Pourquoi repousser les lois de tolérance zéro pour les écoles?

éducation

Pourquoi repousser les lois de tolérance zéro pour les écoles?

Le Sénat du Michigan étudie actuellement législation Cela réduirait les politiques de discipline de «tolérance zéro» dans les écoles publiques de l'État.

Les lois de discipline de tolérance zéro exigent une punition automatique et généralement sévère pour des infractions spécifiées qui peuvent aller de la possession d'armes jusqu'à l'agression physique. Ils laissent peu de latitude pour l'examen des circonstances de l'infraction.

Le projet de loi, déjà approuvé par la Maison de l'État, propose d'ajouter des dispositions qui prendraient en compte les facteurs contextuels entourant un incident, tels que l'histoire disciplinaire de l'étudiant, et demanderait si des formes de punition moindres suffiraient.

En d'autres termes, la suspension et l'expulsion ne seraient plus aussi «obligatoires» et il y aurait un peu plus de «tolérance» dans ces lois sur la discipline de l'État.

En tant que chercheur en matière de politique éducative et de discipline scolaire, je voudrais souligner que ces révisions, dont certaines ont été adoptées autres états, représentent un changement de cap significatif pour la loi sur la discipline scolaire.

En fait, mon travail récent et celui des autres suggèrent que l'abandon des approches de tolérance zéro est pour le mieux.

Pourquoi les politiques de tolérance zéro ont été introduites

Tout au long des 1990, le nombre d'États ayant des lois de tolérance zéro, ceux qui doivent être suspendus ou expulsés pour des infractions spécifiées, augmenté de façon significative.

L'adoption rapide de ces lois a été stimulée en partie par le passage du Loi sur les écoles sans armes 1994, une loi fédérale obligeant les États à adopter des lois d'expulsion obligatoires pour posséder une arme à feu à l'école.

Ces préoccupations en matière de sécurité ont été encore renforcées tournage qui a eu lieu à Columbine High School, un lycée public à Littleton, Colorado.

Après Columbine, par les premiers 2000Presque tous les États avaient une loi de tolérance zéro en place. Bon nombre de ces lois s'étendent au-delà des armes à feu pour inclure d'autres armes, agressions physiques et infractions en matière de drogue.

Repousser contre la tolérance zéro

Il est clair que de telles lois de tolérance zéro visaient à améliorer la sécurité et l'ordre dans l'environnement scolaire. Cependant, ces dernières années, ils ont été considérés comme trop prescriptif et comme contribuant à disparités raciales dans la discipline scolaire.

Par exemple, il y a des cas d'étudiants qui sont suspendus pour avoir accidentellement couteau de poche à l'école. Dans un cas très médiatisé, un étudiant a été suspendu pour mâcher une pâte en forme de pistolet.

En outre, données fédérales montrent que les étudiants noirs sont suspendus à des taux deux à trois fois plus élevés que leurs pairs blancs.

Par conséquent, dans 2014, le ministère de la Justice et le ministère de l'Éducation des États-Unis ont publié une "Cher collègue" lettre adressée aux districts scolaires publics. La lettre était un appel à réduire le recours aux suspensions et aux expulsions et, au contraire, à mettre l'accent sur l'utilisation équitable de la discipline scolaire pour les élèves de tous les milieux.

Voici ce que montrent les nouvelles recherches

Dans un étude publiée récemment, J'ai exploré les implications des lois de tolérance zéro de l'État - des lois qui obligent les districts scolaires à adopter des politiques de tolérance zéro.

En particulier, j'ai cherché à savoir s'ils contribuaient à une utilisation accrue des suspensions et s'ils conduisaient à des disparités raciales. Donné prétentions Par les partisans de ces lois qui augmentent la sécurité et l'ordre dans l'ensemble de l'école, je voulais aussi voir si ces lois ont contribué à la diminution des perceptions des comportements problématiques dans l'école dans son ensemble.

J'ai utilisé des données nationales recueillies par le ministère de l'Éducation des États-Unis dans le cadre du Collecte de données sur les droits civils et le Enquête sur les écoles et la dotation. L'échantillon comprenait des milliers de districts scolaires et de directions d'école couvrant les dernières 1980 jusqu'aux 2000 du milieu de l'année.

L'étude a révélé trois résultats importants.

Premièrement, l'étude a montré que les lois des États exigeant que les écoles appliquent des politiques de tolérance zéro augmentent les taux de suspension pour tous les élèves. Deuxièmement, les taux de suspension ont augmenté à un taux plus élevé pour les étudiants afro-américains, contribuant potentiellement à des disparités raciales dans la discipline. Finalement, les directions d'école ont signalé peu de comportements problématiques dans les écoles, ce qui laisse croire que les lois n'amélioraient pas la sécurité et l'ordre des écoles.

Les résultats, dans leur contexte

Les résultats montrent que l'adoption de lois de tolérance zéro par l'État entraîne une augmentation des taux de suspension de district. Pour le district de taille moyenne, ces lois ont entraîné environ 35 plus de suspensions par an.

Bien que ce nombre puisse sembler petit, l'impact potentiel est assez important.

A étude récente Des chercheurs de l'UCLA, par exemple, suggèrent qu'une réduction d'un point de pourcentage du taux de suspension au niveau national se traduirait par des gains sociétaux de plus de 2 milliards de dollars par la réduction des abandons et l'augmentation de la productivité économique. En bref, les lois de tolérance zéro de l'État peuvent imposer des coûts financiers importants à la société.

De plus, le fardeau de ces coûts n'est pas réparti également entre tous les groupes.

Les résultats de mon étude suggèrent que l'augmentation des taux de suspension pour les étudiants noirs à la suite de ces lois est environ trois fois plus importante que celle des étudiants blancs.

Couplé avec autre recherche Ce constat démontre que ces lois, bien que soi-disant neutres vis-à-vis de la race, touchent de manière disproportionnée les étudiants de couleur.

Des données récentes publié par le Bureau des droits civils du ministère de l'Éducation des États-Unis souligne également des disparités persistantes selon la race dans l'utilisation de la discipline scolaire.

Aucune réduction de mauvaise conduite

Les partisans de la discipline de la tolérance zéro ont fait valoir que l'utilisation de suspensions et d'expulsions augmente la sécurité et ordre de l'environnement d'apprentissage dans son ensemble. Mon étude a trouvé des preuves pour réfuter la revendication.

Dans mon ensemble de données, les directeurs ont évalué le degré auquel divers problèmes de comportement (c.-à-d., Le combat, le manque de respect, l'usage de drogues, d'armes) étaient des problèmes dans leurs écoles.

J'ai constaté que, de l'avis des directeurs d'école, la présence d'une loi de tolérance zéro de l'État n'a pas diminué leur évaluation du degré auquel ces divers comportements sont des problèmes. En d'autres termes, les lois de tolérance zéro de l'État ne semblaient pas contribuer à améliorer les niveaux de sécurité et d'ordre général.

Ce que les résultats signifient pour la politique et la pratique

Les élèves, les parents et les autres intervenants s'attendent à ce que les écoles soient des environnements sécuritaires et ordonnés qui traitent tous les élèves équitablement. Bien qu'il soit impératif que les écoles prennent des mesures actives pour atteindre ces objectifs, les résultats de mon travail remettent en question le fait que les lois de discipline de tolérance zéro de l'État sont le moyen le plus efficace de le faire.

Bien que la suspension et l'expulsion puissent toujours être des outils appropriés dans certaines circonstances, il est important que les écoles tiennent compte du contexte et des États pour permettre une telle discrétion dans l'administration de la discipline scolaire. De plus, il est important de mettre en place des garde-fous pour s'assurer que cette discrétion est utilisée équitablement pour les étudiants de couleur, qui subissent trop souvent une exclusion disciplinaire disproportionnée.

Les lois disciplinaires révisées à l'étude au Michigan et les révisions similaires des politiques disciplinaires scolaires dans d'autres États représentent des mesures plus prometteuses pour assurer une discipline scolaire efficace et juste.

A propos de l'auteur

F. Chris Curran, professeur adjoint de politique publique, Université du Maryland, Comté de Baltimore

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Ending Zero Tolerance;maxresults=3}

éducation
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Push Back Against Zero Tolerance Laws For Schools?

education

Why The Push Back Against Zero Tolerance Laws For Schools?

The State Senate of Michigan is currently considering legislation that would scale back “zero tolerance” discipline policies in the state’s public schools.

Zero tolerance discipline laws require automatic and generally severe punishment for specified offenses that could range from possessing weapons to physical assault. They leave little leeway for consideration of the circumstances of the offense.

The bill, already approved by the State House, proposes to add provisions that would consider the contextual factors around an incident, such as the student’s disciplinary history, and would ask whether lesser forms of punishment would suffice.

In other words, suspension and expulsion would no longer be as “mandatory” and there would be a little more “tolerance” in these state discipline laws.

As a researcher of education policy and school discipline, I would highlight that these revisions, some of which have been passed in other states, represent a significant change of course for state school discipline law.

In fact, my recent work and that of others suggests that the shift away from zero tolerance approaches is for the better.

Why zero tolerance policies were introduced

Throughout the 1990s, the number of states with zero tolerance laws, those requiring suspension or expulsion for specified offenses, increased significantly.

The rapid adoption of such laws was spurred in part by the passage of the 1994 Gun-Free Schools Act, federal legislation that required states to adopt mandatory expulsion laws for possessing a firearm in school.

These safety concerns were further heightened by the shooting that took place at Columbine High School, a public high school in Littleton, Colorado.

Following Columbine, by the early 2000s, nearly every state had a zero tolerance law in place. Many of these laws expanded beyond firearms to include other weapons, physical assaults and drug offenses.

Push back against zero tolerance

Clearly, such zero tolerance laws were meant to improve the safety and order of the school environment. However, in recent years, they have been seen as being overly prescriptive and as contributing to racial disparities in school discipline.

For instance, there are cases of students being suspended for accidentally bringing a pocketknife to school. In one high-profile case, a student was suspended for chewing a pastry into the shape of a gun.

Additionally, federal data show that black students are suspended at rates two to three times higher than their white peers.

As a result, in 2014, the U.S. Department of Justice and Department of Education issued a joint “Dear Colleague” letter directed to public school districts. The letter was a call for reductions in the use of suspensions and expulsions and, instead, for a focus on ensuring the fair use of school discipline for students of all backgrounds.

Here’s what new research shows

In a newly published study, I explored the implications of state zero tolerance laws – laws that require school districts to adopt zero tolerance policies.

In particular, I sought to find out if they contributed to increased use of suspensions and if they led to racial disparities. Given claims by proponents of such laws that they increase the safety and order of the school overall, I also wanted to see if these laws contributed to decreases in perceptions of problem behaviors in the school as a whole.

I used national data collected by the U.S. Department of Education as part of the Civil Rights Data Collection and the Schools and Staffing Survey. The sample included thousands of school districts and principals spanning the late 1980s to the mid-2000s.

The study revealed three important findings.

First, the study showed that state laws requiring schools to have zero tolerance policies increased suspension rates for all students. Second, suspension rates increased at a higher rate for African-American students, potentially contributing to racial disparities in discipline. Finally, principals reported few decreases in problem behaviors in schools, suggesting that the laws did not improve the safety and order of schools.

The findings, in context

The findings show that the adoption of state zero tolerance laws result in increases in district suspension rates. For the average-sized district, such laws resulted in approximately 35 more suspensions per year.

Though this number may seem small, the potential impact is quite large.

A recent study by researchers at UCLA, for example, suggests that a one percentage point reduction in the suspension rate nationally would result in societal gains of over US$2 billion through reduced dropout and increased economic productivity. In short, state zero tolerance laws may be imposing significant financial costs on society.

Furthermore, the burden of these costs are not equally shared across all groups.

The results of my study suggest that the increase in suspension rates for black students as a result of these laws is approximately three times the size of that for white students.

Coupled with other research that finds links between zero tolerance policies and racial disparities, this finding demonstrates that these laws, though supposedly neutral with regard to race, are disproportionately impacting students of color.

Recent data released by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights also point to persistent disparities by race in the use of school discipline.

No reduction in misbehavior

Proponents of zero tolerance discipline have argued that the use of suspensions and expulsions increases the safety and order of the learning environment as a whole. My study found evidence to refute the claim.

In my data set, principals rated the degree to which various behavior problems (i.e., fighting, disrespect, use of drugs, weapons) were problems in their schools.

I found that, in the view of principals, the presence of a state zero tolerance law did not decrease their rating of the degree to which these various behaviors are problems. In other words, state zero tolerance laws did not appear to be contributing to improved levels of safety and order overall.

What the results mean for policy and practice

Students, parents and other stakeholders have an expectation that schools should be safe and orderly environments that treat all students equitably. While it is imperative that schools take active steps to achieve these goals, the findings of my work call into question whether state zero tolerance discipline laws are the most effective way to do so.

While suspension and expulsion may still be appropriate tools in some circumstances, it is important for schools to consider context, and states to allow such discretion, in the administration of school discipline. Furthermore, it is important to have safeguards in place to ensure that such discretion is utilized equitably for students of color, who too often experience disproportionate disciplinary exclusion.

The revised disciplinary laws under consideration in Michigan and similar revisions to school disciplinary policies in other states represent more promising steps to ensuring effective and fair school discipline.

About The Author

F. Chris Curran, Assistant Professor of Public Policy, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Ending Zero Tolerance: The Crisis of Absolute School Discipline (Families, Law, and Society)

educationAuthor: Derek W. Black
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • New York University Press

Brand: New York University Press
Studio: NYU Press
Label: NYU Press
Publisher: NYU Press
Manufacturer: NYU Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
Ending Zero Tolerance answers the calls of grassroots communities pressing for integration and increased education funding with a complete rethinking of school discipline.
In the era of zero tolerance, we are flooded with stories about schools issuing draconian punishments for relatively innocent behavior. One student was suspended for chewing a Pop-Tart into the shape of a gun. Another was expelled for cursing on social media from home. Suspension and expulsion rates have doubled over the past three decades as zero tolerance policies have become the normal response to a host of minor infractions that extend well beyond just drugs and weapons. Students from all demographic groups have suffered, but minority and special needs students have suffered the most. On average, middle and high schools suspend one out of four African American students at least once a year.

The effects of these policies are devastating. Just one suspension in the ninth grade doubles the likelihood that a student will drop out. Fifty percent of students who drop out are subsequently unemployed. Eighty percent of prisoners are high school drop outs. The risks associated with suspension and expulsion are so high that, as a practical matter, they amount to educational death penalties, not behavioral correction tools. Most important, punitive discipline policies undermine the quality of education that innocent bystanders receive as well—the exact opposite of what schools intend.

Derek Black, a former attorney with the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, weaves stories about individual students, lessons from social science, and the outcomes of courts cases to unearth a shockingly irrational system of punishment. While schools and legislatures have proven unable and unwilling to amend their failing policies, Ending Zero Tolerance argues for constitutional protections to check abuses in school discipline and lays out theories by which courts should re-engage to enforce students’ rights and support broader reforms.




education
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}