الاختبار الحقيقي للحل الأمريكي: لا تهجم على سوريا بل ترقى إلى قيمنا في الداخل

الاختبار الحقيقي للحل الأمريكي: لا تهجم على سوريا بل ترقى إلى قيمنا في الداخل

نحن على وشك اتخاذ قرار مأساوي بضرب سوريا ، لأنه في منطق الرئيس المريب ، "يعتقد الكثير من الناس أنه يجب القيام بشيء ما" ، وأن "المصداقية" الأمريكية على المحك. ويؤكد لنا هو ووزيرة خارجيته أن الضربة ستكون "محدودة" و "جراحية".

إن استخدام الأسلحة الكيماوية ضد المواطنين السوريين أمر بغيض ، وإذا كان نظام الأسد مسؤولاً فإنه يجب معاملته كمجرم دولي ومنبوذ.

لكن هل تعلمنا شيئا من أخطائنا في الماضي؟ مرارا وتكرارا خلال نصف القرن الماضي برر الرؤساء الأميركيون ما يسمى بـ "الضربات الجراحية" لأن "مصداقية" الأمة على المحك ، ولأننا يجب أن نتخذ بعض الإجراءات لإظهار "قوتنا وعزمنا" - فقط لتعلم سنوات في وقت لاحق ، عانت مصداقيتنا أكثر من سعادتنا الجريئة ، وأن الضربات الجراحية أدت فقط إلى تكثيف الأعمال القتالية وجعلتنا أسيرة لقوى خارجة عن سيطرتنا ، وأن عزمنا يختفي في النهاية في مواجهة الإصابات المتزايدة للأميركيين والمدنيين الأبرياء - وفي غيابه من أهداف محددة بوضوح أو حتى واضحة استراتيجيات الخروج. نحن والآخرين دفعنا ثمنًا لا يمكن حسابه.

في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في عيد العمال ، ينبغي علينا بدلاً من ذلك اختبار عزم الأمة على توفير وظائف جيدة بأجور جيدة لجميع الأميركيين الذين يحتاجون إليها ، وقياس مصداقيتنا من خلال مقياس تكافؤ الفرص. وينبغي لنا أن نضرب (وننضم إلى العمال المضربين) ضد أرباب العمل الكبار الذين لا يقدمون لأجورهم أجوراً قليلة اللائق. نحتاج لأن نلزم أنفسنا بالأجر الحي ، وأن نوفر المزيد من الأمن الاقتصادي لملايين الأميركيين الذين يعملون الآن بجدية أكبر ولكنهم لا يصلون إلى أي مكان.

السيد الرئيس ، يعتقد الكثير من الأمريكيين أنه يجب القيام بشيء ما - حول هذه المشاكل المتصاعدة على عتبة دارنا هنا في أمريكا. يمكن أن يكون لنا تأثير أكبر على بقية العالم من خلال إظهار بقية العالم لعزمنا على العيش بمثلنا هنا في أمريكا ، بدلاً من استخدام القوة الغاشمة لإثبات تصميمنا في مكان آخر.

عن المؤلف

روبرت رايخوكان روبرت ب. REICH، أستاذ المستشار للسياسة العامة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، وزير العمل في إدارة كلينتون. أطلقت مجلة تايم منه واحدا من أمناء مجلس الوزراء 10 الأكثر فعالية من القرن الماضي. وقد كتب الكتب ثلاثة عشر، بما في ذلك الكتب مبيعا "هزة ارتدادية"و"الذي تضطلع به الأمم". وأحدث مؤلفاته"ما بعد الغضب، "هو الآن في غلاف عادي، وهو أيضا محرر مؤسس في مجلة بروسبكت الأمريكية ورئيس قضية مشتركة.

كتب روبرت رايش

إنقاذ الرأسمالية: للكثيرين وليس القليل - بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

0345806220لقد تم الاحتفاء بأميركا من قبل وتعرفها من قبل الطبقة الوسطى الكبيرة والمزدهرة. الآن ، هذه الطبقة الوسطى تتقلص ، الأوليغارشية الجديدة آخذة في الارتفاع ، وتواجه البلاد أكبر تفاوت في ثرواتها في ثمانين سنة. لماذا يخسرنا النظام الاقتصادي الذي جعل أميركا قوية فجأة ، وكيف يمكن إصلاحها؟

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The True Test of American Resolve: Not Attacking Syria but Living Up to Our Ideals at Home

The True Test of American Resolve: Not Attacking Syria but Living Up to Our Ideals at Home

We are on the brink of a tragic decision to strike Syria, because, in the dubious logic of the President, “a lot of people think something should be done,” and American “credibility” is at stake. He and his secretary of state assure us that the strike will be “limited” and “surgical.”

The use of chemical weapons against Syrian citizens is abominable, and if Assad’s regime is responsible he should be treated as an international criminal and pariah.

But have we learned nothing from our mistakes in the past? Time and again over the last half century American presidents have justified so-called “surgical strikes” because the nation’s “credibility” is at stake, and because we have to take some action to show our “strength and resolve” — only to learn years later that our credibility suffered more from our brazen bellicosity, that the surgical strikes only intensified hostilities and made us captive to forces beyond our control, and that our resolve eventually disappears in the face of mounting casualties of Americans and innocent civilians — and in the absence of clearly-defined goals or even clear exit strategies. We and others have paid an incalculable price.

On Labor Day weekend we should instead be testing the nation’s resolve to provide good jobs at good wages to all Americans who need them, and measuring our credibility by the yardstick of equal opportunity. And we should strike (and join striking workers) against big employers who won’t provide their employees with minimally-decent wages. We need to commit ourselves to a living wage, and to providing more economic security to the millions of Americans now working harder but getting nowhere.

Mr. President, a lot of Americans do think something should be done — about these mounting problems at our doorstep here in America. We can have more influence on the rest of the world by showing the rest of the world our resolve to live by our ideals here in America, than by using brute force to prove our resolve elsewhere.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}