Les villes américaines 32 s'engagent dans un accès Internet haut débit communautaire

Les villes américaines 32 s'engagent à accéder à Internet haut débit appartenant à la communauté

On Octobre 21st 2014, une coalition de représentants des villes 32 à travers les États-Unis se sont réunis pour répondre au besoin pressant d'Internet haute vitesse rapide, fiable et abordable. Organisé par Villes du siècle suivant, l'initiative bipartisan est conçue pour aider les villes à créer leurs propres réseaux à large bande communautaires parce que les grandes entreprises de télécommunication ne fournissent pas le haut débit à toutes les régions du pays.

Parmi les défis auxquels sont confrontés les dirigeants des villes qui tentent de mettre en place un service communautaire à large bande, citons le coût, les problèmes d'infrastructure et le fait que, dans de nombreux endroits, des lois interdisent le haut débit communautaire. Comme Jason Koebler, rédacteur personnel chez Motherboard rapports,

«Dans tout le pays, des sociétés comme Comcast, Time Warner Cable, CenturyLink et Verizon ont signé des accords avec des villes interdisant aux gouvernements locaux de devenir des fournisseurs d'accès Internet et interdisant aux municipalités de vendre ou de louer leur fibre à des start-up locales. "

Internet public-10-23

La coalition Next Century Cities travaillera de concert pour offrir un accès Internet à haut débit à leurs villes afin de créer des emplois, d'améliorer les soins de santé et l'éducation, d'offrir aux résidents des infrastructures essentielles et d'attirer des entreprises. Deux des villes membres, Wilson, Caroline du Nord, et Chattanooga, Tennessee ont déjà un service de gigabit et Austin, Texas a Google fibre. Leur expérience sera vitale pour aider d'autres villes à défier les grandes entreprises de télécommunications pour le droit de créer du large bande communautaire.

Dans un déclaration, Deb Socia, directrice exécutive de Next Century Cities, a déclaré que les maires «retroussent leurs manches et font le travail et que les villes de Next Century seront là pour soutenir leurs objectifs».

«Partout au pays, les dirigeants de la ville ont hâte de déployer l'Internet haute vitesse», dit-elle, «pour transformer leurs communautés et relier les résidents à de meilleurs emplois, de meilleurs soins de santé et une meilleure éducation pour leurs enfants.

Le plan pour Next Century Cities est de «s'engager et aider les communautés à développer et déployer l'Internet haut débit de nouvelle génération.» En partageant les meilleures pratiques, informations et stratégies, les villes participantes apprendront les unes des autres et sensibiliseront sur le fait que la vitesse Internet n'est plus un luxe, mais une utilité nécessaire.

Cet article a paru sur Partageable

A propos de l'auteur

johnson chatCat Johnson est un auteur indépendant axé sur la communauté, les communes, le partage, la collaboration et la musique. Les publications comprennent Utne Reader, GOOD, Oui! Magazine, partageable, Pundit Triple et Lifehacker. Elle est aussi un musicien, un magasin de disques longtimer, fabricant de liste chronique, un collègue passionné et minimaliste en herbe. Suivez-la sur @CatJohnson Twitter Facebook, Le blog de Cat Johnson

InnerSelf Livre recommandé:

La Révolution Métropolitaine: Comment les villes et les métros fixent notre politique brisée et notre économie fragile - par Bruce Katz et Jennifer Bradley.

La Révolution Métropolitaine: Comment les villes et les métros fixent notre politique brisée et notre économie fragile par Bruce Katz et Jennifer Bradley.Aux États-Unis, les villes et les régions métropolitaines sont confrontées à d'énormes défis économiques et concurrentiels que Washington ne pourra pas résoudre ou ne pourra pas résoudre. La bonne nouvelle est que les réseaux de dirigeants métropolitains - maires, chefs d'entreprise et de travail, éducateurs et philanthropes - intensifient et font avancer la nation. Dans La Révolution métropolitaine, Bruce Katz et Jennifer Bradley soulignent les réussites et les personnes derrière eux. Les leçons de ce livre peuvent aider d'autres villes à relever leurs défis. Le changement est en train de se produire et toutes les collectivités du pays peuvent en bénéficier. Le changement se produit là où nous vivons, et si les dirigeants ne le font pas, les citoyens devraient le demander.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

32 US Cities Commit to High-Speed Community-Owned Internet Access

32 US Cities Commit to Community-owned Broadband Internet Access

On October 21st 2014, a coalition of representatives from 32 cities across the U.S. joined together to address the pressing need for fast, reliable and affordable high-speed Internet. Organized by Next Century Cities, the bipartisan initiative is designed to help cities create their own community broadband networks because big telecom companies don’t provide broadband to all areas of the country.

Among the challenges facing city leaders trying to implement community broadband service are cost, infrastructure issues, and the reality that in many places there are laws that prohibit community broadband. As Jason Koebler, staff writer at Motherboard reports,

“Throughout the country, companies like Comcast, Time Warner Cable, CenturyLink, and Verizon have signed agreements with cities that prohibit local governments from becoming internet service providers and prohibit municipalities from selling or leasing their fiber to local startups who would compete with these huge corporations.”

public internet-10-23

The Next Century Cities coalition will work together to bring competitive, gigabit speed Internet to their cities as a way to create jobs, improve health care and education, offer residents vital infrastructure and attract business. Two of the member cities, Wilson, North Carolina, and Chattanooga, Tennessee already have gigabit service and Austin, Texas has Google fiber. Their experience will be vital in helping other cities challenge big telecom business for the right to create community broadband.

In a statement, Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities said that the mayors are "rolling up their sleeves and getting the job done and that Next Century Cities will be there to support their goals."

“Across the country, city leaders are hungry to deploy high-speed Internet," she says, "to transform their communities and connect residents to better jobs, better health care, and better education for their children."


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The plan for Next Century Cities is to “engage with and assist communities in developing and deploying next-generation broadband Internet.” In sharing best practices, information and strategies, participating cities will learn from each other and raise awareness of the fact that high-speed Internet is no longer a luxury, but a necessary utility.

This article originally appeared on Shareable

About the Author

johnson catCat Johnson is a freelance writer focused on community, the commons, sharing, collaboration and music. Publications include Utne Reader, GOOD, Yes! Magazine, Shareable, Triple Pundit and Lifehacker. She's also a musician, record store longtimer, chronic list maker, avid coworker and aspiring minimalist. Follow her @CatJohnson on Twitter and Facebook, Cat Johnson's Blog

InnerSelf Recommended Book:

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros Are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy  --  by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.

The Metropolitan Revolution: How Cities and Metros Are Fixing Our Broken Politics and Fragile Economy by Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley.Across the US, cities and metropolitan areas are facing huge economic and competitive challenges that Washington won’t, or can’t, solve. The good news is that networks of metropolitan leaders – mayors, business and labor leaders, educators, and philanthropists – are stepping up and powering the nation forward. In The Metropolitan Revolution, Bruce Katz and Jennifer Bradley highlight success stories and the people behind them. The lessons in this book can help other cities meet their challenges. Change is happening, and every community in the country can benefit. Change happens where we live, and if leaders won’t do it, citizens should demand it.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…