يمكن اختراق أجهزة Apple IPhones لسنوات - إليك ما يجب القيام به حيال ذلك

يمكن أن يكون اختراق لسنوات - وهنا ما يجب القيام به حيال ذلك

لسنوات عديدة ، يعتبر Apple iPhone أحد أكثر الهواتف الذكية المتوفرة أمانًا. ولكن على الرغم من هذه السمعة ، ظهرت مشاكل أمنية قد تؤثر على ملايين المستخدمين الأسبوع الماضي ومتى الباحثين في جوجل كشفت أنها اكتشفت مواقع الويب التي يمكن أن تصيب أجهزة iPhone و iPads و iPods ببرامج خطيرة.

مجرد زيارة أحد هذه المواقع الإلكترونية يكفي لإصابة جهازك ببرامج ضارة ، مما يسمح بمستوى عالٍ من الوصول إلى الجهاز. ومما يثير القلق ، أن هذه الثغرات الأمنية كانت "في البرية" (أي ، التي يستخدمها مجرمو الإنترنت بنشاط) منذ حوالي عامين.

نظرًا لعدم وجود علامة واضحة على الإصابة على الجهاز ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون المستخدمون غير مدركين تمامًا للمخاطر التي يواجهونها.

توجد الثغرات التي يتم استغلالها على الأجهزة التي تعمل بأحدث الإصدارات (وليس الأحدث) من نظام التشغيل iOS من Apple - وتحديداً iOS 10 وصولاً إلى الإصدارات السابقة من iOS 12. يعد كل جهاز يقوم بتشغيل الإصدارات الضعيفة من iOS هدفًا محتملًا لهذه المواقع.

الأجهزة مصابة عبر عدة طرق ، باستخدام عيوب الأمان المختلفة 14 - عدد غير عادي من الطرق لخرق الجهاز. الأسوأ من ذلك هو أن سبعة من العيوب تشمل Safari ، متصفح الويب الافتراضي للعديد من هذه الأجهزة (وتصفح الإنترنت هو نشاط شائع للعديد من المستخدمين).

ليس كل الأخبار السيئة رغم ذلك. بعد قيام Google بالإبلاغ عن المشكلات إلى Apple في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، تم تصحيح الثغرات الأمنية على الفور باستخدام أحدث إصدار من iOS (12.4.1).

يجب حماية أي مستخدم يقوم بتحديث أجهزته إلى أحدث إصدار من iOS من هذا الهجوم. أسهل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي الانتقال إلى الإعدادات> عام> تحديث البرنامج على هاتفك ثم اتباع المطالبات.

ماذا يحدث عند زيارة موقع مصاب؟

بمجرد فتح صفحة الويب ، يتم تثبيت البرامج الضارة على الجهاز. يتمتع هذا البرنامج بإمكانية الوصول إلى بيانات الموقع والمعلومات المخزنة بواسطة تطبيقات مختلفة (مثل iMessage و WhatsApp و Google Hangouts).

يمكن نقل هذه المعلومات إلى مكان بعيد واحتمال إساءة استخدامها بواسطة المهاجم. يمكن أن تتضمن المعلومات المستخرجة رسائل محمية بطريقة أخرى عند إرسالها واستلامها بواسطة المستخدم ، مما يؤدي إلى إزالة الحماية المقدمة من خلال التشفير. يمكن أيضًا للمتطفلين الوصول إلى الملفات الخاصة المخزنة على الجهاز ، بما في ذلك الصور ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني وقوائم جهات الاتصال والمعلومات الحساسة مثل كلمات مرور WiFi.

كل هذه البيانات لها قيمة ويمكن أن تكون تباع على شبكة الإنترنت لمجرمي الإنترنت الآخرين.

وفقا لشركة مكافحة الفيروسات Malwarebytes، تتم إزالة البرامج الضارة عند إعادة تشغيل الجهاز المصاب. على الرغم من أن هذا يحد من مقدار الوقت الذي يتعرض فيه الجهاز للخطر ، إلا أن المستخدم يواجه خطرًا في المرة القادمة التي يزور فيها نفس الموقع (إذا كان لا يزال يستخدم نسخة ضعيفة من نظام iOS).

لم يتم بعد إتاحة قائمة مواقع الويب المعنية بشكل عام ، وبالتالي لا يمتلك المستخدمون وسائل لحماية أنفسهم غير تحديث نظام التشغيل الخاص بأجهزتهم. لكننا نعرف أن عدد زوار هذه المواقع يقدر في الآلاف في الأسبوع.

هل لم تعد أجهزة Apple آمنة؟

قد تؤدي الهجمات البارزة على هذه الأجهزة إلى تبديد الأسطورة القائلة بأن أجهزة Apple ليست عرضة لانتهاكات أمنية خطيرة. ومع ذلك ، لدى Apple برنامج مكافآت الأخطاء الذي يوفر 1 مليون دولار مكافأة للمستخدمين الذين يبلغون عن مشاكل تساعد على تحديد عيوب الأمان.

ولكن بالنظر إلى تأثير هذا الحادث ، من الواضح أن هناك من يقوم بجهود كبيرة لاستهداف أجهزة Apple. بينما تقوم شركة التكنولوجيا العملاقة بتحديث برامجها بانتظام ، كانت هناك حوادث حديثة حدثت فيها أعيد تقديم ثغرات أمنية ثابتة سابقًا. هذا يسلط الضوء على تعقيد هذه الأجهزة والتحدي المتمثل في الحفاظ على منصة آمنة.

إن الدرس الأكثر أهمية لملايين مستخدمي Apple هو ضمان مواكبة آخر التحديثات والتصحيحات. يكفي تثبيت آخر تحديث لنظام التشغيل iOS لإزالة التهديدات الناجمة عن هذه الثغرة الأمنية.

إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن احتمال سرقة بياناتك ، فإن تغيير كلمات المرور والتحقق من بيانات بطاقتك الائتمانية والحساب المصرفي يعدان أيضًا من الخطوات المهمة التي يجب اتخاذها.المحادثة

حول المؤلف

ليزلي سيكوس، محاضر، جامعة إديث كوان و بول هاسكل دولاند، عميد مشارك (الحوسبة والأمن) ، جامعة إديث كوان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Apple IPhones Could Have Been Hacked For Years – Here's What To Do About It

Could Have Been Hacked For Years – Here's What To Do About It

For many years, the Apple iPhone has been considered one of the most secure smart phones available. But despite this reputation, security issues that might affect millions of users came to light last week, when researchers at Google revealed they had discovered websites that can infect iPhones, iPads, and iPods with dangerous software.

Simply visiting one of these websites is enough to infect your device with malicious software, allowing a high level of access to the device. Worryingly, it seems these vulnerabilities have been “in the wild” (that is, actively used by cyber-criminals) for around two years.

As there is no visible sign of infection on the device, it is likely users are completely unaware of the risks they’re facing.

The vulnerabilities being exploited are present on devices running recent (but not the most recent) versions of Apple’s iOS operating system — specifically, iOS 10 through to early versions of iOS 12. Every device running the vulnerable versions of iOS is a potential target for these websites.

Devices are infected via several methods, using 14 different security flaws — an unusual number of ways to compromise a device. Worse is that seven of the flaws involve Safari, the default web browser for many of these devices (and web browsing is a common activity for many users).

It’s not all bad news though. After Google reported the issues to Apple earlier this year, the vulnerabilities were promptly patched with the latest release of iOS (12.4.1).

Any user updating their device to the latest version of iOS should be protected against this attack. The easiest way to do it is to go to Settings > General > Software Update on your phone and then follow the prompts.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


What happens when you visit an infected site?

As soon you open the web page, malicious software is installed on the device. This software has the potential to access location data and information stored by various apps (such as iMessage, WhatsApp, and Google Hangouts).

This information can be transmitted to a remote location and potentially misused by an attacker. The information extracted can include messages that are otherwise protected when sent and received by the user, removing the protection offered through encryption. Hackers can also potentially access private files stored on the device, including photos, emails, contact lists, and sensitive information such as WiFi passwords.

All of this data has value and can be sold on the Internet to other cyber-criminals.

According to antivirus firm Malwarebytes, the malicious software is removed when the infected device is restarted. While this limits the amount of time that the device is compromised, the user risks being reinfected the next time they visit the same website (if still using a vulnerable version of iOS).

The list of websites involved has not yet been made publicly available, so users have no means to protect themselves other than by updating their device’s operating system. But we do know the number of visitors to these sites are estimated in the thousands per week.

Are Apple devices no longer secure?

High-profile attacks on these devices might dispel the myth that Apple devices are not susceptible to serious security breaches. However, Apple does have a bug-bounty program that offers a US$1 million reward to users who report problems that help to identify security flaws.

But considering the impact of this incident, it’s obvious someone out there is making considerable efforts to target Apple devices. While the tech giant regularly updates its software, there have been recent incidents in which previously fixed security flaws were reintroduced. This highlights the complexity of these devices and the challenge of maintaining a secure platform.

The most important lesson for Apple’s millions of users is to ensure you keep up to date with the latest patches and fixes. Simply installing the latest iOS update is sufficient to remove the threats caused by this vulnerability.

If you’re concerned your details may have been stolen, changing passwords and checking your credit card and bank account statements are also important steps to take.The Conversation

About the Authors

Leslie Sikos, Lecturer, Edith Cowan University and Paul Haskell-Dowland, Associate Dean (Computing and Security), Edith Cowan University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…