التكلفة الاقتصادية للأعاصير المدمرة وغيرها من الظواهر الجوية الشديدة أسوأ حتى مما كنا نظن

التكلفة الاقتصادية للأعاصير المدمرة وغيرها من الظواهر الجوية الشديدة أسوأ حتى مما كنا نظن

يصادف شهر يونيو الانطلاقة الرسمية لموسم الأعاصير. إذا كان التاريخ الحديث هو أي دليل ، فسيثبت أنه عام مدمر آخر بفضل التأثير المتزايد لتغير المناخ.

ولكن فيما وراء الأعاصير الشديدة وحرائق الغابات المتفجرة ، فإن المناخ الدافئ لقد تم إلقاء اللوم عليه من أجل تسبب ارتفاع حاد في جميع أنواع الأحداث الجوية القاسية في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، مثل الفيضانات الشديدة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة هذا الربيع و جفاف واسع في الجنوب الغربي في السنوات الأخيرة.

في أواخر العام الماضي ، و انفجرت وسائل الإعلام أن هذه وغيرها من عواقب تغير المناخ يمكن خفض الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للولايات المتحدة بواسطة 10٪ بحلول نهاية القرن - "أكثر من ضعف خسائر الكساد العظيم" ، مثل نيويورك تايمز بالرنين. هذا الرقم مأخوذ من شخصية واحدة في حكومة الولايات المتحدة التقييم الوطني الرابع للمناخ. (الإفصاح: لقد راجعت هذا التقرير وكنت نائب الرئيس في التقرير الثالث ، الذي صدر في 2014.)

إذا كان هذا يبدو مخيفًا ، فلدي أخبار جيدة وأخبار سيئة. والخبر السار هو أن هذا الرقم تم استخلاصه بشكل غير صحيح من قراءة خاطئة كبيرة للتقرير - والتي عرضت في الواقع مجموعة من خسارة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من منخفضة تصل إلى 6٪ إلى 14٪ إلى 2090.

لكن الأخبار السيئة هي أن التقييم الأكثر جدوى لتكاليف تغير المناخ - باستخدام المبادئ الاقتصادية الأساسية أنا أدرس للطلاب الجامعيين - هو جحيم الكثير من الرعب.

حصر التكاليف

أولاً ، دعونا نلقي نظرة على كيفية قيام الوكالات الحكومية وشركات التأمين ووسائل الإعلام بحساب التكاليف الاقتصادية للكوارث والإبلاغ عنها.

وفقًا للإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي ، تسبب إعصاران مايكل وفلورنسا في 2018 في خسائر بلغت قيمتها حوالي 25 مليار دولار أمريكي ، المساهمة في حصيلة إجمالية قدرها 91 مليار دولار من كوارث الطقس والمناخ في تلك السنة. في 2017 ، كان إجمالي NOAA أكبر من ذلك: 306 مليار دولار ، بسبب الدمار الهائل من الأعاصير هارفي ، إيرما وماريا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن هذه الأرقام ليست مقاييس حقيقية للضرر الاقتصادي. بدلاً من ذلك ، فهي تعكس ببساطة تقديرات لما يعتقد الناس أنه يجب استثماره لإعادة بناء ما لحق به من أضرار أو دمرت في العواصف أو الفيضانات أو الحرائق.

لفهم التكاليف الاقتصادية لحدث الطقس القاسي حقًا ، من المهم مراعاة جميع الاستثمارات "المزدحمة" أو المفقودة لتغطية تكاليف إعادة البناء هذه. وبعبارة أخرى ، هناك فقط الكثير من المال للالتفاف. وأن مبلغ 25 مليار دولار الذي يتم استخدامه لإعادة البناء يعني أن 25 مليار دولار لا تُستخدم لفرص الاستثمار العامة والخاصة الأخرى الأكثر استشرافًا أو أكثر احتمالًا للنمو.

المحاسبة للنمو

بدلاً من ذلك ، أعتقد أن الطريقة السليمة بشكل أكبر للقيام بذلك هي استخدام شيء يسمى "محاسبة النمو".

محاسبة النمو يدمج الاستخدام المنتج لرأس المال والابتكار في المعادلة. والسؤال الذي نريد طرحه هو ما يحدث لنمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي عندما تحبط جهود التعافي من الأحداث المتطرفة الاستثمارات الإنتاجية ، مثل بناء مصانع جديدة أو طرق وجسور؟

بالعودة إلى خسائر NOAA المقدرة لـ 2017 و 2018 ، انخفض الاستثمار الإنتاجي بحوالي 400 مليار دولار في المجموع في تلك السنوات كنتيجة لذلك. أي لو لم تحدث تلك الكوارث لكان الاستثمار أعلى من ذلك بكثير. وهذا الاستثمار المتناقص يترجم إلى نمو أقل في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي - وهو مقياس لكل اقتصاد ينتج في فترة معينة.

إذا حدثت تجارب مماثلة في الأحداث المتطرفة لسنوات 10 القادمة - وهذا ليس افتراضًا سيئًا نظرًا لأن أربعة من أغلى سنوات التاريخ حدثت في الخمس الماضية - سيكون الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الأمريكي في 2029 أقل بنحو 3.6٪ مما كان يمكن أن يكون عليه ، بناءً على حساباتي باستخدام حساب النمو.

هذا يصل إلى اقتصاد يبلغ حجمه 1 تريليون دولار أكثر فقراً نتيجة لهذه الأحداث المناخية القاسية التي أدت إلى ازدهار الاستثمار المنتج.

هذه هي التكلفة الحقيقية لعالم تحدث فيه هذه الأنواع من الكوارث المدمرة بشكل كبير.

عاجلا ومخيف

وبالعودة إلى الرقم 10٪ الخاص بنا ، فإن 3.6٪ أصغر نسبيًا ، بالطبع ، لكنه أسرع كثيرًا مما يجعله أكثر إثارة للرعب.

لماذا؟

لأن عدد الأحداث المتطرفة وقوتها التدميرية يحتفظ زيادة بمعدل متسارع. إذا استطعنا أن نتوقع أن نحقق قيمة 1 تريليون دولار على مدى العقد القادم ، فإن التكاليف بحلول نهاية القرن لن تكون سهلة الفهم.

لذلك في حين أنني قد أختلف مع الأرقام التي تستخدمها صحيفة نيويورك تايمز وآخرون في حصر الكوارث ، فإنهم على حق في تحفيز القراء على التحرك.

الوضع أكثر رعبا بكثير ثم يدرك أي شخص. مع أي حظ ، فإن حجم الرقم يخيفنا لبذل المزيد من الجهد لتفادي الأسوأ.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

غاري و. يوهي ، أستاذ مؤسسة الدراسات الاقتصادية والبيئية في هافينغتون ، جامعة ويسليان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

عواصف أحفادي: الحقيقة حول كارثة المناخ القادمة وآخر فرصة لإنقاذ البشرية

جيمس هانسن
1608195023يوضح الدكتور جيمس هانسن ، عالم المناخ الرائد في العالم ، أنه على عكس الانطباع الذي تلقاه الجمهور ، أصبح علم تغير المناخ أكثر وضوحًا ووضوحًا منذ إصدار الغلاف. في عواصف أحفادييتحدث هانسن لأول مرة عن الحقيقة الكاملة حول ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري: الكوكب يزدهر بسرعة أكبر من المعترف به سابقًا إلى نقطة مناخية تتمثل في عدم العودة. في شرح علم التغير المناخي ، يرسم هانسن صورة مدمرة ولكنها واقعية للغاية لما سيحدث في حياة أطفالنا وأحفادنا إذا تابعنا المسار الذي نحن فيه. لكنه أيضًا متفائل ، حيث يظهر أنه لا يزال هناك وقت لاتخاذ الإجراءات العاجلة والقوية اللازمة - بالكاد. متاح في أمازون

الطقس القاسي والمناخ

بقلم سي. دونالد أهرينز ، بيري ج. سامسون
0495118575
يُعد Extreme Weather & Climate حلًا فريدًا لكتاب مدرسي للسوق سريعة النمو في دورات العلوم غير التخصصية التي تركز على الطقس القاسي. مع التغطية التأسيسية القوية لعلم الأرصاد الجوية ، يقدم المتطرف الطقس والمناخ أسباب وآثار الأحداث والظروف الجوية القاسية. يتعلم الطلاب علم الأرصاد الجوية في سياق الأحداث المناخية الهامة والمألوفة في كثير من الأحيان مثل إعصار كاترينا وسوف يستكشفون كيف يمكن للتغيرات المناخية المتوقعة أن تؤثر على تواتر و / أو شدة الأحداث المناخية القاسية في المستقبل. مجموعة مثيرة من الصور والرسوم التوضيحية يجلب كثافة الطقس وتأثيره المدمر في بعض الأحيان على كل فصل. يمزج هذا الكتاب ، الذي كتبه فريق مؤلف محترم وفريد ​​من نوعه ، بين التغطية الموجودة في نصوص Don Ahrens الرائدة في السوق مع الرؤى والدعم التكنولوجي الذي ساهم به المؤلف المشارك بيري سامسون. قام البروفيسور سامسون بتطوير دورة الطقس المتطرفة في جامعة ميشيغان والتي تعد أسرع دورة العلوم نمواً في الجامعة. متاح في أمازون

الفيضانات في مناخ متغير: هطول الأمطار الشديد

بواسطة راميش إس. تيجافارابو

9781108446747يعد قياس وتحليل ونمذجة أحداث الهطول الشديد المرتبطة بالفيضانات أمرًا حيويًا في فهم التأثيرات المناخية المتغيرة وتقلبها. يقدم هذا الكتاب طرقًا لتقييم الاتجاهات في هذه الأحداث وتأثيراتها. كما يوفر أساسًا لوضع إجراءات ومبادئ توجيهية لهندسة الهيدرولوجيا التكيفية مع المناخ. سيجد الباحثون الأكاديميون في مجالات الهيدرولوجيا ، وتغير المناخ ، والأرصاد الجوية ، والسياسة البيئية وتقييم المخاطر ، والمهنيون وواضعو السياسات الذين يعملون في مجال التخفيف من المخاطر ، وهندسة الموارد المائية ، والتكيف مع المناخ ، مورداً لا يقدر بثمن. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Economic Cost Of Devastating Hurricanes And Other Extreme Weather Events Is Even Worse Than We Thought

The Economic Cost Of Devastating Hurricanes And Other Extreme Weather Events Is Even Worse Than We Thought

June marks the official start of hurricane season. If recent history is any guide, it will prove to be another destructive year thanks to the worsening impact of climate change.

But beyond more intense hurricanes and explosive wildfires, the warming climate has been blamed for causing a sharp uptick in all types of extreme weather events across the country, such as severe flooding across the U.S. this spring and extensive drought in the Southwest in recent years.

Late last year, the media blared that these and other consequences of climate change could cut U.S. GDP by 10% by the end of the century – “more than double the losses of the Great Depression,” as The New York Times intoned. That figure was drawn from a single figure in the U.S. government’s Fourth National Climate Assessment. (Disclosure: I reviewed that report and was the vice chair on the third one, released in 2014.)

If that sounds scary, I have good news and bad news. The good news is that that figure was drawn incorrectly from a significant misreading of the report - which actually offered a range of a loss of GDP from as low as 6% to as high as 14% by 2090.

The bad news, however, is that a more meaningful assessment of the costs of climate change – using basic economic principles I teach to undergrads – is a hell of a lot scarier.

Tallying the costs

First, let’s look at how government agencies, insurance companies and the media calculate and report on the economic costs of disasters.

According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, in 2018 hurricanes Michael and Florence each caused about US$25 billion in damages, contributing to a total toll of $91 billion from that year’s weather and climate disasters. In 2017, the NOAA’s total was even bigger: $306 billion, due to the massive destruction from hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But these tallies are not really valid measures of economic damage. Instead, they simply reflect estimates of what people think will need to be invested to rebuild what was damaged or destroyed in the storms, floods or fires.

To really understand the economic costs of an extreme weather event, it’s important to consider all the investment that is being “crowded out” or lost to cover those rebuilding costs. Put another way, there’s only so much money to go around. And that $25 billion being used to rebuild means $25 billion is not being used for other public and private investment opportunities that are more forward-looking or more likely to promote growth.

Accounting for growth

Instead, I believe a fundamentally more sound way to do this is to use something called “growth accounting.”

Growth accounting incorporates the productive use of capital and innovation into the equation. The question we want to ask is what happens to GDP growth when recovery efforts from extreme events crowd out productive investments, like building new factories or roads and bridges?

Returning to NOAA’s estimated losses for 2017 and 2018, productive investment fell about $400 billion in total in those years as a result. That is, had those disasters not happened, investment would have been that much higher. And that diminished investment translates into less growth in gross domestic product – a measure of all an economy produces in a given period.

If similar experiences in extreme events occur for the next 10 years – which is not a bad assumption given that four of the most expensive years in history have occurred in the last five – U.S. GDP in 2029 would be about 3.6% lower than it would have been otherwise, based on my calculations using growth accounting.

That amounts to an economy that’s $1 trillion poorer as result of these extreme weather events crowding out productive investment.

This is the real cost of a world in which these types of massively destructive disasters happen more frequently.

Sooner and scarier

Returning to our 10% figure, 3.6% is comparatively smaller, of course, but it’s much sooner, which makes it much scarier.

Why?

Because the number of extreme events and their destructive power keeps increasing at an accelerating rate. If we can expect to take a $1 trillion hit over just the next decade, the costs by the end of the century are hardly fathomable.

So while I may disagree with the numbers The New York Times and others use in tallying disasters, they are right to try to spur readers to action.

The situation is just a lot more dire then anyone realizes. With any luck, the size of the figure will frighten us to do more to stave off the worst.The Conversation

About The Author

Gary W. Yohe, Huffington Foundation Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies, Wesleyan University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Storms of My Grandchildren: The Truth About the Coming Climate Catastrophe and Our Last Chance to Save Humanity

by James Hansen
1608195023Dr. James Hansen, the world's leading climatologist, shows that exactly contrary to the impression the public has received, the science of climate change has become even clearer and sharper since the hardcover was released. In Storms of My Grandchildren, Hansen speaks out for the first time with the full truth about global warming: The planet is hurtling even more rapidly than previously acknowledged to a climatic point of no return. In explaining the science of climate change, Hansen paints a devastating but all-too-realistic picture of what will happen in our children's and grandchildren's lifetimes if we follow the course we're on. But he is also an optimist, showing that there is still time to take the urgent, strong action that is needed- just barely.  Available On Amazon

Extreme Weather and Climate

by C. Donald Ahrens, Perry J. Samson
0495118575
Extreme Weather & Climate is a unique textbook solution for the fast-growing market of non-majors science courses focused on extreme weather. With strong foundational coverage of the science of meteorology, Extreme Weather & Climate introduces the causes and impacts of extreme weather events and conditions. Students learn the science of meteorology in context of important and often familiar weather events such as Hurricane Katrina and they'll explore how forecast changes in climate may influence frequency and/or intensity of future extreme weather events. An exciting array of photos and illustrations brings the intensity of weather and its sometimes devastating impact to every chapter. Written by a respected and unique author team, this book blends coverage found in Don Ahrens market-leading texts with insights and technology support contributed by co-author Perry Samson. Professor Samson has developed an Extreme Weather course at the University of Michigan that is the fastest-growing science course at the university. Available On Amazon

Floods in a Changing Climate: Extreme Precipitation

by Ramesh S. V. Teegavarapu

9781108446747Measurement, analysis and modeling of extreme precipitation events linked to floods is vital in understanding changing climate impacts and variability. This book provides methods for assessment of the trends in these events and their impacts. It also provides a basis to develop procedures and guidelines for climate-adaptive hydrologic engineering. Academic researchers in the fields of hydrology, climate change, meteorology, environmental policy and risk assessment, and professionals and policy-makers working in hazard mitigation, water resources engineering and climate adaptation will find this an invaluable resource. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}