هل تتشابك حقبات النساء معًا عندما يقضون وقتًا معًا؟

هل تتشابك حقبات النساء معًا عندما يقضون وقتًا معًا؟

إنه اعتقاد شائع بأن النساء اللواتي يعشن معاً يتزامنان مع دورتي الحيض ، وأنه يتوسط بوساطة الفيرومونات ، وهي الجزيئات المحمولة جواً التي تمكِّن أعضاء من نفس النوع من التواصل غير اللفظي.

الفكرة نشأت في دراسة نشرت في الطبيعة في 1971، والتي سجلت بيانات عن بداية الحيض لطلاب كلية 135 الأمريكية الذين يعيشون في عنبر. كانت صالة النوم المشتركة تحتوي على أربعة ممرات لكل منها حول فتيات 25 الذين يعيشون في غرف مفردة ومزدوجة. واستناداً إلى تحليل نحو 8 دورات لكل امرأة ، ذكرت الدراسة زيادة في التزامن (انخفاض في الفرق بين تواريخ البدء) لزملاء الغرفة وبين أقرب الأصدقاء ، ولكن ليس بين التزاوج العشوائي في المهجع. افترض المؤلف أن ذلك كان مدفوعًا بالوقت الذي قضته النساء معًا ، لأن هذا سيسمح بالاتصال بالفرمونات.

ومنذ ذلك الحين ، تمت دراسة ما يسمى "التزامن الاجتماعي" بشكل مكثف في مجموعات مختلفة من النساء ، مثل الاصحاب الغرفة, زملاء العمل, الأزواج مثليه والنساء من ارتفاع معدلات الخصوبة - وفي عدد من الأنواع الحيوانية ، بما في ذلك الفئران, الرباح و الشمبانزي. وتذهب النظرية إلى أن التزامن يؤدي إلى أن تصبح الإناث متقبلة جنسياً في نفس الوقت.

كان هناك العديد من الحجج التطورية لماذا تزامن الإناث توقيت التقبل الجنسي. هذه النظريات - تمت مراجعتها هنا - تفترض أن التزامن سيعمل على زيادة النجاح الإنجابي للإناث (وأيضا الذكور في بعض الأحيان). الأكثر شعبية هو أنه يمكن الإناث من التقليل من خطر الاحتكار من قبل الذكور المهيمنة ، وبالتالي جعل من السهل الانخراط في تعدد الأزواج.

صحيح أنه في مجموعات متعددة الذكور والإناث متعددة يتزاوج فيها الذكور والإناث مع شركاء متعددين ، إذا كانت جميع الإناث متقبلة جنسياً في نفس الوقت ، يصعب على الرجل التحكم في الوصول الجنسي إلى أنثى معينة. في كل الأوقات. في هذا السياق ، التحليل التلوي لأنواع الرئيسيات 19 وجدت أن درجة أن الذكور المهيمنة أب جميع النسل كان يرتبط عكسيا إلى درجة أن الإناث متزامنة دوراتها. وبعبارة أخرى ، كان للرجل المهيمن سيطرة أقل على التكاثر إذا كانت جميع الإناث متقبلة في نفس الوقت.

صب الشكوك خطيرة

ومع ذلك ، هناك الآن تراكم الأدلة التي تلقي بظلال من الشك الشديد على وجود هذه الظاهرة. أولاً ، تم انتقاد دراسة 1971 الأصلية على أسس منهجية. ثانيا ، عدد من الدراسات مع كل من المجموعات البشرية والأنواع غير البشرية فشل في تكرار النتائج الأولية، مع ما لا يقل عن العديد من الدراسات الإبلاغ نتائج إيجابية كما تقارير الدراسات تلك السلبية.

التحليلات الرياضية وكشفت أيضا عن أن هناك درجة معينة من التزامن المتوقع حدوثها نظرا للتحولات في الحالة التناسلية للإناث مع مرور الوقت ، وأنه لا توجد حاجة إلى إجراء عملية تكيفية لشرح ما لوحظ. بعبارة أخرى ، أفضل تفسير للتزامن أو التداخل بين الدورات هو المصادفة.

لقد أشار عدد من النقاد إلى وجود قيود على فكرة تطور التزامن - على سبيل المثال ، فقد وثقت الدراسات التباين الكبير في طول الدورة بين النساء وداخلهن ، مما يمكن أن يجعل تطور التزامن "استحقاق رياضي". واحد تحليل عميق التي نظرت في توزيع دورات الطمث للنساء اللواتي يعشن في مجتمع ما قبل الصناعي كشفت أن الكثير من التباين في بداية وطول الدورة الشهرية يعتمد بدلا من ذلك على خصوصيات حياة النساء ، مثل توقيت الحمل الفاشل ، توازن الطاقة والضغوط النفسية.

إن الفرضية القائلة بأن تزامن الطمث أو الضيق ("على الحرارة" في حالة العديد من الرئيسيات غير البشرية) هي عملية تكيفية يمكن أن تكون جذابة لأنها تشير إلى أن التطور يفضل الإناث الذين يتعاونون في مواجهة الهيمنة الجنسية للذكور. ومع ذلك ، وكما يبدو الأمر مخيبًا للآمال ، يبدو أن هناك الآن أدلة دامغة تشير إلى أن تزامن الطمث لدى البشر ليس أكثر من كونه أحد التحليلات المنهجية من إحدى الدراسات التي تحولت منذ ذلك الحين إلى أسطورة حضرية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ألكسندرا الفيرجن ، أستاذ مشارك في الأنثروبولوجيا الحيوية ، جامعة أكسفورد


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

at تزامن الدورة الشهرية"target =" _ blank "rel =" nofollow noopener "> InnerSelf Market و Amazon

 

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

الذهن والرقص الصحة العقلية 4
كيف يمكن لليقظ والرقص تحسين الصحة العقلية
by أدريانا مندريك ، جامعة الأسقف
لعقود من الزمان ، كانت القشرة الحسية الجسدية تعتبر مسؤولة فقط عن معالجة الحواس ...
الغرب الذي لم يكن موجودا 4
تبدأ المحكمة العليا في الغرب المتوحش الذي لم يكن موجودًا في الواقع
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لقد عمدت المحكمة العليا ، بكل ما يبدو ، إلى تحويل أمريكا عمدًا إلى معسكر مسلح.
كيف تعمل المسكنات 4
كيف تقتل مسكنات الألم الألم؟
by ريبيكا سيل وبنديكت ألتر ، جامعة بيتسبرغ
بدون القدرة على الشعور بالألم ، تكون الحياة أكثر خطورة. لتجنب الإصابة ، يخبرنا الألم باستخدام ...
كيف تحفظ m0ney على الطعام 6 29
كيفية التوفير في فاتورة طعامك والاستمرار في تناول وجبات لذيذة ومغذية
by كلير كولينز وميجان واتنال ، جامعة نيوكاسل
ارتفعت أسعار البقالة إلى الأعلى لعدة أسباب ، بما في ذلك ارتفاع تكاليف ...
ماذا عن الجبن النباتي 4 27
ما يجب أن تعرفه عن الجبن النباتي
by ريتشارد هوفمان ، جامعة هيرتفوردشاير
لحسن الحظ ، بفضل الشعبية المتزايدة للنباتيين ، بدأ مصنعو المواد الغذائية ...
استدامة المحيط 4
تتوقف صحة المحيط على الاقتصاد وفكرة الأسماك اللامتناهية
by رشيد سميلة ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية
شارك حكماء السكان الأصليين مؤخرًا استياءهم من الانخفاض غير المسبوق في سمك السلمون ...
الحصول على اللقاح المعزز 4 28
هل يجب أن تحصل على جرعة معززة لـ Covid-19 الآن أم تنتظر حتى السقوط؟
by Prakash Nagarkatti و Mitzi Nagarkatti ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا
بينما تستمر لقاحات COVID-19 في كونها فعالة للغاية في منع الاستشفاء والوفاة ، فإنها ...
الذي كان الفيس بريسلي 4 27
من كان ريال إلفيس بريسلي؟
by مايكل تي بيرتراند ، جامعة ولاية تينيسي
لم يكتب بريسلي مذكرات قط. كما أنه لم يحتفظ بمذكرات. مرة واحدة ، عند إبلاغك بسيرة ذاتية محتملة ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Do Women's Periods Really Synch When They Spend Time Together?

Do Women's Periods Really Synch When They Spend Time Together?

It is a popular belief that women who live together synchronise their menstrual cycles, and that it’s mediated by their pheromones – the airborne molecules that enable members of the same species to communicate non-verbally.

The idea originated in a study published in Nature in 1971, which recorded data on the onset of menstruation for 135 American college students living in a dormitory. The dorm had four corridors each with around 25 girls living in single and double rooms. Based on the analysis of around eight cycles per woman, the study reported an increase in synchronisation (a decrease in the difference between onset dates) for room mates and among closest friends, but not among random pairings in the dormitory. The author hypothesised that this was driven by the amount of time that women spent together, as this would allow for pheromone communication.

Since then, so-called “socially mediated synchrony” has been intensely studied in various groups of women, such as room mates, co-workers, lesbian couples and women from high fertility populations – and in a number of animal species, including rats, baboons and chimpanzees. The theory goes that synchronisation leads to females becoming sexually receptive at the same time.

There have been many evolutionary arguments for why females would synchronise the timing of sexual receptivity. These theories – reviewed here – assume that synchrony would serve to maximise the reproductive success of females (and also sometimes males). The most popular one is that it enables females to minimise the risk of being monopolised by a single dominant male, and thus make it easier to engage in polyandry.

It is true that in multi-male, multi-female groups in which both males and females mate with multiple partners, if all females are sexually receptive at the same time then it is difficult for a male to control the sexual access to a particular female at all times. In this vein, a meta-analysis of 19 primate species found that the degree to which a dominant male would father all offspring was inversely related to the degree to which the females synchronised their cycles. In other words, a dominant male had less control over reproduction if all females were receptive at the same time.

Casting serious doubts

However, there is now accumulating evidence that casts serious doubt on the existence of the phenomenon. First, the original 1971 study was criticised on methodological grounds. Second, a number of studies with both human groups and non-human species failed to replicate the initial findings, with at least as many studies reporting positive results as studies reporting negative ones.

Mathematical analyses have also revealed that some degree of synchrony is to be expected given the shifts in female reproductive condition over time, and that no adaptive process needs to be invoked to explain what is observed. In other words, synchrony or the overlap of cycles between females is best explained by chance.

A number of critics have pointed out constraints on the very idea of the evolution of synchrony – for instance, studies have documented the significant variability in cycle length among and within women, which can make the evolution of synchronisation a “mathematical impossibility”. One in-depth analysis that looked at the distribution of menstrual cycles of women living in a pre-industrial society revealed that much of the variability in the onset and length of menstrual cycles instead depended on the idiosyncracies of women’s lives, such as the timing of failed pregnancy, energy balance and psychological stress.

The hypothesis that synchronisation of menstrual or oestrus (being “on heat” in the case of many non-human primates) cycles is an adaptive process can be appealing as it suggests that evolution favoured females who cooperated in the face of male sexual domination. However, as disappointing as it may be, it seems that there is now overwhelming evidence to suggest that menstrual synchrony in humans is no more than a methodological artefact from one study that has since turned into an urban myth.

About The Author

Alexandra Alvergne, Associate Professor in Biocultural Anthropology, University of Oxford


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

at Menstrual synchrony" target="_blank" rel="nofollow noopener">InnerSelf Market and Amazon

 

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
coffee good or bad 7 31
Mixed Messages: Is Coffee Good Or Bad For Us?
by Thomas Merritt
Coffee is good for you. Or it’s not. Maybe it is, then it isn’t, then it is again. If you drink…
nordic diet 7.31
Does The Nordic Diet Rival Its Mediterranean Counterpart For Health Benefits?
by Duane Mellor and Ekavi Georgousopoulou
Every month there seems to be a new diet doing the rounds online. One of the latest is the Nordic…
protect your pet in heatwave 7 30
How To Keep Your Pets Safe In A Heatwave
by Anne Carter, Nottingham Trent University et
As temperatures reach uncomfortably high levels, pets are likely to struggle with the heat. Here’s…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.