الولادة أسطورة جديدة الثقافي

الأساطير منطقية في (ومن) السياق الثقافي. عندما يتغير السياق ، تتوقف الأساطير القديمة عن التفكير المنطقي. هذا ما حدث للأساطير اليونانية منذ أكثر من خمسين ألف عام ، عندما بدأ فلاسفة مثل Xenophanes يشكك في حقيقة الآلهة والإلهات التقليدية. وبنفس الروح ، فإن فلاسفةنا أنفسهم كانوا يبتعدون عن الأسطورة اليهودية المسيحية خلال القرنين الماضيين ، محاولين استبدالها ببديل علماني.

في الأسطورة والفلسفة: مسابقة للحقائقيقول الفيلسوف لورانس جيه. حطاب من جامعة دومينيون إن الأسطورة لا يمكن ولا ينبغي اختزالها إلى أساليب أخرى للتعبير (مثل التفسير العقلاني في الفلسفة أو الرياضيات أو العلوم) ، وأن الأسطورة بطريقتها الخاصة تقدم الحقائق على أنها حقيقية وواقعية. مهم مثل تلك الخطاب العقلاني. علاوة على ذلك ، وحسب حطاب ، عندما تحاول الفلسفة أن تنكسر تمامًا مع الأسطورة ، فإنها تفقد طريقها. وهذه المحاولة من جانب العلم والفلسفة الحديثتين هي تحطيم الوعي الإنساني الذي أضعف علاقاتنا مع أعمق حقائق تراثنا الثقافي.

يقول الفلاسفة الماديون الذين يعارضهم حطاب أنه يجب أن نتخلص من الأساطير كلياً ، وأن نصبح أكثر عقلانية ، وأن نتخلص من الخرافات. يقولون ، أسطورة ، يجب أن يتقاعد لصالح العلم. لكن العلم ، رغم أنه صيغ بطريقة مختلفة تمامًا عن الأساطير التقليدية ، لا يزال يخدم وظيفة أسطورية: فهو يخبرنا كيف بدأ الكون ، ومن أين جاء أول الناس ، وكيف أصبح العالم على ما هو عليه. يستند هذا الاقتراح إلى أننا نتخلص من الأساطير على سوء فهم أساسي للأسطورة والنفسية البشرية. الأسطورة في شكل ما أمر حتمي وضروري. إن معرفتنا دائمًا محدودة ، وتتداخل دائمًا مع حاجتنا إلى المعنى. تسعى أفكارنا وتطلعاتنا إلى إيجاد لغة رمزية يمكن من خلالها الحديث عن ، والمشاركة في ما لا يمكننا رؤيته أو لمسه أو طعمه. ما هو هدفنا ، معنانا ، هدفنا كبشر؟ هذه هي الأسئلة التي يمكن للأسطورة الإجابة عنها.

يرى كل شخص مفكر تقريباً الحاجة إلى تجديد عالمي درامي إذا كان عالمنا هو البقاء ؛ وباعتبارهم أعظم السياسيين والفنانين والقادة الروحانيين ، وحتى العلماء يعرفون في عظامهم ، فإن أسطورة جديدة فقط يمكن أن تلهم التغيير الثقافي الإبداعي. لكن من أين يأتي هذا الإلهام من الإلهام؟

ومن المفارقات ، في حين أن العديد من العلماء سعى إلى التراجع عن الأسطورة تماما ، فمن العلوم نفسها أن يبدو لي أن يكون بمثابة مصدر رئيسي لأسطورة جديدة. إن نقاط القوة العظيمة التي يتمتع بها العلم هي التحقق المستمر من النظرية من خلال التجربة وقدرته على توليد نظريات جديدة استجابة للاكتشافات الجديدة. في حين أنه لا يزال مشروعًا صغيرًا جدًا ، وقادرًا على توليد عقائده غير المنطقية ، فإن العلم من حيث المبدأ قابل للطرق ويصحح نفسه بنفسه. في الوقت الحالي ، يبدو أن عناصر أسطورة جديدة تظهر من خلال فيزياء الكم والنسبية ، على الرغم من أنها أكثر مباشرة وبقوة من خلال نتائج الأنثروبولوجيا (التي هي "اكتشاف" حكمة الشعوب الأصلية) ، وعلم النفس (الذي يبدأ فقط في تطوير الفهم الشامل للوعي البشري) ، علم الاجتماع (الذي يقدم وجهة نظر مقارنة للاقتصاديات البشرية وأنماط الحياة) ، والإيكولوجيا - وكذلك من خلال استجابة بشرية عميقة وشاملة تقريبًا لرؤية كوكب الأرض من الفضاء ، صورة مدين بها أكثر للتكنولوجيا من العلوم النظرية.

وأعتقد أن كل من هذه المصادر يساهم في صياغة أسطورة تتضح معالمها العامة بدرجة كافية بحيث يمكن التعبير عنها في شكل قصة بسيطة. يمكن أن نسميها أسطورة الشفاء والتواضع. يبدأ الأمر إلى حد ما مثل الأسطورة القديمة ، لكنه يتباعد بسرعة.

القصة الجديدة

منذ عشرات الآلاف من السنين ، كان البشر يعيشون على قيد الحياة من خلال جمع النباتات البرية. كانت أسلافنا هؤلاء من البدو الرحل وعاشوا في ترابط سحري مع محيطهم. كانت الحيوانات والأشجار أصدقاءهم وتحدثت إليهم. مما لا شك فيه أنهم واجهوا تحديات - المرض والحوادث ، على سبيل المثال - لكنهم كانوا يتمتعون بصحة جيدة وحياة اجتماعية مستقرة وغنية.

في حين أن تكيفات الكائنات الأخرى مع بيئتها كانت مادية وغريزية ، فقد طور البشر أدمغة كبيرة سمحت لهم بالتكيّف والتطور اجتماعيًا وروحيًا ولغويًا بطرق فريدة من نوعها. هذه القدرة على التنمية الداخلية وبالتالي للاختراع الثقافي سمحت للناس بالاستجابة السريعة للتغيرات البيئية. وتغيرت البيئة - العصور الجليدية بعد الفترات الدافئة. الفيضانات التالية للجفاف - في بعض الأحيان على مدى آلاف السنين ، في أوقات أخرى في غضون ساعات أو أيام.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وقد حدثت التحولات المناخية الأكثر دراماتيكية بسبب التأثيرات الهائلة للمذنبات أو الكويكبات. في مناسبة واحدة على الأقل ، لا يزال عشرات الآلاف من السنين ، كان الغلاف الجوي للكوكب يظلم لسنوات بسبب الغبار الناتج عن مثل هذا التصادم. توفي العديد من النباتات خلال تلك السنوات لجأ البشر إلى صيد الحيوانات للحصول على الطعام. في وقت لاحق ، احتفظوا بهذه العادة.

ثم ، بين عشرة آلاف وألفي سنة مضت ، ألهمت سلسلة أخرى من الكوارث المزيد من التكيفات البشرية. حتى ذلك الوقت ، كانت اللعبة البرية وفيرة - لدرجة أن السكان البشر قد ازدهرت. ولكن الآن يتم اصطياد العديد من الحيوانات الكبيرة إلى الانقراض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت الأجواء في كل مكان تتذبذب بسرعة وارتفعت مستويات البحار ، مما أدى إلى إغراق المناطق الساحلية ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية. فجأة تغير العالم ، وسيتعين على الناس التغيير أيضا من أجل البقاء.

كانت القبائل التي عانت من هذه الأحداث بشكل عميق للغاية تميل إلى العيش في حالة طوارئ دائمة ، وإلقاء اللوم على أنفسهم في إثارة الآلهة ، ولتمرير الصدمة التي يشعرون بها تجاه أطفالهم في شكل الانضباط المسيء. في حين كانت المجموعات الجديدة تتصرف على قدم المساواة ، يبدو أن هذه الأزمة الجديدة تتطلب قيادة صارمة. أصبح الرجال - وخاصة الأقوى والأكثر تحركًا - مهيمنين. بدأت القبائل في الخوف ومقاتلة بعضها البعض ، والخوف من السماء والعناصر.

كان هناك تكيف اجتماعي آخر للكارثة يتعلق بالطرق الأساسية التي يتصل بها الناس ببيئتهم. كل مخلوق ، وكل ثقافة ، يجب أن يبقى على قيد الحياة من خلال التكيف مع بيئته ، وبتبديل بيئته ليتناسب مع نفسه. لكن هناك درجات نسبية من التوافق بين هذين المسارين من العمل. في حالة أسلافنا من العصر الحجري القديم المليء بالأزمات ، يبدو أن البعض اختاروا السابق ، قرروا معرفة المزيد عن العالم الطبيعي حتى يتمكنوا من استيعاب أنفسهم بشكل أفضل. كانوا يحلمون بالأساطير التي ترمز إلى المعاني التي لها علاقة بحماية مجموعات الحيوانات البرية ، مع الحفاظ على أعداد البشر داخل الحدود ، ومع تكريم التنوع والتواصل الوثيق لشبكة الحياة.

ومع ذلك ، قرر أشخاص آخرون التركيز على تكييف البيئة مع أنفسهم. استأنسا النباتات والحيوانات. مسحوا وحرثوا الأرض. اختاروا أفضل الأماكن وبنوا مستوطنات دائمة. استمر سكان هذه المجموعات في النمو دون رادع. ومع ازدياد حجم المستوطنات ، أصبحت الترتيبات الاجتماعية أكثر تطبقا وتطورت الطبقات. عدد قليل من الأفراد أصبحوا أثرياء وأقوياء. حاول الباقون لجعل أنفسهم مفيدة. مع توسع أراضيهم ، دخلوا في صراع مع المجموعات المستقرة الأخرى ، التي حاربوا معها أو شكلوا تحالفات ؛ أو مع جامعي الطعام والصيادين الذين قتلوا أو استعبدوا.

أينما استقروا ، استنفدوا الأرض. بعد بضعة أجيال ، ستضرب المجاعة وسيتقدمون. ومع ذلك ، في نهاية المطاف ، نمت أعداد سكانها وأقاليمها بشكل كبير بحيث لم يكن هناك مكان آخر تذهب إليه. وفي الوقت نفسه ، تم استيعاب جميع الشعوب التي اتخذت الخيار الأول في أراضي المزارع والرعاة. نشأت مدن ضخمة ، وتم اختراع أجهزة لكل غرض يمكن تخيله - لأغراض الاتصالات والنقل والتصنيع والطهي والتنظيف والنظافة الشخصية والقتل الجماعي. إن إطعام الجماهير في المدن وإنتاج جميع هذه الأجهزة الجديدة يتطلب زراعة متزايدة التعدين والتعدين ، والسيطرة الصارمة على العمل البشري.

عندما بدأت الأرض كلها تصرخ بالإرهاق ، حيث بدأت المدن تتفكك في الحرب بين الفصائل ، ومع احتضار الجوع للطبقات الأكثر فقراً من مجموعات الزراعة والرعي ، بدأ شباب هذا الأخير في البحث عن الشعوب القليلة المتبقية تعلمت التكيف مع الأرض. بدأ المزارعون ، الذين كانوا متغطرسين ، بالتواضع أمام أبناء عمومتهم ، الذين غادروا منهم منذ زمن بعيد والذين ذبحوا واستعبدوا في كل فرصة. بدأوا بتواضع أنفسهم قبل الأشياء البرية والأماكن البرية للأرض. وتعهدوا بشفاء الأرض وتجديدها ، وإقامة روابط مقدسة من الاحترام المتبادل والمساعدة بين الأنواع والثقافات. وتعهدوا بالتذكر ، حتى لا يرتكبوا نفس الأخطاء مرة أخرى.

جميعهم ، بشكل تدريجي ، جاءوا ليتفهموا مخاوفهم القديمة ويطلقونها. بدأوا في استخدام الحكمة والمعرفة التي تراكمت وحافظت عليها خلال آلاف السنين السابقة للبدء في بناء نمط حياة جديد ، يختلفان عن طرق جمع الطعام البدائية ومن طرق الزراعة والرعي في وقت لاحق. وبعد أن أدركوا أنهم جميعاً أصيبوا بجروح بليغة ، قرروا معاً أن يشفيوا الآثار العميقة للصدمة ، وأن يتخلوا عن العنف. تعلموا الحد من سكانها ، وتلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية بوسائل أبسط من أي وقت مضى. أصبحت تجمعاتهم الاجتماعية أصغر وأكثر ديمقراطية. كانت الأزمة التي مروا بها قد أثارت إعجابهم بإحساس جديد من الأخلاق: حيث أنهم قبل أن يحتفلوا بالاستهلاك والتراكم الجامح ، أصبحوا الآن يعرفون مخاطر زيادة الحجم والسرعة والتعقيد. لقد تعلموا أنه كان فقط من خلال احترام كل الحياة التي يمكن أن يعيشوا مرة أخرى في الترابط السحري مع محيطهم الطبيعي. الآن ، منذ زمن بعيد ، بدأوا يرون الأرض مقدسة ، وسماع أصوات الأشجار والحيوانات. مرة أخرى ، كانت الحياة جيدة.

هل هو صحيح؟

من الإنصاف اعتبار هذه الأسطورة الجديدة بدرجة من الشكوك. بعد كل شيء ، يمكن استخدام الأساطير للتلاعب بالناس. في العديد من المناسبات ، قام الأفراد أو المجموعات ببناء أسطورة جديدة من خلال دراسة المتطلبات وتخصيص واحد للمناسبة. لقد جاء عدد قليل من أساطير ثقافتنا الحالية على هذا النحو - أساطير وطنية ، أساطير اقتصادية ، أساطير عن أعداء الحرب والقادة السياسيين المحبوبين. لكن الأساطير الحقيقية والأكثر صدقًا لا تصنع: فهي تحلم وتغنى وترقص وتعيش.

في كتابة هذه القصة ، أدرك تمام الإدراك أنني أقوم إلى حد ما بتصنيعها ، بالمعنى الموضح أعلاه ، ولكن في الوقت نفسه التعبير عنها من بعض المصادر وراء نفسي. أنا مقتنع بأن الخطوط العريضة للقصة لها حياة خاصة بها وصحيحة ، سواء من الناحية الواقعية أو بمعنى أنها حقيقية في الحياة. بطبيعة الحال ، لا توجد أسطورة صحيحة تماما ، أكثر من أي نظرية علمية صحيحة تماما. ولكن إذا ساعدنا ذلك في رؤية أنفسنا ووضعنا من وجهة نظر أكثر شمولاً ، فقد نربح من خلال الاحتفاظ بها برفق لفترة من الزمن ونرى كيف تؤثر على الطريقة التي نرى ونكون فيها.

إحدى الطرق التي أقترح فيها اختبار صحة هذه الأسطورة الجديدة (أو أي منها) هي بطرح السؤال ، من الذي يخدم؟ هل يخدم مصالح الناس والمؤسسات القوية - من النوع الذي اعتاد على تصنيع الأساطير؟ أم أنها تخدم دائرة انتخابية أكبر؟

إذا افترضنا أن هذه القصة هي ، إلى حد ما ، أسطورة جديدة ، مثل ما دعا يونغ ، فماذا نفعل حيال ذلك؟ يجب علينا الإعلان عنها؟ بمعنى ، هذا ما أفعله عن طريق كتابته ونشره. إذا لم أكن أعتقد أن هناك فائدة في التمرين ، فلن أزعجني. لكنها فائدة محدودة. هذه القصة ، بعد كل شيء ، هي مجرد تعبير واحد عن الأسطورة الجديدة. لا شك أن الأشخاص الآخرين في أوقات مختلفة وبوجهات نظر مختلفة سيطرحونها في مصطلحات أخرى ، ربما أكثر صدقاً أو أكثر إقناعاً. قد يقول البعض القصة في اللغة اللاهوتية ، بينما اخترت عدم القيام بذلك. أيضا ، هناك العديد من القصص الفرعية ذات الصلة التي حذفتها من هذا التسلسل - تلك التي لها علاقة بعودة الإلهة ؛ مع إعادة اكتشاف الرجولة لطيفة وصادقة. بتفاصيل ترابطنا الحقيقي أو المحتمل المتجدد مع الحيوانات والأعشاب والحجارة.

يعيش الخرافة الجديدة

لكن الأهم من بث القصة هو العيش. لا يمكننا اكتشاف الحقيقة إلا من خلال اختبارها في المختبر لسلوكنا وتصوراتنا. وبالطبع ، فإن مثل هذا الجهد لا يكون منطقياً إلا إذا كان لدى المرء بالفعل بعض الإحساس البديهي بحقيقة وضرورة الأسطورة الجديدة - التي أعتقد أن الكثير من الناس لديهم. أولئك منا الذين يرون ضرورة الحد من النمو السكاني وتعزيز المساواة الاقتصادية والديمقراطية. الذين يبحثون عن طرق لتكريم الدورات الطبيعية ، والطاقات ، والتوازنات ، ولترسيخ المبدأ الأنثوي في العالم وفي وعينا الخاصين ، كلها تنجذب بالفعل إلى الخطوط العريضة غير المرئية لهذه الرؤية الجديدة للغرض والمعنى البشريين.

ومع انهيار الأسطورة القديمة ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار المؤسسات والاقتصادات والحياة ، ربما نحتاج إلى قصة لفهم الفوضى العميقة وتوجيهنا نحو نمط أكثر تماسكًا واستدامة من الوجود. لكن هذه القصة الجديدة لن تخدمنا إلا إذا استمدت قوتها من أعماق كياننا ، حيث تتلاقى كل من الثقافة والطبيعة والروح. هل هي حقيقة أم أنها مجرد أمنيات؟ - أنه كلما ازدادت واجهة الحضارة الاسمنتية ، أصبحت أكثر هشاشة. الشقوق تظهر باستمرار. ومن خلال تلك الشقوق نرى ضعف البشر وجرحى من يسكنون الصرح.

ما زال أعمق من ذلك ، نلتقط من حين لآخر لمحة عن النيران المشتعلة في قلب الإنسانية ، وهي نار تحترق في قلب الخليقة. هذا الحريق هو المصدر الذي تنبثق منه الثقافات الجديدة والأنواع الجديدة ؛ إنها الإمكانية التوليدية للحياة نفسها. وهنا يكمن أملنا: في حرارة الدمار العالمي وتجديد العالم ، يمكننا أن نتعلم كيف نتحرك في تلك الشعلة.


الولادةتم اقتباس هذا المقال من:

كتاب ريتشارد هاينبرغ
في العهد الجديد مع الطبيعة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر ، Quest Books. © 1996. http://www.theosophical.org.

معلومات / كتاب طلب.


نبذة عن الكاتبالولادة

وقد حاضر ريتشارد هاينبرغ على نطاق واسع ، وظهر في الإذاعة والتلفزيون ، وكتب العديد من المقالات. بديله الشهري البديل ، MuseLetter، وقد أدرج في أوتن القراء القائمة السنوية لأفضل النشرات الإخبارية البديلة. وهو أيضا مؤلف احتفال الانقلاب: تكريم إيقاعات الأرض الموسمية من خلال مهرجان وحفل.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

هل أنت ممتن كما تستحق؟
هل أنت ممتن كما تستحق؟
by ريتشارد جوندرمان

Birthing A New Cultural Myth

Myths make sense in (and of) a cultural context. When the context changes, the old myths stop making sense. That's what happened to the Greek myths over twenty-five hundred years ago, when philosophers like Xenophanes began to question the reality of the traditional gods and goddesses. In a similar spirit, our own philosophers have been chipping away at the Judeo-Christian mythos for the past couple of centuries, attempting to replace it with a secular substitute.

In Myth and Philosophy: A Contest of Truths, philosopher Lawrence J. Hatab of Dominion University has argued that myth cannot and should not be reduced to other modes of expression (such as rational explanation in philosophy, mathematics, or science), and that in its own way myth offers truths as real and important as those of rational discourse. Moreover, according to Hatab, when philosophy tries to break completely with myth, it loses its way; and it is this attempt on the part of modern science and philosophy to demythologize human consciousness that has weakened our ties with the deepest truths of our cultural heritage.

The materialist philosophers that Hatab opposes say that we should get rid of myths altogether, become more rational, and wean ourselves from superstition. Myth, they say, should retire in favor of science. But science, though it is formulated in a way quite different from traditional myths, still serves a mythic function: It tells us how the Universe began, where the first people came from, and how the world came to be the way it is. This suggestion that we do away with mythology is based on a fundamental misunderstanding of myth and of the human psyche. Myth in some form is inevitable and necessary. Our knowledge is always finite, and is always overlapped by our need for meaning. Our thoughts and aspirations seek some symbolic language through which we can talk about, and participate in, what we otherwise cannot see, touch, or taste. What is our goal, our meaning, our purpose as human beings? These are the questions a myth can answer.

Virtually every thinking person sees the need for dramatic global renewal if our world is to survive; and, as the greatest politicians, artists, spiritual leaders, and even scientists know in their bones, only a new myth can inspire creative cultural change. But where will this bolt of inspiration come from?

Ironically, while many scientists have sought to undo myth altogether, it is science itself that seems to me to be serving as a primary source for a new myth. Science's great strengths are its continual checking of theory with experience and its ability to generate new theories in response to new discoveries. While it is still a very young enterprise, and capable of generating its own irrational dogmas, science is in principle malleable and self-correcting. Currently, it appears that elements of a new myth are emerging through quantum and relativity physics, though more directly and powerfully through the findings of anthropology (which is "discovering" the wisdom of native peoples), psychology (which is only beginning to develop a comprehensive understanding of human consciousness), sociology (which offers a comparative view of human economies and lifestyles), and ecology -- as well as through the profound, nearly universal human response to the view of planet Earth from space, an image that owes more to technology than to theoretical science.

Each of these sources is, I believe, contributing to the formulation of a myth whose general features are becoming clear enough that it can be articulated in simple story form. We could call it the myth of healing and humility. It starts out somewhat like the old myth, but diverges rather quickly.

THE NEW STORY

Tens of thousands of years ago, human beings subsisted by gathering wild plants. These ancestors of ours were nomadic and lived in a magical interdependence with their surroundings. The animals and trees were their friends and spoke to them. To be sure, they faced challenges -- sickness and accidents, for example -- but generally enjoyed good health and a stable and rich communal life.

While other creatures' adaptations to their environment were physical and instinctual, human beings had developed large brains that allowed them to adapt and develop socially, spiritually, and linguistically in ways that were unique. This capacity for inner development and thus for cultural invention allowed people to respond quickly to environmental changes. And the environment did change -- ice ages following warm periods; floods following droughts -- sometimes over the course of millennia, other times in the space of hours or days.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The most dramatic climate shifts were brought about by occasional massive comet or asteroid impacts. On at least one occasion, still tens of millennia ago, the planet's atmosphere was darkened for years by dust raised from such a collision. So many plants died out during those years that humans resorted to hunting animals for food. Later, they retained the habit.

Then, between ten thousand and twelve thousand years ago, another series of catastrophes inspired more human adaptations. Up to this time, wild game had been plentiful -- so much so, that the human population had burgeoned. But now many of the big game animals were being hunted to extinction. In addition, climates everywhere were fluctuating rapidly and sea levels were rising, drowning densely populated coastal areas. Suddenly the world had changed, and people would have to change too in order to survive.

The tribes that had been most deeply traumatized by these events tended to live in a perpetual state of emergency, to blame themselves for provoking the gods, and to pass their felt trauma on to their children in the form of abusive discipline. Whereas before human groups had been egalitarian, this new crisis seemed to call for stern leadership. Men -- especially the strongest and most driven ones -- became dominant. Tribes began to fear and fight one another, and to fear the sky and the elements.

One further social adaptation to catastrophe had to do with the basic ways in which people related to their environment. Every creature, and every culture, must survive both by adapting to its environment, and by altering its environment to suit itself. But there are relative degrees of compromise between these two courses of action. In the case of our crisis-ridden Paleolithic ancestors, some apparently chose the former, deciding to learn more about the natural world so that they could accommodate themselves better to it. They dreamed myths that encoded meanings having to do with protecting populations of wild animals, with keeping the numbers of humans within bounds, and with honoring the diversity and interconnectivity of the web of life.

Other people, however, decided to concentrate on adapting the environment to themselves. They domesticated plants and animals; they cleared and plowed the land. They chose the best places and built permanent settlements. The populations of these groups continued to grow unchecked. As settlements increased in size, social arrangements became more stratified and classes developed. A few individuals became wealthy and powerful; the rest tried to make themselves useful. As their territory expanded, they came into conflict with other settled groups, with whom they fought or formed alliances; or with food gatherers and hunters, whom they killed or enslaved.

Wherever they settled, they exhausted the land. After a few generations, famine would strike and they would move on. Eventually, however, their populations and territories grew so large that there was nowhere else to go. Meanwhile, virtually all of the peoples who had taken the first option were now absorbed within the lands of the planters and herders. Huge cities sprang up, and devices were invented for every imaginable purpose -- for communication, transportation, manufacture, cooking, cleaning, personal hygiene, and mass killing. The feeding of the masses in the cities and the production of all these new devices required increasingly intensive farming and mining, and the ruthless regimentation of human labor.

As the whole Earth began to cry out in fatigue, as cities began to disintegrate in factional warfare, and as hunger gripped the poorer classes of the planting-and-herding groups, the youth of the latter began to seek out the few remaining peoples who had learned to adapt themselves to the land. The planters, who had been so arrogant, began to humble themselves before their cousins, from whom they had departed so long ago and whom they had butchered and enslaved at every opportunity. They began to humble themselves before the wild things and the wild places of the Earth. They vowed to heal and renew the land and to forge sacred ties of mutual respect and aid between species and cultures. And they vowed to remember, so that they would not make the same mistakes again.

All together, gradually, they came to understand and release their ancient fears. They began to use the wisdom and knowledge they had accumulated and preserved through the previous millennia to begin to build a new way of life, different both from their primordial food-gathering ways and from their later planting-and-herding ways. Realizing now that they were all deeply wounded, they together resolved to heal the deep effects of trauma, and to renounce violence. They learned to limit their population, and to satisfy their basic needs by ever-simpler means. Their social groupings became smaller and more democratic. The crisis they had just been through had deeply impressed them with a new sense of morality: Whereas before they had celebrated unbridled consumption and accumulation, now they knew the perils of excess size, speed, and sophistication. They had learned that it was only by respecting all life that they could live again in magical interdependence with their natural surroundings. Now, as long ago, they began to see the land as sacred, and to hear the voices of the trees and animals. Once again, life was good.

IS IT TRUE?

It is fair to regard this new myth with a degree of skepticism. After all, myths can be used to manipulate people. On many occasions individuals or groups have simply engineered a new myth by studying the requirements and tailoring one for the occasion. Quite of few of our culture's current myths came into being this way -- national myths, economic myths, myths about war enemies and beloved political leaders. But the truest and most genuine myths aren't manufactured: they are dreamt and sung and danced and lived.

In writing this story, I am keenly aware that I am to some extent "manufacturing" it, in the sense above, but at the same time articulating it from some source beyond myself. I am convinced that the basic outline of the story has a life of its own and is true, both in the sense that it is factual and in the sense that it is true to life. Of course, no myth is entirely true, any more than is any scientific theory entirely true. But if it helps us see ourselves and our situation from a more inclusive viewpoint, then we may perhaps profit by holding it lightly for a time and seeing how it affects the way we see and be.

One way in which I'd suggest testing the genuineness of this (or any) new myth is by asking the question, whom does it serve? Does it serve the interests of powerful people and institutions -- the sort who are in the habit of manufacturing myths? Or does it serve a larger constituency?

Assuming this story is in some sense a new myth such as Jung was calling for, what should we do about it? Should we advertise it? In a sense, that's what I'm doing by writing it down and publishing it. If I didn't think that there is some usefulness in the exercise, I wouldn't bother. But it is a limited usefulness. This story is, after all, only one articulation of the new myth. Other people at different times and with differing perspectives will doubtless cast it in other, perhaps truer or more compelling terms. Some would tell the story in theological language, whereas I have chosen not to. Also, there are many related sub-stories that I have omitted from this rendition -- ones having to do with the return of the Goddess; with the rediscovery of gentle, honest manhood; with the details of our real or potential renewed bonding with the animals, the herbs, and the stones.

LIVING THE NEW MYTH

More important than broadcasting the story, however, is living it. We can discover its truth only by testing it in the laboratory of our behavior and perceptions. Of course, such an effort only makes sense if one already has some intuitive sense of the new myth's truth and necessity -- which, I believe, many people have. Those of us who see the need to limit population growth and to foster economic equality and democracy; who are seeking ways to honor natural cycles, energies, and balances and to nurture the feminine principle in the world and in our own consciousnesses are all already drawn to the invisible outline of this new vision of human purpose and meaning.

As the old myth crumbles, taking with it institutions, economies, and lives, perhaps we need a story to make sense of the deepening chaos and to guide us toward a more coherent and sustainable pattern of existence. But that new story will serve us well only if it draws its power from the depths of our being, where culture, nature, and spirit all converge. Is it a fact, or is it only wishful thinking? -- that as the cement facade of civilization grows more impressive it also becomes more brittle. Cracks continually appear. And through those cracks we see the human vulnerability and woundedness of those who inhabit the edifice.

Deeper still, we occasionally catch a glimpse of light-aflame blazing at the core of humanity, a fire that burns at the heart of creation. This fire is the source from which new cultures and new species spring; it is the generative potential of life itself. And here lies our hope: In the heat of world destruction and world renewal, can we but learn to dwell in that flame.


birthingThis article was excerpted  from:

Richard Heinberg's book
A New Covenant with Nature.

Reprinted with permission from the publisher, Quest Books. ©1996. http://www.theosophical.org.

Info/Order book.


About The Authorbirthing

Richard Heinberg has lectured widely, appeared on radio and television, and written numerous essays. His alternative monthly broadside, MuseLetter, was included in Utne Reader's annual list of Best Alternative Newsletters. He is also the author of Celebrate the Solstice: Honoring the Earth's Seasonal Rhythms through Festival and Ceremony.


 

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}