من نحن في الحرب؟ هذا مبوب

من نحن في الحرب؟ هذا مبوب

في خطاب رئيسي عن الأمن القومي هذا الربيع ، قال الرئيس أوباما مرارًا وتكرارًا أن الولايات المتحدة في حالة حرب مع "القاعدة وطالبان والقوات المرتبطة بها".

إذن من هم بالضبط تلك القوى المرتبطة؟ إنه سر.

في جلسة استماع في مايو ، طلب السناتور كارل ليفين ، دي-ميشيغان ، من وزارة الدفاع تزويده بقائمة حالية من المنتسبين إلى القاعدة.

رد البنتاغون - لكن مكتب ليفين أخبر ProPublica أنه غير مسموح لهم بمشاركته. كاثلين لونج ، المتحدثة باسم ليفين ، قالت فقط إن "إجابة القسم" تضمنت المعلومات المطلوبة.

وقال متحدث باسم البنتاجون لـ ProPublica إن الكشف عن مثل هذه القائمة يمكن أن يتسبب في "ضرر جسيم للأمن القومي".

"لأن العناصر التي يمكن اعتبارها" قوات مقترنة "يمكن أن تبني مصداقية من خلال إدراجها على هذا النحو من قبل الولايات المتحدة ، فقد قمنا بتصنيف القائمة" ، قال المتحدث ، اللفتنانت كولونيل جيم غريغوري. "لا يمكننا تحمل تضخم هذه المنظمات التي تعتمد على الإيديولوجية المتطرفة العنيفة لتعزيز صفوفها."

إنه ليس سؤالًا مجردًا: غارات الطائرات بدون طيار الأمريكية وغيرها من الإجراءات التي تستهدف "القوى المرتبطة" بشكل متكرر ، كما كان الحال مع عشرات الهجمات ضد فرع القاعدة في اليمن.

خلال جلسة مايو ، قال مايكل شيهان ، مساعد وزير الدفاع لشؤون العمليات الخاصة والنزاعات المنخفضة الشدة ، إنه "غير متأكد من وجود قائمة بحد ذاتها". ووصف المجموعات الإرهابية بأنها "غامضة" و "متغيرة". "سيكون من الصعب على الكونغرس التورط في محاولة تتبع تعيين القوات التابعة لها" لتنظيم القاعدة.

وقالت شيهان إنه وفقا لمعيار البنتاغون ، فإن "التعاطف لا يكفي ...". يجب أن تكون مجموعة منظمة ويجب أن تكون هذه المجموعة في وضع محارب مع تنظيم القاعدة ضد الولايات المتحدة.

ربط البيت الأبيض تنظيم القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية و "عناصر" حركة الشباب في الصومال مع القاعدة في تقرير صدر مؤخرًا إلى الكونغرس عن الأعمال العسكرية. لكن التقرير تضمن أيضا مرفقا سريا.

جاك غولدسميث ، الأستاذ بجامعة هارفارد لو الذي عمل كمستشار قانوني خلال إدارة بوش وكتب عن هذه المسألة مطولاً ، قال لـ ProPublica إن منطق البنتاغون في الحفاظ على سرية المنتسبين يبدو ضعيفاً. وقالت غولدسميث: "إذا تم تضخيم المنظمات بما يكفي لاستهدافها بالقوة العسكرية ، فلماذا لا يمكن ذكرها بشكل علني؟" وأضاف أن هناك "مصلحة معاكسة في غاية الأهمية لدى الجمهور تعرف من تقاتل الحكومة باسمه".

يُعرف القانون الذي ترتكز عليه الحرب الأمريكية ضد تنظيم القاعدة بأنه "تصريح لاستخدام القوة العسكرية" ، أو "AUMF" ، وتم تمريره بعد أسبوع من هجمات 9 / 11. لا تتضمن في الواقع عبارة "القوات المرتبطة" ، على الرغم من أن المحاكم والكونغرس قد أيدوا العبارة.

وكما أوضحنا في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، فإن ظهور جماعات إرهابية جديدة أو أكثر تنازلاً ، لديه علماء قانونيين يتساءلون عن مدى قدرة الولايات المتحدة على "رَفْعهم" في "الاتحاد". خلال جلسة مايو ، أعرب العديد من المشرعين عن قلقهم من قراءة البنتاغون القوية للقانون. ووصف السناتور جون ماكين ، آر أريز ، الأمر بأنه "تفويضا مطلقا".

قال أوباما في خطابه في أيار / مايو ، إنه يتطلع إلى "إشراك الكونغرس والشعب الأمريكي في الجهود الرامية إلى صقل ، إلغاء ولاية AUMF في نهاية المطاف". لكنه لم يذكر إطاراً زمنياً. يوم الأربعاء ، قدم النائب آدم شيف ، دي - كاليفورنيا ، تعديلاً من شأنه أن يغيب القانون في نهاية 2014 ، ليتزامن مع انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من أفغانستان. تم التصويت عليه في نفس اليوم ، 185 إلى 236.

ليس AUMF هو الشيء الوحيد الذي تعتمد عليه الحكومة لاتخاذ إجراء عسكري. في الخطب والمقابلات ، يبرز مسؤولو إدارة أوباما أيضًا السلطة الدستورية للرئيس للدفاع عن البلاد ، حتى بدون تفويض من الكونغرس.

ظهرت هذه المقالة لأول مرة ProPublica.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

In a major national security speech this spring, President Obama said again and again that the U.S. is at war with “Al Qaeda, the Taliban, and their associated forces.”

So who exactly are those associated forces? It’s a secret.

At a hearing in May, Sen. Carl Levin, D-Mich., asked the Defense Department to provide him with a current list of Al Qaeda affiliates.

The Pentagon responded – but Levin’s office told ProPublica they aren’t allowed to share it. Kathleen Long, a spokeswoman for Levin, would say only that the department’s “answer included the information requested.”

A Pentagon spokesman told ProPublica that revealing such a list could cause “serious damage to national security.”

“Because elements that might be considered ‘associated forces’ can build credibility by being listed as such by the United States, we have classified the list,” said the spokesman, Lt. Col. Jim Gregory. “We cannot afford to inflate these organizations that rely on violent extremist ideology to strengthen their ranks.”

It’s not an abstract question: U.S. drone strikes and other actions frequently target “associated forces,” as has been the case with dozens of strikes against an Al Qaeda offshoot in Yemen.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


During the May hearing, Michael Sheehan, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations and Low-Intensity Conflict, said he was “not sure there is a list per se.” Describing terrorist groups as “murky” and “shifting,” he said, “it would be difficult for the Congress to get involved in trying to track the designation of which are the affiliate forces” of Al Qaeda.

Sheehan said that by the Pentagon’s standard, “sympathy is not enough…. it has to be an organized group and that group has to be in co-belligerent status with Al Qaeda operating against the United States.”

The White House tied Al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and “elements” of Al Shabaab in Somalia to Al Qaeda in a recent report to Congress on military actions. But the report also included a classified annex.

Jack Goldsmith, a professor at Harvard Law who served as a legal counsel during the Bush administration and has written on this question at length, told ProPublica that the Pentagon’s reasoning for keeping the affiliates secret seems weak. “If the organizations are ‘inflated’ enough to be targeted with military force, why cannot they be mentioned publicly?” Goldsmith said. He added that there is “a countervailing very important interest in the public knowing who the government is fighting against in its name."

The law underpinning the U.S. war against Al Qaeda is known as the Authorization for Use of Military Force, or AUMF, and it was passed one week after the 9/11 attacks. It doesn’t actually include the words “associated forces,” though courts and Congress have endorsed the phrase.

As we explained earlier this year, the emergence of new or more loosely-aligned terrorist groups has legal scholars wondering how effectively the U.S. will be able to “shoehorn” them into the AUMF. During the May hearing, many lawmakers expressed concern about the Pentagon’s capacious reading of the law. Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., described it as a “carte blanche.”

Obama, in his May speech, said he looked forward “to engaging Congress and the American people in efforts to refine, and ultimately repeal, the AUMF’s mandate.” But he didn’t give a timeframe. On Wednesday, Rep. Adam Schiff, D-Calif., introduced an amendment that would sunset the law at the end of 2014, to coincide with the U.S. withdrawal from Afghanistan. It was voted down the same day, 185 to 236.

The AUMF isn’t the only thing the government relies on to take military action. In speeches and interviews Obama administration officials also bring up the president’s constitutional power to defend the country, even without congressional authorization.

This article first appeared on ProPublica.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)