7 في 10 Smartphone Apps مشاركة البيانات الخاصة بك مع خدمات طرف ثالث

7 في 10 Smartphone Apps مشاركة البيانات الخاصة بك مع خدمات طرف ثالث
يتم وضع علامات جغرافية الصور من الهواتف الذكية حتى عندما يكون المستخدم غير مدرك. يمكن لمستخدمي الهواتف الذكية ضبط إعدادات الخصوصية الخاصة بهم للحد من الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم عرض مواقعهم الجغرافية. (مصدر الصورة: الجرافيك الأمريكي)

يمكن للهواتف المحمولة لدينا تكشف الكثير عن أنفسنا: حيث نعيش ونعمل ؛ من هي عائلتنا وأصدقائنا ومعارفنا. كيف (وحتى ماذا) نتواصل معهم ؛ وعاداتنا الشخصية. مع جميع المعلومات المخزنة عليها ، ليس من المستغرب أن يتخذ مستخدمو أجهزة الجوال خطوات لحماية خصوصيتهم ، مثل باستخدام رموز PIN أو رموز المرور لفتح هواتفهم.

إن البحث الذي نقوم به نحن وزملاؤنا يحدد ويحدد تهديدًا كبيرًا يفتقده معظم الناس: أكثر من 70 في المائة of تعلن تطبيقات الهواتف الذكية عن بيانات شخصية لشركات التتبع التابعة لجهات خارجية مثل Google Analytics أو واجهة برمجة تطبيقات الرسم البياني في Facebook أو Crashlytics.

عندما يقوم الأشخاص بتثبيت تطبيق Android أو iOS جديد ، فإنه يطلب إذن المستخدم قبل الوصول إلى المعلومات الشخصية. بشكل عام ، هذا أمر إيجابي. كما أن بعض المعلومات التي تجمعها هذه التطبيقات ضرورية للعمل بشكل صحيح: لن يكون تطبيق الخرائط مفيدًا تقريبًا إذا لم يكن بإمكانه استخدام بيانات نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي للحصول على موقع.

ولكن بعد حصول أحد التطبيقات على إذن بتجميع هذه المعلومات ، يمكنه مشاركة بياناتك مع أي شخص يرغب مطور التطبيق في جعل شركات الطرف الثالث تتبع مكانك وسرعة تحركك وما تفعله.

مساعدة ومخاطر مكتبات الشفرات

لا يجمع التطبيق البيانات فقط لاستخدامها على الهاتف نفسه. على سبيل المثال ، ترسل تطبيقات الخرائط موقعك إلى خادم يديره مطور التطبيق لحساب الاتجاهات من المكان الذي تتواجد فيه إلى الوجهة المطلوبة.

يمكن للتطبيق إرسال البيانات في مكان آخر أيضًا. كما هو الحال مع مواقع الويب ، يتم كتابة العديد من تطبيقات المحمول من خلال الجمع بين وظائف مختلفة ، مسبقة الدفع من قبل مطورين وشركات أخرى ، في ما يسمى مكتبات الطرف الثالث. هذه المكتبات تساعد المطورين تتبع تفاعل المستخدم, التواصل مع وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية . كسب المال عن طريق عرض الإعلانات والميزات الأخرى ، دون الحاجة إلى كتابتها من الصفر.

ومع ذلك ، بالإضافة إلى مساعدتهم القيمة ، تجمع معظم المكتبات أيضًا بيانات حساسة وترسلها إلى خوادمها عبر الإنترنت - أو إلى شركة أخرى تمامًا. قد يتمكن مؤلفو المكتبة الناجحون من تطوير ملفات تعريف رقمية مفصلة للمستخدمين. على سبيل المثال ، قد يمنح أحد الأشخاص إذنًا بمعرفة موقعه ، والوصول إلى تطبيق آخر لجهات الاتصال الخاصة به. هذه هي أذونات منفصلة في البداية ، واحدة لكل تطبيق. ولكن إذا كان كلا التطبيقين يستخدمان نفس مكتبة الجهات الخارجية وشاركا أجزاء مختلفة من المعلومات ، يمكن لمطوّر المكتبة ربط الأجزاء ببعضها البعض.

لن يعرف المستخدمون مطلقًا ، نظرًا لأن التطبيقات ليست مطلوبة لإخبار المستخدمين بمكتبات البرامج التي يستخدمونها. وهناك عدد قليل جدًا من التطبيقات التي تنشر سياساتها بشأن خصوصية المستخدم. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فعادةً ما يكون ذلك في وثائق قانونية طويلة شخص عادي لن يقرأ ، فهم أقل بكثير.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تطوير التجويف

يسعى بحثنا إلى الكشف عن كمية البيانات التي يمكن جمعها بدون معرفة المستخدمين ، ومنح المستخدمين مزيدًا من التحكم في بياناتهم. للحصول على صورة ماذا يتم جمع البيانات ونقلها من الهواتف الذكية للأشخاص، قمنا بتطوير تطبيق Android مجاني خاص بنا ، يسمى مراقبة الخصوصية التجويف. يقوم بتحليل تطبيقات حركة المرور المرسلة ، للإبلاغ عن التطبيقات والخدمات عبر الإنترنت التي تحصد بفعالية البيانات الشخصية.

نظرًا لأن Lumen يتعلق بالشفافية ، يمكن لمستخدم الهاتف مشاهدة المعلومات التي يتم جمعها من التطبيقات المثبتة في الوقت الفعلي ومع من يشاركونها في هذه البيانات. نحاول عرض تفاصيل السلوك الخفي للتطبيقات بطريقة سهلة الفهم. يتعلق الأمر أيضًا بالبحوث ، لذا نطلب من المستخدمين السماح لهم بجمع بعض البيانات حول ما يلاحظه Lumen من تطبيقاتهم - ولكن هذا لا يشمل أي بيانات شخصية أو حساسة للخصوصية. يتيح لنا هذا الوصول الفريد إلى البيانات دراسة كيفية جمع تطبيقات الجوّال لبيانات المستخدمين الشخصية ومع من يشاركون البيانات على نطاق غير مسبوق.

على وجه الخصوص ، يتتبع Lumen التطبيقات التي تعمل على أجهزة المستخدمين ، سواء كانوا يرسلون بيانات حساسة للخصوصية من الهاتف ، وما هي مواقع الإنترنت التي يرسلون البيانات إليها ، وبروتوكول الشبكة الذي يستخدمونه وأنواع المعلومات الشخصية لكل تطبيق يرسل إلى كل موقع. يحلل Lumen حركة زيارات التطبيقات محليًا على الجهاز ، ويخفي هوية هذه البيانات قبل إرسالها إلينا للدراسة: إذا كانت خرائط Google تسجل موقع نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي للمستخدم وترسل هذا العنوان المحدد إلى maps.google.com ، فإن Lumen يخبرنا ، "حصلت خرائط Google على موقع GPS وأرسلته إلى maps.google.com "- وليس المكان الذي يكون فيه هذا الشخص فعليًا.

تعقب في كل مكان

سمح لنا أكثر من 1,600 الذين استخدموا Lumen منذ أكتوبر 2015 بتحليل أكثر من تطبيقات 5,000. اكتشفنا أن مواقع الإنترنت 598 من المرجح أن تكون تتبع المستخدمين لأغراض الدعاية ، بما في ذلك خدمات الشبكات الاجتماعية مثل Facebook ، وشركات الإنترنت الكبيرة مثل Google و Yahoo ، وشركات التسويق عبر الإنترنت تحت مظلة مزودي خدمات الإنترنت مثل Verizon Wireless.

لقد وجدنا أن أكثر من 70 في المئة من التطبيقات التي درسناها متصلاً بمتتبع واحد على الأقل ، ونسبة 15 في المئة منها مرتبطة بخمسة متتبعات أو أكثر. وحصد واحد من كل أربعة متتبعين معرّفًا فريدًا واحدًا على الأقل للجهاز ، مثل رقم الهاتف أو رقمه رقم IMEI لرقم 15 فريد خاص بالجهاز. تعتبر المعرفات الفريدة ضرورية لخدمات التتبع عبر الإنترنت لأنها تستطيع ربط أنواع مختلفة من البيانات الشخصية التي توفرها تطبيقات مختلفة لشخص أو جهاز واحد. فمعظم المستخدمين ، حتى المستخدمين الذين يتمتعون بالخصوصية ، لا يدركون تلك الممارسات الخفية.

أكثر من مجرد مشكلة في الهاتف المحمول

يعد تعقب المستخدمين على أجهزتهم الجوالة جزءًا من مشكلة أكبر. كما يتتبع أكثر من نصف أجهزة تتبع التطبيقات التي حددناها المستخدمين من خلال مواقع الويب. بفضل هذه التقنية ، التي تسمى التتبع "عبر الأجهزة" ، يمكن لهذه الخدمات إنشاء ملف شخصي أكثر اكتمالًا لشخصيتك عبر الإنترنت.

ومواقع التتبع الفردية ليست بالضرورة مستقلة عن الآخرين. ويمتلك بعضها نفس الكيان الاعتباري - ويمكن ابتلاع البعض الآخر في عمليات اندماج في المستقبل. على سبيل المثال ، تمتلك Alphabet ، الشركة الأم لشركة Google ، العديد من نطاقات التتبع التي درسناها ، بما في ذلك Google Analytics ، دبل كليك أو AdMob ، ومن خلالهم يجمع البيانات من أكثر من 48 في المائة من التطبيقات التي درسناها.

لا يتم حماية هويات المستخدمين عبر الإنترنت وفقًا لقوانين بلدهم الأصلي. لقد عثرنا على البيانات التي يتم شحنها عبر الحدود الوطنية ، وغالبًا ما تنتهي في بلدان ذات قوانين خصوصية مشكوك فيها. أكثر من نسبة 60 من الاتصالات إلى مواقع التتبع يتم إجراؤها على خوادم في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا وسنغافورة والصين وكوريا الجنوبية - ست دول تم نشرها تقنيات المراقبة الجماعية. يمكن للوكالات الحكومية في هذه الأماكن الوصول إلى هذه البيانات ، حتى لو كان المستخدمون فيها البلدان ذات قوانين الخصوصية أقوى مثل ألمانيا أو سويسرا أو إسبانيا.

توصيل عنوان MAC الخاص بالجهاز إلى عنوان فعلي (ينتمي إلى الحقن المجهري) باستخدام Wigle.
توصيل عنوان MAC الخاص بالجهاز إلى عنوان فعلي (ينتمي إلى الحقن المجهري) باستخدام Wigle. ICSI, CC BY-ND

والأمر الأكثر إثارة للقلق هو أننا لاحظنا برامج تتبع في التطبيقات التي تستهدف الأطفال. باختبار تطبيقات الأطفال 111 في مختبرنا ، لاحظنا أن 11 منهم سرب معرفًا فريدًا ، عنوان MAC، من جهاز التوجيه واي فاي كان متصلا. هذه مشكلة ، لأنها سهلة البحث على الانترنت للمواقع المادية المرتبطة بعناوين MAC معينة. جمع معلومات خاصة عن الأطفال ، بما في ذلك مواقعهم وحساباتهم ومعرّفاتهم الفريدة الأخرى ، والتي قد تشكل انتهاكًا للجنة التجارة الفيدرالية قواعد حماية خصوصية الأطفال.

مجرد نظرة صغيرة

على الرغم من أن بياناتنا تتضمن العديد من تطبيقات Android الأكثر شعبية ، إلا أنها تمثل عينة صغيرة من المستخدمين والتطبيقات ، وبالتالي من المحتمل أن تكون مجموعة صغيرة من جميع المتتبعين المحتملين. قد تكون النتائج التي توصلنا إليها مجرد خدش سطح ما يحتمل أن يكون مشكلة أكبر بكثير تمتد عبر الولايات القضائية والأجهزة والأجهزة التنظيمية.

من الصعب معرفة ما قد يفعله المستخدمون في هذا الشأن. قد يؤدي حظر المعلومات الحساسة من ترك الهاتف إلى إضعاف أداء التطبيق أو تجربة المستخدم: قد يرفض التطبيق العمل إذا لم يتمكن من تحميل الإعلانات. في الواقع ، يؤدي حظر الإعلانات إلى إلحاق الضرر بمطوري التطبيقات من خلال حرمانهم من مصدر الدخل لدعم عملهم على التطبيقات ، والتي تكون عادة مجانية للمستخدمين.

إذا كان الناس أكثر استعدادًا لدفع مطورين للتطبيقات ، فقد يساعد ذلك ، على الرغم من أنه ليس حلاً كاملاً. وجدنا أنه على الرغم من أن التطبيقات المدفوعة تميل إلى الاتصال بعدد أقل من مواقع التتبع ، إلا أنها لا تزال تتبع المستخدمين وتتواصل مع خدمات التتبع التابعة لجهات خارجية.

المحادثةالشفافية والتعليم والأطر التنظيمية القوية هي المفتاح. يحتاج المستخدمون إلى معرفة المعلومات حولهم التي يتم جمعها ، ومن قبلهم ، وما الذي يتم استخدامه. عندئذ فقط يمكننا كمجتمع أن نقرر ما هي حماية الخصوصية المناسبة ، ووضعها في مكانها الصحيح. يمكن أن تساعد النتائج التي توصلنا إليها ، وتلك التي توصل إليها العديد من الباحثين الآخرين ، في تحويل الجداول وتتبع المتتبعين أنفسهم.

عن المؤلفين

Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez ، أستاذ مساعد بحث ، معهد IMDEA Networks ، مدريد ، أسبانيا ؛ عالم أبحاث ، الشبكات والأمن ، المعهد الدولي لعلوم الكمبيوتر ، جامعة كاليفورنيا، بيركلي وسريكانث سانداريسان ، زميل أبحاث في علوم الكمبيوتر ، جامعة برينستون

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = privacy online؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

7 In 10 Smartphone Apps Share Your Data With Third-party Services

privacy

7 In 10 Smartphone Apps Share Your Data With Third-party Services
Photos from smartphones are geotagged even when the user is unaware. Smartphone users can adjust their privacy settings to limit who can view their geotagged locations. (Photo Credit: U.S. Army Graphic)

Our mobile phones can reveal a lot about ourselves: where we live and work; who our family, friends and acquaintances are; how (and even what) we communicate with them; and our personal habits. With all the information stored on them, it isn’t surprising that mobile device users take steps to protect their privacy, like using PINs or passcodes to unlock their phones.

The research that we and our colleagues are doing identifies and explores a significant threat that most people miss: More than 70 percent of smartphone apps are reporting personal data to third-party tracking companies like Google Analytics, the Facebook Graph API or Crashlytics.

When people install a new Android or iOS app, it asks the user’s permission before accessing personal information. Generally speaking, this is positive. And some of the information these apps are collecting are necessary for them to work properly: A map app wouldn’t be nearly as useful if it couldn’t use GPS data to get a location.

But once an app has permission to collect that information, it can share your data with anyone the app’s developer wants to – letting third-party companies track where you are, how fast you’re moving and what you’re doing.

The help, and hazard, of code libraries

An app doesn’t just collect data to use on the phone itself. Mapping apps, for example, send your location to a server run by the app’s developer to calculate directions from where you are to a desired destination.

The app can send data elsewhere, too. As with websites, many mobile apps are written by combining various functions, precoded by other developers and companies, in what are called third-party libraries. These libraries help developers track user engagement, connect with social media and earn money by displaying ads and other features, without having to write them from scratch.

However, in addition to their valuable help, most libraries also collect sensitive data and send it to their online servers – or to another company altogether. Successful library authors may be able to develop detailed digital profiles of users. For example, a person might give one app permission to know their location, and another app access to their contacts. These are initially separate permissions, one to each app. But if both apps used the same third-party library and shared different pieces of information, the library’s developer could link the pieces together.

Users would never know, because apps aren’t required to tell users what software libraries they use. And only very few apps make public their policies on user privacy; if they do, it’s usually in long legal documents a regular person won’t read, much less understand.

Developing Lumen

Our research seeks to reveal how much data are potentially being collected without users’ knowledge, and to give users more control over their data. To get a picture of what data are being collected and transmitted from people’s smartphones, we developed a free Android app of our own, called the Lumen Privacy Monitor. It analyzes the traffic apps send out, to report which applications and online services actively harvest personal data.

Because Lumen is about transparency, a phone user can see the information installed apps collect in real time and with whom they share these data. We try to show the details of apps’ hidden behavior in an easy-to-understand way. It’s about research, too, so we ask users if they’ll allow us to collect some data about what Lumen observes their apps are doing – but that doesn’t include any personal or privacy-sensitive data. This unique access to data allows us to study how mobile apps collect users’ personal data and with whom they share data at an unprecedented scale.

In particular, Lumen keeps track of which apps are running on users’ devices, whether they are sending privacy-sensitive data out of the phone, what internet sites they send data to, the network protocol they use and what types of personal information each app sends to each site. Lumen analyzes apps traffic locally on the device, and anonymizes these data before sending them to us for study: If Google Maps registers a user’s GPS location and sends that specific address to maps.google.com, Lumen tells us, “Google Maps got a GPS location and sent it to maps.google.com” – not where that person actually is.

Trackers are everywhere

More than 1,600 people who have used Lumen since October 2015 allowed us to analyze more than 5,000 apps. We discovered 598 internet sites likely to be tracking users for advertising purposes, including social media services like Facebook, large internet companies like Google and Yahoo, and online marketing companies under the umbrella of internet service providers like Verizon Wireless.

We found that more than 70 percent of the apps we studied connected to at least one tracker, and 15 percent of them connected to five or more trackers. One in every four trackers harvested at least one unique device identifier, such as the phone number or its device-specific unique 15-digit IMEI number. Unique identifiers are crucial for online tracking services because they can connect different types of personal data provided by different apps to a single person or device. Most users, even privacy-savvy ones, are unaware of those hidden practices.

More than just a mobile problem

Tracking users on their mobile devices is just part of a larger problem. More than half of the app-trackers we identified also track users through websites. Thanks to this technique, called “cross-device” tracking, these services can build a much more complete profile of your online persona.

And individual tracking sites are not necessarily independent of others. Some of them are owned by the same corporate entity – and others could be swallowed up in future mergers. For example, Alphabet, Google’s parent company, owns several of the tracking domains that we studied, including Google Analytics, DoubleClick or AdMob, and through them collects data from more than 48 percent of the apps we studied.

Users’ online identities are not protected by their home country’s laws. We found data being shipped across national borders, often ending up in countries with questionable privacy laws. More than 60 percent of connections to tracking sites are made to servers in the U.S., U.K., France, Singapore, China and South Korea – six countries that have deployed mass surveillance technologies. Government agencies in those places could potentially have access to these data, even if the users are in countries with stronger privacy laws such as Germany, Switzerland or Spain.

Connecting a device’s MAC address to a physical address (belonging to ICSI) using Wigle.
Connecting a device’s MAC address to a physical address (belonging to ICSI) using Wigle. ICSI, CC BY-ND

Even more disturbingly, we have observed trackers in apps targeted to children. By testing 111 kids’ apps in our lab, we observed that 11 of them leaked a unique identifier, the MAC address, of the Wi-Fi router it was connected to. This is a problem, because it is easy to search online for physical locations associated with particular MAC addresses. Collecting private information about children, including their location, accounts and other unique identifiers, potentially violates the Federal Trade Commission’s rules protecting children’s privacy.

Just a small look

Although our data include many of the most popular Android apps, it is a small sample of users and apps, and therefore likely a small set of all possible trackers. Our findings may be merely scratching the surface of what is likely to be a much larger problem that spans across regulatory jurisdictions, devices and platforms.

It’s hard to know what users might do about this. Blocking sensitive information from leaving the phone may impair app performance or user experience: An app may refuse to function if it cannot load ads. Actually, blocking ads hurts app developers by denying them a source of revenue to support their work on apps, which are usually free to users.

If people were more willing to pay developers for apps, that may help, though it’s not a complete solution. We found that while paid apps tend to contact fewer tracking sites, they still do track users and connect with third-party tracking services.

The ConversationTransparency, education and strong regulatory frameworks are the key. Users need to know what information about them is being collected, by whom, and what it’s being used for. Only then can we as a society decide what privacy protections are appropriate, and put them in place. Our findings, and those of many other researchers, can help turn the tables and track the trackers themselves.

About The Authors

Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez, Research Assistant Professor, IMDEA Networks Institute, Madrid, Spain; Research Scientist, Networking and Security, International Computer Science Institute based at, University of California, Berkeley and Srikanth Sundaresan, Research Fellow in Computer Science, Princeton University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information

privacyAuthor: Michael Bazzell
Binding: Paperback
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: New 2018 Fourth Edition

Take control of your privacy by removing your personal information from the internet with this updated Fourth Edition. Author Michael Bazzell has been well known in government circles for his ability to locate personal information about anyone through the internet. In Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information, he exposes the resources that broadcast your personal details to public view. He has researched each source and identified the best method to have your private details removed from the databases that store profiles on all of us.

This book will serve as a reference guide for anyone that values privacy. Each technique is explained in simple steps. It is written in a hands-on style that encourages the reader to execute the tutorials as they go. The author provides personal experiences from his journey to disappear from public view. Much of the content of this book has never been discussed in any publication. Always thinking like a hacker, the author has identified new ways to force companies to remove you from their data collection systems. This book exposes loopholes that create unique opportunities for privacy seekers. Among other techniques, you will learn to:

Remove your personal information from public databases and people search sites
Create free anonymous mail addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers
Control your privacy settings on social networks and remove sensitive data
Provide disinformation to conceal true private details
Force data brokers to stop sharing your information with both private and public organizations
Prevent marketing companies from monitoring your browsing, searching, and shopping habits
Remove your landline and cellular telephone numbers from online websites
Use a credit freeze to eliminate the worry of financial identity theft and fraud
Change your future habits to promote complete privacy and anonymity
Conduct a complete background check to verify proper information removal
Configure a home firewall with VPN Kill-Switch
Purchase a completely invisible home or vehicle




The Art of Invisibility: The World's Most Famous Hacker Teaches You How to Be Safe in the Age of Big Brother and Big Data

privacyAuthor: Kevin Mitnick
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Little Brown and Company

Brand: Little Brown and Company
Creator(s):
  • Mikko Hypponen
  • Robert Vamosi

Studio: Little, Brown and Company
Label: Little, Brown and Company
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Manufacturer: Little, Brown and Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Be online without leaving a trace.

Your every step online is being tracked and stored, and your identity literally stolen. Big companies and big governments want to know and exploit what you do, and privacy is a luxury few can afford or understand.

In this explosive yet practical book, Kevin Mitnick uses true-life stories to show exactly what is happening without your knowledge, teaching you "the art of invisibility"--online and real-world tactics to protect you and your family, using easy step-by-step instructions. Reading this book, you will learn everything from password protection and smart Wi-Fi usage to advanced techniques designed to maximize your anonymity.

Kevin Mitnick knows exactly how vulnerabilities can be exploited and just what to do to prevent that from happening. The world's most famous--and formerly the US government's most wanted--computer hacker, he has hacked into some of the country's most powerful and seemingly impenetrable agencies and companies, and at one point was on a three-year run from the FBI. Now Mitnick is reformed and widely regarded as the expert on the subject of computer security.

Invisibility isn't just for superheroes--privacy is a power you deserve and need in the age of Big Brother and Big Data.




Data and Goliath: The Hidden Battles to Collect Your Data and Control Your World

privacyAuthor: Bruce Schneier
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Brand: imusti
Studio: W. W. Norton & Company
Label: W. W. Norton & Company
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Manufacturer: W. W. Norton & Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

“Bruce Schneier’s amazing book is the best overview of privacy and security ever written.”―Clay Shirky

Your cell phone provider tracks your location and knows who’s with you. Your online and in-store purchasing patterns are recorded, and reveal if you're unemployed, sick, or pregnant. Your e-mails and texts expose your intimate and casual friends. Google knows what you’re thinking because it saves your private searches. Facebook can determine your sexual orientation without you ever mentioning it.

The powers that surveil us do more than simply store this information. Corporations use surveillance to manipulate not only the news articles and advertisements we each see, but also the prices we’re offered. Governments use surveillance to discriminate, censor, chill free speech, and put people in danger worldwide. And both sides share this information with each other or, even worse, lose it to cybercriminals in huge data breaches.

Much of this is voluntary: we cooperate with corporate surveillance because it promises us convenience, and we submit to government surveillance because it promises us protection. The result is a mass surveillance society of our own making. But have we given up more than we’ve gained? In Data and Goliath, security expert Bruce Schneier offers another path, one that values both security and privacy. He brings his bestseller up-to-date with a new preface covering the latest developments, and then shows us exactly what we can do to reform government surveillance programs, shake up surveillance-based business models, and protect our individual privacy. You'll never look at your phone, your computer, your credit cards, or even your car in the same way again.





privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}