ديترويت، وقدرة المجتمع الحلم الأميركي

ديترويت، وقدرة المجتمع الحلم الأميركي

ديترويت، في الكثير من الطرق، يوازي المسار نحن على كأمة. بعد طفرة صناعية في أواخر القرن 19th، أصبح ديترويت مركزا للتجارة ومكان حيث يستطيع الناس أن يأتي في العثور على فرصة. في بداية القرن 20th أصبح مرادفا ديترويت لصناعة السيارات. حيث أن هذه الصناعة تشعبت لتصبح النفوذ في تخطيط المدن حول الاعتماد على السيارات، أصبحت الضواحي والامتداد وسيلة للحياة. العزلة الضواحي والاعتماد على الصناعة هي الموروثات نميل لا يمكن الحديث عنها في هذا البلد، ولكن وبما أن الاقتصاد ينهار تصبح الصعب تجاهلها.

التوترات العرقية التي لم تحل والتخلي عن المدن حقائق الحياة هنا في الولايات المتحدة. لنكن واضحين، ديترويت ليست وحدها في هذا المجال. قد يكون أكثر وضوحا هنا، ولكن إذا بقينا على المسار الحالي بمحاولة لإيواء أنفسنا في مساكن الأسرة الواحدة، وتستهلك دون اعتبار للاستدامة العملية أو والتطلع إلى مصدر واحد للرفاه لدينا - في حالتنا، على التوالي متابعة الرأسمالية يحركها المستهلك - ليست هناك حاجة للنظر في كرة الكريستال: لقطة من مستقبلنا هو يحدق في وجه لنا في لقطات النمطية للديترويت.

مفتاح المستقبل: بطريقة أكثر استدامة المعيشة

ولكنني أعتقد أيضا يحمل ديترويت المفتاح لمستقبل هذه الأمة العظيمة. يجب أن تتطور إلى طريقة أكثر استدامة المعيشة إذا ما أردنا البقاء على قيد الحياة، وأعتقد أننا جميعا الشعور بالفطرة ذلك. ونحن نعلم أن أسعار المساكن لمدة الدخل التي تعتمد على لا تضيف ما يصل بينما البطالة والعمالة الناقصة الاقتراب من خانة العشرات. نحن نعلم أن عدد سكان العالم الذين يتزايد عددهم لن تكون قادرة على دعم مجموعة من الناس التي تستهلك ثلاثة أضعاف الموارد مثل بقية العالم.

في حياتنا، وكثير منا لديه لايجاد سبل جديدة لتلبية احتياجاتنا وسوف رائدة معنى جديدا ما "الحياة الجيدة" هي حقا. أولئك الذين بقوا في ديترويت هم رواد. انها مثل ما يحدث للغابة بعد اندلاع حريق كبير. للوهلة الأولى، يبدو أن كل شيء قد مات. ولكن، إذا كنت إمعان النظر ستجد أن التربة الغنية الخصبة هو وجاهزة للزراعة. ديترويت الأرض خصبة ويجري المصنف كما تقرأ هذا.

خلال فترة وجودي هناك، التقيت مع الناس في العشرينات والثلاثينات الذين اشتروا محلات تجارية، بدأت التجمعات الفنية، التي تأسست المنظمات غير الربحية الخاصة بها، وبصراحة، كانوا يعيشون الحلم ... يتم تعبئة مع المدينة كلها أشياء المزروعة محليا العضوية، في كثير من الأحيان، أو المصنوعة محليا لتناول الطعام، انظر والتمتع بها. وأفضل جزء هو أن الجميع في الحقيقة إلى دعم هذه الشركات. هناك فخر المزدوج الذي يأتي من دعم الأصدقاء والجيران ودعم أيضا للأشخاص الذين، مثلك، تريد أن ترى ديترويت الازدهار. فخر المحلية واضح بقدر ما هو في لعبة ريد سوكس، لكنه يستمر لفترة أطول بكثير من الموسم.

بناء أصح وأكثر ارتباطا، والجماعة، بذرة واحدة في وقت واحد

ديترويت، وقدرة المجتمع الحلم الأميركيعلى واحد من أيامي الماضي في مدينة التقيت كافة كوفينجتون، مؤسس الجماعية جورجيا الجماعة شارع، منظمة الصحة العالمية، بعد أن تم تسريحهم من كمهندس البيئية والتحرك مرة أخرى إلى منزل عائلته، لاحظت أن الناس كانوا إلقاء القمامة في فارغة الكثير على الجانب الآخر من منزله.

"كنت أعرف أي شخص آخر كان على وشك لتنظيف تلك الكثير، ولذلك قررت أنا سوف"، وقال انه بلا مبالاة، كما لو كانت ببساطة الشيء المنطقي القيام به. بعد تنظيف الكثير فقط ليكون لهم ملقاة على مرة أخرى، قرر لزرع حديقة لمنع المزيد من الإغراق. ليس فقط لم يعمل، ولكن أفراد المجتمع بدأ في الخروج من منازلهم لرؤية ما كان يصل إلى. بدأ أطفال الحي للمساعدة في زراعة واصبحت مهتمة في البستنة. بدأ الناس الذين لمست الترابط مع مارك لتبادل الصعوبات التي يواجهونها مع توفير الغذاء في حين دفع للتدفئة والكهرباء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذا المنتدى جعل لدفع تبدأ في النمو أكثر وإشراك المجتمع. في الوقت طور فيلم ليلة في الهواء الطلق و"قراءة لأطفالك" ليلة وليلة الاحتفال المجتمع.

اشترى المبنى المجاور لمنزل جدته لالقادم الى لا شيء، وقال انه وشقيقه يفعلون كل التجديدات. انهم يأملون في الحصول على مساحة لعقد مزيد من العشاء المجتمع والاحتفالات، ومختبر الحاسوب للأطفال، والملابس والمواد الغذائية تبرع الفضاء الانزال وصندوق للطوارئ لأفراد المجتمع التي تعاني من الأوقات الصعبة. الجماعية كله يتكون الآن من خمسة الكثير في شارع جورجيا، بما في ذلك بستان الفاكهة. الحديث عن قدرة المجتمعات المحلية. ديترويت هي تجسيد لحركة DIY.

إعطاء الطلاب فرصة للتصميم المستقبل

مؤسسات ديترويت - كلية الدراسات الإبداعية (CCS) وجامعة ولاية واين - وكذلك كل المجتمع والمؤسسات العالمية على اتخاذ إشعار والتقاط مجرفة أيضا. خطوات مذهلة تجري مع جامعة / مؤسسة الشراكات التي تمول حاضنات الأعمال، والمشاريع الإنمائية للضوء السكك الحديدية، وتطوير الشراكة والمنح التي تسمح أصحاب المشاريع والباحثين والعلماء، والناس صناعة التكنولوجيا والفنانين للعيش في المدينة أثناء الاتصال بهم للمجتمعات المحلية في تحتاج إليها.

واضاف "اعتقد حقا انها نعمة أن كنا فككت،" وقال مايك هان، مدير تطوير المجتمع أنا شاب ديترويت!. "لدينا فقط لبنائه حق هذه المرة، وإذا فعلنا ذلك، فإننا يمكن أن تظهر للعالم كيف يعيش بطريقة مستدامة، مع المدينة التي يمكن ان تتحرك بسرعة للتكيف مع التغيرات مهما كان يأتي طريقها." أنا لا يمكن أن توافق أكثر من ذلك.

لذلك، وهنا اعترافي الأخير: أريد الانتقال الى ديترويت. أبدا لقد شهدت مكانا تزدهر مع والموهبة العاطفة والطاقة والتصميم على جعل مدينتهم، ومن خلال الجمعيات، والعالم، مكانا أفضل إذا كنت تبحث عن مكان لوضع حلمك، مهما كان، والنظر في محاولة للقيام بذلك في ديترويت، في المقام أنا الآن الدبلجة مهد مصيرنا الجماعي الاميركية الجديدة. نراكم هناك.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا (في مجملها) على Shareable.net

© 2012 CommonSource.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
الناشرون المجتمع الجديد. http://newsociety.com


وقد تم تكييف هذا المقال بإذن من كتاب:

مشاركة أو يموت: أصوات الجيل تضيع في عصر الأزمات
مالكولم هاريس حرره، نيل Gorenflo.

حصة أو يموت: أصوات من الحصول على الجيل الضائع في عصر الأزمات مالكولم هاريس حرره، نيل Gorenflo.ك "حصة أو يموت" دعوة إلى العمل، ويشير الى العثور على الأفكار الحس السليم والممارسات اللازمة ليست مجرد البقاء على قيد الحياة فقط، ولكن لبناء مكان حيث انها تستحق العيش. من ديترويت إلى وسط المدن أمستردام، وعامل من التعاونيات لمجتمعات البدو الرحل، مجموعة متنوعة ومذهلة من الخريجين الجدد والمجربون والعشرين يجدون شيئا (والمشاركة) إجاباتهم الخاصة بالتفاوض النظام الاقتصادي الجديد. رؤاهم لمستقبل مشترك ما يلي: * شبكات الاستهلاك التعاونية بدلا من الملكية الخاصة * استبدال سلم الشركات مع "نمط الحياة شعرية" * افعل ذلك بنفسك التعليم العالي.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.


عن المؤلف

Milicent جونسونMilicent جونسون هو الواقعية المثالية مع شغف التعلم، ويضحك، وبناء المجتمع. أدى حبها للتمكين المجتمعات لإيجاد حلول مجدية ولها القدرة على التكيف للعمل على بناء الأصول والتنمية الاقتصادية من خلال التعليم، والسياسة، والبحوث، وتنظيم المجتمع مع التركيز على المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمجتمعات من الألوان. وهي شاكرة لمجتمع قابل للمشاركة أكدت اعتقادها بأن كل ما يمكن ان نريد أو الحاجة هو في الواقع داخل أنفسنا ومجتمعاتنا، والناس من حولنا. لا تتردد في الاتصال بها في milicentjohnson @ على موقع تويتر.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Detroit, Community Resilience and the American Dream

Detroit, Community Resilience and the American Dream

Detroit, in a lot of ways, parallels the track we are on as a nation. After an industrial boom in the late 19th century, Detroit became a hub of commerce and a place where people could come to find opportunity. At the beginning of the 20th century Detroit became synonymous with the automobile industry. As the industry branched out to become an influence in city planning around car dependency, suburbanization and sprawl became a way of life. Suburban isolation and dependence on industry are legacies we tend not to talk about in this country, but as the economy collapses they become hard to ignore.

Unresolved racial tensions and the abandonment of cities are facts of life here in the States. Let's be clear, Detroit is not alone in this. It may be more pronounced here, but if we stay on the current track of trying to house ourselves in single-family homes, consuming without regard for practicality or sustainability and looking to a single source for our well-being — in our case, straight-up consumer-driven capitalism — there is no need to look into a crystal ball: the snapshot of our future is staring us in the face in the stereotypical shots of Detroit.

The Key to the Future: A More Sustainable Way of Living

But I believe Detroit also holds the key to the future of this great nation. We must evolve to a more sustainable way of living if we are to survive, and I think we all innately sense it. We know that two-income-dependent housing prices do not add up while unemployment and underemployment approach the double digits. We know that a growing world population is not going to be able to support a group of people that consumes three times as many resources as the rest of the world.

Within our lifetimes, many of us will have to find new ways to meet our needs and will pioneer a new meaning of what "the good life" really is. Those who have stayed in Detroit are pioneers. It's like what happens to a forest after a great fire. At first glance, it looks like everything is dead. But, if you look closer you'll find that the rich soil is fertile and ready for planting. Detroit's ground is fertile and being seeded as you read this.

During my time there, I met with people in their twenties and thirties who had bought storefronts, started art collectives, founded their own nonprofits and, frankly, were living the dream... The whole city is filled with locally grown, frequently organic, or locally made things to eat, see and enjoy. And the best part is that everyone is really into supporting these businesses. There is a dual pride that comes from supporting your friends and neighbors and also supporting the people who, like you, want to see Detroit thrive. The local pride is as palpable as it is at a Red Sox game, but it lasts much longer than a season.

Building Healthier, More Connected, Community, One Seed At A Time

Detroit, Community Resilience and the American Dream On one of my last days in the city I met Mark Covington, founder of the Georgia Street Community Collective, who, after being laid off from as an environmental engineer and moving back into his family's home, noticed that people were dumping garbage in the empty lots across from his house.

"I knew no one else was going to clean those lots, so I decided I would," he said with a shrug, as if it were simply the logical thing to do. After cleaning the lots only to have them dumped on again, he decided to plant a garden to prevent more dumping. Not only did it work, but community members began to come out of their houses to see what he was up to. Neighborhood kids began to help with the planting and became interested in gardening. People who sensed a connectedness with Mark began to share their difficulties with affording food while paying for heating and electricity.

This spurred Mark to begin to grow more and involve the community. In time he developed an outdoor movie night, a "read to your kids" night and community celebration nights.

He bought the building next to his grandmother's house for next to nothing, and he and his brother are doing all the renovations. They hope to have a space to hold more community dinners and celebrations, a computer lab for the kids, a clothing and food donation drop-off space and an emergency fund for community members experiencing tough times. The whole collective now consists of five lots on Georgia Street, including a fruit orchard. Talk about community resilience. Detroit is the embodiment of the DIY movement.

Giving Students A Chance To Design The Future

The institutions of Detroit — the College for Creative Studies (CCS) and Wayne State University — as well as both community and global foundations are taking notice and picking up a shovel as well. Amazing strides are taking place with university/foundation partnerships that are funding business incubators, light-rail development projects, partnership development and grants that allow entrepreneurs, researchers, scientists, tech industry folks and artists to live in the city while connecting them to communities in need.

"I really think it's a blessing that we've been deconstructed," said Mike Han, community development director of I Am Young Detroit!. "We just have to build it right this time. If we do, we can show the world how to live in a sustainable way, with a city that can move quickly to adapt to whatever changes comes its way." I couldn't agree more.

So, here's my final confession: I want to move to Detroit. Never have I experienced a place thriving with talent, energy, passion and determination to make their city, and by association, the world, a better place. If you are looking for a place to develop your dream, whatever it may be, consider trying to do so in Detroit, in the place I am now dubbing the birthplace of our collective new American destiny. See you there.

This article was originally published (in its entirety) on Shareable.net

©2012 CommonSource.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. http://newsociety.com


This article was adapted with permission from the book:

Share or Die: Voices of the Get Lost Generation in the Age of Crisis
edited by Malcolm Harris, Neal Gorenflo.

Share or Die: Voices of the Get Lost Generation in the Age of Crisis edited by Malcolm Harris, Neal Gorenflo.As a call-to-action, "share or die" refers to finding the common sense ideas and practices needed to not only merely survive, but to build a place where it's worth living. From urban Detroit to central Amsterdam, and from worker co-operatives to nomadic communities, an astonishing variety of recent graduates and twenty-something experimenters are finding (and sharing) their own answers to negotiating the new economic order. Their visions of a shared future include: * Collaborative consumption networks instead of private ownership * Replacing the corporate ladder with a "lattice lifestyle" * Do-it-yourself higher education.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.


About the Author

Milicent JohnsonMilicent Johnson is an idealistic realist with a passion for learning, laughing, and building community. Her passion for empowering communities to find meaningful solutions and resilience led her to work on asset building and economic development through education, policy, research, and community organizing with a focus on low income communities and communities of color. She is thankful that the Shareable community has confirmed her belief that all we could possibly want or need is actually within ourselves, our communities, and the people around us. Feel free to contact her at @milicentjohnson on Twitter.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}