كيفية اختيار جيد من تطبيقات الصحة الهاتف الذكي سيئة

كيفية اختيار جيد من تطبيقات الصحة الهاتف الذكي سيئة

مع الصحة 100,000 يقدر وتطبيقات اللياقة البدنية المتاحة على اثنين من منصات الهواتف الذكية الرائدة، دائرة الرقابة الداخلية والروبوت، وعلى ما يبدو ليس هناك تطبيق لكل شيء - من تتبع حركات الأمعاء، لممارسة الأسلوب الخاص بك ظهرت بثرة.

ومع ذلك، هناك عدد من التطبيقات بدأت تثير حفيظة المنظمين الحكوميين. وكان تدريب الدماغ الماحقة لوموسيتي مؤخرا تغريم الولايات المتحدة 2 مليون $ (2.7 مليون $) لجعل المطالبات لا أساس لها أن التطبيق المساعي قد تتحسن أداء العمل وتأخير ظهور مرض الزهايمر.

"Ultimeyes"، توصف التطبيق التدريب رؤية ل"عقارب الساعة إلى الوراء على رؤيتك" وتقليل الحاجة إلى النظارات والعدسات اللاصقة، وكان تغريم $ 150,000 الولايات المتحدة لتشويه البحث العلمي وأمرت بوقف تقديم المطالبات التسويقية الخادعة.

"MelApp" ادعى أن تكون قادرة على تقييم سرطان الجلد على أساس صورة من الخلد وبعض المعلومات المدخلة أخرى، تحليلها باستخدام "براءة حماية، خوارزميات رياضية معقدة للغاية وتكنولوجيا التعرف على نمط الصورة". الولايات المتحدة وجدت لجنة التجارة الاتحادية (FTC) مزاعمها تفتقر إلى الأدلة العلمية، مما يؤدي إلى غرامة كبيرة وتعليمات صارمة فيما يتعلق التسويق في المستقبل.

حتى الآن، ان السلطات السعي في المقام الأول التطبيقات الصحية مارقة من منظور حقوق المستهلك، على أساس الدعاية المضللة - وهذا هو، تطبيقات مدعيا أن تفعل شيئا عندما، في الواقع، فإنها قد تكون غير فعالة - وليس من منظور السلامة الطبية .

في الولايات المتحدة، والهيئة العامة للغذاء والدواء (FDA) هي المسؤولة عادة عن الموافقة على الأجهزة الطبية. ومع ذلك، التطبيقات التي تسمح أساسا الهواتف الذكية لتصبح جهاز طبي تمثل منطقة رمادية. أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء المبادئ التوجيهيةولكن الامتثال الطوعي في المقام الأول. سوى نسبة ضئيلة من التطبيقات المتاحة في أبل وجوجل اللعب مخازن ديك موافقة ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير.

معظم التطبيقات التي تقدم نفسها على أنها أجهزة طبية بديلة تقدم التنازلات غرامة المطبوعة، مثل "لا FDA تطهير" و "لأغراض الترفيه". دفن هذه المعلومات في وصف توسيع التطبيق على متجر التطبيقات، التي معظم المستخدمين سوف تقرأ أبدا.

حالة مثيرة للاهتمام في ذلك هو بشعبية كبيرة "لحظة ضغط الدم" التطبيق، الذي باع نسخ 148,000 المقدرة. هذا التطبيق ومثله يدعي قراءة ضغط الدم - "لا صفعة المطلوبة" (بدلا من ذلك، التطبيق من المفترض أن يستخدم ميكروفون الهاتف تضغط على الصدر والاصبع على الكاميرا).

الاختبارات المستقلة التي نشرت في JAMA الطب الباطني آذار وجدت فشل التطبيق لتحديد ارتفاع ضغط الدم في جميع أنحاء 80٪ من الحالات الحقيقية.

هذا أمر مثير للقلق، معتبرا من المرجح أن أناشد الناس يعانون من ارتفاع ضغط الدم مثل هذه التطبيقات. فمن المتصور أن المستخدمين قد تؤخر التماس العناية الطبية على أساس القراءات المعدل الطبيعي كاذبة تنطوي على عواقب وخيمة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

حتى في هذا التوسع على الإطلاق وغير المنظم إلى حد كبير المشهد التطبيق، كيف يمكنك أن تذهب نحو التمييز تطبيقات الصحة الجيدة من السيئة؟

1. هل استخدام التطبيق الأجهزة الهاتف المدمج في أداء التشخيص الطبي؟

معدات التشخيص الطبية المتخصصة جدا ومحددة، اختبار صارم وتفسر عادة من قبل المهنيين المهرة. لذلك فمن المشكوك فيه جدا أن التطبيق الذكي يمكن أن تتطابق مع هذه القدرات التشخيصية، بناء على ميكروفون مدمج وكاميرا، وتفسير بواسطة خوارزمية التجارية (وهو عادة غير منشورة وغير مثبتة).

2. هل استخدام التطبيق ال الهاتف المدمج في الجهاز لعلاج حالة مرضية؟

بينما التطبيقات جود هذا الادعاء لعلاج أمراض مثل الألم، حب الشباب والاضطرابات العاطفية الموسمية باستخدام ذبذبات الهواتف الذكية و / أو ضوء الشاشة (نعم، حقا، وكان لديهم الآلاف من دفع التنزيلات)، هذه النواتج تفتقر إلى الأدلة العلمية ومن غير المرجح للغاية أن تكون من نوعية علاجية أو شدة.

3. هو التطبيق من مصدر موثوق؟

الانتماء إلى قسم الذروة هيئة أو جامعة أو حكومة محترمة يوحي التطبيق من المرجح أن تكون جديرة بالثقة. حذار، على الرغم من تم القاء القبض على المطورين متستر من ربط غير دقيق تطبيقاتهم مع الجامعات الرائدة (عندما، في الواقع، درسوا ببساطة هناك سنوات في وقت سابق). أيضا، يجب موافقة من الهيئات غامضة لا ينقل الثقة.

4. هل يستخدم التطبيق طرق المساعدة الذاتية؟

إن المراقبة الذاتية وتحديد الأهداف والتغذية المرتدة هي تقنيات راسخة لتعزيز الدافع وتيسير تغيير السلوك. هذه التقنيات هي تقدم عادة في التطبيقات الصحية ومن المرجح أن تكون مفيدة لكل من الأشخاص الذين يعملون على الأهداف الصحية ، حيث أنهم لن يراجعوا الطبيب عادة (مثل زيادة اللياقة) والأشخاص الذين يديرون حالة صحية ذاتية بالتشاور مع طبيبهم.

5. هل يحتوي التطبيق على تعليقات سيئة؟

إذا كانت المراجعات سيئة ، فربما لا يعمل التطبيق جيدًا ، لذا اعطها فرصة. ومع ذلك ، لا تعد التعليقات الجيدة بالضرورة علامة على أن التطبيق جدير بالثقة بشكل أساسي.

6. قد كنت وضعت من رؤية الطبيب بناء على نصيحة من التطبيق؟

ببساطة، لا. في حين تحتوي العديد من تطبيقات المعلومات الطبية السليمة، وأنها ليست بديلا لاستشارة الطبيب. إذا كان لديك مشكلة صحية، يجب أن تشاهد GP.

المشهد من التطبيقات الصحية الهواتف الذكية تتطور بسرعة، والمنظمين يكافحون من أجل مواكبة. هناك العديد من التطبيقات المتميزة لمساعدة الناس على تحسين صحتهم. نصيحتي؟ المتعة تجريب التطبيقات الصحية واللياقة البدنية - من المؤكد أن مجرد إحضار جرعة صحية من الحس السليم والشك.

وتذكر، والتطبيق لا يضع طبيب ومختبر طبي متخصص في جيبك.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماهر كارولكارول ماهر، مؤسسة زميل القومي للقلب كبير الباحثين في النشاط البدني والسلوك المتسم بقلة الحركة والنوم، وجامعة جنوب أستراليا. ويتناول بحثها العلاقة بين أنماط النشاط اليومي الناس (مثل النشاط البدني والنوم والسلوكيات المستقرة مثل مشاهدة التلفزيون) وصحتهم.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

at سوق InnerSelf و Amazon

 

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

السحر وأمريكا 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
جعل الشركات مسؤولة 11
كيف يمكن للشركات السير في الحديث عن التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية
by سيمون بيك وسيباستيان مينا
تواجه الشركات ضغوطًا متزايدة لمواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية مثل ...
امرأة شابة أو فتاة تقف مقابل جدار الكتابة على الجدران
الصدفة تمرين للعقل
by برنارد بيتمان ، دكتوراه في الطب
الاهتمام الشديد بالصدفة يمارس العقل. التمرين يفيد العقل تمامًا كما هو ...
متلازمة موت الرضع المفاجئ 11 17
كيف تحمي طفلك من متلازمة موت الرضيع المفاجئ
by راشيل مون
في كل عام ، يموت حوالي 3,400 طفل أمريكي بشكل مفاجئ وغير متوقع أثناء النوم ، وفقًا لـ ...
امرأة تمسك رأسها وفمها مفتوح خوفًا
الخوف من النتائج: الأخطاء والفشل والنجاح والسخرية والمزيد
by إيفلين سي ريسك
نادراً ما يكون لدى الأشخاص الذين يتبعون هيكل ما تم القيام به من قبل أفكار جديدة ، كما فعلوا ...
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
by ستيفن واشنطن
بدون شك ، يتطلب الأمر شجاعة لمواجهة مخاوفنا ، والاستعداد للنظر تحت السطح و ...
العودة إلى الوطن لا تفشل 11
لماذا لا تعني العودة إلى المنزل أنك فشلت
by روزي الكسندر
فكرة أن مستقبل الشباب يخدم على أفضل وجه بالابتعاد عن المدن الصغيرة والريف ...
إفساد الطفل 11
لندع البكاء أم لا. هذا هو السؤال!
by ايمي روت
عندما يبكي الرضيع ، يتساءل الوالدان كثيرًا عما إذا كان ينبغي تهدئة الطفل أو ترك الطفل ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How To Pick The Good From The Bad Smartphone Health Apps

How To Pick The Good From The Bad Smartphone Health Apps

With an estimated 100,000 health and fitness apps available on the two leading smartphone platforms, iOS and Android, it seems there is an app for everything – from tracking your bowel movements, to practising your pimple-popping technique.

However, a number of apps are starting to raise the ire of government regulators. Brain-training juggernaut Lumosity was recently fined US$2 million (A$2.7 million) for making unfounded claims that its app could improve work performance and delay the onset of Alzheimer’s.

“Ultimeyes”, a vision-training app touted to “turn back the clock on your vision” and reduce the need for glasses and contact lenses, was fined US$150,000 for misrepresenting scientific research and ordered to stop making deceptive marketing claims.

“MelApp” claimed to be able to assess melanoma on the basis of a photograph of the mole and some other inputted information, analysed using “patent protect, highly sophisticated mathematical algorithms and image pattern recognition technology”. The US Federal Trade Commission (FTC) found its claims lacked scientific evidence, leading to a hefty fine and strict instructions regarding future marketing.

To date, authorities have primarily pursued rogue health apps from a consumer rights perspective, on the basis of misleading advertising – that is, the apps claiming to do something when, in fact, they may be ineffective – rather than from a medical-safety perspective.

In the US, the Food and Drug Authority (FDA) is traditionally responsible for approving medical devices. However, apps that essentially allow a smartphone to become a medical device present a grey area. The FDA has issued guidelines, but compliance is primarily voluntary. Only a minuscule percentage of apps available in the Apple and Google Play stores have FDA approval.

Most apps that present themselves as substitute medical devices offer fine-print disclaimers, such as “not FDA cleared” and “for entertainment purposes”. This information is buried in the expandable description of the app on the app store, which most users will never read.

An interesting case in point is the hugely popular “Instant Blood Pressure” app, which has sold an estimated 148,000 copies. This app and others like it claim to read blood pressure – “no cuff required” (instead, the app supposedly uses the phone’s microphone pressed against the chest and a finger over the camera).

Independent testing published in March’s JAMA Internal Medicine found the app failed to identify high blood pressure in around 80% of true cases.

This is disturbing, considering such apps are likely to appeal to people with high blood pressure. It is conceivable that users could delay seeking medical attention on the basis of false normal-range readings, with potentially dire consequences.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

So in this ever-expanding and largely unregulated app landscape, how can you go about distinguishing the good health apps from the bad?

1. Does the app use the phone’s built-in hardware to perform medical diagnoses?

Medical diagnostic equipment is highly specialised and specific, stringently tested and usually interpreted by skilled professionals. It’s therefore highly dubious that a smartphone app can match these diagnostic capabilities, based on the in-built microphone and camera, and interpretation by a commercial algorithm (which is typically unpublished and unproven).

2. Does the app use the phone’s in-built hardware to treat a medical condition?

While apps exist that claim to treat conditions such as pain, acne and seasonal affective disorder using smartphones’ vibrations and/or screen light (yes, really, and they’ve had thousands of paying downloads), such outputs lack scientific evidence and are extremely unlikely to be of therapeutic quality or intensity.

3. Is the app from a reputable source?

Affiliation with a reputable peak body, university or government department suggests the app is likely to be trustworthy. Beware, though, sneaky developers have been caught out inaccurately associating their app with leading universities (when, in fact, they simply studied there years earlier). Also, endorsement from obscure bodies shouldn’t convey confidence.

4. Does the app use self-help methods?

Self-monitoring, goal-setting and feedback are well-established techniques for boosting motivation and facilitating behaviour change. Such techniques are commonly offered in health apps and are likely to be useful for both people working on health goals that they wouldn’t normally see a doctor for (such as increasing fitness) and people self-managing a health condition in consultation with their doctor.

5. Does the app have bad reviews?

If reviews are bad, the app probably doesn’t work well, so give it a miss. However, good reviews aren’t necessarily a sign that an app is fundamentally trustworthy.

6. Might you put off seeing a doctor based on advice from the app?

Simply, don’t. While many apps contain sound medical information, they are no substitute for a consultation with a doctor. If you have a health concern, you should see a GP.

The landscape of smartphone health apps is quickly evolving, and regulators are struggling to keep pace. There are many outstanding apps to help people improve their health. My advice? Have fun experimenting with health and fitness apps – just be sure to bring along a healthy dose of common sense and scepticism.

And remember, an app does not put a doctor and specialist medical lab in your pocket.

About The Author

maher carolCarol Maher, National Heart Foundation Senior Research Fellow in Physical Activity, Sedentary Behaviour and Sleep, University of South Australia. Her research examines the relationships between people’s daily activity patterns (e.g. physical activity, sleep and sedentary behaviors such as television watching) and their health.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

at InnerSelf Market and Amazon

 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

digital money 9 15
How Digital Money Has Changed How We Live
by Daromir Rudnyckyj
In simple terms, digital money can be defined as a form of currency that uses computer networks to…
An Equinox Altar
Making An Equinox Altar and Other Fall Equinox Projects
by Ellen Evert Hopman
Fall Equinox is the time when the seas become rough as the winter gales set in. It is also the…
curous kids 9 17
5 Ways To Keep Kids Curious
by Perry Zurn
Kids are naturally curious. But various forces in the environment can dampen their curiosity over…
Sedna and Our Emerging World
Sedna and Our Emerging World
by Sarah Varcas
Sedna is the Inuit sea goddess, also known as mother or mistress of the sea and goddess of the…
ocean forests 9 18
Ocean Forests Are Larger Than The Amazon and More Productive Than We Thought
by Albert Pessarrodona Silvestre, et al
Off the coastline of southern Africa lies the Great African Seaforest, and Australia boasts the…
woman's face looking at herself
How Could I Have Missed This?
by Mona Sobhani
I began this journey not expecting to find sci­entific evidence for my experiences, because the…
signs of inequality 9 17
The US Has Dropped Drastically on Global Rankings that Measure Democracy and Inequality
by Kathleen Frydl
The United States may regard itself as a “leader of the free world,” but an index of development…
Like Genes, Your Gut Microbes Pass From One Generation To The Next
Like Genes, Your Gut Microbes Pass from One Generation to the Next
by Taichi A. Suzuki and Ruth Ley
When the first humans moved out of Africa, they carried their gut microbes with them. Turns out,…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.