Warum The Push Back Nulltoleranz Gesetze für Schulen?

Warum The Push Back Nulltoleranz Gesetze für Schulen?

Der Staatssenat von Michigan prüft derzeit Gesetzgebung das würde die "Nulltoleranz" -Disziplinspolitik in den öffentlichen Schulen des Staates zurückschrauben.

Null-Toleranz-Disziplin Gesetze erfordern automatische und in der Regel strenge Bestrafung für bestimmte Straftaten, die vom Besitz von Waffen zu physischen Angriffen reichen können. Sie lassen wenig Spielraum für die Berücksichtigung der Umstände des Vergehens.

Die Rechnung, bereits genehmigt vom State House, schlägt vor, Bestimmungen hinzuzufügen, die die kontextuellen Faktoren im Zusammenhang mit einem Vorfall, wie die Disziplinargeschichte des Schülers, berücksichtigen würden, und würde fragen, ob geringere Formen der Bestrafung ausreichen würden.

Mit anderen Worten, die Aufhebung und Ausweisung wäre nicht länger "zwingend", und die staatlichen Disziplinargesetze würden etwas "toleranter" sein.

Als ein Forscher der Bildungspolitik und der Schuldisziplin möchte ich hervorheben, dass diese Überarbeitungen teilweise übernommen wurden andere Staaten, stellen eine wesentliche Weichenstellung für das staatliche Schulfachgesetz dar.

Tatsächlich deuten meine jüngsten Arbeiten und die anderer darauf hin, dass die Abkehr von Null-Toleranz-Ansätzen zum Besseren führt.

Warum Null-Toleranz-Richtlinien eingeführt wurden

Überall in den 1990s, die Anzahl der Staaten mit Null-Toleranz-Gesetzen, die für bestimmte Straftaten ausgesetzt oder ausgeschlossen werden müssen, deutlich erhöht.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Die schnelle Annahme solcher Gesetze wurde teilweise durch die Verabschiedung der 1994 Gun-Free Schools Act, Bundesgesetzgebung, die Staaten verpflichtete, verbindliche Vertreibungsgesetze für den Besitz einer Schusswaffe in der Schule zu erlassen.

Diese Sicherheitsbedenken wurden durch die Schießen das fand an der Columbine High School statt, einer öffentlichen Highschool in Littleton, Colorado.

Nach Akelei, von den frühen 2000s, fast jeder Staat hatte ein Nulltoleranzgesetz. Viele dieser Gesetze erstreckten sich über Schusswaffen hinaus auch auf andere Waffen, körperliche Übergriffe und Drogendelikte.

Gegen Null-Toleranz drücken

Solche Nulltoleranzgesetze sollten eindeutig die Sicherheit und Ordnung der Schulumgebung verbessern. In den letzten Jahren wurden sie jedoch als solche angesehen übermäßig vorschreibend und als Beitrag zu Rassenunterschiede in der Schuldisziplin.

Zum Beispiel gibt es Fälle von Studenten suspendiert für versehentlich ein Taschenmesser zur Schule. In einem prominenten Fall wurde ein Student suspendiert für einen Teig in Form einer Pistole kauen.

Zusätzlich Bundesdaten zeigen, dass schwarze Studenten zu Raten ausgesetzt sind, die zwei- bis dreimal höher sind als ihre weißen Kollegen.

In der Folge haben in 2014 das US-Justizministerium und das Department of Education eine gemeinsame Ausgabe veröffentlicht "Lieber Kollege" Brief an öffentliche Schulbezirke. Der Brief war ein Aufruf zur Reduzierung von Aussetzungen und Vertreibungen und stattdessen für die Gewährleistung eines fairen Einsatzes der Schuldisziplin für Schüler aller Schulstufen.

Hier ist, was neue Forschungsergebnisse zeigen

In einem neu veröffentlichte StudieIch untersuchte die Implikationen staatlicher Nulltoleranzgesetze - Gesetze, die Schulbezirke zur Einführung von Null-Toleranz-Richtlinien verpflichten.

Insbesondere wollte ich herausfinden, ob sie zu einer verstärkten Nutzung von Suspensionen beigetragen haben und zu rassistischen Ungleichheiten geführt haben. Gegeben Ansprüche Durch Befürworter solcher Gesetze, dass sie die Sicherheit und Ordnung der Schule insgesamt erhöhen, wollte ich auch sehen, ob diese Gesetze dazu beitragen, dass die Wahrnehmung von Problemverhalten in der Schule insgesamt abnimmt.

Ich habe nationale Daten verwendet, die vom US - Bildungsministerium als Teil des Bürgerrechtsdatensammlung und die Schul- und Besetzungsstudie. Die Stichprobe umfasste Tausende von Schulbezirken und Schulleitungen von den späten 1980 bis hin zu den mittleren 2000.

Die Studie ergab drei wichtige Erkenntnisse.

Erstens zeigte die Studie, dass staatliche Gesetze, die von Schulen eine Null-Toleranz-Politik verlangen, die Aussetzungsraten für alle Schüler erhöhen. Zweitens erhöhten sich die Aussetzungsquoten für afroamerikanische Studenten mit einer höheren Rate, was potenziell zu rassistischen Disparitäten in der Disziplin beitrug. Schließlich berichteten die Schulleiter von einem geringen Rückgang des Problemverhaltens in den Schulen, was darauf hindeutet, dass die Gesetze die Sicherheit und Ordnung der Schulen nicht verbessert haben.

Die Ergebnisse im Kontext

Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die Einführung von Nulltoleranzgesetzen zu einer Erhöhung der Distriktaussetzungsraten führt. Für den Bezirk von durchschnittlicher Größe führten solche Gesetze zu etwa 35 mehr Aussetzungen pro Jahr.

Obwohl diese Zahl klein erscheinen mag, ist die potenzielle Auswirkung ziemlich groß.

A aktuellen Studie von Forschern an der UCLA, zum Beispiel, schlägt vor, dass eine Senkung der nationalen Aussetzungsrate um einen Prozentpunkt zu gesellschaftlichen Gewinnen von mehr als 2 US $ in Milliardenhöhe durch weniger Ausfälle und höhere wirtschaftliche Produktivität führen würde. Kurz gesagt, staatliche Nulltoleranzgesetze können der Gesellschaft erhebliche finanzielle Kosten auferlegen.

Darüber hinaus wird die Last dieser Kosten nicht gleichmäßig auf alle Gruppen verteilt.

Die Ergebnisse meiner Studie legen nahe, dass der Anstieg der Suspendierungsraten für schwarze Schüler infolge dieser Gesetze etwa dreimal so groß ist wie für weiße Schüler.

Gekoppelt mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen Das Ergebnis zeigt, dass diese Gesetze, obwohl sie in Bezug auf die Rasse angeblich neutral sind, unverhältnismäßig stark auf Farbschüler einwirken.

Jüngste Daten Die vom Büro für Bürgerrechte des US-Bildungsministeriums herausgegebenen Dokumente weisen auf anhaltende Disparitäten bei der Verwendung der Schuldisziplin hin.

Keine Verringerung des Fehlverhaltens

Befürworter der Null-Toleranz-Disziplin haben argumentiert, dass die Verwendung von Suspensionen und Ausweisungen erhöht die Sicherheit und Ordnung der Lernumgebung als Ganzes. Meine Studie fand Beweise, um die Behauptung zu widerlegen.

In meinen Daten bewerteten die Schulleiter das Ausmaß, in dem verschiedene Verhaltensprobleme (dh Kampf, Respektlosigkeit, Drogenkonsum, Waffen) Probleme in ihren Schulen waren.

Ich habe festgestellt, dass nach Ansicht der Schulleiter das Vorhandensein eines Null-Toleranz-Gesetzes ihre Bewertung des Ausmaßes, in dem diese verschiedenen Verhaltensweisen Probleme sind, nicht verringert hat. Mit anderen Worten, die Nulltoleranzgesetze scheinen insgesamt nicht zu einem verbesserten Sicherheits- und Ordnungsniveau beigetragen zu haben.

Was bedeuten die Ergebnisse für Politik und Praxis?

Schüler, Eltern und andere Interessengruppen haben die Erwartung, dass Schulen ein sicheres und geordnetes Umfeld sein sollten, in dem alle Schüler gleich behandelt werden. Obwohl es wichtig ist, dass die Schulen aktive Schritte unternehmen, um diese Ziele zu erreichen, stellen die Ergebnisse meiner Arbeit in Frage, ob die Zero-Tolerance-Disziplingesetze die effektivste Methode sind.

Während Suspendierung und Ausweisung unter Umständen noch immer die geeigneten Instrumente sind, ist es wichtig, dass die Schulen den Kontext berücksichtigen und diese Diskretion bei der Verwaltung der Schuldisziplin zulassen. Darüber hinaus ist es wichtig, dass sichergestellt wird, dass ein solcher Ermessensspielraum für Farbschüler, die zu oft disproportionale disziplinarische Ausgrenzung erfahren, gerecht gehandhabt wird.

Die revidierten Disziplinargesetze, die in Michigan geprüft werden, und ähnliche Revisionen der Schuldisziplinarpolitik in anderen Staaten sind vielversprechendere Schritte, um eine effektive und faire Schuldisziplin zu gewährleisten.

Über den Autor

F. Chris Curran, Assistant Professor für öffentliche Politik, Universität von Maryland, Baltimore Grafschaft

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Ende der Nulltoleranz; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Push Back Against Zero Tolerance Laws For Schools?

education

Why The Push Back Against Zero Tolerance Laws For Schools?

The State Senate of Michigan is currently considering legislation that would scale back “zero tolerance” discipline policies in the state’s public schools.

Zero tolerance discipline laws require automatic and generally severe punishment for specified offenses that could range from possessing weapons to physical assault. They leave little leeway for consideration of the circumstances of the offense.

The bill, already approved by the State House, proposes to add provisions that would consider the contextual factors around an incident, such as the student’s disciplinary history, and would ask whether lesser forms of punishment would suffice.

In other words, suspension and expulsion would no longer be as “mandatory” and there would be a little more “tolerance” in these state discipline laws.

As a researcher of education policy and school discipline, I would highlight that these revisions, some of which have been passed in other states, represent a significant change of course for state school discipline law.

In fact, my recent work and that of others suggests that the shift away from zero tolerance approaches is for the better.

Why zero tolerance policies were introduced

Throughout the 1990s, the number of states with zero tolerance laws, those requiring suspension or expulsion for specified offenses, increased significantly.

The rapid adoption of such laws was spurred in part by the passage of the 1994 Gun-Free Schools Act, federal legislation that required states to adopt mandatory expulsion laws for possessing a firearm in school.

These safety concerns were further heightened by the shooting that took place at Columbine High School, a public high school in Littleton, Colorado.

Following Columbine, by the early 2000s, nearly every state had a zero tolerance law in place. Many of these laws expanded beyond firearms to include other weapons, physical assaults and drug offenses.

Push back against zero tolerance

Clearly, such zero tolerance laws were meant to improve the safety and order of the school environment. However, in recent years, they have been seen as being overly prescriptive and as contributing to racial disparities in school discipline.

For instance, there are cases of students being suspended for accidentally bringing a pocketknife to school. In one high-profile case, a student was suspended for chewing a pastry into the shape of a gun.

Additionally, federal data show that black students are suspended at rates two to three times higher than their white peers.

As a result, in 2014, the U.S. Department of Justice and Department of Education issued a joint “Dear Colleague” letter directed to public school districts. The letter was a call for reductions in the use of suspensions and expulsions and, instead, for a focus on ensuring the fair use of school discipline for students of all backgrounds.

Here’s what new research shows

In a newly published study, I explored the implications of state zero tolerance laws – laws that require school districts to adopt zero tolerance policies.

In particular, I sought to find out if they contributed to increased use of suspensions and if they led to racial disparities. Given claims by proponents of such laws that they increase the safety and order of the school overall, I also wanted to see if these laws contributed to decreases in perceptions of problem behaviors in the school as a whole.

I used national data collected by the U.S. Department of Education as part of the Civil Rights Data Collection and the Schools and Staffing Survey. The sample included thousands of school districts and principals spanning the late 1980s to the mid-2000s.

The study revealed three important findings.

First, the study showed that state laws requiring schools to have zero tolerance policies increased suspension rates for all students. Second, suspension rates increased at a higher rate for African-American students, potentially contributing to racial disparities in discipline. Finally, principals reported few decreases in problem behaviors in schools, suggesting that the laws did not improve the safety and order of schools.

The findings, in context

The findings show that the adoption of state zero tolerance laws result in increases in district suspension rates. For the average-sized district, such laws resulted in approximately 35 more suspensions per year.

Though this number may seem small, the potential impact is quite large.

A recent study by researchers at UCLA, for example, suggests that a one percentage point reduction in the suspension rate nationally would result in societal gains of over US$2 billion through reduced dropout and increased economic productivity. In short, state zero tolerance laws may be imposing significant financial costs on society.

Furthermore, the burden of these costs are not equally shared across all groups.

The results of my study suggest that the increase in suspension rates for black students as a result of these laws is approximately three times the size of that for white students.

Coupled with other research that finds links between zero tolerance policies and racial disparities, this finding demonstrates that these laws, though supposedly neutral with regard to race, are disproportionately impacting students of color.

Recent data released by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights also point to persistent disparities by race in the use of school discipline.

No reduction in misbehavior

Proponents of zero tolerance discipline have argued that the use of suspensions and expulsions increases the safety and order of the learning environment as a whole. My study found evidence to refute the claim.

In my data set, principals rated the degree to which various behavior problems (i.e., fighting, disrespect, use of drugs, weapons) were problems in their schools.

I found that, in the view of principals, the presence of a state zero tolerance law did not decrease their rating of the degree to which these various behaviors are problems. In other words, state zero tolerance laws did not appear to be contributing to improved levels of safety and order overall.

What the results mean for policy and practice

Students, parents and other stakeholders have an expectation that schools should be safe and orderly environments that treat all students equitably. While it is imperative that schools take active steps to achieve these goals, the findings of my work call into question whether state zero tolerance discipline laws are the most effective way to do so.

While suspension and expulsion may still be appropriate tools in some circumstances, it is important for schools to consider context, and states to allow such discretion, in the administration of school discipline. Furthermore, it is important to have safeguards in place to ensure that such discretion is utilized equitably for students of color, who too often experience disproportionate disciplinary exclusion.

The revised disciplinary laws under consideration in Michigan and similar revisions to school disciplinary policies in other states represent more promising steps to ensuring effective and fair school discipline.

About The Author

F. Chris Curran, Assistant Professor of Public Policy, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Ending Zero Tolerance: The Crisis of Absolute School Discipline (Families, Law, and Society)

educationAuthor: Derek W. Black
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • New York University Press

Brand: New York University Press
Studio: NYU Press
Label: NYU Press
Publisher: NYU Press
Manufacturer: NYU Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
Ending Zero Tolerance answers the calls of grassroots communities pressing for integration and increased education funding with a complete rethinking of school discipline.
In the era of zero tolerance, we are flooded with stories about schools issuing draconian punishments for relatively innocent behavior. One student was suspended for chewing a Pop-Tart into the shape of a gun. Another was expelled for cursing on social media from home. Suspension and expulsion rates have doubled over the past three decades as zero tolerance policies have become the normal response to a host of minor infractions that extend well beyond just drugs and weapons. Students from all demographic groups have suffered, but minority and special needs students have suffered the most. On average, middle and high schools suspend one out of four African American students at least once a year.

The effects of these policies are devastating. Just one suspension in the ninth grade doubles the likelihood that a student will drop out. Fifty percent of students who drop out are subsequently unemployed. Eighty percent of prisoners are high school drop outs. The risks associated with suspension and expulsion are so high that, as a practical matter, they amount to educational death penalties, not behavioral correction tools. Most important, punitive discipline policies undermine the quality of education that innocent bystanders receive as well—the exact opposite of what schools intend.

Derek Black, a former attorney with the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, weaves stories about individual students, lessons from social science, and the outcomes of courts cases to unearth a shockingly irrational system of punishment. While schools and legislatures have proven unable and unwilling to amend their failing policies, Ending Zero Tolerance argues for constitutional protections to check abuses in school discipline and lays out theories by which courts should re-engage to enforce students’ rights and support broader reforms.




education
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}