Comment le DACA a affecté la santé mentale des jeunes adultes sans-papiers

Comment le DACA a affecté la santé mentale des jeunes adultes sans-papiersAvec le renversement par le président Donald Trump d'un ordre exécutif de l'ère Obama connu sous le nom d'action différée pour les arrivées d'enfants (DACA), les pires craintes de Leticia semblent se réaliser.

Pourquoi à l'avenir, il devrait être des consommateurs qui vont en grève

Pourquoi à l'avenir, il devrait être des consommateurs qui vont en grèveJ'appartiens à une génération à qui on a dit qu'il n'y avait pas d'autre choix que d'être flexible sur le marché du travail. Pour beaucoup d'entre nous, l'idée d'un contrat de travail à long terme dans une entreprise où il y a la possibilité de progresser appartient à une autre époque.

7 dans 10 Smartphone Apps partage vos données avec des services tiers

7 dans 10 Smartphone Apps partage vos données avec des services tiersNos téléphones mobiles peuvent révéler beaucoup sur nous-mêmes: où nous vivons et travaillons; qui sont notre famille, nos amis et nos connaissances; comment (et même quoi) nous communiquons avec eux; et nos habitudes personnelles.

Quelles sont les dystopies orwelliennes du 21st siècle?

07 08 dystopieLes métaphores fictionnelles importent, et dans la bataille pour sauvegarder nos libertés civiles, peu de métaphores importent plus que 1984 de George Orwell. Bien que publiée pour la première fois il y a près de 70 il y a des années, la saillance durable de cette dystopie la plus archétypale est indéniable.

Comment l'Internet sait si vous êtes heureux ou triste

heureux ou triste 5 28Pensez à ce que vous avez partagé avec vos amis sur Facebook aujourd'hui. Était-ce un sentiment de «stress» ou d '«échec», ou peut-être «joie», «amour» ou «excitation»?

Le défi gauche-droite à la guerre ratée sur les drogues

Le défi gauche-droite à la guerre ratée sur les droguesDe plus en plus de conservateurs et de libéraux, des halls du Congrès aux gens dans les communautés à travers le pays, sont d'accord que la soi-disant «guerre contre la drogue» a besoin d'être sérieusement repensée.

Pourquoi interdire les ordinateurs portables des cabines d'avion n'a pas de sens

Pourquoi interdire les ordinateurs portables des cabines d'avion n'a pas de sensDes rapports récents suggèrent que les terroristes peuvent maintenant créer des bombes si minces qu'elles ne peuvent pas être détectées par le dépistage radiographique actuel que subissent nos bagages à main.

Comment se protéger de Ransomware

Comment se protéger de RansomwareQu'est-ce que cela signifierait si vous perdiez tous vos documents personnels, tels que vos photos de famille, votre recherche ou vos documents commerciaux?

Comment stimuler la cybersécurité sans casser la banque

Comment stimuler la cybersécurité sans casser la banqueLes cyberattaques à grande échelle avec des statistiques qui attirent l'attention, comme la violation d'un milliard de comptes Yahoo dans 2016, capturent la plupart des gros titres.

Crimes et peines qui correspondent au crime?

Crimes et peines qui correspondent au crime?La caractéristique remarquable de cette phrase judiciaire était la façon dont elle se heurtait conceptuellement avec la question par défaut coutumière qui imprègne notre système judiciaire dans son ensemble

Prisons privées, expliquées

Prisons privées, expliquéesL'année 2016 fut une année sauvage pour l'industrie pénitentiaire privée. La Conversation

Pourquoi nous ne devrions pas connaître nos propres mots de passe

Pourquoi nous ne devrions pas connaître nos propres mots de passeDepuis 2009, les agents des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis ont été autorisés à effectuer des recherches sur des appareils électroniques transportés par des citoyens ou des non-citoyens lorsqu'ils franchissent la frontière pour entrer aux États-Unis en provenance d'autres pays.

Comment identifier et arrêter les fraudeurs

Comment identifier et arrêter les fraudeursUn stéréotype commun des fraudeurs est qu'ils sont des psychopathes. Que les fraudeurs sont considérés comme manipulateurs, impitoyables et sans remords est compréhensible, compte tenu des conséquences de la fraude.

Comment droit d'être oublié met la vie privée et la liberté d'expression sur un cours de collision

Comment droit d'être oublié met la vie privée et la liberté d'expression sur un cours de collisionL'ère de la technologie numérique, dans laquelle nous pouvons rechercher et extraire plus d'informations que nous ne l'avons jamais fait, a suscité un débat sur la question de savoir si nous avions trop d'informations. Est-ce que le remède à «dépublier» des choses que nous pensons être fausses ou périmées? Devrions-nous avoir un "droit à l'oubli"?

Pourquoi les victimes sont toujours les cibles faciles et inoffensives de la politique sale

Pourquoi les victimes sont toujours les cibles faciles et inoffensives de la politique saleLe mot «bouc émissaire» est beaucoup utilisé dans les discussions sur la politique dans 2016. Le nouveau président élu des États-Unis, Donald Trump, a fait appel à certains électeurs avec une rhétorique qui semblait faire du mal aux Mexicains et aux musulmans pour divers problèmes sociaux et économiques.

Pourquoi chaque Américain mérite un revenu minimum garanti de la richesse commune

Pourquoi chaque Américain mérite un revenu minimum garanti de la richesse communeLa grande question, rarement posée, sur notre économie actuelle est de savoir qui profite des avantages de la richesse commune. La richesse commune a plusieurs composants. L'un consiste en des dons de la nature dont nous héritons ensemble: notre atmosphère et les océans, les bassins versants et les zones humides, les forêts et les plaines fertiles, et ainsi de suite (y compris, bien sûr, les combustibles fossiles).

Backdoors et Spyware sur les Smartphones est la norme en Chine

Backdoors et Spyware sur les Smartphones est la norme en ChineKryptowire, une société de sécurité, a récemment identifié plusieurs modèles d'appareils mobiles Android qui ont préinstallé des logiciels permanents, connus sous le nom de firmware, qui servent de porte dérobée pour collecter des données personnelles sensibles, notamment des messages texte, des géolocalisations, des listes de contacts et des serveur de tiers à Shanghai, en Chine.

Les gens sont racistes contre les lieux noirs, aussi

Les gens sont racistes contre les lieux noirs, aussiDe nouvelles recherches montrent que les préjugés raciaux affectent plus que la façon dont nous traitons les personnes noires. Les biais nous amènent également à dévaluer les maisons et les quartiers noirs et à les soumettre à des risques potentiels pour la santé.

La légalisation de la marijuana entraîne de grands changements

La légalisation de la marijuana entraîne de grands changementsLa saison électorale de cette année était historique à plus d'un titre. Neuf États sans précédent envisageaient de libéraliser les lois sur le cannabis, et voici comment il s'est effondré: la Californie, le Massachusetts et le Nevada ont vu leur vote voter.

Pourquoi la corruption semble différente en Chine que dans l'ouest

Pourquoi la corruption semble différente en Chine que dans l'ouestIl y a eu des soupçons significatifs en Australie et ailleurs sur la richesse de certains hommes d'affaires, investisseurs et sociétés en provenance de Chine. Il y a toujours la suggestion qu'il y a quelque chose d'inacceptable à ce sujet ...

Des millions d'électeurs de plus légalisant la marijuana n'éclairciront pas la réglementation

Des millions d'électeurs de plus légalisant la marijuana n'éclairciront pas la réglementationLe Congrès continue de résister à la décriminalisation de la marijuana, même si une croisade populaire pour légaliser son utilisation par Etat pourrait bientôt signifier que près d'un quart des Américains peuvent fumer à volonté, sans compter les nombreux autres qui peuvent utiliser le médicament.

Comment rendre la justice pénale moins biaisée

Comment rendre la justice pénale moins biaiséeDe nombreux experts et politiciens croyez Comme Hillary Clinton l'a dit à plusieurs reprises, il y a «du racisme systématique dans tout le système de justice pénale».

Qu'est-ce que Brainjacking et est-ce une menace pour la cybersécurité?

Qu'est-ce que Brainjacking et est-ce une menace pour la cybersécurité?Nous vivons dans une ère interconnectée où les appareils informatiques contrôlés sans fil facilitent presque tous les aspects de notre vie, mais ils nous rendent également vulnérables aux attaques de cybersécurité. Aujourd'hui, presque tout peut être piraté, des voitures aux ampoules

Les entreprises veulent que vos données numériques et la FCC doivent les arrêter

Les entreprises veulent que vos données numériques et la FCC doivent les arrêterQuand Yahoo! confirmé qu'il avait subi une attaque en ligne massive de pirates qui ont volé des informations personnelles de plus de 500 millions de personnes - y compris les noms, les courriels et les numéros de téléphone - il a révélé une vérité troublante sur notre système de médias numériques.

Le prix de la connexion: le capitalisme de surveillance

Le prix de la connexion: le capitalisme de surveillanceImaginez, si vous le pouvez, une période bien avant la connectivité Internet d'aujourd'hui. Imaginez que, dans ce lointain temps, les populations de chaque pays se sont vu offrir un nouveau plan.

Nous pouvons lire tout votre email, et vous ne saurez jamais

Nous pouvons lire tout votre email, et vous ne saurez jamaisLa peur des hackers qui lisent des courriels privés dans des systèmes basés sur le cloud comme Microsoft Outlook, Gmail ou Yahoo a récemment envoyé des gens ordinaires et des fonctionnaires se démener pour supprimer des comptes entiers remplis de messages datant d'années.

L'avenir de la Cour suprême des États-Unis est en jeu avec qui gagne en Novembre

L'avenir de la Cour suprême des États-Unis est en jeu avec qui gagne en NovembreLors d'un récent rassemblement de partisans de Donald Trump en Caroline du Nord, le candidat républicain à la vice-présidence Mike Pence a déclaré que le résultat de l'élection présidentielle de novembre déterminerait la forme de la Cour suprême américaine pour les prochaines années 40.

3-minute test de salive repérerait les pilotes Stoned

3-minute test de salive repérerait les pilotes StonedLes chercheurs ont appliqué la nanotechnologie magnétique, précédemment utilisée comme écran de dépistage du cancer, pour créer ce qui pourrait être le premier test pratique sur le bord de la route pour l'intoxication à la marijuana.

Votre employeur vous regarde en ligne?

Votre employeur vous regarde en ligne?Une nouvelle étude révèle que les employeurs utilisent des informations en ligne sur les demandeurs d'emploi à leur insu pour informer les décisions d'embauche. Environ 55% des organisations ont maintenant une politique sur ce type de pratique, appelée profilage.

Plus de tiers savent ce que vous faites en ligne

Plus de tiers savent ce que vous faites en ligneDepuis plus de deux décennies, les gens utilisent Internet pour faire des recherches, faire des achats, se faire des amis, trouver des dates et se renseigner sur le monde. Et les tiers ont regardé et appris.

Comment briser le pouvoir de l'argent

Comment briser le pouvoir de l'argentNous pouvons refuser d'accepter les affirmations omniprésentes, mais fausses, selon lesquelles l'argent est une richesse et qu'un PIB croissant améliore la vie de tous.

Pourquoi les jeunes noirs sont-ils souvent considérés comme des criminels?

Pourquoi les jeunes noirs sont-ils souvent considérés comme des criminels?Il y a deux ans, le 10 août, 9, 2014, Michael Brown, un adolescent afro-américain non armé de 18, a été abattu par un policier blanc à Ferguson, Missouri. Deux années se sont écoulées depuis que le récent diplômé de l'école secondaire s'est vu refuser l'opportunité de commencer sa prochaine étape de vie: l'université.

Devrions-nous enfermer les gens dans les prisons?

Devrions-nous enfermer les gens dans les prisons?Des images diffusées la semaine dernière sur des enfants maltraités dans une prison du Territoire du Nord ont provoqué des ondes de choc à travers le pays. Ces images nous ont obligés à nous attaquer au problème comme s'il s'agissait d'une information de dernière heure, en dépit du fait que tant de gens en savaient tellement depuis si longtemps.

Acheter et vendre des mots de passe piratés: comment ça marche?

Les violations de données font régulièrement partie du paysage cybernétique. Ils suscitent beaucoup d'attention de la part des médias, à la fois parce que la quantité d'informations volées est souvent importante et parce que les données que les gens préfèrent rester privées sont si nombreuses.

Pourquoi nous devons trouver un remède pour la mort sociale

Pourquoi nous devons trouver un remède pour la mort socialeChaque année, plus de 50m personnes dans le monde vont mourir. La vieillesse, la maladie, la guerre et la famine contribuent tous à ce nombre, et les scientifiques, les médecins et les organisations caritatives font de leur mieux pour réduire le chiffre.

Une vue de l'islam américain de la banlieue

musulman amércain 7 10En juin 10, les Américains ont célébré Muhammad Ali comme un modèle de prouesse athlétique, de dignité face à la souffrance et de dissension patriotique.

Pourquoi les blessures de l'incarcération ne guérissent jamais

Pourquoi les blessures de l'incarcération qui ne guérissent jamaisUne nouvelle étude que nous avons publiée avec notre collègue Mary Laske Bell montre que les hommes afro-américains qui sont d'anciens détenus sont irrévocablement blessés par le temps passé derrière les barreaux.

Comment repérer un mensonge en ligne

couché en ligne 6 29Il y a trois choses dont vous pouvez être sûrs dans la vie: la mort, les impôts et le mensonge. Ce dernier semble avoir été confirmé par le récent référendum sur le Brexit au Royaume-Uni, avec un certain nombre de promesses de la campagne de congé qui ressemblent plus à des porkies qu'à des vérités solides.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

What Are The Orwellian Dystopias Of The 21st Century?

07 08 dystopiaFictional metaphors matter, and in the battle to safeguard our civil liberties few metaphors matter more than George Orwell’s 1984. Although first published almost 70 years ago, the lasting salience of this most archetypal dystopia is undeniable.

Why We Welcome Poetic Justice And Despair At Poetic Injustice

Why We Welcome Poetic Justice And Despair At Poetic InjusticeRecently it was reported that a hunter who had shot an elephant was crushed when it fell over dead on top of him. A friend emailed the story to me with one word in the subject line: “Justice!”

Body Cameras Show Police Are Politer To White Drivers

Body Cameras Show Police Are Politer To White DriversPolice officers consistently use less respectful language with black community members than with white community members, the first systematic analysis of body camera footage shows.

Why What You Post Online Can Wreck Your Life

Why What You Post Online Can Wreck Your LifeHarvard recently rescinded admission offers for some incoming freshmen who participated in a private Facebook group sharing offensive memes.

Why FBI Directors Are Forbidden From Getting Cozy With Presidents

Why FBI Directors Are Forbidden From Getting Cozy With PresidentsHow are U.S. presidents and FBI directors supposed to communicate? A new FBI director has recently been nominated, former Assistant Attorney General Christopher Wray. He will certainly be thinking carefully about this question as he awaits confirmation.

How On The Internet, You Are Always The Product

Anyone who spends much time online knows the saying: “If you’re not paying, you’re the product”. That’s not exactly correctAnyone who spends much time online knows the saying: “If you’re not paying, you’re the product”. That’s not exactly correct. The Conversation

How The Internet Knows If You're Happy Or Sad

happy or sad 5 28Think about what you shared with your friends on Facebook today. Was it feelings of “stress” or “failure”, or perhaps “joy”, “love” or “excitement”?

The Left-Right Challenge to the Failed War on Drugs

The Left-Right Challenge to the Failed War on DrugsMore and more conservatives and liberals, from the halls of Congress to people in communities across the country, are agreeing that the so-called “war on drugs” needs serious rethinking.

Why Banning Laptops From Airplane Cabins Doesn't Make Sense

Why Banning Laptops From Airplane Cabins Doesn't Make SenseRecent reports suggest that terrorists can now create bombs so thin that they cannot be detected by the current X-ray screening that our carry-on bags undergo.

How To Protect Yourself From Ransomware

How To Protect Yourself From Ransomware What would it mean if you lost all of your personal documents, such as your family photos, research or business records?

How The US Immigration Court System Is Broken?

How The US Immigration Court System Is Broken?In the U.S. today, a single immigration case takes an average of 677 days simply to get to the initial scheduling hearing.

Crimes and Punishments That Fit The Crime?

Crimes and Punishments That Fit The Crime?The remarkable feature of this judicial sentence was how it clashed conceptually with the customary default question that suffuses our judicial system as a whole

Private Prisons, Explained

Private Prisons, ExplainedThe year 2016 was a wild one for the private prison industry. The Conversation

Tor Upgrades To Make Anonymous Publishing Safer

Tor Upgrades To Make Anonymous Publishing SaferIn the coming months, the Seattle-based nonprofit The Tor Project will be making some changes to improve how the Tor network protects users’ privacy and security.

Why Prison Building Is Booming In Rural America

Why Prison Building Will Continue Booming In Rural America

The election of Donald Trump signals an end to the recent optimism about reducing the mass imprisonment of two million U.S. citizens each year.

Can Customs and Border Officials Legally Search Your Phone?

Can Customs and Border Officials Legally Search Your Phone? A NASA scientist heading home to the U.S. said he was detained in January at a Houston airport, where Customs and Border Protection officers pressured him for access to his work phone and its potentially sensitive contents.

When Will We Learn Almost Everything Is Potentially Hackable?

When Will We Learn Almost Everything Is Potentially Hackable?This week’s WikiLeaks release of what is apparently a trove of Central Intelligence Agency information related to its computer hacking should surprise no on.  

Why We Should Not Know Our Own Passwords

Why We Should Not Know Our Own PasswordsSince 2009, U.S. Customs and Border Protection agents have been allowed to search electronic devices carried by citizens or noncitizens as they cross the border into the United States from other countries.

Could Your Fitbit Data Be Used To Deny You Health Insurance?

Could Your Fitbit Data Be Used To Deny You Health Insurance?Wearing a fitness tracking device could earn you cash from your health insurance company. At first, this sounds lucrative for the people who participate, and good for the companies, who want healthier insurance customers.

How To Identify And Stop Fraudsters

How To Identify And Stop FraudstersA common stereotype of fraudsters is that they are psychopaths. That fraudsters are considered manipulative, callous and remorseless is understandable, considering the consequences of fraud.

How Right To Be Forgotten Puts Privacy And Free Speech On A Collision Course

How Right To Be Forgotten Puts Privacy And Free Speech On A Collision CourseThe age of digital technology, in which we can search and retrieve more information than we could in any previous era, has triggered a debate over whether we have too much information. Is the cure to “unpublish” things we think are wrong or out of date? Ought we have a “right to be forgotten”?

Why Victims Are Always The Harmless, Easy Targets Of Dirty Politics

Why Victims Are Always The Harmless, Easy Targets Of Dirty PoliticsThe word “scapegoat” is being used a lot in discussions about politics in 2016. The new US president-elect, Donald Trump, appealed to some voters with rhetoric that appeared to scapegoat Mexicans and Muslims for various social and economic problems.

Why Every American Deserves a Guaranteed Minimum Income From Common Wealth

Why Every American Deserves a Guaranteed Minimum Income From Common WealthThe big, rarely asked question about our current economy is who gets the benefits of common wealth? Common wealth has several components. One consists of gifts of nature we inherit together: our atmosphere and oceans, water­sheds and wetlands, forests and fertile plains, and so on (including, of course, fossil fuels).

Backdoors And Spyware On Smartphones Is The Norm In China

Backdoors And Spyware On Smartphones Is The Norm In ChinaKryptowire, a security firm, recently identified several models of Android mobile devices that have preinstalled permanent software, known as firmware, that serve as backdoor that collects sensitive personal data, including text messages, geolocations, contact lists, call logs and transmits them to a third-party server in Shanghai, China.

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms Regulations

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms RegulationsAbout 1.5 million people have been shot by a gun, 468,758 fatally, in the United States over the past 15 years. The majority, nearly two-thirds of gun deaths, are suicides; more than a third are gunshots due to assault.

People Are Racist Against Black Places, Too

People Are Racist Against Black Places, TooNew research shows that racial biases affect more than how we treat individual black people. Biases also lead us to devalue black homes and neighborhoods, and to subject them to potential health hazards.

Marijuana Legalization Is Bringing Big Changes

Marijuana Legalization Is Bringing Big ChangesThis year’s election season was historic in more ways than one. An unprecedented nine states considered liberalizing cannabis laws, and here’s how it broke down: California, Massachusetts and Nevada saw their ballot measures pass.

Why Corruption Looks Different In China Than In The West

Why Corruption Looks Different In China Than In The WestThere has been significant suspicion in Australia and elsewhere on the wealth of particular business people, investors and companies from China. There’s always the suggestion that there is something unacceptable about it...

Millions More Voters Legalizing Marijuana Won't Clear Up Regulatory Haze

Millions More Voters Legalizing Marijuana Won't Clear Up Regulatory HazeCongress continues to resist decriminalizing marijuana even as a popular crusade to legalize its use state by state may soon mean almost a quarter of Americans can smoke up at will, not including the many more who can use the drug medicinally.

6 Things You Can Do To Prevent Online Theft

 6 Things You Can Do To Prevent Online TheftWhen it comes to theft online, “you’re only protected by other, easier victims,” says Hsinchun Chen, an expert in cybersecurity.

How To Make Criminal Justice Less Biased

How To Make Criminal Justice Less BiasedMany experts and politicians believe there is, as Hillary Clinton has said repeatedly, “systematic racism throughout the criminal justice system.”

Data Surveillance Is All Around Us, And It's Changing Our Behavior

Data Surveillance Is All Around Us, And It's Changing Our BehaviorEnabled by exponential technological advancements in data storage, transmission and analysis, the drive to “datify” our lives is creating an ultra-transparent world where we are never free from being under surveillance.

What Is Brainjacking And Is It A Cyber-security Threat?

What Is Brainjacking And Is It A Cyber-security Threat?We live in an interconnected age where wirelessly controlled computing devices make almost every aspect of our lives easier, but they also make us vulnerable to cyber-security attacks. Today, nearly everything can be hacked, from cars to lightbulbs

Corporations Want Your Digital Data and the FCC Must Stop Them

Corporations Want Your Digital Data and the FCC Must Stop ThemWhen Yahoo! confirmed that it had experienced a massive online attack from hackers who stole personal information from more than 500 million people — including names, emails and phone numbers — it revealed a disturbing truth about our digital media system.

The Price Of Connection: Surveillance Capitalism

The Price Of Connection: Surveillance CapitalismImagine, if you can, a period long before today’s internet-based connectivity. Imagine that, in that distant time, the populations of every country were offered a new plan.

We Can Read All Your Email, And You'll Never Know

We Can Read All Your Email, And You'll Never KnowFear of hackers reading private emails in cloud-based systems like Microsoft Outlook, Gmail or Yahoo has recently sent regular people and public officials scrambling to delete entire accounts full of messages dating back years.

The Future Of The US Supreme Court Is At Stake With Who Wins In November

The Future Of The US Supreme Court Is At Stake With Who Wins In NovemberAt a recent rally of Donald Trump supporters in North Carolina, Republican vice-presidential candidate Mike Pence said the result of the November presidential election would determine the shape of the US Supreme Court for the next 40 years.

Should We Worry About The Privatization Of Genetic Data

Should We Worry About The Privatization Of Genetic DataPresident Obama has promised to support a bold future for medicine where diagnostic testing and treatments aren’t just what’s best for most people – they’re what’s best for you.

3-minute Saliva Test Would Spot Stoned Drivers

3-minute Saliva Test Would Spot Stoned DriversResearchers have applied magnetic nanotechnology, previously used as a cancer screen, to create what could be the first practical roadside test for marijuana intoxication.

Does More Regulation Lead To More Fraud?

Does More Regulation Lead To More Fraud?When top-level managers find governance mechanisms too coercive, they’re more likely to commit fraud, according to a new paper.

The Myth That Started The International War On Drugs

The Myth That Started The International War On DrugsThe image of China as an opium slave was the starting point for an international ‘war on drugs’ which, over a century later, is still being fought today.

Is Your Employer Watching You Online?

Is Your Employer Watching You Online? A new study reveals employers are using online information about job applicants without their knowledge, to inform hiring decisions. Approximately 55% of organizations now have a policy about this type of practice, called profiling.

More Third Parties Know What You Do Online

More Third Parties Know What You Do OnlineFor more than two decades, people have used the internet to research, shop, make friends, find dates, and learn about the world. And third parties have been watching—and learning.

How Companies Learn What Children Secretly Want

 Student privacy laws are not adequate. Mary Woodard, CC BY-NC-ND If you have children, you are likely to worry about their safety – you show them safe places in your neighborhood and you teach them to watch out for lurking dangers.

How to Break the Power of Money

How to Break the Power of MoneyWe can refuse to accept the pervasive, but false, claims that money is wealth and a growing GDP improves the lives of all.

Why a Tax on Wall Street Trades is a Great Idea

Why a Tax on Wall Street Trades is a Great IdeaOne of Bernie Sanders’s most important proposals didn’t receive enough attention and should become a law even without a president Sanders. Hillary Clinton should adopt it for her campaign.

Why Are Black Youths So Often Branded As Criminals

Why Are Black Youths So Often Branded As CriminalsTwo years ago, on Aug. 9, 2014, Michael Brown, an unarmed 18-year-old African-American teenager, was shot and killed by a white police officer in Ferguson, Missouri. Two years have passed since the recent high school graduate was denied the opportunity to begin his next stage of life: college.

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?Footage aired last week of children being abused in a Northern Territory prison sent shockwaves around the nation. These images forced us to grapple with the problem as if it were breaking news, despite the fact that so many people knew so much about it for so long.

Buying And Selling Hacked Passwords: How Does It Work?

Data breaches are a regular part of the cyberthreat landscape. They generate a great deal of media attention, both because the quantity of information stolen is often large, and because so much of it is data people would prefer remained private.

What People Fear Predicts How They View Police Reform

What People Fear Predicts How They View Police ReformAt a time of intense national attention on law enforcement and race, a new study suggests that racially based fear plays a role in public support for policing reforms.

Why We Need To Find A Cure For Social Death

Why We Need To Find A Cure For Social DeathEvery year, over 50m people in the world will die. Old age, disease, war and starvation all contribute to that number, and scientists, doctors and charities do their best to bring the figure down.

A View Of American Islam From The Suburbs

amercian muslim 7 10On June 10 Americans celebrated Muhammad Ali as a paragon of athletic prowess, dignity in the face of suffering and patriotic dissent.

Why The Wounds From Incarceration Never Heal

Why The Wounds From Incarceration That Never HealNew research that we’ve published with our colleague Mary Laske Bell shows that African American men who are former inmates are irrevocably harmed by time they spent behind bars.

How To Spot An Online Lie

online lying 6 29There are three things you can be sure of in life: death, taxes – and lying. The latter certainly appears to have been borne out by the UK’s recent Brexit referendum, with a number of the Leave campaign’s pledges looking more like porkie pies than solid truths.

How Regulating Guns Like Cars Could Improve Safety

How Regulating Guns Like Cars Could Improve SafetyIn the midst of the Senate’s failure to agree on measures designed to tighten controls around the sales of firearms, a new idea is emerging.

Why Does LGBT Bias Translate Into Violence?

Why Does LGBT Bias Translate Into Violence?In the United States, public support of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community has increased in recent years

Hillary Clinton Seizes On Environmental Justice

Hillary Clinton Seizes On Environmental JusticeHillary Clinton has won the California primary, in part by appealing to environmentalists in a state with a long tradition in conservation and aggressive climate change policies. The victory follows the release earlier this spring of her strategy to address environmental and climate justice – a topic that’s risen to national prominence following the Flint water crisis.

Why Should Prostitution Be Decriminalized?

Why Should Prostitution Be Decriminalized?It seems that almost everyone has an opinion about prostitution and sex work. But with Amnesty International’s recent unflinching policy recommendation to decriminalize all adult consensual sex work

Securing Web Browsing: Protecting The Tor Network

Securing Web Browsing: Protecting The Tor NetworkThere are more than 865 encryption tools in use worldwide, all addressing different aspects of a common problem. People want to protect information: hard drives from oppressive governments, physical location from stalkers, browsing history from overly curious corporations or phone conversations from nosy neighbors.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}