Hiver plus chaud et plus humide à ce jour

Résumé climatique du mois de février

Après une année record en 2012, 2013 poursuivra-t-il la tendance? Selon le résumé de février de l'état du climat de la NOAA, cet hiver a été plus chaud et plus humide dans une grande partie du continent américain. Nous devrons attendre le résumé de mars pour voir si les températures renversent le record du mois de mars de 2012.

États-Unis contigus plus chaud et plus humide que la moyenne pour la saison hivernale

NOAA - les températures et les précipitations de février sont près de la normale; Les conditions de sécheresse s'améliorent pour le Sud-Est et le Midwest et persistent pour une grande partie des Plaines et de l'Ouest.

La température moyenne pour les États-Unis contigus pendant la saison hivernale (2012 de décembre - 2013 de février) était de 34.3 ° F, 1.9 ° F au-dessus de la moyenne de 20e siècle, marquant le 20th hiver le plus chaud jamais enregistré. La température de février pour les États-Unis contigus était 34.8 ° F, 0.8 ° F au-dessus de la moyenne.

La moyenne des précipitations hivernales totales aux États-Unis contigus était de 7.10 pouces et était de 0.63 pouces au-dessus de la moyenne du 20e siècle. Février a contribué 2.00 pouces à ce total, qui était proche de la moyenne à long terme. En février, plusieurs tempêtes hivernales ont affecté la nation, améliorant les conditions de sécheresse dans le Sud-Est et le Midwest, mais des précipitations plus légères dans les plaines centrales et dans l'ouest de la montagne ont apporté peu de sécheresse.

Feburary Climate National Vue d'ensemble

Lire le rapport complet de la NOAA


Livres recommandés:

La faune de Yellowstone en transition

La faune de Yellowstone en transitionPlus de trente experts détectent des signes inquiétants d'un système sous pression. Ils identifient trois facteurs de stress prioritaires: les espèces envahissantes, le développement du secteur privé des terres non protégées, et le réchauffement climatique. Leurs recommandations finales vont façonner la discussion du XXIe siècle sur la façon de relever ces défis, non seulement dans les parcs américains, mais pour les zones de conservation dans le monde entier. Très lisible et entièrement illustré.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour commander «La faune de Yellowstone en transition» sur Amazon.

La surabondance de l'énergie: le changement climatique et la politique de l'adiposité

La surabondance de l'énergie: le changement climatique et la politique de l'adipositépar Ian Roberts. Raconte habilement l'histoire de l'énergie dans la société, et de l'adiposité «lieux prochain au changement climatique comme des manifestations d'un même malaise planétaire fondamentale. Ce livre passionnant fait valoir que le pouls de l'énergie fossile non seulement commencé le processus de changement climatique catastrophique, mais aussi propulsé les moyens humains répartition du poids vers le haut. Il propose et évalue pour le lecteur un ensemble de stratégies de-carbonisation personnelles et politiques.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour commander "La surabondance d'énergie" sur Amazon.

Last Stand: La Quête d'Ted Turner pour sauver une planète Troubled

Last Stand: La Quête d'Ted Turner pour sauver une planète Troubledpar Todd Wilkinson et Ted Turner. Entrepreneur et magnat des médias Ted Turner appelle le réchauffement climatique menace la plus terrible est confrontée l'humanité, et affirme que les magnats de l'avenir seront frappées dans le développement de l'énergie verte renouvelable, alternative. À travers les yeux de Ted Turner, nous considérons une autre façon de penser à l'environnement, nos obligations pour aider les autres dans le besoin, et les graves défis qui menacent la survie de la civilisation.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour commander "Last Stand: La Quête d'Ted Turner ..." sur Amazon.



Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

US Winter Warmer and Wetter So Far

Febuary Climate Summary

After a record year in 2012, will 2013 continue the trend? According to the February State of The Climate summary from NOAA, this winter has been warmer and wetter in much of the continental US. We will have to wait for the March summary to see if temperatures topple the record for March of 2012.

Contiguous U.S. warmer and wetter than average for winter season

NOAA - February temperatures and precipitation near-normal; Drought conditions improve for Southeast and Midwest and persist for much of Plains and West.

The average temperature for the contiguous U.S. during the winter season (December 2012 — February 2013) was 34.3°F, 1.9°F above the 20th century average, marking the 20th warmest winter on record. The February temperature for the contiguous U.S. was 34.8°F, 0.8°F above average.

The total winter precipitation averaged across the contiguous United States was 7.10 inches and this was 0.63 inches above the 20th century average. February contributed 2.00 inches to this total, which was near the long-term average. During February, several winter storms impacted the nation, improving drought conditions across the Southeast and Midwest, but lighter precipitation totals across the Central Plains and Mountain West provided little drought relief.

Feburary Climate National Overview

Read The Complete NOAA Report


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.



 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Animal Perspectives on the Corona Virus
by Nancy Windheart
In this post, I share a few of the communications and transmissions from some of the non-human wisdom teachers I’ve connected with about our global situation, and in particular, the crucible of the…
The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…