كيف أثرت DACA على الصحة العقلية للبالغين غير المسجلين

كيف أثرت DACA على الصحة العقلية للبالغين غير المسجلينمع انعكاس الرئيس دونالد ترامب على أمر تنفيذي في عهد أوباما يُعرف باسم "العمل المؤجل للقادمين" (DACA) ، يبدو أن أسوأ مخاوف ليتيسيا تتحقق.

7 في 10 Smartphone Apps مشاركة البيانات الخاصة بك مع خدمات طرف ثالث

7 في 10 Smartphone Apps مشاركة البيانات الخاصة بك مع خدمات طرف ثالثيمكن أن تكشف هواتفنا المحمولة الكثير عن أنفسنا: حيث نعيش ونعمل ؛ من هي عائلتنا وأصدقائنا ومعارفنا. كيف (وحتى ماذا) نتواصل معهم ؛ وعاداتنا الشخصية.

ما هي Orystian Dystopias من القرن 21st؟

07 08 dystopiaإن الاستعارات الخيالية مهمة ، وفي معركة حماية حرياتنا المدنية ، لا نجد إلا القليل من الاستعارات أكثر أهمية من 1984 لجورج أورويل. على الرغم من نشرها لأول مرة منذ سنوات 70 تقريبًا ، لا يمكن إنكار مدى استمرار هذا الواقع الأكثر شيوعًا.

لماذا نرحب بالعدالة الشعرية واليأس في الظلم الشعري

لماذا نرحب بالعدالة الشعرية واليأس في الظلم الشعريفي الآونة الأخيرة تم الإبلاغ عن أن صياد الذي أطلق النار على فيل سحق عندما سقطت على الموتى فوقه. أرسل لي صديق رسالة عبر البريد الإلكتروني مع كلمة واحدة في سطر الموضوع: "العدالة!"

لماذا ممنوع على مديري مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي من الحصول على حميم مع الرؤساء

لماذا ممنوع على مديري مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي من الحصول على حميم مع الرؤساءكيف يفترض رؤساء الولايات المتحدة ومديري مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي التواصل؟ وقد تم مؤخرا تعيين مدير جديد لمكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي ، مساعد المدعي العام السابق كريستوفر راي. وبالتأكيد سيفكر بعناية في هذا السؤال وهو ينتظر التأكيد.

لماذا لا تنتهك أحكام الحد الأدنى الإلزامية وسياسة العدالة الجنائية الشعبوية

لماذا لا تنتهك أحكام الحد الأدنى الإلزامية وسياسة العدالة الجنائية الشعبويةأعلن الحزب الليبرالي الفيكتوري مؤخرًا أنه إذا تم انتخابه في نوفمبر 2018 ، فإنه سيطبق عقوبات إلزامية كحد أدنى لمرتكبي جرائم العنف المتكررة كجزء من حملته على الجريمة. المحادثة

تحدي اليسار واليمين لحرب فشل في المخدرات

تحدي اليسار واليمين لحرب فشل في المخدراتالمزيد والمزيد من المحافظين والليبراليين ، من قاعات الكونغرس إلى الناس في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، يوافقون على أن ما يسمى "الحرب على المخدرات" يحتاج إلى إعادة تفكير جدي.

لماذا حظر أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة من كبائن الطائرة لا تجعل الشعور

لماذا حظر أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة من كبائن الطائرة لا تجعل الشعورتشير التقارير الأخيرة إلى أن الإرهابيين يستطيعون الآن صنع قنابل ضعيفة بحيث لا يمكن الكشف عنها من خلال الفحص بالأشعة السينية الذي تمر به حقائبنا المحمولة.

NSA Tools، Built Built Warning، Used in Global Cyber ​​Attack

NSA Tools، Built Built Warning، Used in Global Cyber ​​Attackالاضطرابات التي تم الإبلاغ عنها في دول 74 على الأقل ، بما في ذلك روسيا وإسبانيا وتركيا واليابان ، مع بعض التقارير عن تسلل الولايات المتحدة أيضًا

كيف تحمي نفسك من رانسومواري

كيف تحمي نفسك من رانسومواريما الذي يعنيه ذلك في حالة فقد جميع مستنداتك الشخصية ، مثل صور العائلة أو البحث أو السجلات التجارية؟

كيفية تعزيز الأمن السيبراني دون كسر البنك

كيفية تعزيز الأمن السيبراني دون كسر البنكالهجمات الإلكترونية الواسعة النطاق مع الإحصائيات التي تسيل على العين ، مثل خرق مليار حساب ياهو في 2016 ، والاستيلاء على معظم العناوين الرئيسية.

لماذا حان الوقت لإنهاء عقوبة الإعدام من أجل التكلفة والأسباب الإنسانية

لماذا حان الوقت لإنهاء عقوبة الإعدام من أجل التكلفة والأسباب الإنسانيةفي الآونة الأخيرة ، قدمت عدة ولايات ، بما في ذلك ولاية نيفادا ، مشاريع قوانين تشير إلى التكاليف القانونية كأحد أسباب إنهاء عقوبة الإعدام. المحادثةعلاوة على ذلك ، لا يوجد دليل موثوق يدعم عقوبة الإعدام رادع.

الجرائم والعقوبات التي تناسب الجريمة؟

الجرائم والعقوبات التي تناسب الجريمة؟السمة المميزة لهذه الجملة القضائية هي كيفية تصادمها من الناحية المفاهيمية مع السؤال الافتراضي المعتاد الذي يصيب نظامنا القضائي ككل

السجون الخاصة ، شرح

السجون الخاصة ، شرحكانت السنة 2016 واحدة برية لصناعة السجون الخاصة. المحادثة

Tor ترقيات لجعل مجهول النشر أكثر أمانا

Tor ترقيات لجعل مجهول النشر أكثر أمانافي الأشهر المقبلة ، ستقوم منظمة The Tor Project غير الهادفة للربح في سياتل بإجراء بعض التغييرات لتحسين كيفية حماية شبكة Tor لخصوصية وأمان المستخدمين.

يمكن مسؤولي الجمارك والحدود من الناحية القانونية البحث عن هاتفك؟

يمكن مسؤولي الجمارك والحدود من الناحية القانونية البحث عن هاتفك؟وقال أحد علماء وكالة الطيران والفضاء الأميركية (ناسا) متوجها إلى الولايات المتحدة إنه اعتُقل في يناير / كانون الثاني في مطار في هيوستن ، حيث ضغط عليه ضباط الجمارك وحماية الحدود من أجل الوصول إلى هاتف عمله ومحتوياته الحساسة المحتملة.

لماذا يجب أن لا نعرف كلمات المرور الخاصة بنا

لماذا يجب أن لا نعرف كلمات المرور الخاصة بنامنذ 2009 ، سمح لوكلاء الجمارك وحماية الحدود الأمريكية بالبحث في الأجهزة الإلكترونية التي يحملها المواطنون أو غير المواطنين أثناء عبورهم الحدود إلى الولايات المتحدة من دول أخرى.

هل يمكن استخدام بيانات Fitbit الخاصة بك لحرمانك من التأمين الصحي؟

هل يمكن استخدام بيانات Fitbit الخاصة بك لحرمانك من التأمين الصحي؟إن ارتداء جهاز تتبع اللياقة يمكن أن يكسبك نقودًا من شركة التأمين الصحي الخاصة بك. في البداية ، يبدو هذا مربحا للناس الذين يشاركون ، وجيد للشركات ، الذين يريدون عملاء تأمين صحي.

كيفية تحديد وإيقاف المحتالين

كيفية تحديد وإيقاف المحتالينوهناك صورة نمطية شائعة من المحتالين هي أنهم مضطربون عقليا. يعتبر هؤلاء المحتالون متلاعبين ، وقاسين وقاسيين أمر مفهوم ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار عواقب الاحتيال.

Facebook لا يخبر المستخدمين كل شيء يعرفه حقا عنهم

Facebook لا يخبر المستخدمين كل شيء يعرفه حقا عنهملقد سمح موقع Facebook لفترة طويلة للمستخدمين بمشاهدة كل أنواع الأشياء التي يعرفها الموقع عنهم ، مثل ما إذا كانوا يستمتعون بكرة القدم أو انتقلوا مؤخرًا أو يحبون Melania Trump.

الأجانب القويون المشتبه في تورطهم في العثور على ملجأ في الولايات المتحدة

الأجانب القويون المشتبه في تورطهم في العثور على ملجأ في الولايات المتحدةيهرب الساسة ورجال الأعمال الأثرياء المشتبه في تورطهم في الفساد في بلادهم الأصلية إلى ملاذ آمن حيث تحميهم ثرواتهم ونفوذهم من الاعتقال.

كيف الحق في أن يكون منسي يضع الخصوصية وحرية الكلام على مسار تصادمي

كيف الحق في أن يكون منسي يضع الخصوصية وحرية الكلام على مسار تصادميلقد أحدث عصر التكنولوجيا الرقمية ، الذي يمكننا من خلاله البحث عن مزيد من المعلومات واسترجاعها أكثر مما استطعنا في أي عصر سابق ، إثارة جدل حول ما إذا كان لدينا الكثير من المعلومات. هل علاج "عدم نشر" الأشياء التي نعتقد أنها خاطئة أو قديمة؟ يجب أن يكون لدينا "الحق في أن ننسى"؟

لماذا الضحايا هم دائما غير مؤذية ، وأهداف سهلة من السياسة القذرة

لماذا الضحايا هم دائما غير مؤذية ، وأهداف سهلة من السياسة القذرةيتم استخدام كلمة "كبش الفداء" كثيرًا في المناقشات حول السياسة في 2016. ناشد الرئيس الأمريكي الجديد ، دونالد ترامب ، بعض الناخبين بالكلام الذي بدا وكأنه كبش الفداء المكسيكيين والمسلمين لمشاكل اجتماعية واقتصادية مختلفة.

لماذا كل أمريكي يستحق الحد الأدنى المضمون الدخل من الثروة المشتركة

لماذا كل أمريكي يستحق الحد الأدنى المضمون الدخل من الثروة المشتركةالسؤال الكبير الذي نادرا ما يدور حول اقتصادنا الحالي هو من يحصل على فوائد الثروة المشتركة؟ الثروة المشتركة لديها العديد من المكونات. يتكون المرء من هدايا الطبيعة التي نرثها معا: الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات ، مستجمعات المياه والأراضي الرطبة ، والغابات والسهول الخصبة ، وهلم جرا (بما في ذلك ، بالطبع ، الوقود الأحفوري).

backdoors وبرامج التجسس على الهواتف الذكية هو القاعدة في الصين

backdoors وبرامج التجسس على الهواتف الذكية هو القاعدة في الصينحددت شركة Kryptowire ، وهي شركة أمنية مؤخرًا ، عدة طُرُز من أجهزة Android المحمولة التي تم تثبيتها مسبقًا على برامج دائمة ، تُعرف باسم البرامج الثابتة ، والتي تعمل كمنارات خلفية تجمع البيانات الشخصية الحساسة ، بما في ذلك الرسائل النصية والمواقع الجغرافية وقوائم جهات الاتصال وسجلات المكالمات وترسلها إلى خادم طرف ثالث في شنغهاي ، الصين.

كيف كاليفورنيا ونيفادا وواشنطن تشديد الأسلحة النارية اللوائح

كيف كاليفورنيا ونيفادا وواشنطن تشديد الأسلحة النارية اللوائححول 1.5 تم إطلاق النار على مليون شخص بواسطة بندقية ، 468,758 قاتلة ، في الولايات المتحدة على مدى السنوات 15 الماضية. الغالبية ، ما يقرب من ثلثي وفيات البنادق ، هي الانتحار. أكثر من الثلث هي طلقات نارية بسبب الاعتداء.

الناس عنصريون ضد الأماكن السوداء ، أيضا

الناس عنصريون ضد الأماكن السوداء ، أيضايظهر بحث جديد أن التحيز العنصري يؤثر أكثر من طريقة تعاملنا مع الأفراد السود. كما تقودنا التحيزات إلى تخفيض قيمة المنازل والأحياء السوداء ، وإخضاعها لمخاطر صحية محتملة.

إضفاء الشرعية على الماريجوانا يجلب تغييرات كبيرة

إضفاء الشرعية على الماريجوانا يجلب تغييرات كبيرةكان موسم الانتخابات هذا العام تاريخيًا بأكثر من طريقة واحدة. اعتبرت تسع ولايات غير مسبوقة قوانين القنب المتحررة ، وهنا كيف انهارت: كاليفورنيا ، ماساتشوستس ونيفادا شهدت إجراءات الاقتراع الخاصة بهم تمر.

لماذا يبدو الفساد مختلفاً في الصين منه في الغرب

لماذا يبدو الفساد مختلفاً في الصين منه في الغربكان هناك شك كبير في أستراليا وأماكن أخرى حول ثروة رجال الأعمال والمستثمرين والشركات الخاصة من الصين. هناك دائما اقتراح بأن هناك شيء غير مقبول حيال ذلك ...

الملايين المزيد من الناخبين تشريع الماريجوانا لن يزيل الضباب التنظيمي

الملايين المزيد من الناخبين تشريع الماريجوانا لن يزيل الضباب التنظيمييواصل الكونجرس مقاومة عدم تجريم الماريجوانا حتى لو كانت الحملة الصليبية الشعبية لإضفاء الشرعية على استخدام الولاية من قبل الدولة قد يعني قريباً أن ربع الأمريكيين يمكن أن يدخنوا في الإرادة ، وليس بما في ذلك العديد من الأشخاص الذين يمكن أن يستخدموا المخدرات دواءً.

في الحصول على رسائل جديدة كلينتون ، هل خرق مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي الدستور؟

في الحصول على رسائل جديدة كلينتون ، هل خرق مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي الدستور؟يمكن أن يستند خطاب مدير مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي جيمس كومي في أكتوبر / تشرين الأول 28 إلى الكونغرس - الذي لديه القدرة على التأثير في الانتخابات الرئاسية - على رسائل إلكترونية تم الحصول عليها بطريقة غير شرعية.

كيف تجعل العدالة الجنائية أقل انحيازًا

كيف تجعل العدالة الجنائية أقل انحيازًاالعديد من الخبراء والسياسيين اعتقد هناك ، كما قالت هيلاري كلينتون مرارا وتكرارا ، "عنصرية منهجية في جميع أنحاء نظام العدالة الجنائية."

ما هو Brainjacking وهل هو تهديد الأمن السيبراني؟

ما هو Brainjacking وهل هو تهديد الأمن السيبراني؟إننا نعيش في عصر مترابط حيث تجعل أجهزة الحوسبة التي يتم التحكم فيها لاسلكيًا كل جانب من جوانب حياتنا أسهل تقريبًا ، ولكنها أيضًا تجعلنا عرضة لهجمات الأمن الإلكتروني. اليوم ، يمكن اختراق كل شيء تقريبًا ، من السيارات إلى المصابيح

تريد الشركات البيانات الرقمية الخاصة بك ويجب على لجنة الاتصالات الفدرالية وقفها

تريد الشركات البيانات الرقمية الخاصة بك ويجب على لجنة الاتصالات الفدرالية وقفهاعندما ياهو! أكدت أنها تعرضت لهجوم كبير عبر الإنترنت من المتسللين الذين سرقوا معلومات شخصية من أكثر من 500 مليون شخص - بما في ذلك الأسماء ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني وأرقام الهواتف - كشف عن حقيقة مزعجة حول نظام الوسائط الرقمية لدينا.

سعر الاتصال: رأسمالية المراقبة

سعر الاتصال: رأسمالية المراقبةتخيل ، إذا استطعت ، فترة طويلة قبل الاتصال القائم على الإنترنت اليوم. تخيلوا أنه في ذلك الوقت البعيدة ، عُرض على سكان كل بلد خطة جديدة.

يمكننا قراءة كل البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بك ، وأنت لن تعرف أبدا

يمكننا قراءة كل البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بك ، وأنت لن تعرف أبداإن الخوف من المتسللين الذين يقرؤون رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الخاصة في الأنظمة القائمة على السحابة مثل Microsoft Outlook أو Gmail أو Yahoo قد أرسلوا في الآونة الأخيرة أشخاصًا عاديين ومسؤولين عامين يتدافعون من أجل حذف حسابات كاملة مليئة بالرسائل التي يعود تاريخها إلى سنوات.

مستقبل المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة هو على المحك مع من يفوز في نوفمبر تشرين الثاني

مستقبل المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة هو على المحك مع من يفوز في نوفمبر تشرين الثانيفي تجمع حاشد مؤخرًا لمؤيدي دونالد ترامب في نورث كارولينا ، قال المرشح الجمهوري لمنصب نائب الرئيس مايك بينس إن نتيجة الانتخابات الرئاسية في نوفمبر ستحدد شكل المحكمة العليا الأمريكية للسنوات العشر القادمة.

يجب أن نتخوف من خصخصة البيانات الوراثية

يجب أن نتخوف من خصخصة البيانات الوراثيةلقد وعد الرئيس أوباما بدعم مستقبل جريء للأدوية حيث الاختبارات والاختبارات التشخيصية ليست فقط الأفضل بالنسبة لمعظم الناس - فهي الأفضل لك.

هل صاحب عملك يراقبك عبر الإنترنت؟

هل صاحب عملك يراقبك عبر الإنترنت؟تكشف دراسة جديدة أن أرباب العمل يستخدمون معلومات على الإنترنت حول المتقدمين للوظائف دون علمهم ، لإبلاغ قرارات التوظيف. تقريبًا لدى 55٪ من المؤسسات سياسة حول هذا النوع من الممارسة ، تُسمى التنميط.

كيف تعلم الشركات ما يريده الأطفال سرا

قوانين خصوصية الطلاب ليست كافية. ماري وودارد ، CC BY-NC-NDإذا كان لديك أطفال ، فمن المحتمل أن تقلق بشأن سلامتهم - فأنت تعرض لهم أماكن آمنة في منطقتكم وتعلمهم أن يراقبوا المخاطر الكامنة.

كيفية كسر قوة المال

كيفية كسر قوة الماليمكننا أن نرفض قبول الادعاءات السائدة ، ولكن الزائفة ، بأن المال هو الثروة وأن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي المتنامي يحسن حياة الجميع.

لماذا الشباب السود في كثير من الأحيان وصفت باسم المجرمين

لماذا الشباب السود في كثير من الأحيان وصفت باسم المجرمينقبل عامين ، في أغسطس / آب ، 9 ، 2014 ، مايكل براون ، وهو مراهق إفريقي من أصل أفريقي عمره 10 سنوات غير مسلح ، قتل بالرصاص على يد ضابط شرطة أبيض في فيرغسون ، ميزوري. لقد مرت سنتان منذ حرم خريج الدراسات العليا مؤخراً من فرصة بدء المرحلة التالية من حياته: الكلية.

هل يجب أن نضع الناس في السجون على الإطلاق؟

هل يجب أن نضع الناس في السجون على الإطلاق؟لقطات بثت الأسبوع الماضي من الأطفال الذين يتعرضون لسوء المعاملة في سجن الإقليم الشمالي أرسلت موجات صادمة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. أجبرتنا هذه الصور على التعامل مع المشكلة كما لو كانت أخبارًا متقطعة ، على الرغم من حقيقة أن الكثير من الناس كانوا يعرفون الكثير عنها طوال هذا الوقت.

بيع وشراء كلمات المرور المخترقة: كيف تعمل؟

تعتبر خروقات البيانات جزءًا منتظمًا من المشهد السيبراني. إنها تولد قدراً كبيراً من اهتمام وسائل الإعلام ، لأن كمية المعلومات المسروقة غالباً ما تكون كبيرة ، ولأن الكثير من البيانات التي يفضلها الناس تظل خاصة.

لماذا نحتاج إلى إيجاد علاج للموت الاجتماعي

لماذا نحتاج إلى إيجاد علاج للموت الاجتماعيكل عام ، على 50m سيموت الناس في العالم. ويساهم كل من الشيخوخة والمرض والحرب والجوع في هذا العدد ، ويبذل العلماء والأطباء والجمعيات الخيرية قصارى جهدهم لإسقاط الرقم.

تدريب للحد من شرطي الموتو والاحتقار من شرطي يمكن أن تقلل من عنف الشرطة

تدريب للحد من شرطي الموتو والاحتقار من شرطي يمكن أن تقلل من عنف الشرطةيجب أن يكون عبئا فادحا مع العلم أنه قد تضطر إلى اتخاذ قرار سريع حول ما إذا كان الصراخ على شخص ما ، صدمة لهم ، أو إطلاق النار عليهم ميتا. هذا هو الوزن الكامن في وظيفة ضابط شرطة.

وجهة نظر من الإسلام الأمريكي من الضواحي

مسلمة امريكية 7 10في يونيو احتفلت 10 بالولايات المتحدة على محمد علي كنموذج للفخر الرياضي والكرامة في مواجهة المعاناة والمعارضة الوطنية.

لماذا الجروح من السجن لا تشفى أبدا

لماذا الجروح من السجن التي لا تشفى أبدايظهر بحث جديد نشرناه مع زميلتنا ماري لاسك بيل أن الرجال الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي الذين كانوا سجناء سابقين يتعرضون للأذى بشكل لا يمكن إلغاؤه عن طريق الوقت الذي يقضونه خلف القضبان.

كيف بقعة على الانترنت كذبة

الكذب على الانترنت 6 29هناك ثلاثة أشياء يمكنك التأكد منها في الحياة: الموت والضرائب - والكذب. يبدو أن هذا الأخير قد تم تأكيده بالتأكيد من خلال استفتاء المملكة المتحدة في بريطانيا Brexit الأخير ، مع عدد من تعهدات حملة الإجازات تبدو وكأنها فطائر لحم الخنزير المقدد أكثر من الحقائق الصلبة.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

What Are The Orwellian Dystopias Of The 21st Century?

07 08 dystopiaFictional metaphors matter, and in the battle to safeguard our civil liberties few metaphors matter more than George Orwell’s 1984. Although first published almost 70 years ago, the lasting salience of this most archetypal dystopia is undeniable.

Why We Welcome Poetic Justice And Despair At Poetic Injustice

Why We Welcome Poetic Justice And Despair At Poetic InjusticeRecently it was reported that a hunter who had shot an elephant was crushed when it fell over dead on top of him. A friend emailed the story to me with one word in the subject line: “Justice!”

Body Cameras Show Police Are Politer To White Drivers

Body Cameras Show Police Are Politer To White DriversPolice officers consistently use less respectful language with black community members than with white community members, the first systematic analysis of body camera footage shows.

Why What You Post Online Can Wreck Your Life

Why What You Post Online Can Wreck Your LifeHarvard recently rescinded admission offers for some incoming freshmen who participated in a private Facebook group sharing offensive memes.

Why FBI Directors Are Forbidden From Getting Cozy With Presidents

Why FBI Directors Are Forbidden From Getting Cozy With PresidentsHow are U.S. presidents and FBI directors supposed to communicate? A new FBI director has recently been nominated, former Assistant Attorney General Christopher Wray. He will certainly be thinking carefully about this question as he awaits confirmation.

How On The Internet, You Are Always The Product

Anyone who spends much time online knows the saying: “If you’re not paying, you’re the product”. That’s not exactly correctAnyone who spends much time online knows the saying: “If you’re not paying, you’re the product”. That’s not exactly correct. The Conversation

How The Internet Knows If You're Happy Or Sad

happy or sad 5 28Think about what you shared with your friends on Facebook today. Was it feelings of “stress” or “failure”, or perhaps “joy”, “love” or “excitement”?

The Left-Right Challenge to the Failed War on Drugs

The Left-Right Challenge to the Failed War on DrugsMore and more conservatives and liberals, from the halls of Congress to people in communities across the country, are agreeing that the so-called “war on drugs” needs serious rethinking.

Why Banning Laptops From Airplane Cabins Doesn't Make Sense

Why Banning Laptops From Airplane Cabins Doesn't Make SenseRecent reports suggest that terrorists can now create bombs so thin that they cannot be detected by the current X-ray screening that our carry-on bags undergo.

How To Protect Yourself From Ransomware

How To Protect Yourself From Ransomware What would it mean if you lost all of your personal documents, such as your family photos, research or business records?

How The US Immigration Court System Is Broken?

How The US Immigration Court System Is Broken?In the U.S. today, a single immigration case takes an average of 677 days simply to get to the initial scheduling hearing.

Crimes and Punishments That Fit The Crime?

Crimes and Punishments That Fit The Crime?The remarkable feature of this judicial sentence was how it clashed conceptually with the customary default question that suffuses our judicial system as a whole

Private Prisons, Explained

Private Prisons, ExplainedThe year 2016 was a wild one for the private prison industry. The Conversation

Tor Upgrades To Make Anonymous Publishing Safer

Tor Upgrades To Make Anonymous Publishing SaferIn the coming months, the Seattle-based nonprofit The Tor Project will be making some changes to improve how the Tor network protects users’ privacy and security.

Why Prison Building Is Booming In Rural America

Why Prison Building Will Continue Booming In Rural America

The election of Donald Trump signals an end to the recent optimism about reducing the mass imprisonment of two million U.S. citizens each year.

Can Customs and Border Officials Legally Search Your Phone?

Can Customs and Border Officials Legally Search Your Phone? A NASA scientist heading home to the U.S. said he was detained in January at a Houston airport, where Customs and Border Protection officers pressured him for access to his work phone and its potentially sensitive contents.

When Will We Learn Almost Everything Is Potentially Hackable?

When Will We Learn Almost Everything Is Potentially Hackable?This week’s WikiLeaks release of what is apparently a trove of Central Intelligence Agency information related to its computer hacking should surprise no on.  

Why We Should Not Know Our Own Passwords

Why We Should Not Know Our Own PasswordsSince 2009, U.S. Customs and Border Protection agents have been allowed to search electronic devices carried by citizens or noncitizens as they cross the border into the United States from other countries.

Could Your Fitbit Data Be Used To Deny You Health Insurance?

Could Your Fitbit Data Be Used To Deny You Health Insurance?Wearing a fitness tracking device could earn you cash from your health insurance company. At first, this sounds lucrative for the people who participate, and good for the companies, who want healthier insurance customers.

How To Identify And Stop Fraudsters

How To Identify And Stop FraudstersA common stereotype of fraudsters is that they are psychopaths. That fraudsters are considered manipulative, callous and remorseless is understandable, considering the consequences of fraud.

How Right To Be Forgotten Puts Privacy And Free Speech On A Collision Course

How Right To Be Forgotten Puts Privacy And Free Speech On A Collision CourseThe age of digital technology, in which we can search and retrieve more information than we could in any previous era, has triggered a debate over whether we have too much information. Is the cure to “unpublish” things we think are wrong or out of date? Ought we have a “right to be forgotten”?

Why Victims Are Always The Harmless, Easy Targets Of Dirty Politics

Why Victims Are Always The Harmless, Easy Targets Of Dirty PoliticsThe word “scapegoat” is being used a lot in discussions about politics in 2016. The new US president-elect, Donald Trump, appealed to some voters with rhetoric that appeared to scapegoat Mexicans and Muslims for various social and economic problems.

Why Every American Deserves a Guaranteed Minimum Income From Common Wealth

Why Every American Deserves a Guaranteed Minimum Income From Common WealthThe big, rarely asked question about our current economy is who gets the benefits of common wealth? Common wealth has several components. One consists of gifts of nature we inherit together: our atmosphere and oceans, water­sheds and wetlands, forests and fertile plains, and so on (including, of course, fossil fuels).

Backdoors And Spyware On Smartphones Is The Norm In China

Backdoors And Spyware On Smartphones Is The Norm In ChinaKryptowire, a security firm, recently identified several models of Android mobile devices that have preinstalled permanent software, known as firmware, that serve as backdoor that collects sensitive personal data, including text messages, geolocations, contact lists, call logs and transmits them to a third-party server in Shanghai, China.

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms Regulations

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms RegulationsAbout 1.5 million people have been shot by a gun, 468,758 fatally, in the United States over the past 15 years. The majority, nearly two-thirds of gun deaths, are suicides; more than a third are gunshots due to assault.

People Are Racist Against Black Places, Too

People Are Racist Against Black Places, TooNew research shows that racial biases affect more than how we treat individual black people. Biases also lead us to devalue black homes and neighborhoods, and to subject them to potential health hazards.

Marijuana Legalization Is Bringing Big Changes

Marijuana Legalization Is Bringing Big ChangesThis year’s election season was historic in more ways than one. An unprecedented nine states considered liberalizing cannabis laws, and here’s how it broke down: California, Massachusetts and Nevada saw their ballot measures pass.

Why Corruption Looks Different In China Than In The West

Why Corruption Looks Different In China Than In The WestThere has been significant suspicion in Australia and elsewhere on the wealth of particular business people, investors and companies from China. There’s always the suggestion that there is something unacceptable about it...

Millions More Voters Legalizing Marijuana Won't Clear Up Regulatory Haze

Millions More Voters Legalizing Marijuana Won't Clear Up Regulatory HazeCongress continues to resist decriminalizing marijuana even as a popular crusade to legalize its use state by state may soon mean almost a quarter of Americans can smoke up at will, not including the many more who can use the drug medicinally.

6 Things You Can Do To Prevent Online Theft

 6 Things You Can Do To Prevent Online TheftWhen it comes to theft online, “you’re only protected by other, easier victims,” says Hsinchun Chen, an expert in cybersecurity.

How To Make Criminal Justice Less Biased

How To Make Criminal Justice Less BiasedMany experts and politicians believe there is, as Hillary Clinton has said repeatedly, “systematic racism throughout the criminal justice system.”

Data Surveillance Is All Around Us, And It's Changing Our Behavior

Data Surveillance Is All Around Us, And It's Changing Our BehaviorEnabled by exponential technological advancements in data storage, transmission and analysis, the drive to “datify” our lives is creating an ultra-transparent world where we are never free from being under surveillance.

What Is Brainjacking And Is It A Cyber-security Threat?

What Is Brainjacking And Is It A Cyber-security Threat?We live in an interconnected age where wirelessly controlled computing devices make almost every aspect of our lives easier, but they also make us vulnerable to cyber-security attacks. Today, nearly everything can be hacked, from cars to lightbulbs

Corporations Want Your Digital Data and the FCC Must Stop Them

Corporations Want Your Digital Data and the FCC Must Stop ThemWhen Yahoo! confirmed that it had experienced a massive online attack from hackers who stole personal information from more than 500 million people — including names, emails and phone numbers — it revealed a disturbing truth about our digital media system.

The Price Of Connection: Surveillance Capitalism

The Price Of Connection: Surveillance CapitalismImagine, if you can, a period long before today’s internet-based connectivity. Imagine that, in that distant time, the populations of every country were offered a new plan.

We Can Read All Your Email, And You'll Never Know

We Can Read All Your Email, And You'll Never KnowFear of hackers reading private emails in cloud-based systems like Microsoft Outlook, Gmail or Yahoo has recently sent regular people and public officials scrambling to delete entire accounts full of messages dating back years.

The Future Of The US Supreme Court Is At Stake With Who Wins In November

The Future Of The US Supreme Court Is At Stake With Who Wins In NovemberAt a recent rally of Donald Trump supporters in North Carolina, Republican vice-presidential candidate Mike Pence said the result of the November presidential election would determine the shape of the US Supreme Court for the next 40 years.

Should We Worry About The Privatization Of Genetic Data

Should We Worry About The Privatization Of Genetic DataPresident Obama has promised to support a bold future for medicine where diagnostic testing and treatments aren’t just what’s best for most people – they’re what’s best for you.

3-minute Saliva Test Would Spot Stoned Drivers

3-minute Saliva Test Would Spot Stoned DriversResearchers have applied magnetic nanotechnology, previously used as a cancer screen, to create what could be the first practical roadside test for marijuana intoxication.

Does More Regulation Lead To More Fraud?

Does More Regulation Lead To More Fraud?When top-level managers find governance mechanisms too coercive, they’re more likely to commit fraud, according to a new paper.

The Myth That Started The International War On Drugs

The Myth That Started The International War On DrugsThe image of China as an opium slave was the starting point for an international ‘war on drugs’ which, over a century later, is still being fought today.

Is Your Employer Watching You Online?

Is Your Employer Watching You Online? A new study reveals employers are using online information about job applicants without their knowledge, to inform hiring decisions. Approximately 55% of organizations now have a policy about this type of practice, called profiling.

More Third Parties Know What You Do Online

More Third Parties Know What You Do OnlineFor more than two decades, people have used the internet to research, shop, make friends, find dates, and learn about the world. And third parties have been watching—and learning.

How Companies Learn What Children Secretly Want

 Student privacy laws are not adequate. Mary Woodard, CC BY-NC-ND If you have children, you are likely to worry about their safety – you show them safe places in your neighborhood and you teach them to watch out for lurking dangers.

How to Break the Power of Money

How to Break the Power of MoneyWe can refuse to accept the pervasive, but false, claims that money is wealth and a growing GDP improves the lives of all.

Why a Tax on Wall Street Trades is a Great Idea

Why a Tax on Wall Street Trades is a Great IdeaOne of Bernie Sanders’s most important proposals didn’t receive enough attention and should become a law even without a president Sanders. Hillary Clinton should adopt it for her campaign.

Why Are Black Youths So Often Branded As Criminals

Why Are Black Youths So Often Branded As CriminalsTwo years ago, on Aug. 9, 2014, Michael Brown, an unarmed 18-year-old African-American teenager, was shot and killed by a white police officer in Ferguson, Missouri. Two years have passed since the recent high school graduate was denied the opportunity to begin his next stage of life: college.

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?Footage aired last week of children being abused in a Northern Territory prison sent shockwaves around the nation. These images forced us to grapple with the problem as if it were breaking news, despite the fact that so many people knew so much about it for so long.

Buying And Selling Hacked Passwords: How Does It Work?

Data breaches are a regular part of the cyberthreat landscape. They generate a great deal of media attention, both because the quantity of information stolen is often large, and because so much of it is data people would prefer remained private.

What People Fear Predicts How They View Police Reform

What People Fear Predicts How They View Police ReformAt a time of intense national attention on law enforcement and race, a new study suggests that racially based fear plays a role in public support for policing reforms.

Why We Need To Find A Cure For Social Death

Why We Need To Find A Cure For Social DeathEvery year, over 50m people in the world will die. Old age, disease, war and starvation all contribute to that number, and scientists, doctors and charities do their best to bring the figure down.

A View Of American Islam From The Suburbs

amercian muslim 7 10On June 10 Americans celebrated Muhammad Ali as a paragon of athletic prowess, dignity in the face of suffering and patriotic dissent.

Why The Wounds From Incarceration Never Heal

Why The Wounds From Incarceration That Never HealNew research that we’ve published with our colleague Mary Laske Bell shows that African American men who are former inmates are irrevocably harmed by time they spent behind bars.

How To Spot An Online Lie

online lying 6 29There are three things you can be sure of in life: death, taxes – and lying. The latter certainly appears to have been borne out by the UK’s recent Brexit referendum, with a number of the Leave campaign’s pledges looking more like porkie pies than solid truths.

How Regulating Guns Like Cars Could Improve Safety

How Regulating Guns Like Cars Could Improve SafetyIn the midst of the Senate’s failure to agree on measures designed to tighten controls around the sales of firearms, a new idea is emerging.

Why Does LGBT Bias Translate Into Violence?

Why Does LGBT Bias Translate Into Violence?In the United States, public support of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community has increased in recent years

Hillary Clinton Seizes On Environmental Justice

Hillary Clinton Seizes On Environmental JusticeHillary Clinton has won the California primary, in part by appealing to environmentalists in a state with a long tradition in conservation and aggressive climate change policies. The victory follows the release earlier this spring of her strategy to address environmental and climate justice – a topic that’s risen to national prominence following the Flint water crisis.

Why Should Prostitution Be Decriminalized?

Why Should Prostitution Be Decriminalized?It seems that almost everyone has an opinion about prostitution and sex work. But with Amnesty International’s recent unflinching policy recommendation to decriminalize all adult consensual sex work

Securing Web Browsing: Protecting The Tor Network

Securing Web Browsing: Protecting The Tor NetworkThere are more than 865 encryption tools in use worldwide, all addressing different aspects of a common problem. People want to protect information: hard drives from oppressive governments, physical location from stalkers, browsing history from overly curious corporations or phone conversations from nosy neighbors.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}