نظرة على اقتصاد العقوبات في كاليفورنيا

كاليفورنيا عقوبة الاقتصاد المزدهر. ينفق دافعو الضرائب الحكوميون 20 مليار دولار كل عام لتشغيل أحد أكبر أنظمة السجون في العالم. كاليفورنيا لديها واحدة من أكبر وأغلى أنظمة السجون في العالم.

في كل عام ، ينفق دافعو الضرائب الحكوميون 20 مليار دولار لمعاقبة الناس. هذا أكثر من كاف لتغطية تكاليف التعليم لكل طالب يدرس في كلية عامة في كاليفورنيا. وهو ما يقرب من ثلاثة أضعاف الإنفاق الحكومي العام على خدمات الصحة العقلية.

تشير الأبحاث إلى أنه لا توجد علاقة بين حبس الناس وسلامة مجتمعاتنا ، إلا أن نشاط العقوبة يزدهر. يشتمل اقتصاد العقوبات في كاليفورنيا على السجون والشباب وسجون البالغين والمراقبة والمحاكم الجنائية والأنظمة ذات الصلة.

هذه الصناعة ضارة وغير فعالة ومكلفة وتستهدف بشكل كبير الفقراء من اللون. لقد حان الوقت للاستثمار في ما يبقي المجتمعات آمنة حقًا: التعليم والصحة والخدمات الوقائية والتأهيلية. نحن بحاجة إلى المدارس ، وليس السجون.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

A Look At California's Punishment Economy

California’s punishment economy is booming. State taxpayers spend $20 BILLION every year to operate one of the largest prison systems in the world. California has one of the largest and most expensive prison systems in the world.

Every year, state taxpayers spend $20 billion to punish people. That’s more than enough to cover the costs of tuition for every student attending public college in California. And it’s almost three times the state’s public spending on mental health services.

Research shows that there is no connection between locking people up and the safety of our communities, yet the business of punishment is booming. California’s punishment economy includes jails, youth and adult prisons, probation, criminal courts and related systems.

The industry is harmful, ineffective, expensive and overwhelmingly targets poor people of color. It’s time to invest in what really keeps communities safe: education, health, and preventative and rehabilitative services. We need schools, not prisons.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}