تسميات المنتجات مثل "التجارة العادلة" تعني أقل مما تظن

تسميات المنتجات مثل "التجارة العادلة" تعني أقل مما تظن

إن شراء المنتجات ذات المصادر الأخلاقية ليس سهلاً كما قد يبدو ، وفقاً للتحليل الواسع النطاق الأول لممارسات المصادر المستدامة.

تخيل ، على سبيل المثال ، تريد بعض الشوكولاته. تقوم بمسح رف السوق للحصول على شريط يحمل شهادة Fair Trade أو Rainforest Alliance لأنك لا تريد تساهلك لدفع إساءة استخدام العمل وإزالة الغابات. هذا هو الشيء الصحيح الذي ينبغي عمله ، أليس كذلك؟

في حين أن أكثر من نصف الشركات العالمية التي شملتها الدراسة تطبق ممارسات الاستدامة في مكان ما في سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بها ، وفقا لهذه الدراسة ، فإن هذه الجهود تميل في الواقع إلى أن يكون لها امتداد محدود أكثر بكثير مما قد يتخيله المستهلكون مع إعطاء اهتمام وسائل الإعلام لهذه القضية وانتشار المنتجات المستدامة. وضع العلامات.

يقول الباحث المشارك في الدراسة إيريك لامبين ، الأستاذ في كلية الأرض والطاقة والعلوم البيئية بجامعة ستانفورد ، وزميل أقدم في معهد ستانفورد وودز للبيئة: "تظهر نتائجنا نصف كوب كامل ونصف فارغ".

الورقة التي نشرت في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم، يرتبط ممارسات مصادر لأهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة ، جدول أعمال لاقتصاد عالمي مستدام. مع سلاسل التوريد العالمية التي تلامس أكثر من 80 في المئة من التجارة العالمية وتوظف أكثر من واحد من كل خمسة عمال ، فإن سلاسل التوريد للشركات لديها القدرة على لعب دور كبير في تحقيق أهداف الأمم المتحدة.

حلل الباحثون 449 شركات مدرجة في القطاع العام في قطاعات الأغذية ، والمنسوجات ، والمنتجات الخشبية ، ووجدوا أن حوالي نصف استخدام نوع من ممارسة المصادر المستدامة التي تتراوح بين شهادة طرف ثالث لمعايير الإنتاج والتدريب البيئي للموردين. من بين النتائج التي توصلوا إليها:

  • تغطي أكثر من نسبة 70 في ممارسات المصادر المستدامة مجموعة فرعية فقط من مواد الإدخال لمنتج معين. على سبيل المثال ، قد تستخدم إحدى الشركات مواد معاد تدويرها لتعبئة منتج ما ، ولكنها تترك بقية تأثير المنبع لأحد المنتجات دون معالجة.
  • تركز نسبة 15 في المائة فقط من ممارسات المصادر المستدامة على الصحة ، الطاقة ، البنية التحتية ، تغير المناخ ، التعليم ، النوع الاجتماعي ، أو الفقر.
  • تقريبا جميع ممارسات المصادر المستدامة لا تتناول سوى طبقة واحدة في سلسلة التوريد ، وعادة ما تكون الموردين من الدرجة الأولى ، مثل مصانع النسيج التي تخيط القمصان. في كثير من الأحيان ، تبقى العمليات المتبقية ، من موت القماش إلى زراعة القطن ، دون معالجة.
  • يتم تطبيق أكثر من ربع ممارسات المصادر المستدامة على خط إنتاج واحد فقط. على سبيل المثال ، قد تستخدم الشركة شهادة التجارة العادلة لنوع واحد فقط من شوكولاتة الشوكولاتة بين العديد من المنتجات التي تبيعها.

"تعزيز الأهداف البيئية والاجتماعية في سلاسل التوريد يمكن أن يصبح شديد التعقيد بسرعة" ، كما تقول الدكتورة جون دي زغير ، وهي زميلة دراسات ما بعد الدكتوراه في كلية ستانفورد للدراسات العليا في إدارة الأعمال. "ينعكس هذا التعقيد في النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أن الشركات تستخدم مجموعة واسعة من الاستراتيجيات وأن الجهود الحالية لها وصول محدود".

وفي ملاحظة مفعمة بالأمل ، وجد الباحثون أن الشركات على الطرف المستقبلي من ضغوط المستهلكين والمجتمع المدني "أكثر احتمالا بشكل كبير" لتبني ممارسة واحدة على الأقل للاستدامة. لذا ، ربما ليس من المستغرب أن الشركات التي يقع مقرها الرئيسي في البلدان التي لديها العديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية النشطة هي الأكثر احتمالا لاستخدام ممارسات المصادر المستدامة ، وفقا للدراسة.

يقول كبير الباحثين في الدراسة ، تانيس ثورلاكسون ، وهو طالب دراسات عليا في برنامج إيميت متعدد التخصصات في البيئة والموارد التابع لكلية الأرض والطاقة والبيئة في جامعة ستانفورد: "إن الضغط الذي يفرضه المستهلكون على الشركات عندما يطالبون بمنتجات أكثر استدامة قد يؤتي ثماره".

"آمل أن تكون هذه الورقة بمثابة دعوة للعمل لـ 48 من الشركات التي لا تفعل أي شيء لمعالجة تحديات الاستدامة في سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بها."

دعمت المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم و زمالة تيريزا إيلمس وروبرت دي ليندساي في جامعة ستانفورد العمل.

مصدر: جامعة ستانفورد

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = free trade؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Product Labels Like ‘Fair Trade’ Mean Less Than You’d Think

Product Labels Like ‘Fair Trade’ Mean Less Than You’d Think

Buying ethically sourced products is not as straightforward as it might seem, according to the first large-scale analysis of sustainable sourcing practices.

Imagine, for example, you want some chocolate. You scan the market shelf for a bar with a Fair Trade or Rainforest Alliance certification because you don’t want your indulgence to drive labor abuse and deforestation. It’s the right thing to do, right?

While more than half of the global companies surveyed apply sustainability practices somewhere in their supply chain, according to the study, these efforts actually tend to have a much more limited reach than consumers might imagine given media attention to the issue and the proliferation of sustainable product labeling.

“Our results show a glass half full and half empty,” says study coauthor Eric Lambin, professor in Stanford University’s School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences and a senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

The paper, published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, relates sourcing practices to the UN Sustainable Development Goals, an agenda for a sustainable global economy. With global supply chains touching more than 80 percent of global trade and employing more than one in five workers, corporate supply chains have the potential to play an outsized role in achieving the UN goals.

The researchers analyzed 449 publicly listed companies in the food, textile, and wood-products sectors, and found about half use some form of sustainable sourcing practice ranging from third-party certification of production standards to environmental training for suppliers. Among their findings:

  • More than 70 percent of sustainable sourcing practices cover only a subset of input materials for a given product. For example, a company might use recycled materials for the packaging of a product, but leave the remainder of a product’s upstream impact unaddressed.
  • Only 15 percent of sustainable sourcing practices focus on health, energy, infrastructure, climate change, education, gender, or poverty.
  • Almost all sustainable sourcing practices address only a single tier in the supply chain, usually first-tier suppliers, such as the textile factories that sew T-shirts. Often, the remaining processes, from dying the cloth to growing the cotton, remain unaddressed.
  • More than a quarter of sustainable sourcing practices apply to only a single product line. For example, a company may use Fair Trade certification for only one type of chocolate bar among many that it sells.

“Advancing environmental and social goals in supply chains can quickly become very complex,” says study coauthor Joann de Zegher, a postdoctoral fellow at the Stanford Graduate School of Business. “This complexity is reflected in our findings that companies use a broad range of strategies and that current efforts have limited reach.”

On a hopeful note, the researchers find that companies on the receiving end of consumer and civil society pressure are “significantly more likely” to adopt at least one sustainable sourcing practice. So, perhaps unsurprisingly, companies headquartered in countries with many active nongovernmental organizations are more likely to use sustainable sourcing practices, according to the study.

“The pressure consumers put on firms when they demand more sustainable products might be paying off,” says study lead author Tannis Thorlakson, a graduate student in the Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources of Stanford’s School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences.

“I hope this paper acts as a call to action for those 48 percent of companies that aren’t doing anything to address sustainability challenges in their supply chain.”

The National Science Foundation and the Teresa Elms and Robert D. Lindsay Fellowship at Stanford supported the work.

Source: Stanford University

Related Books

Free Trade under Fire: Fourth Edition
economic justiceAuthor: Douglas Irwin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Princeton University Press
List Price: $28.95

Buy Now

Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism
economic justiceAuthor: Ha-Joon Chang
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

The Choice: A Fable of Free Trade and Protection (3rd Edition)
economic justiceAuthor: Russell Roberts
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Pearson
List Price: $32.80

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}