غلين غرينوالد على ارتفاع تكلفة السرية الحكومية

ارتفاع تكلفة السرية الحكومية

مويرز أند كومباني - أثار ثورة بوسطن العنيفة استجابة محلية وفدرالية ، وفقاً للصحفي غلين غرينوالد ، تضيف بُعدًا جديدًا للأسئلة المثيرة للقلق حول سرية الحكومة ، والتجاوز ، وما نقدمه من تضحية باسم الأمن القومي. ينضم غرينوالد إلى بيل لزعزعة الطبقات التي تكشف عن ما تشترك فيه هجمات بوسطن وتفجيرات الطائرات بدون طيار ، وكيف تؤدي السرية إلى إساءة استخدام السلطة الحكومية.

"هل يجب علينا تغيير أو تغيير جذري أو تفكيك بروتوكولاتنا القياسية للعدالة باسم الإرهاب؟ هذا هو النقاش الذي أجريناه منذ هجوم سبتمبر 11th ، ”يقول غرينوالد لبيل. "يمكننا أن نفعل ما كنا نفعله ، والذي أصبح مجتمعًا أكثر انفتاحًا ، ونأذن للحكومة بقراءة رسائلنا الإلكترونية ، والاستماع إلى مكالماتنا الهاتفية ، ووضع الأشخاص في السجون بدون توجيه اتهامات ، وسن قوانين تجعل من الأسهل على الحكومة تفعل هذه الأنواع من الأشياء. أو يمكننا محاولة فهم سبب رغبة الناس في المجيء إلى هنا والقيام بذلك ".

كما يتحدث غرينوالد عن القيود المفروضة على رقابة الحكومة كأسلوب تكتيكي لمكافحة الإرهاب ، ويرسم توازيًا بين تفجيرات بوسطن - التي يصفها بـ "الحدث السياسي" - وهجمات الطائرات الأمريكية.

"هناك بالتأكيد حالات قتلت فيها الولايات المتحدة المدنيين بتهور" ، قال بيل. "في مرحلة ما ، عندما تتدخل الحكومة في سلوك سنوي بعد عام بعد سنة بعد سنة ، يستمر هذا في قتل الأبرياء بطريقة متوقعة للغاية ، ويستمر في القيام بذلك ، في رأيي أن يصل إلى مستوى من التهور الذي هو غاية على غرار القتل المتعمد ".

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Glenn Greenwald on the High Cost of Government Secrecy

 High Cost of Government Secrecy

MOYERS & COMPANY - The violent Boston rampage triggered a local and federal response that, according to journalist Glenn Greenwald, adds a new dimension to troubling questions about government secrecy, overreach, and what we sacrifice in the name of national security. Greenwald joins Bill to peel back layers that reveal what the Boston bombings and drone attacks have in common, and how secrecy leads to abuse of government power.

“Should we change or radically alter or dismantle our standard protocols of justice in the name of terrorism? That’s been the debate we’ve been having since the September 11th attack,” Greenwald tells Bill. “We can do what we’ve been doing, which is become a more closed society, authorize the government to read our emails, listen in our telephone calls, put people in prison without charges, enact laws that make it easier for the government to do those sorts of things. Or we can try and understand why it is that people want to come here and do that.”

Greenwald also talks about the limitations of government surveillance as an anti-terrorism tactic, and draws a parallel between the Boston bombings — which he calls a “political event” — and U.S. drone attacks.

“There certainly are cases where the United States has very recklessly killed civilians,” he tells Bill. “So at some point, when a government engages in behavior year after year after year after year, that continues to kill innocent people in a very foreseeable way, and continues to do that, in my mind that reaches a level of recklessness that is very similar to intentional killing.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}