Avec qui sommes-nous en guerre? C'est classé

Avec qui sommes-nous en guerre? C'est classé

Dans un grand discours sur la sécurité nationale ce printemps, le président Obama a répété à maintes reprises que les États-Unis étaient en guerre contre «Al-Qaïda, les talibans et leurs forces associées».

Alors, qui sont exactement ces forces associées? C'est un secret.

Lors d'une audience en mai, le sénateur Carl Levin, D-Mich., A demandé au département de la Défense de lui fournir une liste actuelle des affiliés d'Al-Qaïda.

Le Pentagone a répondu - mais le bureau de Levin a dit à ProPublica qu'ils ne sont pas autorisés à le partager. Kathleen Long, une porte-parole de Levin, dirait seulement que la «réponse du ministère inclus les informations demandées».

Un porte-parole du Pentagone a déclaré à ProPublica que révéler une telle liste pourrait causer "de sérieux dommages à la sécurité nationale".

"Parce que des éléments qui pourraient être considérés comme des" forces associées "peuvent être crédibles en étant listés comme tels par les Etats-Unis, nous avons classé la liste", a déclaré le porte-parole, le lieutenant-colonel Jim Gregory. "Nous ne pouvons pas nous permettre de gonfler ces organisations qui comptent sur l'idéologie extrémiste violente pour renforcer leurs rangs."

Ce n'est pas une question abstraite: les frappes de drones américains et d'autres actions ciblent fréquemment des «forces associées», comme cela a été le cas avec des dizaines de frappes contre une branche d'Al-Qaïda au Yémen.

Au cours de l'audience de mai, Michael Sheehan, sous-secrétaire à la Défense pour les opérations spéciales et les conflits à basse intensité, a déclaré qu'il n'était «pas sûr qu'il y ait une liste en soi». "Il serait difficile pour le Congrès de s'impliquer dans la tentative de suivre la désignation des forces affiliées" d'Al-Qaïda.

Sheehan a déclaré que selon la norme du Pentagone, "la sympathie ne suffit pas .... il doit s'agir d'un groupe organisé et ce groupe doit être en co-belligérance avec Al-Qaïda opérant contre les États-Unis. "

La Maison Blanche a lié Al-Qaïda dans la péninsule arabique et les «éléments» d'Al Shabaab en Somalie à Al-Qaïda dans un récent rapport au Congrès sur les actions militaires. Mais le rapport comprenait également une annexe classifiée.

Jack Goldsmith, professeur à Harvard Law qui a servi de conseil juridique sous l'administration Bush et a écrit sur cette question en détail, a déclaré à ProPublica que le raisonnement du Pentagone pour garder ses filiales secrètes semblait faible. "Si les organisations sont suffisamment" gonflées "pour être ciblées par la force militaire, pourquoi ne peuvent-elles pas être mentionnées publiquement?", A déclaré Goldsmith. Il a ajouté qu'il existait "un intérêt très important en matière de compensation que le public sache contre qui le gouvernement se bat en son nom".

La loi qui sous-tend la guerre américaine contre Al-Qaïda est connue sous le nom d'Autorisation d'utilisation de la force militaire, ou AUMF, et elle a été adoptée une semaine après les attaques 9 / 11. Il n'inclut pas réellement les mots «forces associées», bien que les cours et le congrès aient approuvé la phrase.

Comme nous l'avons expliqué plus tôt cette année, l'émergence de groupes terroristes nouveaux ou plus faiblement alignés a permis aux chercheurs légaux de se demander dans quelle mesure les États-Unis seront capables de les «ancrer» dans l'AUMF. Au cours de l'audience de mai, de nombreux législateurs ont exprimé leur préoccupation au sujet de la lecture extensive du Pentagone. Le sénateur John McCain, R-Ariz., L'a décrit comme une carte blanche.

Obama, dans son discours de mai, a déclaré qu'il attendait avec impatience "d'engager le Congrès et le peuple américain dans les efforts pour raffiner, et finalement abroger, le mandat de l'AUMF." Mais il n'a pas donné de calendrier. Mercredi, le représentant Adam Schiff, D-Calif., A présenté un amendement qui mettrait fin à la loi à la fin de 2014, pour coïncider avec le retrait américain de l'Afghanistan. Il a été rejeté le même jour, 185 à 236.

L'AUMF n'est pas la seule chose sur laquelle le gouvernement compte pour prendre des mesures militaires. Dans les discours et les interviews, les fonctionnaires de l'administration Obama évoquent également le pouvoir constitutionnel du président de défendre le pays, même sans l'autorisation du Congrès.

Cet article est apparu sur ProPublica.

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

In a major national security speech this spring, President Obama said again and again that the U.S. is at war with “Al Qaeda, the Taliban, and their associated forces.”

So who exactly are those associated forces? It’s a secret.

At a hearing in May, Sen. Carl Levin, D-Mich., asked the Defense Department to provide him with a current list of Al Qaeda affiliates.

The Pentagon responded – but Levin’s office told ProPublica they aren’t allowed to share it. Kathleen Long, a spokeswoman for Levin, would say only that the department’s “answer included the information requested.”

A Pentagon spokesman told ProPublica that revealing such a list could cause “serious damage to national security.”

“Because elements that might be considered ‘associated forces’ can build credibility by being listed as such by the United States, we have classified the list,” said the spokesman, Lt. Col. Jim Gregory. “We cannot afford to inflate these organizations that rely on violent extremist ideology to strengthen their ranks.”

It’s not an abstract question: U.S. drone strikes and other actions frequently target “associated forces,” as has been the case with dozens of strikes against an Al Qaeda offshoot in Yemen.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


During the May hearing, Michael Sheehan, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations and Low-Intensity Conflict, said he was “not sure there is a list per se.” Describing terrorist groups as “murky” and “shifting,” he said, “it would be difficult for the Congress to get involved in trying to track the designation of which are the affiliate forces” of Al Qaeda.

Sheehan said that by the Pentagon’s standard, “sympathy is not enough…. it has to be an organized group and that group has to be in co-belligerent status with Al Qaeda operating against the United States.”

The White House tied Al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and “elements” of Al Shabaab in Somalia to Al Qaeda in a recent report to Congress on military actions. But the report also included a classified annex.

Jack Goldsmith, a professor at Harvard Law who served as a legal counsel during the Bush administration and has written on this question at length, told ProPublica that the Pentagon’s reasoning for keeping the affiliates secret seems weak. “If the organizations are ‘inflated’ enough to be targeted with military force, why cannot they be mentioned publicly?” Goldsmith said. He added that there is “a countervailing very important interest in the public knowing who the government is fighting against in its name."

The law underpinning the U.S. war against Al Qaeda is known as the Authorization for Use of Military Force, or AUMF, and it was passed one week after the 9/11 attacks. It doesn’t actually include the words “associated forces,” though courts and Congress have endorsed the phrase.

As we explained earlier this year, the emergence of new or more loosely-aligned terrorist groups has legal scholars wondering how effectively the U.S. will be able to “shoehorn” them into the AUMF. During the May hearing, many lawmakers expressed concern about the Pentagon’s capacious reading of the law. Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., described it as a “carte blanche.”

Obama, in his May speech, said he looked forward “to engaging Congress and the American people in efforts to refine, and ultimately repeal, the AUMF’s mandate.” But he didn’t give a timeframe. On Wednesday, Rep. Adam Schiff, D-Calif., introduced an amendment that would sunset the law at the end of 2014, to coincide with the U.S. withdrawal from Afghanistan. It was voted down the same day, 185 to 236.

The AUMF isn’t the only thing the government relies on to take military action. In speeches and interviews Obama administration officials also bring up the president’s constitutional power to defend the country, even without congressional authorization.

This article first appeared on ProPublica.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)