7 in 10 Smartphone Apps Teilen Sie Ihre Daten mit Diensten von Drittanbietern

7 in 10 Smartphone Apps Teilen Sie Ihre Daten mit Diensten von Drittanbietern
Fotos von Smartphones werden georeferenziert, auch wenn der Benutzer nichts davon weiß. Smartphone-Nutzer können ihre Datenschutzeinstellungen anpassen, um zu begrenzen, wer ihre geografisch markierten Orte sehen darf. (Foto: US Army Grafik)

Unsere Handys können verraten viel über uns selbstWo wir leben und arbeiten wer unsere Familie, Freunde und Bekannte sind; wie (und sogar was) wir mit ihnen kommunizieren; und unsere persönlichen Gewohnheiten. Mit all den Informationen, die auf ihnen gespeichert sind, ist es nicht überraschend, dass Benutzer von mobilen Geräten Maßnahmen ergreifen, um ihre Privatsphäre zu schützen, wie mit PINs oder Passcodes um ihre Telefone zu entsperren.

Die Forschung, die wir und unsere Kollegen durchführen, identifiziert und erforscht eine bedeutende Bedrohung, die die meisten Menschen übersehen: Mehr als 70 Prozent of Smartphone-Apps melden persönliche Daten an Tracking-Unternehmen von Drittanbietern wie Google Analytics, die Facebook Graph API oder Crashlytics.

Wenn Nutzer eine neue Android- oder iOS-App installieren, fragt sie vor dem Zugriff auf persönliche Daten die Zustimmung des Nutzers. Im Allgemeinen ist dies positiv. Und einige der Informationen, die diese Apps sammeln, sind notwendig, damit sie richtig funktionieren: Eine Karten-App wäre nicht annähernd so nützlich, wenn sie keine GPS-Daten verwenden könnte, um einen Standort zu erhalten.

Aber sobald eine App die Erlaubnis hat, diese Informationen zu sammeln, kann sie Ihre Daten mit jedem teilen, den der Entwickler der App möchte. So können Unternehmen von Drittanbietern verfolgen, wo Sie sind, wie schnell Sie sich bewegen und was Sie tun.

Die Hilfe und Gefahr von Code-Bibliotheken

Eine App sammelt nicht nur Daten für die Verwendung am Telefon selbst. Mapping-Apps senden beispielsweise Ihren Standort an einen Server, der vom Entwickler der App ausgeführt wird, um die Wegbeschreibung von Ihrem Standort zu einem gewünschten Ziel zu berechnen.

Die App kann Daten auch an anderer Stelle senden. Wie bei Websites werden viele mobile Apps geschrieben, indem verschiedene Funktionen, die von anderen Entwicklern und Unternehmen vorkodiert wurden, in sogenannten Drittanbieterbibliotheken kombiniert werden. Diese Bibliotheken helfen Entwicklern Benutzerinteraktion verfolgen, Verbindung mit sozialen Medien herstellen und Verdiene Geld, indem du Werbung zeigst und andere Funktionen, ohne sie von Grund auf neu schreiben zu müssen.

Zusätzlich zu ihrer wertvollen Hilfe sammeln die meisten Bibliotheken jedoch sensible Daten und senden sie an ihre Online-Server - oder an ein anderes Unternehmen. Erfolgreiche Bibliotheksautoren können detaillierte digitale Benutzerprofile erstellen. Beispielsweise kann eine Person einer App die Erlaubnis geben, ihren Standort zu erfahren, und eine andere App kann auf ihre Kontakte zugreifen. Dies sind zunächst separate Berechtigungen, eine für jede App. Wenn jedoch beide Apps dieselbe Bibliothek von Drittanbietern verwenden und verschiedene Informationen teilen, kann der Entwickler der Bibliothek die Teile miteinander verknüpfen.

Benutzer würden es nie erfahren, da Apps den Benutzern nicht mitteilen müssen, welche Softwarebibliotheken sie verwenden. Und nur sehr wenige Apps veröffentlichen ihre Richtlinien zur Privatsphäre der Nutzer. Wenn sie es tun, ist es in der Regel in langen juristischen Dokumenten eine normale Person werde nicht lesen, viel weniger verstehen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Lumen entwickeln

Unsere Forschung versucht herauszufinden, wie viele Daten möglicherweise ohne das Wissen des Benutzers gesammelt werden und den Benutzern mehr Kontrolle über ihre Daten zu geben. Um ein Bild von was zu bekommen Daten werden gesammelt und von den Smartphones der Menschen übertragen, haben wir eine kostenlose Android App entwickelt, die wir "The Lumen Privacy Monitor. Sie analysiert die gesendeten Verkehrs-Apps und meldet, welche Anwendungen und Online-Dienste personenbezogene Daten aktiv erfassen.

Da es bei Lumen um Transparenz geht, kann ein Telefonbenutzer die Informationen sehen, die installierte Apps in Echtzeit sammeln und mit wem sie diese Daten teilen. Wir versuchen, die Details des versteckten Verhaltens von Apps auf leicht verständliche Weise zu zeigen. Es geht auch um Recherche. Daher fragen wir Nutzer, ob sie uns erlauben, Daten darüber zu sammeln, was Lumen bei ihren Apps beobachtet - aber das beinhaltet keine persönlichen oder datenschutzrelevanten Daten. Dieser einzigartige Zugriff auf Daten ermöglicht es uns zu untersuchen, wie mobile Apps die persönlichen Daten von Nutzern erfassen und mit wem sie Daten in einem beispiellosen Umfang austauschen.

Insbesondere verfolgt Lumen, welche Apps auf den Geräten der Benutzer laufen, ob sie datenschutzrelevante Daten aus dem Telefon senden, welche Internet-Sites sie an die Daten senden, welches Netzwerkprotokoll sie verwenden und welche Arten von persönlichen Informationen jede App sendet an jede Site. Lumen analysiert den Datenverkehr von Apps lokal auf dem Gerät und anonymisiert diese Daten, bevor sie uns zum Studium gesendet werden: Wenn Google Maps den GPS-Standort eines Nutzers registriert und diese Adresse an maps.google.com sendet, sagt uns Lumen: "Google Maps hat eine GPS-Standort und schickte es an maps.google.com "- nicht dort, wo diese Person tatsächlich ist.

Fährtenleser sind überall

Mehr als 1,600 Leute, die Lumen seit Oktober 2015 verwendet haben, erlaubten uns mehr als 5,000 Apps zu analysieren. Wir haben 598-Websites entdeckt, die wahrscheinlich Nutzer für Werbezwecke verfolgen, darunter soziale Medien wie Facebook, große Internetunternehmen wie Google und Yahoo und Online-Marketing-Unternehmen unter dem Dach von Internetdienstanbietern wie Verizon Wireless.

Wir haben das gefunden mehr als 70 Prozent der Apps, die wir untersucht haben verbunden mit mindestens einem Tracker, und 15 Prozent von ihnen mit fünf oder mehr Trackern verbunden. Einer von vier Trackern erntete mindestens eine eindeutige Gerätekennung, wie die Telefonnummer oder deren Nummer gerätespezifische eindeutige 15-stellige IMEI-Nummer. Eindeutige Bezeichner sind für Online-Tracking-Dienste von entscheidender Bedeutung, da sie verschiedene Arten von persönlichen Daten, die von verschiedenen Apps bereitgestellt werden, mit einer einzelnen Person oder einem Gerät verbinden können. Die meisten Benutzer, selbst diejenigen, die sich der Privatsphäre verschrieben haben, sind sich dieser verborgenen Praktiken nicht bewusst.

Mehr als nur ein mobiles Problem

Nutzer auf ihren mobilen Geräten zu verfolgen, ist nur ein Teil eines größeren Problems. Mehr als die Hälfte der App-Tracker, die wir identifiziert haben, verfolgen auch Nutzer über Websites. Dank dieser Technik, die als "geräteübergreifendes" Tracking bezeichnet wird, können diese Services ein viel vollständigeres Profil Ihrer Online-Persona erstellen.

Und individuelle Tracking-Sites sind nicht unbedingt unabhängig von anderen. Einige von ihnen gehören demselben Unternehmen - andere könnten bei zukünftigen Fusionen verschlungen werden. Zum Beispiel besitzt Alphabet, die Muttergesellschaft von Google, mehrere der von uns untersuchten Tracking-Domains, einschließlich Google Analytics. Doubleclick oder AdMob, und durch sie sammelt Daten von mehr als 48 Prozent der Apps, die wir untersucht haben.

Die Online-Identität der Nutzer ist nicht durch die Gesetze ihres Heimatlandes geschützt. Wir haben festgestellt, dass Daten über nationale Grenzen hinweg versandt werden und oft in Ländern mit fragwürdigen Datenschutzgesetzen landen. Mehr als 60 Prozent der Verbindungen zu Tracking-Sites werden auf Servern in den USA, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Singapur, China und Südkorea - sechs Länder, die eingesetzt haben Massenüberwachungstechnologien. Regierungsbehörden an diesen Orten könnten möglicherweise Zugang zu diesen Daten haben, selbst wenn sich die Benutzer dort befinden Länder mit strengeren Datenschutzgesetzen wie Deutschland, Schweiz oder Spanien.

Verbinden der MAC-Adresse eines Geräts mit einer physischen Adresse (die zu ICSI gehört) mithilfe von Wigle.
Verbinden der MAC-Adresse eines Geräts mit einer physischen Adresse (die zu ICSI gehört) mithilfe von Wigle. ICSI, CC BY-ND

Noch beunruhigender sind Tracker in Apps für Kinder. Durch das Testen von 111-Apps für Kinder in unserem Labor haben wir festgestellt, dass 11 von ihnen eine eindeutige Kennung durchgelassen hat MAC-Adresse, des Wi-Fi-Routers, mit dem es verbunden war. Dies ist ein Problem, weil es einfach ist Suche online für physische Standorte, die bestimmten MAC-Adressen zugeordnet sind. Das Sammeln privater Informationen über Kinder, einschließlich ihres Standorts, ihrer Konten und anderer eindeutiger Identifikatoren, verstößt möglicherweise gegen die Federal Trade Commission Regeln zum Schutz der Privatsphäre von Kindern.

Nur ein kleiner Blick

Obwohl unsere Daten viele der beliebtesten Android-Apps enthalten, handelt es sich um eine kleine Auswahl von Nutzern und Apps und somit wahrscheinlich um eine kleine Auswahl aller möglichen Tracker. Unsere Ergebnisse können lediglich die Oberfläche eines wahrscheinlich größeren Problems aufdecken, das sich über regulatorische Jurisdiktionen, Geräte und Plattformen erstreckt.

Es ist schwer zu sagen, was Benutzer diesbezüglich tun könnten. Das Blockieren vertraulicher Informationen durch das Verlassen des Telefons kann die App-Leistung oder das Nutzererlebnis beeinträchtigen: Eine App kann die Funktion ablehnen, wenn sie keine Anzeigen laden kann. Tatsächlich schadet das Blockieren von Anzeigen den App-Entwicklern, indem sie ihnen eine Einnahmequelle verweigern, um ihre Arbeit an Apps zu unterstützen, die den Nutzern normalerweise kostenlos zur Verfügung stehen.

Wenn die Leute eher bereit wären, Entwickler für Apps zu bezahlen, könnte das helfen, obwohl es keine vollständige Lösung ist. Wir haben festgestellt, dass kostenpflichtige Apps zwar weniger Tracking-Websites kontaktieren, Nutzer aber dennoch verfolgen und sich mit Tracking-Services von Drittanbietern verbinden.

Das GesprächTransparenz, Bildung und starke regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen sind der Schlüssel. Benutzer müssen wissen, welche Informationen über sie gesammelt werden, von wem und wofür sie verwendet werden. Nur dann können wir als Gesellschaft entscheiden, welche Datenschutzbestimmungen angemessen sind, und diese umsetzen. Unsere Ergebnisse und die vieler anderer Forscher können dazu beitragen, den Spieß umzudrehen und die Tracker selbst zu verfolgen.

Über den Autor

Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez, Wissenschaftlicher Assistent, Institut IMDEA Networks, Madrid, Spanien; Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Netzwerk und Sicherheit, International Computer Science Institute, University of California, Berkeley und Srikanth Sundaresan, Research Fellow in Informatik, Princeton University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Datenschutz im Internet; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Das Thema des Newsletters in dieser Woche kann als "Sie können es tun" oder genauer als "Wir können es schaffen!" Zusammengefasst werden. Dies ist eine andere Art zu sagen "Sie / wir haben die Macht, eine Änderung vorzunehmen". Das Bild von…
Was für mich funktioniert: "Ich kann es schaffen!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Der Grund, warum ich teile, "was für mich funktioniert", ist, dass es möglicherweise auch für Sie funktioniert. Wenn nicht genau so, wie ich es mache, da wir alle einzigartig sind, kann eine gewisse Abweichung in der Einstellung oder Methode durchaus etwas sein ...
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Wir sehen das Leben durch die Linsen unserer Wahrnehmung. Stephen R. Covey schrieb: „Wir sehen die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, sondern so wie wir sind oder wie wir konditioniert sind, um sie zu sehen.“ Also schauen wir uns diese Woche einige an…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Die Straßen, auf denen wir heutzutage unterwegs sind, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber für uns neu. Die Erfahrungen, die wir machen, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber sie sind auch neu für uns. Gleiches gilt für die…
Wenn die Wahrheit so schrecklich ist, dass es weh tut, ergreifen Sie Maßnahmen
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Inmitten all der Schrecken, die heutzutage stattfinden, inspirieren mich die Hoffnungsschimmer, die durchscheinen. Gewöhnliche Menschen, die sich für das einsetzen, was richtig ist (und gegen das, was falsch ist). Baseballspieler,…

7 In 10 Smartphone Apps Share Your Data With Third-party Services

privacy

7 In 10 Smartphone Apps Share Your Data With Third-party Services
Photos from smartphones are geotagged even when the user is unaware. Smartphone users can adjust their privacy settings to limit who can view their geotagged locations. (Photo Credit: U.S. Army Graphic)

Our mobile phones can reveal a lot about ourselves: where we live and work; who our family, friends and acquaintances are; how (and even what) we communicate with them; and our personal habits. With all the information stored on them, it isn’t surprising that mobile device users take steps to protect their privacy, like using PINs or passcodes to unlock their phones.

The research that we and our colleagues are doing identifies and explores a significant threat that most people miss: More than 70 percent of smartphone apps are reporting personal data to third-party tracking companies like Google Analytics, the Facebook Graph API or Crashlytics.

When people install a new Android or iOS app, it asks the user’s permission before accessing personal information. Generally speaking, this is positive. And some of the information these apps are collecting are necessary for them to work properly: A map app wouldn’t be nearly as useful if it couldn’t use GPS data to get a location.

But once an app has permission to collect that information, it can share your data with anyone the app’s developer wants to – letting third-party companies track where you are, how fast you’re moving and what you’re doing.

The help, and hazard, of code libraries

An app doesn’t just collect data to use on the phone itself. Mapping apps, for example, send your location to a server run by the app’s developer to calculate directions from where you are to a desired destination.

The app can send data elsewhere, too. As with websites, many mobile apps are written by combining various functions, precoded by other developers and companies, in what are called third-party libraries. These libraries help developers track user engagement, connect with social media and earn money by displaying ads and other features, without having to write them from scratch.

However, in addition to their valuable help, most libraries also collect sensitive data and send it to their online servers – or to another company altogether. Successful library authors may be able to develop detailed digital profiles of users. For example, a person might give one app permission to know their location, and another app access to their contacts. These are initially separate permissions, one to each app. But if both apps used the same third-party library and shared different pieces of information, the library’s developer could link the pieces together.

Users would never know, because apps aren’t required to tell users what software libraries they use. And only very few apps make public their policies on user privacy; if they do, it’s usually in long legal documents a regular person won’t read, much less understand.

Developing Lumen

Our research seeks to reveal how much data are potentially being collected without users’ knowledge, and to give users more control over their data. To get a picture of what data are being collected and transmitted from people’s smartphones, we developed a free Android app of our own, called the Lumen Privacy Monitor. It analyzes the traffic apps send out, to report which applications and online services actively harvest personal data.

Because Lumen is about transparency, a phone user can see the information installed apps collect in real time and with whom they share these data. We try to show the details of apps’ hidden behavior in an easy-to-understand way. It’s about research, too, so we ask users if they’ll allow us to collect some data about what Lumen observes their apps are doing – but that doesn’t include any personal or privacy-sensitive data. This unique access to data allows us to study how mobile apps collect users’ personal data and with whom they share data at an unprecedented scale.

In particular, Lumen keeps track of which apps are running on users’ devices, whether they are sending privacy-sensitive data out of the phone, what internet sites they send data to, the network protocol they use and what types of personal information each app sends to each site. Lumen analyzes apps traffic locally on the device, and anonymizes these data before sending them to us for study: If Google Maps registers a user’s GPS location and sends that specific address to maps.google.com, Lumen tells us, “Google Maps got a GPS location and sent it to maps.google.com” – not where that person actually is.

Trackers are everywhere

More than 1,600 people who have used Lumen since October 2015 allowed us to analyze more than 5,000 apps. We discovered 598 internet sites likely to be tracking users for advertising purposes, including social media services like Facebook, large internet companies like Google and Yahoo, and online marketing companies under the umbrella of internet service providers like Verizon Wireless.

We found that more than 70 percent of the apps we studied connected to at least one tracker, and 15 percent of them connected to five or more trackers. One in every four trackers harvested at least one unique device identifier, such as the phone number or its device-specific unique 15-digit IMEI number. Unique identifiers are crucial for online tracking services because they can connect different types of personal data provided by different apps to a single person or device. Most users, even privacy-savvy ones, are unaware of those hidden practices.

More than just a mobile problem

Tracking users on their mobile devices is just part of a larger problem. More than half of the app-trackers we identified also track users through websites. Thanks to this technique, called “cross-device” tracking, these services can build a much more complete profile of your online persona.

And individual tracking sites are not necessarily independent of others. Some of them are owned by the same corporate entity – and others could be swallowed up in future mergers. For example, Alphabet, Google’s parent company, owns several of the tracking domains that we studied, including Google Analytics, DoubleClick or AdMob, and through them collects data from more than 48 percent of the apps we studied.

Users’ online identities are not protected by their home country’s laws. We found data being shipped across national borders, often ending up in countries with questionable privacy laws. More than 60 percent of connections to tracking sites are made to servers in the U.S., U.K., France, Singapore, China and South Korea – six countries that have deployed mass surveillance technologies. Government agencies in those places could potentially have access to these data, even if the users are in countries with stronger privacy laws such as Germany, Switzerland or Spain.

Connecting a device’s MAC address to a physical address (belonging to ICSI) using Wigle.
Connecting a device’s MAC address to a physical address (belonging to ICSI) using Wigle. ICSI, CC BY-ND

Even more disturbingly, we have observed trackers in apps targeted to children. By testing 111 kids’ apps in our lab, we observed that 11 of them leaked a unique identifier, the MAC address, of the Wi-Fi router it was connected to. This is a problem, because it is easy to search online for physical locations associated with particular MAC addresses. Collecting private information about children, including their location, accounts and other unique identifiers, potentially violates the Federal Trade Commission’s rules protecting children’s privacy.

Just a small look

Although our data include many of the most popular Android apps, it is a small sample of users and apps, and therefore likely a small set of all possible trackers. Our findings may be merely scratching the surface of what is likely to be a much larger problem that spans across regulatory jurisdictions, devices and platforms.

It’s hard to know what users might do about this. Blocking sensitive information from leaving the phone may impair app performance or user experience: An app may refuse to function if it cannot load ads. Actually, blocking ads hurts app developers by denying them a source of revenue to support their work on apps, which are usually free to users.

If people were more willing to pay developers for apps, that may help, though it’s not a complete solution. We found that while paid apps tend to contact fewer tracking sites, they still do track users and connect with third-party tracking services.

The ConversationTransparency, education and strong regulatory frameworks are the key. Users need to know what information about them is being collected, by whom, and what it’s being used for. Only then can we as a society decide what privacy protections are appropriate, and put them in place. Our findings, and those of many other researchers, can help turn the tables and track the trackers themselves.

About The Authors

Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez, Research Assistant Professor, IMDEA Networks Institute, Madrid, Spain; Research Scientist, Networking and Security, International Computer Science Institute based at, University of California, Berkeley and Srikanth Sundaresan, Research Fellow in Computer Science, Princeton University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information

privacyAuthor: Michael Bazzell
Binding: Paperback
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: New 2018 Fourth Edition

Take control of your privacy by removing your personal information from the internet with this updated Fourth Edition. Author Michael Bazzell has been well known in government circles for his ability to locate personal information about anyone through the internet. In Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information, he exposes the resources that broadcast your personal details to public view. He has researched each source and identified the best method to have your private details removed from the databases that store profiles on all of us.

This book will serve as a reference guide for anyone that values privacy. Each technique is explained in simple steps. It is written in a hands-on style that encourages the reader to execute the tutorials as they go. The author provides personal experiences from his journey to disappear from public view. Much of the content of this book has never been discussed in any publication. Always thinking like a hacker, the author has identified new ways to force companies to remove you from their data collection systems. This book exposes loopholes that create unique opportunities for privacy seekers. Among other techniques, you will learn to:

Remove your personal information from public databases and people search sites
Create free anonymous mail addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers
Control your privacy settings on social networks and remove sensitive data
Provide disinformation to conceal true private details
Force data brokers to stop sharing your information with both private and public organizations
Prevent marketing companies from monitoring your browsing, searching, and shopping habits
Remove your landline and cellular telephone numbers from online websites
Use a credit freeze to eliminate the worry of financial identity theft and fraud
Change your future habits to promote complete privacy and anonymity
Conduct a complete background check to verify proper information removal
Configure a home firewall with VPN Kill-Switch
Purchase a completely invisible home or vehicle




The Art of Invisibility: The World's Most Famous Hacker Teaches You How to Be Safe in the Age of Big Brother and Big Data

privacyAuthor: Kevin Mitnick
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Little Brown and Company

Brand: Little Brown and Company
Creator(s):
  • Mikko Hypponen
  • Robert Vamosi

Studio: Little, Brown and Company
Label: Little, Brown and Company
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Manufacturer: Little, Brown and Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Be online without leaving a trace.

Your every step online is being tracked and stored, and your identity literally stolen. Big companies and big governments want to know and exploit what you do, and privacy is a luxury few can afford or understand.

In this explosive yet practical book, Kevin Mitnick uses true-life stories to show exactly what is happening without your knowledge, teaching you "the art of invisibility"--online and real-world tactics to protect you and your family, using easy step-by-step instructions. Reading this book, you will learn everything from password protection and smart Wi-Fi usage to advanced techniques designed to maximize your anonymity.

Kevin Mitnick knows exactly how vulnerabilities can be exploited and just what to do to prevent that from happening. The world's most famous--and formerly the US government's most wanted--computer hacker, he has hacked into some of the country's most powerful and seemingly impenetrable agencies and companies, and at one point was on a three-year run from the FBI. Now Mitnick is reformed and widely regarded as the expert on the subject of computer security.

Invisibility isn't just for superheroes--privacy is a power you deserve and need in the age of Big Brother and Big Data.




Data and Goliath: The Hidden Battles to Collect Your Data and Control Your World

privacyAuthor: Bruce Schneier
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Brand: imusti
Studio: W. W. Norton & Company
Label: W. W. Norton & Company
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Manufacturer: W. W. Norton & Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

“Bruce Schneier’s amazing book is the best overview of privacy and security ever written.”―Clay Shirky

Your cell phone provider tracks your location and knows who’s with you. Your online and in-store purchasing patterns are recorded, and reveal if you're unemployed, sick, or pregnant. Your e-mails and texts expose your intimate and casual friends. Google knows what you’re thinking because it saves your private searches. Facebook can determine your sexual orientation without you ever mentioning it.

The powers that surveil us do more than simply store this information. Corporations use surveillance to manipulate not only the news articles and advertisements we each see, but also the prices we’re offered. Governments use surveillance to discriminate, censor, chill free speech, and put people in danger worldwide. And both sides share this information with each other or, even worse, lose it to cybercriminals in huge data breaches.

Much of this is voluntary: we cooperate with corporate surveillance because it promises us convenience, and we submit to government surveillance because it promises us protection. The result is a mass surveillance society of our own making. But have we given up more than we’ve gained? In Data and Goliath, security expert Bruce Schneier offers another path, one that values both security and privacy. He brings his bestseller up-to-date with a new preface covering the latest developments, and then shows us exactly what we can do to reform government surveillance programs, shake up surveillance-based business models, and protect our individual privacy. You'll never look at your phone, your computer, your credit cards, or even your car in the same way again.





privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}