القطار إلى الاستدامة: المحطة التالية ، مسقط رأسك

القطار إلى الاستدامة: المحطة التالية ، مسقط رأسك

الانتباه والركاب: القطار إلى الاستدامة الآن يجري المحلية.

أكثر من 80 بالمائة من الأمريكيين يعيشون الآن في المدن أو حولها - كما أن تحضر سكاننا له آثاره الرئيسية على تغير المناخ. إن الحجم الهائل لكل هذا النمو في المناطق عالية التركيز ، مقترنا بالنمو المقابل في انبعاثات الكربون ، يتطلب أن تكون مدننا قادرة على التكيف والتطور بسرعة أكبر من أي وقت مضى.

والخبر السار هو: يمكنهم ذلك. لقد تبين أن العديد من الأشياء التي نقوم بها لجعل مجتمعاتنا آمنة وصحية ومرتفعة اقتصاديًا هي نفس الأشياء التي يمكن أن تساعدنا في التكيف مع تغير المناخ والحد منه. تعمل العديد من المدن جاهدة لتقديم مجموعة من خيارات السكن ، من الشقق إلى المنازل العائلية الواحدة. لتشجيع الاستخدام المتنوع والمرور العابر ، بحيث يمكن للناس المشي أو ركوب القطار للقيام بمهماتهم والقيام بالتسوق ؛ وإنشاء أشكال موثوقة وسهلة الوصول من وسائل النقل العام للوصول إلى المدرسة والعمل.

وكما يحدث ، تعمل هذه المدن أيضًا على تقليل اعتماد مواطنيها بشكل عام على السيارات ، والحد بشكل كبير من تلوث الكربون.

المكونات الأساسية لأي مدينة صحية هي السكن الجيد ، والوظائف الجيدة ، والنقل الجيد. تحقيق ذلك ، NRDC الحلول الحضرية وقد اتخذ البرنامج نهجا تعاونيا للناس لأول مرة لتعزيز الاستدامة الحضرية من خلال تمكين الجيران من استعادة وتجديد مجتمعاتهم المحلية. يتعاون المخططون وخبراء السياسات والمهندسون والمحامون وغيرهم ممن يشكلون مجموعتنا مع المسؤولين ومجموعات المجتمع والأفراد لتوليد أفكار جديدة وكسر الحواجز التي قد تؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى تأخير العمل.

نرى بالفعل علامات على حدوث تغيير إيجابي في المدن في جميع أنحاء البلاد - بما في ذلك بعض المفاجآت. في لوس انجليس ، على سبيل المثال ، تنشيط نهر لوس انجليس، جنبا إلى جنب مع ضخمة و تشتد الحاجة إليها استثمارات جديدة في وسائل النقل العام ، لديها الآن القدرة على تحويل المدينة التي يعتقد معظم الناس بأنها مبنية من الخرسانة ومصممة للسيارات. وستكون النتيجة مكانًا أكثر ملاءمة للعيش: حيث تختلط المنازل والأعمال التجارية مع موائل الحياة البرية والمساحات الخضراء العامة ، وحيث لا تكون هناك حاجة للسيارة للتجول.

على مستوى الأحياء الفردية ، كانت المجتمعات التاريخية مثل Little Tokyo و Watts تعمل على الإبداع المناطق البيئية الثقافية التي من شأنها تشجيع التنمية المستدامة مع الحفاظ على جوانب هامة من الهويات الثقافية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


القيادة هي المفتاح. يعتبر رؤساء البلديات فريدين من نوعه بين المسؤولين في أن لديهم القدرة على وضع أهداف طموحة - ثم حشد المؤسسات العامة والخاصة والمدنية للانضمام إليها في تحقيق هذه الأهداف. وبشكل ملائم ، فإن أكثر من المدن الأمريكية في 200 أضافت الآن مدراء الاستدامة إلى قوائمهم الحكومية البلدية ؛ لم يجد هؤلاء الموظفون العموميون طرقًا لزيادة كفاءة الطاقة إلى أقصى حد فحسب ، بل أيضًا دعم الجهود الرامية إلى توفير الغذاء الصحي للأحياء المحرومة وإعداد السكان لأحداث الطقس المتطرفة.

في أتلانتا ، يساعد عمدة المدينة ، كاسم ريد ومدير الاستدامة ، دينيس كوارلز ، في جعل مدينتهم زعيماً وطنياً في التنمية المستدامة من خلال القيام بأشياء مثل زراعة الحدائق في أكثر من أحياء 50 ، ومن خلال دعم أحد أكثر مشاريع العبور إبداعاً في البلاد. -ال اتلانتا حزام خط—التي تقوم بتحويل خطوط الشحن المهجورة إلى طريق ترام وشبكة درب الدراجة. من العمل الذي يقومون به وقادة المدن الأخرى في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، أصبح من الأسهل من أي وقت مضى أن نرى أن مدننا الأكثر استدامة هي أيضًا أماكننا الأكثر صحة ، والأكثر قوة من الناحية الاقتصادية للعيش والعمل واللعب.

هذه المادة ظهرت أصلا في OnEarth


عن المؤلف

مدير برنامج Urban Solutions التابع لشركة NRDC ، Shelley Potichaوقد عمل مدير برنامج Urban Solutions التابع لشركة NRDC ، Shelley Poticha ، في العديد من مبادرات NRDC ، بما في ذلك إصلاح سياسة النقل ، و LEED-ND ، وإنشاء Smart Growth America. كانت سابقاً مستشارة رفيعة ومديرة لمكتب الإسكان والمجتمعات المستدامة في وزارة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية. كما شغلت منصب الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي لشركة Reconnecting America ، حيث أصبحت زعيمة وطنية لإصلاح تخطيط وسياسة استخدام الأراضي والنقل بهدف تحقيق تنمية أكثر استدامة وعادلة. وقبل ذلك ، عملت كمديرة تنفيذية لمؤتمر الكونغرس للحضارة الجديدة. وهي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في تخطيط المدن من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي ، وبكالوريوس من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سانتا كروز.


توصي InnerSelf بما يلي:

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ
بواسطة نعومي كلاين.

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل المناخ من قبل نعومي كلاين.الكتاب الأكثر أهمية حتى الآن من مؤلف الكتاب الأكثر مبيعا في العالم عقيدة الصدمة، تفسيراً رائعاً عن سبب تحدينا لأزمة المناخ للتخلي عن إيديولوجية "السوق الحر" الأساسية في عصرنا ، وإعادة هيكلة الاقتصاد العالمي ، وإعادة تشكيل أنظمتنا السياسية. باختصار ، إما أن نتبنى تغييرًا جذريًا بأنفسنا أو سوف يتم إجراء تغييرات جذرية على عالمنا المادي. الوضع الراهن لم يعد خيارًا. في هذا يغير كل شيء تقول نعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى لتقديمها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. انها ناقوس الخطر الذي يدعونا لإصلاح النظام الاقتصادي الذي فشل بالفعل لنا في نواح كثيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Train to Sustainability: Next Stop, Your Hometown

The Train to Sustainability: Next Stop, Your Hometown

Attention, passengers: The train to sustainability is now going local.

More than 80 percent of Americans now live in or around cities—and the urbanization of our population has major implications for climate change. The sheer volume of all this growth in highly concentrated areas, combined with the corresponding growth in carbon emissions, requires that our cities be able to adapt and evolve more quickly than ever before.

The good news is: they can. It turns out that many of the things we do to make our communities safe, healthy, and economically resilient are the very same things that can help us adapt to, and curb the effects of, climate change. Many cities are already working hard to offer an array of housing options, from apartments to single-family homes; to encourage mixed-use and transit-oriented development, so that people can walk or take a train to run their errands and do their shopping; and to create reliable, accessible forms of public transportation for getting to school and to work.

As it happens, these cities are also decreasing their citizens’ overall reliance on automobiles, and substantially reducing carbon pollution as a result.

The basic ingredients of any healthy city are good housing, good jobs, and good transportation. Realizing this, NRDC’s Urban Solutions program has taken a collaborative, people-first approach to fostering urban sustainability by empowering neighbors to restore and revitalize their own communities. The planners, policy experts, engineers, lawyers, and others who make up our group collaborate with officials, community groups, and individuals to generate new ideas and break through the barriers that can often delay action.

Already, we’re seeing signs of positive change in cities all over the country—including some surprises. In Los Angeles, for example, the revitalization of the Los Angeles River, combined with massive and much-needed new investments in public transportation, now have the potential to transform the city that most people think of as built from concrete and designed for automobiles. The result will be a much more livable place: where houses and businesses mix with wildlife habitat and public green space, and where a car is not required to get around.

At the level of individual neighborhoods, historic communities such as Little Tokyo and Watts have been working to create cultural eco-districts that will encourage sustainable development while preserving important aspects of their cultural identities.

Leadership is key. Mayors are unique among officials in that they have the ability to set ambitious goals—and then to rally public, private, and civic institutions to join them in meeting these goals. Fittingly, more than 200 U.S. cities have now added sustainability directors to their municipal government rosters; these public servants are not only finding ways to maximize energy efficiency but also supporting efforts to bring healthy food to disadvantaged neighborhoods and prepare residents for extreme weather events.

In Atlanta, Mayor Kasim Reed and his director of sustainability, Denise Quarles, are helping to make their city a national leader in sustainable development by doing things like planting gardens in more than 50 neighborhoods, and by championing one of the country's most creative transit projects—the Atlanta Belt Line—which is converting abandoned freight lines into a streetcar route and bike-trail network. From the work that they and other city leaders are doing across the country, it’s becoming easier than ever to see that our most sustainable cities are also our healthiest, most economically robust places to live, work, and play.

This article originally appeared in OnEarth


About the Author

The director of NRDC's Urban Solutions program, Shelley PotichaThe director of NRDC's Urban Solutions program, Shelley Poticha has worked on various NRDC initiatives, including transportation policy reform, LEED-ND, and the creation of Smart Growth America. She was formerly a senior advisor and director of the Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities at the Department of Housing and Urban Development. She also served as president and CEO of Reconnecting America, where she became a national leader for the reform of land use and transportation planning and policy with the goal of creating more sustainable and equitable development. Prior to that, she served as executive director of the Congress for the New Urbanism. She holds a master's in city planning from the University of California, Berkeley, and a bachelor's from the University of California, Santa Cruz.


InnerSelf Recommends:

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
by Naomi Klein.

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi Klein.The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core “free market” ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems. In short, either we embrace radical change ourselves or radical changes will be visited upon our physical world. The status quo is no longer an option. In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}