تلتزم مدن 32 بالولايات المتحدة للوصول إلى الإنترنت عالي السرعة الذي يمتلكه المجتمع

تلتزم 32 مدن الولايات المتحدة بخدمة الإنترنت ذات النطاق العريض التي تملكها المجتمعات

Oفي أكتوبر 21st 2014 ، انضم ائتلاف من ممثلين من مدن 32 عبر الولايات المتحدة للتعامل مع الحاجة الملحة إلى إنترنت عالي السرعة وموثوق به وبسعر معقول. نظمت من قبل مدن القرن القادمتم تصميم مبادرة الحزبين لمساعدة المدن على إنشاء شبكات النطاق العريض المجتمعية الخاصة بها لأن شركات الاتصالات الكبيرة لا توفر النطاق العريض لجميع مناطق البلاد.

من بين التحديات التي تواجه قادة المدينة الذين يحاولون تنفيذ خدمة النطاق العريض المجتمعي التكلفة ، وقضايا البنية التحتية ، والحقيقة أنه في العديد من الأماكن توجد قوانين تحظر النطاق العريض للمجتمع. كما جايسون Koebler ، كاتب في اللوحة الأم تقارير,

"في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، وقعت شركات مثل Comcast ، و Time Warner Cable ، و CenturyLink ، و Verizon اتفاقات مع المدن التي تمنع الحكومات المحلية من أن تصبح مزودي خدمات الإنترنت وتحظر على البلديات بيع أو تأجير الالياف الخاصة بها للشركات الناشئة المحلية التي ستتنافس مع هذه الشركات الضخمة. ".

الإنترنت العام 10-23

سيعمل تحالف مدن القرن القادم معًا لتوفير سرعة إنترنت جيجابت تنافسي لمدنهم كطريقة لخلق فرص العمل ، وتحسين الرعاية الصحية والتعليم ، وتوفير البنية التحتية الحيوية للمقيمين وجذب الأعمال. اثنين من المدن الأعضاء ، ويلسون ، كارولاينا الشمالية ، وتشاتانوغا ، تينيسي لديها بالفعل خدمة جيجابت وأوستن ، تكساس لديها جوجل الألياف. وستكون خبرتهم حيوية في مساعدة المدن الأخرى على تحدي قطاع الاتصالات الكبيرة للحق في إنشاء النطاق العريض للمجتمع.

في بيانوقال ديب سوسيا ، المدير التنفيذي لمدن القرن القادم ، إن رؤساء البلديات "يلفون سواعدهم وينجزون المهمة وأن مدن القرن المقبل ستكون هناك لدعم أهدافهم".

"في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، يجاهد قادة المدن لنشر الإنترنت فائق السرعة" ، تقول ، "لتحويل مجتمعاتهم المحلية وربط السكان بوظائف أفضل ، ورعاية صحية أفضل ، وتعليم أفضل لأطفالهم".

وتتمثل خطة مدن القرن المقبل في "التفاعل مع المجتمعات المحلية ومساعدتها في تطوير ونشر الجيل التالي من الإنترنت عريض النطاق." في تبادل أفضل الممارسات والمعلومات والاستراتيجيات ، ستتعلم المدن المشاركة من بعضها البعض وتزيد الوعي بحقيقة السرعة لم تعد الإنترنت ترفاً ، بل كانت أداة ضرورية.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على وللمشاركة

عن المؤلف

جونسون القطالقط جونسون كاتبة مستقلة تركز على المجتمع، المشاعات، وتبادل والتعاون والموسيقى. وتشمل المنشورات اوتن قارئ، وحسن، نعم! مجلة، قابل للمشاركة المثقف الثلاثي ويفهكر. انها أيضا موسيقي، سجل مخزن longtimer، المزمن صانع القائمة، زميل متعطشا وتطمح الحد الأدنى. اتبعCatJohnson لها على تويتر و الفيسبوك، مدونة Cat Johnson

إينيرسيلف الموصى بها الكتاب:

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy - by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.تواجه المدن والمناطق الحضرية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة تحديات اقتصادية وتنافسية هائلة لا تستطيع واشنطن حلها أو لا تستطيع حلها. والخبر السار هو أن شبكات من قادة المدن - رؤساء البلديات ، وقادة الأعمال والقادة العماليين ، والمربين ، والمحسنين - تتصاعد وتغذي الأمة. في الثورة متروبوليتانبروس كاتس وجينيفر برادلي تسلط الضوء على قصص النجاح والأشخاص الذين يقفون وراءهم. الدروس في هذا الكتاب يمكن أن تساعد المدن الأخرى في مواجهة تحدياتهم. التغيير يحدث ، ويمكن أن تستفيد كل مجتمع في البلاد. يحدث التغيير حيث نعيش ، وإذا لم يفعل القادة ذلك ، فيجب على المواطنين المطالبة به.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

32 US Cities Commit to High-Speed Community-Owned Internet Access

32 US Cities Commit to Community-owned Broadband Internet Access

On October 21st 2014, a coalition of representatives from 32 cities across the U.S. joined together to address the pressing need for fast, reliable and affordable high-speed Internet. Organized by Next Century Cities, the bipartisan initiative is designed to help cities create their own community broadband networks because big telecom companies don’t provide broadband to all areas of the country.

Among the challenges facing city leaders trying to implement community broadband service are cost, infrastructure issues, and the reality that in many places there are laws that prohibit community broadband. As Jason Koebler, staff writer at Motherboard reports,

“Throughout the country, companies like Comcast, Time Warner Cable, CenturyLink, and Verizon have signed agreements with cities that prohibit local governments from becoming internet service providers and prohibit municipalities from selling or leasing their fiber to local startups who would compete with these huge corporations.”

public internet-10-23

The Next Century Cities coalition will work together to bring competitive, gigabit speed Internet to their cities as a way to create jobs, improve health care and education, offer residents vital infrastructure and attract business. Two of the member cities, Wilson, North Carolina, and Chattanooga, Tennessee already have gigabit service and Austin, Texas has Google fiber. Their experience will be vital in helping other cities challenge big telecom business for the right to create community broadband.

In a statement, Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities said that the mayors are "rolling up their sleeves and getting the job done and that Next Century Cities will be there to support their goals."

“Across the country, city leaders are hungry to deploy high-speed Internet," she says, "to transform their communities and connect residents to better jobs, better health care, and better education for their children."

The plan for Next Century Cities is to “engage with and assist communities in developing and deploying next-generation broadband Internet.” In sharing best practices, information and strategies, participating cities will learn from each other and raise awareness of the fact that high-speed Internet is no longer a luxury, but a necessary utility.

This article originally appeared on Shareable

About the Author

johnson catCat Johnson is a freelance writer focused on community, the commons, sharing, collaboration and music. Publications include Utne Reader, GOOD, Yes! Magazine, Shareable, Triple Pundit and Lifehacker. She's also a musician, record store longtimer, chronic list maker, avid coworker and aspiring minimalist. Follow her @CatJohnson on Twitter and Facebook, Cat Johnson's Blog

InnerSelf Recommended Book:

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros Are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy  --  by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros Are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.Across the US, cities and metropolitan areas are facing huge economic and competitive challenges that Washington won’t, or can’t, solve. The good news is that networks of metropolitan leaders – mayors, business and labor leaders, educators, and philanthropists – are stepping up and powering the nation forward. In The Metropolitan Revolution, Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley highlight success stories and the people behind them. The lessons in this book can help other cities meet their challenges. Change is happening, and every community in the country can benefit. Change happens where we live, and if leaders won’t do it, citizens should demand it.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}