يعد الفضاء الإلكتروني بنية تحتية بالغة الأهمية وسيتطلب رقابة حكومية فعالة لجعله آمنًا

يعد الفضاء الإلكتروني بنية تحتية بالغة الأهمية وسيتطلب رقابة حكومية فعالة لجعله آمنًا
أصبح الفضاء الإلكتروني لا غنى عنه أثناء جائحة COVID-19 ، مما زاد من الحاجة إلى الحماية عبر الإنترنت.
أرييل سكيللي / DigitalVision عبر Getty Images

أظهر رسم كاريكاتوري شهير من نيويوركر في تسعينيات القرن الماضي كلبين أمام جهاز كمبيوتر وتعليق كتب عليه "على الإنترنت ، لا أحد يعرف أنك كلب. " يمثل الكارتون ماضًا رقميًا عندما كان الناس يطلبون القليل من الضمانات على الإنترنت. يمكن للأشخاص استكشاف عالم من المعلومات دون تتبع كل نقرة أو التعامل مع بياناتهم الشخصية كسلعة.

لا ينطبق كارتون نيويوركر اليوم. لا يعرف متصفحك ومزود الخدمة والتطبيقات أنك كلب فحسب ، بل يعرفون نوعك ونوع طعام الكلاب الذي تأكله ومن هو مالكك وأين بيت الكلب الخاص بك. تستغل الشركات هذه المعلومات في الربح.

الحماية القانونية والتنظيمية في الفضاء الإلكتروني لم تواكب العصر. هم أكثر ملاءمة لإنترنت الماضي من الحاضر. دفع اعتماد اليوم على الإنترنت المجتمع إلى حقبة جديدة ، مما يجعل الحماية العامة الفعالة ضرورية لفضاء إلكتروني صحي.

لقد جعل جائحة COVID-19 البنية التحتية الحيوية للفضاء الإلكتروني. عندما أغلقت المدارس والمتاجر والمطاعم وأماكن التجمعات المجتمعية ، دخلت الولايات المتحدة على الإنترنت وأصبحت التقنيات الرقمية المنصة الأساسية للتعليم وتوصيل البقالة والخدمات والعديد من أماكن العمل.

في الأشهر الأربعة الماضية ، حضرت جنازة Zoom وحفل زفاف Zoom وحصلت على دروس باليه عبر الإنترنت. هذا الخريف سأدرس عبر الإنترنت. العديد من التحولات من الموقع إلى الإنترنت موجودة لتبقى ، وأتوقع أن "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد" سيضع مزيدًا من التركيز على التفاعل في الفضاء الإلكتروني.

هذا يخلق حاجة ملحة جديدة للحماية العامة. مثل الرئيس السابق مركز الكمبيوتر العملاق الوطني و أ عالم البيانات، لقد رأيت أن الاستغلال الرقمي للمعلومات الشخصية هو جائحة في الفضاء الإلكتروني. إنه يعرض الأفراد والمجتمع للخطر.

الحاجة للعمل الحكومي

القيادة العامة مطلوبة لحل هذه المشكلة العامة. لكن بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، تركت الحكومة الفيدرالية القطاع الخاص لتنظيم نفسه. اليوم ، البيانات سلعة ، والاعتماد على الثعلب لحماية بيت الدجاج لم يجلب الحماية اللازمة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الأدلة على الاستغلال الرقمي في كل مكان. خدمات المواعدة عبر الإنترنت Grindr و Tinder و OKCupid مشاركة البيانات الشخصية حول التوجه الجنسي والموقع مع المعلنين. وسطاء البيانات التجارية يبيعون القوائم من "مرضى الخرف" و "المستجيبين لقروض يوم الدفع من أصل إسباني" للمفترسين وغيرهم. كامبريدج أناليتيكا استخدام المعلومات الشخصية للتلاعب بالانتخابات الرئاسية. قبل احتجاج الجمهور ، زووم تسليم معلومات المستخدم إلى Facebook. طلاب المدرسة الثانوية, المتظاهرين المسالمين وآخرون أصبحوا أهدافًا للمراقبة الجماعية والتعرف على الوجه.

قال مجلس المستهلك النرويجي إنه وجد "انتهاكات خطيرة للخصوصية" في كيفية وصول الشركات الإعلانية إلى المعلومات الشخصية من تطبيقات المواعدة.قال مجلس المستهلك النرويجي إنه وجد "انتهاكات خطيرة للخصوصية" في كيفية وصول الشركات الإعلانية إلى المعلومات الشخصية من تطبيقات المواعدة. صورة أسوشيتد برس / حسن عمار

تجارب تنظيم حماية البيانات في أوروبا و كاليفورنيا إثبات أن الحصول على الحماية الصحيحة أمر معقد ومشحون سياسيًا ، ولا يثق كثير من الناس في حماية الحكومة أو فعاليتها. ولكن مع استخدام الفضاء الإلكتروني كبنية تحتية عامة ، أعتقد أن الضمانات يجب أن تأتي من القطاع العام.

تنظيم الحماية

إذن ما الذي يجب عمله؟ يمكن للقادة السياسيين الشروع في إصلاحات رقمية من خلال سن تشريعات فعالة وتمكين وكالات الرقابة المستقلة. الجهود الفيدرالية لحماية الأمريكيين في مناطق أخرى تقدم مخططًا: The قانون التأمين الصحي وقابلية التأمين يحمي المعلومات الصحية الخاصة. ال إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية تتطلب معدات واقية للحفاظ على أماكن العمل آمنة. ال الغذاء والدواء يعمل على ضمان سلامة تناول الأدوية.

في هذه الحالات ، تدخلت الحكومة لأن الصناعة تستطيع أو لا تريد ، وتتوافق الشركات في هذه القطاعات مع توقعات الحكومة للحماية العامة أو تدفع الثمن.

يحتاج الفضاء الإلكتروني إلى نفس الاستراتيجيات. يمكن أن توفر مشاريع قوانين متعددة في الكونغرس الـ 116 خطًا أساسيًا للإصلاحات الرقمية الفيدرالية.

الأكثر شمولاً بين المجموعة ، وفقًا لـ مركز معلومات الخصوصية الإلكترونية، هو نواب إيشو ولوفغرين قانون الخصوصية على الإنترنت. سيعمل مشروع القانون هذا على تعزيز حقوق الأفراد في الوصول إلى البيانات الشخصية والتحكم فيها وحذفها. السناتور جيليبراند قانون حماية البيانات ستنشئ وكالة مستقلة لحماية البيانات ، وهي ضرورية لمراقبة إجراءات الحماية العامة وإنفاذها. السناتور ماركي قانون حظر التعرف على الوجه وتقنية استخدام القياسات الحيوية سيحظر الاستخدام الفيدرالي لتقنية التعرف على الوجه.

على الرغم من الضرورة الملحة لسن تدابير حماية الخصوصية في أعقاب COVID-19 ، لم يعقد الكونغرس بعد جلسات استماع أو دعوة الخبراء أو طلب التعليق العام على هذه القوانين.

الخطوات الأولى

يعد تمرير التشريعات الآن أمرًا مهمًا لأن بناء بنية تحتية رقمية صحية يستغرق وقتًا. التشريع والسياسة ليست سوى الخطوة الأولى. عندما يتم تفعيل الإصلاحات الرقمية ، سوف تحتاج شركات التكنولوجيا إلى تصميم وسائل حماية جديدة للمنتجات والخدمات والبروتوكولات والخوارزميات الرقمية الحالية والجيل القادم. هذا يمكن أن يغير هياكل البرامج لكل شيء من أجهزة مراقبة الأطفال إلى Fitbits إلى Facebook.

يجب مراقبة الحماية الرقمية وإنفاذها بشكل فعال من قبل الوكالات الفيدرالية المستقلة. ستؤثر على نماذج الأعمال في وادي السيليكون وسوق المعلومات. سوف يقيدون الطريقة التي ينشر بها القطاع الخاص تقنيات المراقبة ، ويجمع ملفات شخصية رقمية ضخمة ويستغل البيانات.

مع الاستغلال الرقمي غير المقيد ، ستستمر خصوصية وأمان الفضاء الإلكتروني في تآكل النسيج الاجتماعي. الإصلاح الرقمي هو الأساس لفضاء إلكتروني صحي حيث يتحكم المستخدمون في البيانات الشخصية التي يتم جمعها وكيفية استخدامها ، وحيث تلبي المنتجات والخدمات الرقمية معايير الخصوصية والسلامة والأمن ، وحيث يمكن للأفراد إلغاء الاشتراك مع الاستمرار في العمل دون عقوبة تجارية.

يمكن أن يعمل الفضاء الإلكتروني كبنية تحتية مهمة فقط عندما يكون آمنًا للجميع. الإصلاحات الرقمية الفيدرالية عالقة في اللجنة ؛ إعادة تصميم الفضاء الإلكتروني من أجل الحماية لاحقًا سيحد من الفعالية. يجب دمج الضمانات في المنتجات الرقمية الحالية والمستقبلية ، بما في ذلك تقنيات المراقبة الجديدة والذكاء الاصطناعي. يجب أن يأخذ الكونجرس زمام المبادرة لاحتواء جائحة الاستغلال الرقمي بشكل فعال وجعل الفضاء الإلكتروني آمنًا للجمهور.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

فرانسين بيرمان ، أستاذ هاميلتون المتميز في علوم الكمبيوتر ، رينسيلار معهد البوليتكنيك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لشفاء حياتنا ، روحيا وعاطفيا ، أيضا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

Cyberspace Is Critical Infrastructure and It Will Take Effective Government Oversight To Make It Safe

Cyberspace Is Critical Infrastructure and It Will Take Effective Government Oversight To Make It Safe
Cyberspace has become indispensable during the COVID-19 pandemic, heightening the need for online protections.
Ariel Skelley/DigitalVision via Getty Images

A famous 1990s New Yorker cartoon showed two dogs at a computer and a caption that read “On the Internet, nobody knows you’re a dog.” The cartoon represents a digital past when people required few safeguards on the internet. People could explore a world of information without having every click tracked or their personal data treated as a commodity.

The New Yorker cartoon doesn’t apply today. Not only do your browser, service provider and apps know you’re a dog, they know what breed you are, what kind of dog food you eat, who your owner is and where your doghouse is. Companies are parlaying that information into profit.

Legal and regulatory protections in cyberspace have not kept up with the times. They are better suited to the internet of the past than the present. Today’s dependence on the internet has thrust society into a new era, making effective public protections critical for a healthy cyberspace.

The COVID-19 pandemic has made cyberspace critical infrastructure. When schools, stores, restaurants and community gathering places closed, the U.S. went online and digital technologies became the primary platform for education, grocery delivery, services and many workplaces.

In the last four months, I’ve attended a Zoom funeral, a Zoom wedding and taken ballet classes online. This fall I’ll teach online. Many of the shifts from on-site to online are here to stay, and I predict the “new normal” will put much more emphasis on interacting in cyberspace.

This creates new urgency for public protections. As former head of a national Supercomputer Center and a data scientist, I’ve seen that digital exploitation of personal information is the pandemic in cyberspace. It puts individuals and society at risk.

The need for government action

Public leadership is needed to solve this public problem. But for the most part, the federal government has left the private sector to regulate itself. Today, data is a commodity, and relying on the fox to guard the henhouse has not brought the needed protections.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Evidence of digital exploitation is everywhere. Online dating services Grindr, Tinder and OKCupid share personal data on sexual orientation and location with advertisers. Commercial data brokers sell lists of “dementia sufferers” and “Hispanic payday loan responders” to predators and others. Cambridge Analytica used personal information to manipulate a presidential election. Before public outcry, Zoom handed over user information to Facebook. High school students, peaceful protesters and others have become targets of mass surveillance and facial recognition.

The Norwegian Consumer Council said it found ‘serious privacy infringements’ in how ad companies access personal information from dating apps.The Norwegian Consumer Council said it found ‘serious privacy infringements’ in how ad companies access personal information from dating apps. AP Photo/Hassan Ammar

Experiences with data protection regulation in Europe and California demonstrate that getting protections right is complicated and politically fraught, and many people have little confidence in government protection or effectiveness. But with cyberspace serving as public infrastructure, I believe safeguards must come from the public sector.

Regulating protections

So what needs to be done? Political leaders can initiate digital reforms by enacting effective legislation and empowering independent oversight agencies. Federal efforts to safeguard Americans in other areas provide a blueprint: The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act protects private health information. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration mandates protective gear to keep workplaces safe. The Food and Drug Administration works to ensure that drugs are safe to ingest.

In these instances, government stepped in because industry could or would not, and companies in these sectors conform to government expectations for public protections or pay a price.

Cyberspace needs the same strategies. Multiple bills in the 116th Congress could provide a baseline for federal digital reforms.

The most comprehensive of the bunch, according to the Electronic Privacy Information Center, is Reps. Eshoo and Lofgren’s Online Privacy Act. This bill would promote individuals’ rights to access, control and delete personal data. Sen. Gillibrand’s Data Protection Act would create an independent Data Protection Agency, needed to monitor and enforce public protections. Sen. Markey’s Facial Recognition and Biometric Technology Moratorium Act would ban federal use of facial recognition technology.

Despite the urgency of enacting privacy protections in the wake of COVID-19, Congress has yet to hold hearings, invite experts or seek public comment on these bills.

First steps

Passing legislation now is important because building healthy digital infrastructure takes time. Legislation and policy are only the first step. When digital reforms are enacted, technology companies will need to design new protections into existing and next-generation digital products, services, protocols and algorithms. This could change the software architectures of everything from baby monitors to Fitbits to Facebook.

Digital protections will need to be monitored and effectively enforced by independent federal agencies. They will impact business models in Silicon Valley and the marketplace for information. They will constrain the way the private sector deploys surveillance technologies, accumulates huge personal digital profiles and exploits data.

With unconstrained digital exploitation, the privacy and safety of cyberspace will continue to erode and with it the social fabric. Digital reform is the basis for a healthy cyberspace where users control what personal data is collected and how it is used, where digital products and services meet standards for privacy, safety and security, and where individuals can opt out and still function without commercial penalty.

Cyberspace can function as critical infrastructure only when it’s safe for everyone. Federal digital reforms are stuck in committee; redesigning cyberspace for protections later will limit effectiveness. Safeguards must be incorporated into today’s and tomorrow’s digital products now, including new surveillance technologies and AI. Congress must take the lead to effectively contain the digital exploitation pandemic and make cyberspace safe for the public.The Conversation

About the Author

Francine Berman, Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…