوق على سلالة اللقاح الأصلية، مما يؤدي إلى استجابة مناعية أقوى وحماية أطول ضد SARS-CoV-2 الأصلي و متغيراته ، بما في ذلك omicron.

أعلنت موديرنا لاحقًا أن أحدث صيغها أيضًا يؤدي أداءً جيدًا ضد أحدث متغيرات omicron الفرعية ، BA.4 و BA.5، والتي سرعان ما أصبحت السلالات المهيمنة في الولايات المتحدة بسبب الاستجابة المناعية الأقوى بشكل ملحوظ التي تحفزها اللقطة الجديدة ، تتوقع موديرنا أن قد تستمر هذه الحماية لمدة عام وخطط ل طرح لقاحها الجديد في أغسطس.

يمكن أن يتوفر معزز Moderna الجديد بحلول خريف عام 2022.

 

ومؤخرا ، في 25 يونيو ، أعلنت شركة Pfizer-BioNTech أيضًا نتائج تركيبتي لقاح COVID-19 الجديدتين: تركيبة ثنائية التكافؤ تتكون من mRNA الذي يشفر البروتينات الشوكية لسلالة SARS-CoV-2 الأصلية والمتغير الأصلي BA.1 omicron ، وإصدار "أحادي التكافؤ" فقط موجه إلى بروتين السنبلة BA.1.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

أظهرت الدراسات الأولية للشركة أن كلا من اللقاحين أحادي التكافؤ وثنائي التكافؤ حفز الأجسام المضادة التي حيدت المتغيرات الفرعية الأحدث أوميكرون BA.4 و BA.5 ، على الرغم من أنها كانت بدرجة أقل من المتغير BA.1. ومع ذلك ، لقاح فايزر أحادي التكافؤ أحدث أجسامًا مضادة أفضل للفيروسات ضد المتغير omicron BA.1 من اللقاح الثنائي التكافؤ.

ومع ذلك ، ما إذا كانت الاختلافات في مستويات هذه الأجسام المضادة التي شوهدت مع اللقاحات أحادية التكافؤ مقابل اللقاحات ثنائية التكافؤ تترجم إلى مستويات مختلفة من الحماية ضد متغيرات أوميكرون الأحدث ، فلا يزال يتعين تحديدها في التجارب السريرية.

التقدم في لقاح نوفافاكس

هناك صيغة لقاح أخرى تشق طريقها نحو الحصول على إذن وهي Novavax ، وهو لقاح تم إنشاؤه باستخدام بروتين سبايك لفيروس SARS-CoV-2 الأصلي. لقاح نوفافاكس ميزة الوجود على غرار اللقاحات التقليدية، مثل ال لقاحات DTaP ضد الدفتيريا والتيتانوس والسعال الديكي، أو اللقاحات ضد الالتهابات الفيروسية الأخرى مثل التهاب الكبد والقوباء المنطقية. تم اختبار لقاح نوفافاكس سريريًا في جنوب إفريقيا والمملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة ووجد أنه كذلك آمن وفعال للغاية مع فعالية 90٪ ضد الأشكال الخفيفة والمتوسطة والحادة من COVID-19.

لجنة استشارية لإدارة الغذاء والدواء أيد لقاح نوفافاكس في أوائل يونيو 2022. الآن ، تقوم إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية بمراجعة التغييرات التي أجرتها شركة Novavax أثناء عملية التصنيع قبل اتخاذ قرارها بالسماح بالتصوير.

في أستراليا ، تم تسجيل لقاح نوفافاكس مؤخرًا بشكل مؤقت باعتباره معززًا للأفراد الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 18 عامًا فما فوق. الشركة إجراء المرحلة الثالثة من التجارب السريرية لتحديد ما إذا كان يمكن استخدام لقاحه بأمان وفعالية كمعزز لدى الأشخاص الذين سبق لهم أخذ لقاحات mRNA.

عندما تصبح هذه اللقاحات الجديدة متاحة في الأشهر المقبلة ، سيكون لدى الناس خيارات أكثر بكثير لخلط اللقاحات ومطابقتها من أجل تعزيز مدة وجودة الحماية المناعية ضد COVID-19.

لا يحتاج Novavax إلى التجميد ، لذا فإن تخزين اللقاح وتسليمه أسهل بكثير.

 

خلط والمطابقة

حتى ذلك الحين ، أظهرت الدراسات السريرية ذلك الاختلاط والمطابقة أنواع اللقاحات الحالية هي استراتيجية فعالة للتعزيز. فمثلا، دراسات حديثة نقترح أنه عندما تلقى البالغون الذين تم تطعيمهم بالكامل بأي من لقاحات COVID-19 الثلاثة الأصلية - Pfizer-BioNTech أو Moderna أو Johnson & Johnson - جرعة معززة بعلامة تجارية مختلفة للقاح عن تلك التي تلقوها في سلسلتهم الأولية ، استجابة مناعية مماثلة أو أكثر قوة مقارنة بالتعزيز بنفس العلامة التجارية للقاح.

تم خلط اللقاح وجدت أنها آمنة وفعالة في دراسات مختلفة. يعود السبب في أن خلط اللقاحات قد ينتج استجابة مناعية أكثر قوة إلى الطريقة التي يقدم بها كل واحد بروتين سبايك للفيروس إلى الجهاز المناعي.

عندما يتحور فيروس SARS-CoV-2 في مناطق بروتين سبايك ، كما كان الحال مع كل من المتغيرات والمتغيرات الفرعية ، ويحاول التهرب من الخلايا المناعية ، يمكن للأجسام المضادة التي تتعرف على أجزاء مختلفة من بروتين سبايك أن توقفه في مساراتها وتمنع الفيروس من إصابة خلايا الجسم.

لذا ، سواء قررت الحصول على جرعة معززة الآن أو الانتظار حتى الخريف ، فإنه من المشجع بالنسبة للكثيرين معرفة أن المزيد من الخيارات في الطريق.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

براكاش ناجاركاتي، أستاذ علم الأمراض والأحياء الدقيقة وعلم المناعة ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا و ميتزي ناجاركاتي، أستاذ علم الأمراض والأحياء الدقيقة وعلم المناعة ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

طفل يبتسم
إعادة تسمية واسترداد المقدس
by فيليدا أنام حير
المشي في الطبيعة ، تناول الطعام اللذيذ ، الشعر ، اللعب مع أطفالنا ، الرقص والغناء ، ...
مذبح الاعتدال
عمل مذبح الاعتدال ومشاريع الاعتدال الخريفية الأخرى
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
الاعتدال الخريفي هو الوقت الذي تصبح فيه البحار قاسية مع حلول رياح الشتاء. وهو أيضًا ...
أطفال فضوليون 9 17
5 طرق لإبقاء الأطفال فضوليين
by بيري زورن
الأطفال فضوليون بشكل طبيعي. لكن القوى المختلفة في البيئة يمكن أن تثبط فضولهم بشأن ...
النقود الرقمية 9 15
كيف غيرت النقود الرقمية طريقة عيشنا
by دارومير رودنيكيج
بعبارات بسيطة ، يمكن تعريف النقود الرقمية على أنها شكل من أشكال العملة التي تستخدم شبكات الكمبيوتر من أجل ...
مثل الجينات ، تنتقل ميكروبات أمعائك من جيل إلى آخر
مثل الجينات ، تنتقل ميكروبات أمعائك من جيل إلى آخر
by Taichi A. Suzuki و Ruth Ley
عندما رحل البشر الأوائل من إفريقيا ، حملوا معهم ميكروبات أمعائهم. يتحول،…
الإقلاع عن التدخين 9
لماذا يجب أن تتحدث إلى رئيسك في العمل قبل "الاستسلام الهادئ"
by كاري كوبر
الإقلاع عن التدخين الهادئ هو اسم جذاب ، شائع على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، لشيء ربما يكون لدينا جميعًا ...
الطاقة المتجددة 9
لماذا ليس من المنافي للبيئة أن تكون لصالح النمو الاقتصادي
by إيوين ماكلولين وآخرون
في خضم أزمة تكلفة المعيشة اليوم ، هناك العديد من الأشخاص الذين ينتقدون فكرة الاقتصاد ...
إخفاء التضخم 9
3 طرق تغير الشركات منتجاتها لإخفاء التضخم
by أدريان بالمر
هناك بعض التغييرات في المنتجات التي يمكن للشركات القيام بها لمحاولة طيها بهدوء ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Should You Get A Covid-19 Booster Shot Now Or Wait Until Fall?

get vaccine booster 4 28

While COVID-19 vaccines continue to be highly effective at preventing hospitalization and death, it has become clear that the protection offered by the current vaccines wanes over time. This necessitates the use of booster shots that are safe and effective in enhancing the immune response against the virus and extending protection.

But when to get a first or second booster, and which shot to choose, are open questions. Many people find themselves unsure whether to wait on new, updated formulations of the COVID-19 vaccines or to mix and match combinations of the original vaccine strains.

SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, uses its knob-shaped spike protein to gain entry into cells and to cause infection. Each of the existing and upcoming vaccines relies on emulating the spike protein to trigger the immune response. However, each vaccine type presents the spike protein to the immune system in different ways.

As immunologists studying inflammatory and infectious diseases, including COVID-19, we are interested in understanding how the COVID-19 vaccine designs differ in the type of immunity they trigger and the protection that results.

New bivalent vaccines

Moderna and Pfizer-BioNTech, the two companies whose mRNA vaccines have been the primary options for COVID-19 vaccination across all age groups, both have new vaccine formulations on the way. An advisory committee of the Food and Drug Administration is set to meet on June 28, 2022, to evaluate the newest versions and to decide on which are likely to be recommended for use in this fall’s booster shots.

Moderna’s new bivalent vaccine mixes mRNA that encodes for the spike proteins of the original SARS-CoV-2 virus as well as the slightly different spike protein of the more infectious omicron variant.

In early June 2022, Moderna said that in clinical trials, its bivalent vaccine outcompetes the original vaccine strain, inducing a stronger immune response and longer protection against the original SARS-CoV-2 and its variants, including omicron.

Moderna later announced that its newest formulation also performs well against the newest omicron subvariants, BA.4 and BA.5, which are quickly becoming the dominant strains in the U.S. Because of the significantly stronger immune response that the new shot induces, Moderna predicts that such protection may last a year and plans to introduce its new vaccine in August.

The new Moderna booster could be available by fall 2022.

 

And most recently, on June 25, Pfizer-BioNTech also announced results for its two new COVID-19 vaccine formulations: a bivalent formulation consisting of mRNA that encodes for the spike proteins of the original SARS-CoV-2 strain and the original BA.1 omicron subvariant, and a “monovalent” version that is only directed at the spike protein of BA.1.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The company’s preliminary studies demonstrated that both the monovalent and the bivalent vaccines triggered antibodies that neutralized the newer omicron BA.4 and BA.5 subvariants, although to a lesser degree than the BA.1 subvariant. However, Pfizer’s monovalent vaccine triggered better virus-neutralizing antibodies against the omicron BA.1 subvariant than did the bivalent vaccine.

However, whether the differences in the levels of such antibodies seen with the monovalent versus bivalent vaccines translate into different levels of protection against newer omicron variants remains to be established in clinical trials.

Progress on the Novavax vaccine

Another vaccine formulation that is working its way toward authorization is Novavax, a vaccine built using the spike protein of the original SARS-CoV-2 virus. The Novavax vaccine has the advantage of being similar to traditional vaccines, such as the DTaP vaccines against diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis, or the vaccines against other viral infections such as hepatitis and shingles. The Novavax vaccine has been clinically tested in South Africa, the United Kingdom and the U.S. and found to be safe and highly effective with 90% efficacy against mild, moderate and severe forms of COVID-19.

An advisory committee to the Food and Drug Administration endorsed the Novavax vaccine in early June 2022. Now, the FDA is reviewing changes that Novavax made during its manufacturing process before making its decision to authorize the shot.

In Australia, the Novavax vaccine was recently registered provisionally as a booster for individuals aged 18 years and over. The company is performing phase 3 clinical trials to determine if its vaccine can be used safely and effectively as a booster in people who have previously taken mRNA vaccines.

When these new vaccines become available in the coming months, people will have significantly more options for mixing and matching vaccines in order to enhance the duration and quality of their immune protection against COVID-19.

Novavax does not need to be frozen, so storage and delivery of the vaccine is much easier.

 

Mixing and matching

Until then, clinical studies have shown that even mixing and matching the existing vaccine types is an effective strategy for boosting. For example, recent studies suggest that when adults who were fully vaccinated with any of the original three COVID-19 vaccines – Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna or Johnson & Johnson – received a booster dose with a different vaccine brand from the one they received in their initial series, they had a similar or more robust immune response compared to boosting with the same brand of vaccine.

Vaccine mixing has been found to be safe and effective in various studies. The reason why mixing vaccines might produce a more robust immune response goes back to how each one presents the spike protein of the virus to the immune system.

When the SARS-CoV-2 virus mutates in regions of the spike protein, as has been the case with each of the variants and subvariants, and tries to evade the immune cells, antibodies that recognize different parts of the spike protein can stop it in its tracks and prevent the virus from infecting the body’s cells.

So whether you decide to get a booster shot now or wait until the fall, for many it’s heartening to know that more options are on the way.The Conversation

About The Author

Prakash Nagarkatti, Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology, University of South Carolina and Mitzi Nagarkatti, Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology, University of South Carolina

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
coffee good or bad 7 31
Mixed Messages: Is Coffee Good Or Bad For Us?
by Thomas Merritt
Coffee is good for you. Or it’s not. Maybe it is, then it isn’t, then it is again. If you drink…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.