لماذا يجب أن تؤدي تعهدات الشركات بالانبعاثات الصفرية الصافية إلى جرعة صحية من الشكوك

لماذا يجب أن تؤدي تعهدات الشركات بالانبعاثات الصفرية الصافية إلى جرعة صحية من الشكوك تتضمن خطط صافي الصفر لبعض الشركات الاستمرار في انبعاث غازات الاحتباس الحراري المسببة للاحتباس الحراري لعقود. كريستوفر فورلونج / غيتي إيماجز

مئات الشركات، بما في ذلك مصادر الانبعاث الرئيسية مثل الخطوط الجوية المتحدة, BP و قذيفة، تعهدت بتقليل تأثيرها على تغير المناخ والوصول إلى صافي انبعاثات الكربون الصفرية بحلول عام 2050. تبدو هذه الخطط طموحة ، ولكن ما الذي يتطلبه الأمر بالفعل للوصول إلى صافي الصفر ، والأهم من ذلك ، هل ستكون كافية لإبطاء تغير المناخ؟

As السياسة البيئية و باحثو الاقتصاد، ندرس كيف تقدم الشركات هذه التعهدات الصافية الصفرية. على الرغم من أن التعهدات تصدر بيانات صحفية رائعة ، إلا أن net-zero أكثر تعقيدًا ويحتمل أن يكون إشكاليًا مما قد يبدو.

ما هو صافي الانبعاثات؟

المعيار الذهبي للوصول إلى صافي الانبعاثات الصفرية يبدو مثل هذا: تحدد الشركة جميع الانبعاثات التي تتحمل مسؤوليتها وتبلغ عنها ، وتقلل منها قدر الإمكان ، وبعد ذلك - إذا كان لا يزال لديها انبعاثات لا يمكنها تقليلها - فإنها تستثمر في المشاريع التي إما تمنع الانبعاثات في مكان آخر أو تسحب الكربون من الهواء للوصول إلى رصيد "صافي صفري" على الورق.

عملية معقدة ولا تزال غير منظمة وغير محددة إلى حد كبير. نتيجة لذلك ، تتمتع الشركات بقدر كبير من حرية التصرف بشأن كيفية الإبلاغ عن انبعاثاتها. علي سبيل المثال، شركة تعدين متعددة الجنسيات قد تحسب الانبعاثات من استخراج الخام ومعالجته ولكن ليس الانبعاثات الناتجة عن نقله.

تتمتع الشركات أيضًا بسلطة تقديرية بشأن مدى اعتمادها على ما يعرف بالتعويضات - المشاريع التي يمكنها تمويلها لتقليل الانبعاثات. ال شركة شل العملاقة للنفط، على سبيل المثال ، تتوقع أنها ستحقق صافي انبعاثات صفرية بحلول عام 2050 وتستمر في إنتاج مستويات عالية من الوقود الأحفوري خلال تلك السنة وما بعدها. كيف؟ وهي تقترح تعويض الجزء الأكبر من انبعاثاتها المرتبطة بالوقود الأحفوري من خلال مشاريع ضخمة قائمة على الطبيعة تلتقط الكربون وتخزنه ، مثل استعادة الغابات والمحيطات. في الواقع ، تخطط شركة شل وحدها نشر المزيد من هذه التعويضات بحلول عام 2030 مما كانت متاحة عالميًا في عام 2019.

قد يرحب دعاة حماية البيئة بأجندة شل الجديدة للمحافظة على البيئة ، ولكن ماذا لو اقترحت شركات النفط الأخرى وصناعات الطيران وقطاعات الشحن والحكومة الأمريكية حلاً مماثلاً؟ هل هناك ما يكفي من الأراضي والمحيطات المتاحة بشكل واقعي للتعويضات ، وهل ببساطة استعادة البيئات دون تغيير جذري في نموذج العمل المعتاد كحل حقيقي لتغير المناخ؟

لماذا يجب أن تؤدي تعهدات الشركات بالانبعاثات الصفرية الصافية إلى جرعة صحية من الشكوك


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

مخاوف بشأن أسواق الكربون الطوعية

خارج أسواق انبعاثات الامتثال، والتي تركز في المقام الأول على التنظيم الحكومي في قطاع الطاقة، تخلق الأسواق الطوعية معظم التعويضات المستخدمة للوصول إلى صافي الصفر.

يتم تنظيم الأسواق التطوعية وتشغيلها من قبل مجموعة متنوعة من المجموعات حيث يمكن لأي شخص المشاركة. هل سبق لك أن رأيت خيار تعويض رحلتك؟ ربما يحدث هذا التعويض من خلال سوق الكربون الطوعي. الأنشطة التي تنتج التعويضات تشمل مشاريع مثل الغابات و إدارة المحيطاتوإدارة النفايات والممارسات الزراعية وتبديل الوقود والطاقة المتجددة. كما يوحي الاسم ، فهي طوعية وبالتالي فهي غير منظمة إلى حد كبير.

بسبب موجة التعهدات الصفرية الصافية والطلب اللاحق على التعويضات ، تتعرض أسواق الكربون الطوعية لضغوط للتوسع بسرعة. فريق عمل أطلقه مبعوث الأمم المتحدة الخاص للعمل المناخي مارك كارني وشارك فيه العديد من الشركات الكبرى مخطط كاسح في دافوس 2021 الذي يتوقع أن تنمو أسواق الكربون الطوعية خمسة عشر ضعفًا خلال العقد المقبل. إنه يشير إلى أن زيادة صافي الصفر تمثل واحدة من أكبر الفرص التجارية في عصرنا - مما يثير اهتمامًا شديدًا من المستثمرين و عمل كبير. كما أنه يحدد ويقترح حلولاً لبعض التحديات والانتقادات المستمرة لأسواق تعويض الكربون الطوعية.

لماذا يجب أن تؤدي تعهدات الشركات بالانبعاثات الصفرية الصافية إلى جرعة صحية من الشكوك

يجادل بعض منتقدي المخطط بأنه يتغاضى عن مشاكل أعمق متجذرة في الاعتماد العام على أسواق الكربون الطوعية وفعاليتها كحل.

على الرغم من وجود شيء تاريخي دليل على سوء الاستخدام و الكثير من النقد، أسواق الكربون الطوعية ليست سيئة بطبيعتها أو عديمة الفائدة في السعي لتحقيق أهداف المناخ. في الواقع ، العكس تماما. بعض مشاريع سوق الكربون الطوعية ، بالإضافة إلى التخفيف من تغير المناخ، تزود فوائد أخرى، مثل تحسين موائل التنوع البيولوجي ونوعية المياه وصحة التربة والفرص الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

ومع ذلك ، هناك مخاوف حقيقية بشأن قدرة الأسواق الطوعية على الوفاء بشكل شرعي بما تعد به. تشمل الاهتمامات المشتركة أسئلة حول ديمومة المشاريع لتخزين الكربون على المدى الطويل ، والتحقق من أن التعويضات تقلل فعليًا من الانبعاثات بما يتجاوز سيناريو العمل المعتاد وتأكيد عدم استخدام الأرصدة أكثر من مرة. تعرض هذه التحديات وغيرها أسواق الكربون الطوعية للتلاعب المحتمل ، والغسيل الأخضر ، والعواقب غير المقصودة ، وللأسف ، الفشل في تحقيق الغرض منها.

أنها تتحسن، ولكن الإفراط في الاعتماد على هذه الطريقة لموازنة الانبعاثات يخاطر باستخدام بعض الكيانات للتعويضات الحق في التلوث.

لماذا يجب أن تؤدي تعهدات الشركات بالانبعاثات الصفرية الصافية إلى جرعة صحية من الشكوك

هل يمكن أن تلبي البيئة العالمية الطلب؟

يمكن لأسواق الكربون الطوعية تحسين المناظر الطبيعية والمساعدة في تعويض الانبعاثات التي لا مفر منها. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكنها استيعاب جميع أهداف صافي الصفر في العالم المتقدم.

لم تبدأ معظم هذه المبادرات بعد ، ومع ذلك ، يسعى القائمون بالانبعاثات من البلدان المتقدمة بالفعل إلى الحصول على تعويضات خارج حدودهم. يثير هذا مخاوف من أن الشركات الأكثر ثراءً قد تضع عبء انبعاثاتها على البلدان الفقيرة التي يمكن أن تنتج تعويضات بتكلفة منخفضة ، متوسلةً فكرة استعمار مناخي جديد. قد تستفيد المجتمعات المحلية من بعض التحسينات البيئية أو الفرص الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ، ولكن هل يجب على الملوثين المتقدمين اقتصاديًا أن يفرضوا هذا القرار؟

بعيدًا عن الأخلاق ، من الناحية الإحصائية ، لا توجد ببساطة قدرة بيئية كافية لتعويض انبعاثات العالم.

اهتم باستخدام الغابات كحلول تعويض. هناك حول 3 تريليون شجرة على الأرض اليوم مع مساحة لحوالي من 1 إلى 2.5 تريليون أكثر. مبادرة تريليون شجرة, برنامج 1T, تريليون شجرةوالمدير التنفيذي لشركة رديت، من بين أمور أخرى ، تهدف إلى زراعة تريليون شجرة لكل منها. من بين أمثلة قليلة فقط ، هناك بالفعل مأزق متناقض.

يمكن للتعويضات أن تفعل الكثير من الناحية الواقعية فقط للوصول إلى الأهداف المناخية. لهذا السبب يجب أن يتجه التركيز نحو تقليل الانبعاثات العالمية بدلاً من تعويضها. تؤدي أسواق الكربون الطوعية دورًا حاسمًا باعتبارها صناديق رملية للابتكار لحلول التعويض الإبداعية ، وهي تحشد القطاع الخاص للعمل ومع ذلك ، يجب أن تكون محدودة.

في حين أن بعض المنظمات البارزة تسعى لتحقيق صافي الصفر ، فإن معظمها الشركات والحكومات لم تتعهد بعد ، ناهيك عن وضع خرائط طريق واضحة ومعقولة لتحقيق الأهداف بما يتماشى مع الاقتصاد العالمي الصافي لعام 2050.

الهدف المطلوب: شبكة سلبية

تقترح الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ أن العالم يمكن أن يبقي الاحترار العالمي تحت السيطرة إذا تم خفض الانبعاثات إلى النصف بحلول عام 2030 ، مقارنة بمستويات عام 2010 ، وتصل إلى الصفر الصافي بحلول منتصف القرن. ومع ذلك ، فإنه ينص أيضًا على الحاجة إلى إزالة غازات الدفيئة بما يتجاوز أهداف الانبعاثات الصفرية.

يبدأ العمل الحقيقي لتنظيف المناخ عند صافي الانبعاثات السلبية لجميع غازات الدفيئة. عندها فقط ستبدأ تركيزاتها في الغلاف الجوي في التقلص أخيرًا. سيتطلب هذا العمل الفذ مزيدًا من الطاقة المتجددة ، والبنية التحتية على نطاق واسع ، وتطوير وسائل النقل ، وتحسين إدارة الأراضي والاستثمارات في أنشطة وتقنيات احتجاز الكربون.

في حين أن صافي الصفر خطوة حاسمة نحو معالجة تغير المناخ ، يجب تحقيقه بذكاء. والأهم من ذلك ، لا يمكن أن يكون الهدف النهائي.

عن المؤلفين

أوليفر ميلتنبرجر ، دكتوراه. مرشح في الاقتصاد البيئي ، جامعة ملبورن وماثيو دي بوتس ، أستاذ كرسي SJ Hall في اقتصاديات الغابات ، جامعة كاليفورنيا، بيركلي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

أصوات INNERSELF

اللغز العظيم: كيفية الشفاء من لايم وأمراض أخرى
اللغز العظيم: كيفية الشفاء من لايم وأمراض أخرى
by فير مكوي وكارا زحل
إذا واصلنا التركيز على إمكانات النمو المتوفرة من خلال "بدء" المرض ، فيمكن ...
قصة جوانا: من سرطان الثدي إلى الشفاء والمواءمة
قصة جوانا: من سرطان الثدي إلى الشفاء والمواءمة
by تجيتزي دي يونج
كانت جوانا مثالًا كلاسيكيًا على مدى سهولة وسرعة الشفاء عندما يحدث الجسد المادي ، ...
هل العناق آمن الآن؟
هل العناق آمن الآن؟
by جويس Vissell
أظهرت التجارب السريرية أن العناق إيجابي لصحتك الجسدية والعقلية ، وحتى ...
كيف تبدو الرعاية الذاتية: إنها ليست قائمة مهام
كيف تبدو الرعاية الذاتية: إنها ليست قائمة مهام
by كريستي هوجستاد
إنه ليس أحدث اتجاه. إنها ليست علامة تصنيف على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وهي بالتأكيد ليست أنانية ...
أسبوع الأبراج: 3-9 مايو 2021
الأسبوع الحالي لأبراج: 3-9 مايو 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
ما علمه مايكل أنجلو عن التحرر من الخوف والقلق
ما علمني مايكل أنجلو: التحرر من الخوف والقلق
by بواسطة ويندي تاميس روبينز
بعد أسبوعين من انفصالي عن زوجي الأول ، حجزت رحلة بالحافلة عبر إيطاليا ، وكانت رحلتي الأولى ...
تطهير بقايا الوالدين المسيئين وغير المحبين
تطهير بقايا الوالدين المسيئين وغير المحبين
by مورين ج.سانت جيرمان
أنت على وشك تعلم تقنية محددة جدًا لتطهير عقلك الباطن من كل ما هو قديم ...
مقاهي الإصلاح: حركة عالمية للمتطوعين المتحمسين
مقاهي الإصلاح: حركة عالمية للمتطوعين المتحمسين
by مارتين بوستما
يبدو أن الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم مستعدون للتغيير ، ومستعدون لتوديع مجتمعنا المنبوذ و ...

الأكثر قراءة

ازرع اللوحات الإعلانية المزهرة بالزهور في حديقتك لمساعدة الحشرات في المتاعب
ازرع اللوحات الإعلانية المزهرة بالزهور في حديقتك لمساعدة الحشرات في المتاعب
by سامانثا موراي ، جامعة فلوريدا
تنجذب الحشرات إلى المناظر الطبيعية حيث يتم تجميع النباتات المزهرة من نفس النوع معًا ...
ما علمه مايكل أنجلو عن التحرر من الخوف والقلق
ما علمني مايكل أنجلو: التحرر من الخوف والقلق
by بواسطة ويندي تاميس روبينز
بعد أسبوعين من انفصالي عن زوجي الأول ، حجزت رحلة بالحافلة عبر إيطاليا ، وكانت رحلتي الأولى ...
ما الفرق بين التضليل والمعلومات المضللة والخداع؟
ما الفرق بين التضليل والمعلومات المضللة والخداع؟
by مايكل أوبراين وعزت الصمادي ، تكساس إيه آند إم
يعد الفرز عبر الكم الهائل من المعلومات التي تم إنشاؤها ومشاركتها عبر الإنترنت أمرًا صعبًا ، حتى بالنسبة لـ ...
كيف يمكن للتدريب على الجنس والعلاقة الحميمة أن يساعد في تقوية الروابط بين الناس
كيف يمكن للتدريب على الجنس والعلاقة الحميمة أن يساعد في تقوية الروابط بين الناس
by Treena Orchard ، الجامعة الغربية
على الرغم من أننا نعيش في مجتمع مهووس بالجنس ، نادرًا ما نتحدث عن حياتنا المثيرة بطرق تعزز ...
ضعف الدماغ المطول لدى الناجين من Covid-19 هو جائحة في حد ذاته؟
هل ضعف الدماغ المطول لدى الناجين من Covid-19 جائحة في حد ذاته؟
by كريس روبنسون ، جامعة فلوريدا
واحد من كل ثلاثة ناجين من COVID-19 ، أولئك الذين يشار إليهم باسم COVID-19 لمسافات طويلة ، ...
انفتاح أنفسنا على الإمكانات الكاملة لما يمكننا تحقيقه معًا
انفتاح أنفسنا على الإمكانات الكاملة لما يمكننا تحقيقه معًا
by دونا ماركوفا
حان الوقت لإشعال ثورة صغيرة ، ثورة الملائكة تحمل قصصًا لموازنة ...
الطفل الداخلي يتكلم: "اسمعني! يمكنني مساعدتك!"
الطفل الداخلي يتكلم: "اسمعني! يمكنني مساعدتك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
ينتظر الطفل الداخلي بصبر حتى يلاحظه البالغ ، ويتحدث إليه. يسأل نفسه: "كيف يمكن ...
مقاهي الإصلاح: حركة عالمية للمتطوعين المتحمسين
مقاهي الإصلاح: حركة عالمية للمتطوعين المتحمسين
by مارتين بوستما
يبدو أن الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم مستعدون للتغيير ، ومستعدون لتوديع مجتمعنا المنبوذ و ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Why Companies' Net-Zero Emissions Pledges Should Trigger A Healthy Dose Of Skepticism

Why Companies' Net-zero Emissions Pledges Should Trigger A Healthy Dose Of Skepticism Some companies’ net-zero plans include continuing to emit climate-warming greenhouse gases for decades. Christopher Furlong/Getty Images

Hundreds of companies, including major emitters like United Airlines, BP and Shell, have pledged to reduce their impact on climate change and reach net-zero carbon emissions by 2050. These plans sound ambitious, but what does it actually take to reach net-zero and, more importantly, will it be enough to slow climate change?

As environmental policy and economics researchers, we study how companies make these net-zero pledges. Though the pledges make great press releases, net-zero is more complicated and potentially problematic than it may seem.

What is ‘net-zero’ emissions?

The gold standard for reaching net-zero emissions looks like this: A company identifies and reports all emissions it is responsible for creating, it reduces them as much as possible, and then – if it still has emissions it cannot reduce – it invests in projects that either prevent emissions elsewhere or pull carbon out of the air to reach a “net-zero” balance on paper.

The process is complex and still largely unregulated and ill-defined. As a result, companies have a lot of discretion over how they report their emissions. For example, a multinational mining company might count emissions from extracting and processing ore but not the emissions produced by transporting it.

Companies also have discretion over how much they rely on what are known as offsets – the projects they can fund to reduce emissions. The oil giant Shell, for example, projects that it will both achieve net-zero emissions by 2050 and continue to produce high levels of fossil fuel through that year and beyond. How? It proposes to offset the bulk of its fossil-fuel-related emissions through massive nature-based projects that capture and store carbon, such as forest and ocean restoration. In fact, Shell alone plans to deploy more of these offsets by 2030 than were available globally in 2019.

Environmentalists may welcome Shell’s newfound conservationist agenda, but what if other oil companies, the airline industries, the shipping sectors and the U.S. government all propose a similar solution? Is there enough land and ocean realistically available for offsets, and is simply restoring environments without fundamentally changing the business-as-usual paradigm really a solution to climate change?

Why Companies' Net-zero Emissions Pledges Should Trigger A Healthy Dose Of Skepticism


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Concerns about voluntary carbon markets

Outside of compliance emissions markets, which primarily focus on government regulation in the energy sector, voluntary markets create most of the offsets that are used to reach net-zero.

Voluntary markets are organized and operated by a diverse range of groups where anyone can participate. Have you ever seen the option to offset your flight? That offset probably happens through a voluntary carbon market. The activities that produce the offsets include projects like forestry and ocean management, waste management, agricultural practices, fuel switching and renewable energy. As the name implies, they are voluntary and therefore largely unregulated.

Because of the wave of net-zero pledges and subsequent demand for offsets, voluntary carbon markets are under pressure to expand quickly. A task force launched by United Nations Special Envoy on Climate Action Mark Carney and involving several major companies released a sweeping blueprint at Davos 2021 that predicts voluntary carbon markets need to grow fifteenfold over the next decade. It suggests that the net-zero surge represents one of the largest commercial opportunities of our time – prompting keen interest from investors and big business. It also identifies and proposes solutions to some persistent challenges and critiques of voluntary carbon offset markets.

Why Companies' Net-zero Emissions Pledges Should Trigger A Healthy Dose Of Skepticism

Some critics of the blueprint argue that it overlooks deeper problems rooted in the overall reliance on and effectiveness of voluntary carbon markets as a solution.

Though there is historical evidence of misuse and plenty of criticism, voluntary carbon markets are not inherently bad or useless in the pursuit of climate targets. In fact, quite the opposite. Some voluntary carbon market projects, in addition to mitigating climate change, provide other benefits, such as improvements to biodiversity habitats, water quality, soil health and socioeconomic opportunities.

However, there are real concerns about the ability of voluntary markets to legitimately deliver what they promise. Common concerns include questions about the permanence of the projects for storing carbon long term, verifying that offsets actually reduce emissions beyond a business-as-usual scenario and confirming that credits are not being used more than once. These and other challenges expose voluntary carbon markets to potential manipulation, greenwashing, unintended consequences and, regrettably, failure to achieve their purpose.

It’s getting better, but over-reliance on this method for counterbalancing emissions does risk some entities’ using offsets as a right to pollute.

Why Companies' Net-zero Emissions Pledges Should Trigger A Healthy Dose Of Skepticism

Can global ecology meet the demand?

Voluntary carbon markets can improve landscapes and help make up for unavoidable emissions. However, they cannot accommodate all of the developed world’s net-zero targets.

Most of these initiatives have not yet started, yet emitters from developed countries are already seeking offsets outside their borders. This is raising concerns that wealthier companies may be placing the burden of their emissions onto poorer countries that can produce offsets cheaply, begging the notion of a newfound climate colonialism. Local communities may benefit from some environmental improvements or socioeconomic opportunities, but should economically developed polluters be forcing that decision?

Beyond ethics, in statistical terms, there is simply not enough ecological capacity to offset the world’s emissions.

Take the interest in using forests as offset solutions. There are around 3 trillion trees on Earth today with room for about 1 to 2.5 trillion more. The Trillion Tree Initiative, 1T program, Trillion Trees, and the CEO of Reddit, among others, aim to plant a trillion trees each. From just a few examples, there is already a paradoxical impasse.

Offsets can realistically do only so much for reaching climate targets. That is why the focus must turn toward reducing rather than offsetting global emissions. Voluntary carbon markets serve a critical role as innovation sandboxes for creative offset solutions, and they are mobilizing the private sector to act; however, they must be limited.

While some prominent organizations are pursuing net-zero, most businesses and governments have not yet pledged, let alone developed, clear and plausible road maps to meet targets in line with a 2050 net-zero global economy.

The needed goal: A negative net

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change suggests that the world can keep global warming in check if emissions are cut in half by 2030, compared to 2010 levels, and reach net-zero by midcentury. However, it also states a need for greenhouse gas removal beyond net-zero emissions targets.

The real act of climate cleanup begins at net-negative emissions for all greenhouse gases. Only then will their atmospheric concentrations finally begin shrinking. That feat will require more renewable energy, widespread infrastructure and transportation developments, improved land management and investments in carbon capturing activities and technologies.

While net-zero is a critical step toward addressing climate change, it must be achieved smartly. And, importantly, it can’t be the end goal.

About The Authors

Oliver Miltenberger, Ph.D. Candidate in Environmental Economics, The University of Melbourne and Matthew D. Potts, Professor, S.J. Hall Chair in Forest Economics, University of California, Berkeley

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
Transitioning from Authoritarian "Outer" Authority to Spiritual "Inner" Authority
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…

MOST READ

Is Your Bedroom Sacred?
Is Your Bedroom Sacred? Honoring Your Personal Sanctuary
by Jon Robertson
The bedroom is home to our prayers and dreams, our solitude and sexuality. In this inner sanctum,…
Age of Pisces to Age of Aquarius
Transitioning from the Age of Pisces to the Age of Aquarius
by Ray Grasse
The Age of Aries brought an awakening of the outwardly directed ego, but the more feminine Piscean…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
by Dawn R. Mitchell White, University of South Florida
Many children with autism struggle to find the words to express how they feel. But when it comes to…
Domestic Violence: Calls For Help Have Increased – But The Answers Haven't Gotten Any Easier
Domestic Violence: Calls For Help Have Increased – But The Answers Haven't Gotten Any Easier
by Tara N. Richards and Justin Nix, University of Nebraska Omaha
Experts expected the increase in domestic violence victims seeking help last year (2020). Victims…
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
by Clare Mehta, Emmanuel College
If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what would it be? Would you choose to be nine…
Viking DNA And The Pitfalls Of Genetic Ancestry Tests
Viking DNA and The Pitfalls of Genetic Ancestry Tests
by Anna Källén, Stockholm University and Daniel Strand, Uppsala University
According to recent estimates, over 26 million people from across the world have purchased a…
How Reactivating Traumatic Memories Could Reduce Their Impact
How Reactivating Traumatic Memories Could Reduce Their Impact
by Caitlin Clark, Texas AM
Researchers could be a step closer to finding a way to reduce the impact of traumatic memories,…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.