Lorsque nous nous battons pour la vie, quelle forme sont les survivants ?

De nombreuses mains atteignant les pièces d'un puzzle
Image congerdesign 

Dans son livre révolutionnaire, Pas de concours: L'affaire contre la concurrence, remettant en cause le rôle de la concurrence qui est à l'origine du succès toxique dans la vie américaine, écrit l'auteur Alfie Kohn,

« La vie pour nous est devenue une succession sans fin de concours. A partir du moment où le réveil sonne jusqu'à ce que le sommeil nous rattrape, depuis le moment où nous sommes tout-petits jusqu'au jour de notre mort, nous sommes occupés à lutter pour surpasser les autres. travail et à l'école, sur le terrain de jeu et à la maison. C'est le dénominateur commun de la vie américaine.

Le succès toxically se comportent souvent comme des prédateurs à la poursuite de leur proie. Il semble qu'ils ne peuvent pas aider ou se libérer de l'ultime compétition - notre concours contre notre propre vie maintenant comme quelque chose à surmonter ou à transcender afin de parvenir à une vie meilleure plus tard. À moins que nous sommes prêts à changer notre esprit sur ce que signifie la vie et qui et ce qu'elle devrait être pour, nous resterons privés d'une bonne vie à cause de notre concours pour obtenir un meilleur.

La concurrence est devenue tellement une partie de la façon dont nous travaillons, vivons, et l'amour qu'il est difficile d'envisager une vie ne repose pas sur elle. Nous sommes tellement plongés dans notre concours toxique pour réussir que ceux qui ne sont pas motivés par cette obsession sont considérés comme «hors de lui,« pas engagé à fond dans le jeu de la vie, ou même lâche. La plupart des cultures autochtones comme Hawaï sont perplexes face à la compétitivité monde moderne et la cécité apparente à ses effets négatifs.

Un kahuna (guérisseur hawaïen et des enseignants) a été de parler avec moi sur mon plus de huit années de lutte pour trouver un éditeur disposé à m'aider partager mes points de vue sur le succès toxiques. Il a dit, "Le monde moderne est noyé dans une mer de succès toxique. Les signes sont partout autour d'eux dans leurs familles en difficulté, la mauvaise santé, et comme ils se dépêchent passé le sens et la joie de la vie. Ils sont comme des poissons qui ne reflètent pas sur la nature de l'eau, ils sont po Ils ne peuvent imaginer ni comprendre sa présence et le contrôle de leur vie parce qu'ils ne peuvent pas imaginer son absence dans leur vie. "

Compétition et conduite

Nous rivalisons pour trouver le "meilleur" travail, la maison, la voiture, les amis, l'amant, la vie sexuelle, l'alimentation, le programme d'exercices ou l'itinéraire le plus court et le plus rapide dans la circulation. Ce n'est pas seulement le stade plein de fans scandant : "Nous sommes numéro un !" ou le joueur de baseball de la petite ligue qui pleure après avoir été retiré et qui révèle la domination de la compétition dans la vie moderne.

C'est le bourdonnement bas mais lancinant de « vous pouvez le faire, continuez, vous pouvez gagner, vous pouvez faire mieux » qui augmente notre tension artérielle, abaisse notre immunité, nous envoie à la pharmacie du combattant et détourne notre attention de ceux qu'on dit aimer et la vie qu'on dit qu'on aimerait avoir. Le virus de la victoire est devenu pandémique, une folie culturelle généralisée qui conduit à notre expérience de l'échec du succès.


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

La psychanalyste Karen Horney a décrit la maladie mentale d'un successeur toxique comme « quelqu'un qui se mesure constamment aux autres, même dans des situations qui ne l'exigent pas ». Ces personnes sont nos modèles de réussite. Ils occupent des positions de pouvoir et de contrôle et reçoivent les récompenses que notre société distribue à ceux qui ont affiné leur avantage concurrentiel. Ils mènent leur vie sans éprouver le besoin d'une intervention psychiatrique ou d'une psychothérapie et sont rarement « diagnostiqués » par l'establishment comme « fou » parce qu'il est lui-même devenu fou de besoin de réussite.

Ce sont généralement de gentils névrosés qui sont devenus nos modèles culturels, des versions modernes des héros tragiques grecs que la plupart d'entre nous aspirent à être à tort et dangereusement. L'auteur Elliot Aronson écrit : « L'esprit américain en particulier a été entraîné à assimiler le succès à la victoire, à assimiler bien faire et battre quelqu'un. »

Le contraire de la concurrence n'est pas juste essayer plus difficile d'être coopérative. Il travaille mentalement plus difficile de résister à la tentation de succomber à nos anciennes voies et de rechercher un contentement mental qui permet la coopération de s'écouler naturellement et à nous arriver. Un succès bien mérité il faut reconnaître puis résister mode, le cerveau par défaut concurrentiel, mais dans une société qui considère la concurrence non seulement bon, mais essentiel et naturel, changer notre esprit à un «nous» au lieu de "moi" mode n'est pas facile.

Vendre l'idée

"Seriez-vous content d'être numéro deux sur le liste des bestsellers du New York Times?" demandé à un éditeur d'un grand de New York maison d'édition. Leur livre-acquisitions comité a été de discuter avec moi la possibilité de publier ce livre, et je faisais de mon mieux pour expliquer les dangers de la réussite toxique et sa compétitivité lié qui contrôle nos vies. «Je ne peux pas croire que tu serais content de cela," dit-elle. «La concurrence est ce qui nous pousse à réussir et à bien faire, alors qui va acheter un livre de ne pas en compétition? N'avez-vous pas d'accord que c'est ce que se ce pays où il est aujourd'hui? C'est presque anti-américain de non-concurrence. "

Ma réponse a peu fait pour m'aider à vendre mon idée à la maison d'édition. "Je suis d'accord que la concurrence est ce qui nous arrivés là où nous sommes aujourd'hui», ai-je répondu. "La question que je pose est de savoir si nous nous sentons vraiment dans nos moments les plus contemplatifs que nous sommes là où nous voulons être dans tous les aspects de notre vie, aimer, et de travail. Bien sûr, je serais très heureux d'avoir un livre qui devient numéro deux ou le numéro un des ventes, mais pour moi, ce serait un effet secondaire et le résultat, pas un but. Le nombre comparative est beaucoup moins importante pour moi que si oui ou non mon livre s'est avéré de faire une différence constructive dans la vie des gens. Je pense que il ya suffisamment de preuves aujourd'hui pour montrer que la façon dont nous définissons le succès et le moi-contre-vous ainsi que nous allons, après il va conduire à la catastrophe si nous ne réapprendre ce que cela signifie d'être contenu. concurrence par sa nature même est détachement, une façon d'être contre les personnes plutôt que par eux et une manière de lutter dans la vie plutôt que de plaisir. "

"Eh bien, bonne chance alors», a déclaré le rédacteur en chef, se penchant en arrière sur sa chaise et se bousculent ma proposition de côté. «Nous, dans cette maison, ne se contentent pas d'être numéro deux, et nous voulons les auteurs qui veulent être le numéro un. Nous n'avons jamais pu planter cette question à notre personnel de vente. Sans comparaison à d'autres, la vie a un sens très peu ou point de vue. Votre idée de la réussite est tout simplement trop irréaliste. "

Plus de dix ans plus tard, j'ai finalement trouvé une maison pour mon livre avec une entreprise à Hawaï qui embrasse po'okela et sa valeur centrale polynésienne d'être de l'aide sur l'être sur le dessus. Que je réussisse à vous convaincre de jeter un regard neuf sur les hypothèses au sujet de la manière normale et naturelle de réussir est maintenant entre vos mains.

Comment Fit sont les survivants?

La contrainte de la concurrence que vous lisez sur les mots de l'éditeur décrit ci-dessus est souvent défendue sur la base des théories de Charles Darwin de l'évolution et ce qui est considéré à tort comme son insistance sur le principe de la «survie du plus apte." Cette fameuse déclaration est devenue le mantra du monde moderne, mais, en fait, il n'existe aucun fondement dans la théorie de la sélection naturelle à partir de laquelle cette mentalité survivaliste est dit de tirer.

Darwin lui-même n'a jamais dit ou écrit la phrase "la survie du plus apte." Il était naturaliste Herbert Spencer, et non pas Charles Darwin, qui l'a inventé, mais même lui ne décrivent pas ce principe en termes du monde de chien-eat-dog nous pensons nous a donné naissance. Il faisait allusion à être forte, mais pas nécessairement pour vaincre les autres. Être en forme a été non seulement défini par la victoire sur les autres, mais comme possédant des compétences hautement adaptatifs qui a finalement amélioré le bien commun.

Si Darwin aurait écrit une phrase de cinq mots au sujet de ses théories de l'évolution, il serait plus probable avoir lu "la survie des plus coopérative." Il a cru et écrit que les collectivités qui contiennent le plus grand nombre d'individus de coopération sont les plus susceptibles de survivre. Il a écrit que ses références à la lutte pour l'existence a été signifié dans un sens «large et métaphorique, y compris la dépendance d'un être sur un autre.''

Scientifique Stephen Jay Gould a écrit: «L'équation de la concurrence avec succès dans la sélection naturelle est simplement un préjugé culturel. Ce préjugé a conduit à la réussite toxique je viens de décrire. Il est devenu tellement omniprésent que se sentir incroyablement débordés, chroniquement impatients, égoïstement effort, et hostile concurrentiel est devenu de plus en plus acceptée comme normale dans les cultures euro-américaines. Quand nous le dire semble que le monde est devenu fou, nous sommes en droit. Une société de millions qui tentent de gagner doit inévitablement créer des millions et des millions de perdants.

Si nous souhaitons utiliser la nature comme modèle, nous ferions mieux de nous connecter, de combiner et de coopérer que de nous affirmer, de rivaliser et de conquérir. Il y a cent ans, le scientifique Petr Kropotkine a passé en revue les habitudes de centaines d'espèces, des fourmis aux buffles. Son travail a clairement montré que la coopération, et non la compétition, était l'élément principal des espèces qui ont survécu. Il a écrit,

"La compétition... est limitée chez les animaux à des périodes exceptionnelles... De meilleures conditions sont créées par l'élimination de la compétition au moyen de l'entraide et du soutien mutuel. Ne rivalisez pas ! La compétition est toujours nuisible à l'espèce, et vous avez beaucoup de ressources pour l'éviter. . . . C'est la tendance de la nature. . . . Pratiquez donc l'entraide! C'est ce que la Nature nous enseigne"

Un doux succès peut donc être au moins aussi « naturel » que la marque la plus compétitive.

Allant à l'encontre

Il est difficile d'argumenter avec succès contre l'hypothèse actuelle du caractère naturel de la compétitivité. Notre mentalité actuelle d'individualisme affirmé et comparatif est bien établie et défendue. Les lectures toxiques de cette lecture sont probablement déjà engagées dans la réfutation, le cynisme tatillon, le déni et même l'attaque pour défendre leur façon de penser la vie.

Ce sont les "normaux", et la folie d'un succès plus doux grâce à une façon de penser moins compétitive et plus contente ne leur échappera pas facilement. La possibilité que nous puissions considérer être moins que ce que nous pouvons être et ne pas toujours être intéressés par la victoire personnelle ou être le numéro un semblera folle à ceux qui se sont normalisés avec succès. Les nouvelles sciences du doux succès montrent que, dans ce cas, l'ajustement n'est pas bon pour notre santé.

Le «être tout ce que vous pouvez être, il suffit de faire, rendez-vous pour l'or, le pouvoir personnel, l'auto-assertif '« orientation de la réussite toxiques a dominé les dernières décennies. Il a été célébrée dans des centaines de livres et de séminaires de succès. Malgré cette confiance dans la concurrence que la voie du bonheur ultime, il ya très peu de recherches pour le soutenir. Par exemple, le chercheur et psychiatre Roderic Gorney écrit: «Toute évaluation objective de l'homme moderne ne divulguera que, dans la prépondérance écrasante des interactions humaines, la coopération éclipse complètement la concurrence."

Parce que de nombreux scientifiques souffrent de succès toxiques eux-mêmes et se sentent qu'ils doivent rivaliser pour être le premier, afin de gravir les échelons universitaires et d'être «exceptionnel» dans leurs domaines respectifs, toute contestation de cette orientation est accueillie avec scepticisme. Psychologue Marian Radke Yarrow a écrit au sujet de cette réticence scientifique d'envisager une douce version de succès. Elle commente: «motifs agressivité, l'anxiété, la culpabilité et l'auto-centré et le comportement ont été tellement le tissu de la théorie et de la recherche que les questions d'un« plus douce »des êtres humains ... semblent presque scientifique."

Je ne prétends pas que nous sommes nécessairement plus naturellement désintéressé et le soin que nous pouvons être enclins à la compétitivité. Je suggère, cependant, que la domination presque totale de la voie concurrentielle de penser à la vie et de la grappe des caractéristiques toxiques retombées de réussite ne sont pas hors de notre contrôle ou la capacité de les modifier. Nous ne pouvons pas être d'origine naturelle ou inévitable compassion, de coopération, et d'aimer, mais la recherche montre que nous ne sommes pas inévitablement rien du tout - et, comme vous l'avez lu au moins, de tous naturellement compétitif.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Inner Ocean Publishing, Inc. © 2002, 2004. www.innerocean.com

Source de l'article

Succès toxique: comment arrêter de lutter et commencer à prospérer
par Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.

couverture du livre Toxic Success: How to Stop Striving and Start Thriving par Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.M. Pearsall conteste directement un grand nombre des conventions d’entraide, qui, selon lui, ne sont pas des solutions mais une partie du problème. Son programme de désintoxication a aidé de nombreux patients atteints de TSS à l'adapter en modifiant leur état d'esprit et en retenant leur attention, en se concentrant sur ce dont ils avaient besoin et non sur ce qu'ils voulaient.

Info / Commander ce livre.

Plus de livres de cet auteur.

A propos de l'auteur

photo de Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Paul Pearsall, Ph.D. (1942-2007) était un psychoneuroimmunologiste clinique agréé, spécialiste de l'étude de l'esprit de guérison. Il était titulaire d'un doctorat. en psychologie clinique et pédagogique. Le Dr Pearsall a publié plus de deux cents articles professionnels, écrit quinze livres à succès et est apparu dans The Oprah Winfrey Show, The Monte/Williams Show, CNN, 20/20, Dateline et Good Morning America.

Visitez son site Web à www.paulpearsall.com.

  


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Plus d'articles de cet auteur

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

When We Compete for Life, How Fit Are the Survivors?

Many hands reaching for the pieces of a puzzle
Image by congerdesign 

In his groundbreaking book, No Contest : The Case Against Competition, challenging the role of competition that is at the root of toxic success in American life, author Alfie Kohn writes,

"Life for us has become an endless succession of contests. From the moment the alarm clock rings until sleep overtakes us again, from the time we are toddlers until the day we die, we are busy struggling to outdo others. This is our posture at work and at school, on the playing field and back at home. It is the common denominator of American life."

The toxically successful often behave like predators in pursuit of their prey. It seems that they cannot help or free themselves from the ultimate competition -- our competition against our own life now as something to overcome or transcend in order to achieve a better life later. Unless we are willing to change our mind about what life means and who and what it should be for, we will remain deprived of a good life because of our competition to get a better one.

Competition has become so much a part of how we work, live, and love that it is difficult to consider a life not based upon it. We are so immersed in our toxic competition to be successful that those who are not driven by this obsession are seen as "out of it," not fully engaged in the game of life, or even cowardly. Most indigenous cultures like Hawaii are perplexed by the modern world competitiveness and seeming blindness to its negative effects.

A kahuna (Hawaiian healer and teacher) was talking with me about my more than eight-year struggle to find a publisher willing to help me share my views about toxic success. He said, "The modern world is drowning in a sea of poisonous success. The signs are all around them in their struggling families, poor health, and as they hurry past the meaning and joy of life. They are as fish who do not reflect on the nature of the water they are in. They cannot imagine or comprehend its presence and control of their lives because they cannot imagine its absence in their lives."

Competition and Drive

We compete to find the "best" job, home, car, friends, lover, sex life, diet, exercise program, or shortest and quickest route through traffic. It is not just the stadium full of fans chanting, "We're number one!" or the little league baseball player crying after striking out that reveals the dominance of competition in modern living.

It is the low but nagging hum of "you can do it, keep going, you can win, you can do better" that is raising our blood pressure, lowering our immunity, sending us to the fighter's pharmacy, and taking our attention away from those we say we love and the life we say we would like to have. The victory virus has become pandemic, a wide-spread cultural insanity that is leading to our experience of the failure of success.

Psychoanalyst Karen Horney described the mental illness of a toxic succeeder as "someone who constantly measures himself against others, even in situations which do not call for it." Such persons are our models of success. They are in positions of power and control and receive the rewards our society doles out to those who have honed their competitive edge. They conduct their life without experiencing the need for psychiatric intervention or psychotherapy and are seldom "diagnosed" by the establishment as "crazy" because it itself has gone mad with need for success.

They are generally nice neurotics who have become our cultural role models, modern-day versions of the Greek tragic heroes that most of us wrongly and dangerously aspire to be. Author Elliot Aronson writes, "The American mind in particular has been trained to equate success with victory, to equate doing well with beating someone."

The opposite of competition is not just trying harder to be cooperative. It is working mentally harder to resist the temptation to succumb to our ancient ways and to seek a mental contentment that allows cooperation to flow naturally and to happen to us. Sweet success requires recognizing and then resisting the brain's competitive default mode, but in a society that considers competition not only good but essential and natural, changing our mind to an "us" instead of "me" mode is not easy.

Selling the Idea

"Would you be content to be number two on the New York Times bestseller list?" asked an editor of a large New York publishing house. Their book-acquisitions committee was discussing with me the possibility of publishing this book, and I was doing the best I could to explain the dangers of toxic success and its related competitiveness that controls our lives. "I can't believe you'd be content with that," she said. "Competition is what drives us to succeed and do well, so who is going to buy a book about not competing? Don't you agree that it is what got this country where it is today? It's almost un-American not to compete."

My answer did little to help me sell my idea to the publishing house. "I do agree that competition is what got us where we are today, " I responded. "The question I am asking is if we really feel in our most contemplative moments that we are where we want to be in all aspects of our living, loving, and working. Of course I would be thrilled to have a book that becomes number two or number one in sales, but for me, that would be a side effect and result, not a goal. The comparative number means much less to me than whether or not my book turned out to make a constructive difference in people's lives. I think there is sufficient evidence now to show that how we define success and the me-against-you way we are going after it is going to lead to disaster if we don't relearn what it means to be content. Competition by its very nature is detachment, a way of being against people rather than with them and a way of struggling through life rather than enjoying it."

"Well, good luck then," said the editor, leaning back in her chair and shoving my proposal aside. "We, at this house, are not content with being number two, and we want authors who want to be number one. We could never pitch this to our sales staff. Without comparison to others, life has very little meaning or perspective. Your idea of success is just too unrealistic."

More than ten years later, I finally found a home for my book with a company in Hawaii that embraces po'okela and its central Polynesian value of being of help over being on top. Whether I succeed in convincing you to take a fresh look at the assumptions about the normal and natural way to succeed is now in your hands.

How Fit Are the Survivors?

The competition compulsion you read about in the words of the editor described above is often defended on the basis of Charles Darwin's theories of evolution and what is mistakenly seen as his emphasis on the principle of "survival of the fittest." This famous statement has become the mantra of the modern world, but, in fact, there is no basis in the theory of natural selection from which this survivalist mentality is said to derive.

Darwin himself never said or wrote the phrase "survival of the fittest." It was naturalist Herbert Spencer, not Charles Darwin, who coined it, but even he did not describe this principle in terms of the dog-eat-dog world we think gave birth to us. He was referring to being strong but not necessarily to defeating others. Being fit was not just defined by victory over others but as possessing highly adaptive skills that ultimately enhanced the common good.

If Darwin would have written a five-word phrase regarding his theories of evolution, it would more likely have read "survival of the most cooperative." He believed and wrote that those communities that contain the greatest number of cooperative individuals are the most likely to survive. He wrote that his references to the struggle for existence were meant in a "large and metaphorical sense, including dependence of one being upon another.''

Scientist Stephen Jay Gould wrote, "The equation of competition with success in natural selection is merely a cultural prejudice.' This prejudice has led to the toxic success I have been describing. It has become so pervasive that feeling insanely overwhelmed, chronically impatient, selfishly striving, and hostilely competitive has become more and more accepted as normal in Euro-American cultures. When we say it seems that the world has gone mad, we are right. A society of millions trying to win must inevitably create millions and millions of losers.

If we wish to use nature as our model, we are better advised to connect, combine, and cooperate than to self-assert, compete, and conquer. One hundred years ago scientist Petr Kropotkin reviewed the habits of hundreds of species, from ants to buffalo. His work clearly showed that cooperation, not competition, was the primary element in those species that survived. He wrote,

"Competition . . . is limited among animals to exceptional periods. . . . Better conditions are created by the elimination of competition by means of mutual aid and mutual support. Don't compete! Competition is always injurious to the species, and you have plenty of resources to avoid it. . . . That is the tendency of nature. . . . Therefore practice mutual aid! That is what Nature teaches us"

Sweet success, then, may be at least as "natural" as the more competitive brand.

Going Against the Grain

It is difficult to argue successfully against the current assumption of the naturalness of competitiveness. Our current mind-set of assertive and comparative individualism is well established and defended. The toxically successful reading this are probably already engaged in rebuttal, nitpicky cynicism, denial, and even attack in defense of their cherished way of thinking about life.

They are the "normal" ones, and the craziness of a sweeter success through a less competitive and more contented way of thinking will not go down easily with them. The possibility that we might consider being less than we can be and not always interested in personal victory or being number one will seem crazy to those who have become successfully normalized. The new sciences of sweet success show that, in this case, adjustment is not good for our health.

The "be all you can be, just do it, go for the gold, personal power, self-assertive" orientation of toxic success has dominated the last several decades. It has been celebrated in hundreds of books and success seminars. Despite this trust in competition as the way to ultimate happiness, there is very little research to support it. For example, researcher and psychiatrist Roderic Gorney writes, "Any objective appraisal of modern man will disclose that, in the overwhelming preponderance of human interactions, cooperation completely overshadows competition."

Because many scientists suffer from toxic success themselves and feel they must compete to be first in order to move up the academic ladder and to be "outstanding" in their respective fields, any challenge to this orientation is met with skepticism. Psychologist Marian Radke Yarrow has written about this scientific reluctance to consider a sweeter version of success. She comments, "Aggression, anxiety, guilt, and self-centered motives and behavior have been so much the cloth of theory and research that questions of a 'softer' side of . . . human beings seem almost unscientific."

I am not suggesting that we are necessarily any more naturally selfless and caring than we may be inclined to competitiveness. I am suggesting, however, that the almost total dominance of the competitive way of thinking about life and the cluster of the toxic success fallout characteristics are not beyond our control or capacity to modify them. We may not be naturally or unavoidably caring, cooperative, and loving, but research shows that we are not unavoidably anything at all -- and, as you have read, least of all naturally competitive.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Inner Ocean Publishing, Inc. ©2002, 2004. www.innerocean.com

Article Source

Toxic Success: How to Stop Striving and Start Thriving
by Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.

book cover of Toxic Success: How to Stop Striving and Start Thriving by Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Dr. Pearsall directly challenges many of the self-help conventions, which he finds are not solutions but part of the problem. His detoxification program has helped many TSS patients to sweeten it up by changing their mindset and taking back their attention, focusing on what they need, not what they want.

Info/Order this book.

More books by this author.

About the Author

photo of Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Paul Pearsall, Ph.D. (1942-2007) was a licensed clinical psychoneuroimmunologist, a specialist in the study of the healing mind. He held a Ph.D. in both clinical and educational psychology. Dr. Pearsall has published more than two hundred professional articles, written fifteen best-selling books, and has appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show, The Monte/ Williams Show, CNN, 20/20, Dateline, and Good Morning America.

Visit his website at www.paulpearsall.com.

  


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

full moon over Stonehenge
Horoscope Current Week: September 20 - 26, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a swimmer in large expanse of water
Joy and Resilience: A Conscious Antidote to Stress
by Nancy Windheart
We know that we're in a great time of transition, of birthing a new way of being, living, and…
five closed doors, one pained yellow, the others white
Where Do We Go From Here?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Life can be confusing. There are so many things going on, so many choices presented to us. Even a…
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Works Best?
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Comes First?
by Alan Cohen
People who are enthusiastic about a goal find ways to achieve it and they do not need to be goaded…
photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
Your Menopause, Your Future, Your Choices
Your Menopause, Your Future, Your Choices
by Barb DePree, MD
As women at midlife, we understand our priorities. We’ve demonstrated how good we are at…
The Intersection of Prosperity and Life Purpose is Your Financial "Sweet Spot"
The Intersection of Prosperity and Life Purpose is Your Financial "Sweet Spot"
by Prema Lee Gurreri
We all have a desire for wealth and prosperity. But there’s a deeper meaning to this desire than…
Practicing Altruism, Compassion, and Love Bring You Happiness and Stress Relief
Practicing Altruism, Compassion, and Love Bring Happiness and Stress Relief
by Lama Palden Drolma
Modern neuroscience has now found that altru­ism brings us happiness in addition to being a stress…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
image of the planet Jupiter on the skyline of a rocky ocean shore
Is Jupiter a Planet of Hope or a Planet of Discontent?
by Steven Forrest and Jeffrey Wolf Green
In the American dream as it's currently dished up, we try to do two things: make money and lose…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.