المقاومة الاقتصادية ستنتشر في المناخ الشعبي مارس

احتجاج المناخ(فليكر / كريستين ايرفين)

الكتابة لل نائب في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، ناتاشا لينارد جادل على الرغم من أن مسيرة المناخ الشعبية تستحق النشر ، إلا أنه لا ينبغي أن تحظى بلقب تاريخي: "أخذها في عزلة ، مسيرات جماهيرية - حتى عندما تكون ضخمة بالفعل - لا يصنعها التاريخ". إن تحليل لينارد صحيح تمامًا ، ولكنه لا ينطبق على هذا أحداث نهاية الأسبوع الماضي.

مجتمعة ، مسيرة المناخ الشعبية يوم الأحد تليها فيضان وول ستريت في اليوم التالي ، رفعت السرد حول تغير المناخ الذي كان مستحيلاً حتى بالنسبة لمعظم وسائل الإعلام السائدة. على حد قول جيمس كارفيل ، رئيس برنامج فوكس نيوز ، "إنه الاقتصاد ، يا غبي".

تكافح لتناسب في إطار التيار الرئيسي

حاولوا ، كما يحاولون ، أن يجدوا قصة تتلاءم بشكل مريح مع ما يسمى بإطار البيئة "السائد" - وهذا هو ، واحد أكثر ملاءمة للحلول القائمة على السوق مما كان تقليديا في الطبقة السوداء والبنية والطبقة العاملة والمهمشون المجتمعات التي تقع داخل "مناطق التضحية" للاقتصاد الاستخراجي. ولم تصب كذلك راية 300-foot الطويلة المكتوبة بالعبارة "الرأسمالية = الفوضى المناخية".

يوم الثلاثاء ، قمة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اليوم قصة على المسيرة المناخية وبدأت صحيفة "فلود وول ستريت" بحكم قد يبدو أكثر في المنزل في عالم التدوين الأيسر منه في واحدة من أكثر الصحف انتشارًا في البلاد:

"جمع زوج من الاحتجاجات الضخمة في نيويورك هذا الأسبوع تغيّر المناخ ، وول ستريت والحاجة إلى التنظيم كمخاوف بشأن مستقبل الكوكب الذي ملأه شعور بأن الرأسمالية بدون قواعد تشكل تهديدًا وجوديًا".

مع مجموعات مثل ميسا الأسود التحالف المياه . تحتل ساندي في الجبهة يوم الأحد ، كان من الواضح أن هذا لم يكن مجرد تجمّع مناخي أكبر ، بل تجمعًا مختلفًا تمامًا. ويدرك سكان Far Rockaways و Diné Nation وعدد لا حصر له من المجتمعات الأخرى على الخطوط الأمامية لأزمة المناخ أن الاقتصاد القائم على النمو اللامتناهي لا يعمل سواء بالنسبة للناس أو الكوكب. كما قال المدير التنفيذي لائتلاف Black Mesa Water Coalition Jihan Gearon مؤخرا، "يمكن أن تكون هناك قوة بدون تلوث وطاقة بدون ظلم".

إن عملية جمع المسيرة - رغم أنها لم يسبق لها مثيل في حركة المناخ السائدة - هي عملية كان يمكن أن تحدث قبل سنوات. ولأسباب تبدو ظاهرية ، فإن أولئك الأكثر تأثراً بتغير المناخ واستخراجه كانوا أول من استجاب لهذه القوى. من الكفاح العمالي إلى المقاومة المحلية ، تمتد الحركة "البيئية" إلى ما قبل يوم الأرض أو راشيل كارسون صمت الربيع. ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تكون فيها هذه الشركات على الجانب الخطأ من التاريخ.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في 1960 ، نظمت NAACP المقاطعة الوطنية شركات النفط الكبرى بسبب مشاركتها في القوائم السوداء الصادرة عن مجالس المواطنين البيض العنصريين. عمال مناجم الفحم في أبالاتشي ، ولاية بنسلفانيا ، كولورادو وأماكن أخرى خاض بعض من أكثر معارك العمل المسلح في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة ضد صناعة الوقود الأحفوري في جميع أنحاء الكثير من 20th القرن. كان من المفترض أن تكون المجموعات المشاركة في صراعات الأجيال السابقة على الطاولة قبل سنوات.

التحليل الاقتصادي نقطة تحول لأزمة المناخ

وفي وقت متأخر ، فإن التحول العلني هذا الأسبوع نحو إجراء تحليل اقتصادي أكثر شمولاً لأزمة المناخ هو نقطة تحول إيجابية ، ونعمية ، لحركة ظلت لفترة طويلة جداً مستندة إلى استراتيجيات من أعلى إلى أسفل وقائمة على السوق. الإصلاحات. وقد جاء هذا التحول من الأسفل: من المنظمات المجتمعية التي تقاتل المحارق وخطوط الأنابيب والتكسير في مصدرها ، إلى الطلاب في الجامعات. يطالب مدارسهم التجريد من الصناعة التي تسرق مستقبلهم.

كما تنبأ منظمي المسيرة ، و المناخ الشعبي مارس كان أكبر مظاهرة مناخية في التاريخ ؛ النقابات العمالية والطوائف الدينية وطلاب الجامعات والعلماء وكلها تحولت إلى حيز التنفيذ - أحدث التقديرات حول المشاركة تجاوزت عدد 400,000. القضية هي أن هذا النوع من الحركة المناخية التي تم إعدادها في الأسبوع الماضي يجب أن يكون تحديدًا أكثر.

خذ ما يمكن أن يكون أكبر حشدين جماهيريين خلال العقد الماضي: الحركات المناهضة للحرب والمهاجرة. في 2003 ، تضاعفت الاحتجاجات ضد الحرب في العراق إلى 400,000 في مدينة نيويورك وحدها ، مع الملايين أكثر من جميع أنحاء العالم. في 2006 ، جلبت حركة حقوق المهاجرين ما يقرب من مليون شخص إلى الشوارع في جميع أنحاء البلاد لمحاربة مرور HR 4437 ، وهو إجراء إصلاح هجرة رجعي تم تمريره في مجلس النواب ، لكنه فشل في مجلس الشيوخ - في جزء كبير بفضل تزايد الضغط الشعبي في الشوارع وعلى مستوى المجتمع. على غرار تلك المظاهرات ، فإن نجاح المناخ الشعبي مارس سيتم تحديدها في الأسابيع والأشهر التي تليها.

ومن المفارقات أن وسائل الإعلام اليمينية ربما تكون قد ابتعدت عن أحداث هذا الأسبوع ربما مع أوضح فهم للوضع القائم. وفقا إلى Newsbustersوهو منفذ إخباري محافظ على شبكة الإنترنت ، "لم يكن هناك أي نقص في متظاهري جوثام الذين كانوا في كثير من الأحيان يدعون بشكل غير مهني إلى وضع نهاية للرأسمالية واستبدالها بـ" مستقبل اشتراكي "." ما الذي يجب أن يثير قلق أولئك الذين على اليمين؟ أي شخص فالمواطنون لإيديولوجية السوق الحرة - ليسوا المنظمة الدولية لتوحيد المقاييس ، أو حزب العمال العالمي ، أو الحزب الشيوعي الأمريكي ، لكن العدد المتزايد من الناس الذين لم يسمعوا قط عن تلك المجموعات يصلون إلى نفس النتيجة: أن النمو الذي لا نهاية له لا يتفق مع كوكب صالح للعيش.

التحول الاستراتيجي

الـ المناخ الشعبي مارس يمثل أيضا تحول استراتيجي. خلافا لغيرها من المتظاهرين المناخ مؤخرا - XL المعارضة في شهر مارس ، إلى الأمام على المناخ في 2013 ، Tar Sands Action في 2011 - لم يكن المتظاهرون يوجهون اتهامات إلى صانع القرار بقدر ما هو نظام كامل: لا يوجد رئيس واحد أو منظمة أو حتى بلد يمكنه "إصلاح" الاقتصاد.

يتطلب توليد قوة الشعب اللازمة لوقف أسوأ أزمة مناخية تحولاً ثقافياً في علاقتنا بالطاقة ، وخلق إرادة سياسية كافية للسيطرة على صناعة الوقود الأحفوري على المستوى الوطني والدولي. كما ستطالب بإعادة توزيع ثروة الصناعة في إعادة بناء الخدمات العامة مثل الرفاه والتعليم ، فضلاً عن إعادة الاستثمار في حلول الطاقة اللامركزية التي يمكن أن تبدأ في تلبية الاحتياجات على نطاق واسع. إنها ليست بيئية أكثر شمولاً ، بل هي حركة جماهيرية يمكنها صنع التاريخ والمستقبل.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على شن حملة اللاعنف


عن المؤلف

ارونوف كيتكيت آرونوف كاتبة مستقلة وصحفية تقيم في فيلادلفيا ، بنسيلفانيا. أثناء وجودها في المدرسة ، عملت على نطاق واسع مع حركة تصفية الوقود الأحفوري على المستوى المحلي والوطني ، وشاركت في تأسيس Swarthmore Mountain Justice وشبكة Fossil Fuel Divestment Student (DSN). وهي تعمل حاليًا على بناء شبكة كهرباء للطلاب عبر ولاية بنسلفانيا. اتبعها على تويتر @ katearonoff


أوصى كتاب:

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ
بواسطة نعومي كلاين.

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل المناخ من قبل نعومي كلاين.الكتاب الأكثر أهمية حتى الآن من مؤلف الكتاب الأكثر مبيعا في العالم عقيدة الصدمة، تفسيراً رائعاً عن سبب تحدينا لأزمة المناخ للتخلي عن إيديولوجية "السوق الحر" الأساسية في عصرنا ، وإعادة هيكلة الاقتصاد العالمي ، وإعادة تشكيل أنظمتنا السياسية. باختصار ، إما أن نتبنى تغييرًا جذريًا بأنفسنا أو أن يتم إجراء تغييرات جذرية عليه عالمنا المادي. الوضع الراهن لم يعد خيارًا. في هذا يغير كل شيء تقول نعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى لتقديمها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. انها ناقوس الخطر الذي يدعونا لإصلاح النظام الاقتصادي الذي فشل بالفعل لنا في نواح كثيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Economic Resistance Went Mainstream at People’s Climate March

climate protest(Flickr / Christine Irvine)

Writing for Vice earlier this week, Natasha Lennard argued that, while newsworthy, the People’s Climate March should not earn the title of historic: “Taken in isolation, mass marches — even when truly massive — do not history make.” Lennard’s analysis is exactly right, but it doesn’t apply to this past weekend’s events.

Combined, the People’s Climate March on Sunday followed by Flood Wall Street the next day, uplifted a narrative around climate change that was impossible for even the most mainstream of media to ignore. In the words of Fox News talking head James Carville, “It’s the economy, stupid.”

Struggling To Fit In Mainstream Framework

Try as they might, journalists struggled to find a story that fit comfortably into a so-called “mainstream” environmentalist framework — that is, one friendlier to market-based solutions than it traditionally has been to black, brown, working class and otherwise marginalized communities that fall within the “sacrifice zones” of an extractive economy. Sunday’s 300-foot long banner emblazoned with the words “Capitalism = Climate Chaos” didn’t hurt, either.

On Tuesday, a top USA Today story on the climate march and Flood Wall Street began with a sentence that might seem more at home in the left blogosphere than in one of the country’s most widely circulated newspapers:

“A pair of massive protests in New York this week brought together climate change, Wall Street and the need for regulation as concern about the future of the planet melded with a sense that capitalism without rules poses an existential threat.”

With groups like the Black Mesa Water Coalition and Occupy Sandy out in front on Sunday, it was clear that this wasn’t just a bigger climate gathering, but a different one altogether. Residents of the Far Rockaways, Diné Nation and countless other communities on the frontlines of the climate crisis are well aware that an economy based on endless growth doesn’t work for either people or the planet. As Black Mesa Water Coalition executive director Jihan Gearon said recently, “There can be power without pollution and energy without injustice.”

The process for bringing the March together — while unprecedented in the mainstream climate movement — is one that could have happened years ago. For seemingly obvious reasons, those who are most effected by climate change and extraction have been the first to respond to those forces. From labor struggles to indigenous resistance, the “environmental” movement extends back to well before Earth Day or Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring; now isn’t the first time these companies have been on the wrong side of history.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In 1960, the NAACP organized a national boycott of major oil companies over their participation in blacklists issued by racist White Citizens’ Councils. Coal miners in Appalachia, Pennsylvania, Colorado and elsewhere fought some of the most militant labor battles in U.S. history against the fossil fuel industry throughout much of the 20th century. The groups involved in these generations-old struggles should have been at the table years ago.

Economic Analysis A Turning Point For The Climate Crisis

Late as it may be, this week’s very public shift towards a more thorough economic analysis of the climate crisis is a positive and, yes, historic turning point for a movement that for too long has been mired in top-down strategies and market-based reforms. This shift has come from below: from community-based organizations fighting incinerators, pipelines and fracking at their source, to students on college campuses demanding their schools divest from the industry that’s stealing their future.

As march organizers predicted, the People’s Climate March was the largest climate demonstration in history; labor unions, religious denominations, college students, scientists and more all turned out in force — the latest estimates on participation exceed 400,000 people. The issue is that the kind of climate movement prefigured this past week should be setting its sights even higher.

Take what may have been the two largest mass mobilizations of the last decade: the anti-war and immigrant rights movements. In 2003, protests against the war in Iraq swelled to 400,000 in New York City alone, with millions more rallying around the world. In 2006, the immigrant rights movement brought nearly a million people into the streets nationwide to fight the passage of HR 4437, a regressive immigration reform measure that passed in the House, but failed in the Senate — in large part thanks to mounting popular pressure in the streets and at the community level. Similar to those demonstrations, the success of the People’s Climate March will be determined in the weeks and months that follow it.

Ironically, the right wing media may have walked away from this week’s events with perhaps the clearest understanding of the situation at hand. According to Newsbusters, a conservative online news outlet, there were “no shortage of Gotham protesters often uncivilly advocating an end to capitalism and its replacement with ‘a socialist future.’” What ought to concern those on the right — and anyone loyal to free market ideology — is not the ISO, Worker’s World Party, or Communist Party USA, but the growing number of people who’ve never heard of those groups reaching the same conclusion: that endless growth is incompatible with a livable planet.

Strategic Shift

The People’s Climate March also represents a strategic shift. Unlike other recent climate demonstrators — XL Dissent in March, Forward on Climate in 2013, Tar Sands Action in 2011 — protesters weren’t indicting a decision-maker as much as an entire system: there’s no one president, organization or even country that can “fix” the economy.

Generating the people power needed to stop the worst of the climate crisis will require a cultural shift in our relation to energy, and the creation of enough political will to take on the fossil fuel industry at the national and international level. It will also demand a redistribution of industry wealth into the rebuilding of public services like welfare and education, as well as reinvestment in decentralized energy solutions that can begin to meet needs at scale. It’s not a more inclusive environmentalism that’s needed, but a mass movement that can make history and the future.

This article originally appeared on Waging NonViolence


About the Author

aronoff kateKate Aronoff is an organizer and freelance journalist based in Philadelphia, PA. While in school, she worked extensively with the fossil fuel divestment movement on the local and national level, co-founding Swarthmore Mountain Justice and the Fossil Fuel Divestment Student Network (DSN). She is currently working to build a student power network across Pennsylvania. Follow her on Twitter @katearonoff


Recommended book:

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
by Naomi Klein.

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi Klein.The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core “free market” ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems.In short, either we embrace radical change ourselves or radical changes will be visited upon our physical world. The status quo is no longer an option. In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}