يحتاج الناس إلى رؤية الفوائد من مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة المحلية ، وهذا يعني الوظائف

يحتاج الناس إلى رؤية الفوائد من مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة المحلية ، وهذا يعني الوظائف عطلة بوينت / فليكر, CC BY

الحكومة الأسترالية خارطة طريق الاستثمار لتكنولوجيات منخفضة الانبعاثات وعود المزيد من أموال دافعي الضرائب لصناعة الغاز لكنه فشل في تقديم السياسة اللازمة للناس لدعم الانتقال إلى الطاقة المتجددة.

يتجاهل ما خبراء أكاديميون، ال كوكب الارض، ال مشغل سوق الطاقة الأسترالي، ال مجموعة الصناعة الأسترالية و العديد من الوزراء ووزراء الطاقة كلهم يقولون: مصادر الطاقة المتجددة أرخص بالفعل من الغاز أو توليد الفحم ، ويمكن أن توفر الرياح والطاقة الشمسية حتى 75٪ من الكهرباء في أستراليا بحلول عام 2025. يمكن أن تؤدي التقنيات أيضًا إلى زيادة التوظيف في التعافي من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بعد COVID ، مما يمكن أستراليا من "إعادة بناء أقوى وأنظف".

لكن صانعي السياسات بحاجة إلى التأكد من أن المجتمعات التي تتحمل تكاليف انتقال الطاقة تشارك أيضًا في فوائدها.

إشراك السكان المحليين

. بحث على الآثار الاجتماعية للطاقة المتجددة يظهر تركيزًا قويًا على مشاركة الفوائد مع المجتمع وتشجيع المشاركة أمر ضروري لنجاح تحويل الطاقة.

يحتاج الناس إلى رؤية الفوائد من مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة المحلية ، وهذا يعني الوظائف يمكن لمزارع الرياح وتطورات الطاقة المتجددة الأخرى أن تساعد في دفع انتعاش ما بعد COVID. فليكر / إنديجو سكايز فوتوجرافي, CC BY-NC-ND

يأتي الجزء الأكبر من الوظائف الوفيرة ذات الأجور الجيدة في مصادر الطاقة المتجددة التصنيع والبناء، ولكن من المستفيد من هذه الوظائف يمكن أن يكون مشكلة.

مورتليك ، في جنوب غرب فيكتوريا ، هي موطن لاثنين من مزارع الرياح التي فازت بالمناقصات تحت الولاية مخطط مزاد الطاقة المتجددة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


المخطط ناجح في تقديم التزامات المحتوى المحلي ، مع سلاسل التوريد الإقليمية والتدريب في جيلونج, بالارات و بورتلاند. يشير المحتوى المحلي في هذا السياق إلى ضمان مهارات المشاريع الفيكتورية الكبرى و الوظائف المحلية أولاً سياسات. تم تصميم هذه الخطط الحكومية بشكل أساسي لتشجيع التوظيف في فيكتوريا.

بينما جاء بعض عمال البناء من المناطق المجاورة، التوظيف محلي بشكل رئيسي للدولة ، وليس للأشخاص الذين يعيشون في Mortlake. وصف أحد السكان المحليين التجربة لنا بأنها "سيرك قادم إلى المدينة" - وليس وظائف.

تعتبر الالتزامات بالتوظيف الأسترالي خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح ، ولكن يجب استخدام مصطلح "محلي" بحذر.

قد يفتقر الموردون ورجال الأعمال في مجتمع مخصص لأي مشروع للطاقة المتجددة إلى التدريب المتخصص ، وبالتالي تقل احتمالية توظيفهم. لا تزال عمليات المناقصة في الصناعة تميل إلى تفضيل المقاولين الوطنيين أو الدوليين الذين لديهم سلاسل توريد راسخة.

أصبحت صناعة الرياح في Mortlake مستمعًا أفضل لاهتمامات المجتمع ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى الدروس المستفادة منه المعارضة المحلية السابقة لمزارع الرياح المقترحة. ينصب التركيز الآن على الفوائد والمشاركة المحلية.

على سبيل المثال ، وافق أحد مطوري مزارع الرياح على وضع خط النقل تحت الأرض بعد الضغط على المجلس.

لا تقسم المجتمعات

غالبًا ما تكون مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة في منافسة مباشرة مع الغاز على قلوب وعقول المجتمعات.

بعد واحد دراسة وجدت أن هناك العديد من الوظائف المحتملة في مصادر الطاقة المتجددة أكثر من الغاز في شمال غرب نيو ساوث ويلز.

يحتاج الناس إلى رؤية الفوائد من مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة المحلية ، وهذا يعني الوظائف مزارع الطاقة الشمسية تعد بالوظائف ، ولكن من يحصل عليها؟ فليكر / بيتر مورليون, CC BY-NC-ND

Narrabri قريبة من حكومة NSW منطقة نيو إنجلاند للطاقة المتجددة. بحسب ال قاعدة بيانات AltEnergy، كانت هناك مقترحات يرجع تاريخها إلى عام 2018 لست مزارع على الأقل في المنطقة الشمسية (ثلاثة في كل من Narrabri و Gunnedah).

وستنتج هذه معًا حوالي 600 ميجاوات من الكهرباء. وقد قامت معظم المشاريع بمشاورة مجتمعية وموافقات تخطيط مضمونة. فقط Gunnedah South ، الذي حصل على أ عقد توريد الطاقة مع أمازونيبدو أنه وشيك 150 وظيفة من مصادر محلية في مرحلة البناء.

كان السكان المحليون الذين قابلناهم في Narrabri و Gunnedah في 2018 متشككين في أن مصادر الطاقة المتجددة يمكن أن توفر وظائف دائمة. من الواضح أنه لا يزال هناك حاجة إلى وجود دليل على أساس أن صناعة مصادر الطاقة المتجددة يمكن أن تخلق فرص عمل محلية ، سواء بشكل مباشر أو عبر المشاريع ذات الصلة وسلاسل التوريد.

في حين أن قلة من الناس كانوا على علم بمشاريع الطاقة الشمسية العديدة أو يمكنهم تسمية الشركات المعنية ، فقد عرف الجميع الذين تحدثنا إليهم مع سانتوس واقتراحها لحفر المنطقة للغاز.

سانتوس يقول سوف تخلق "ما يصل إلى" 200 وظيفة مستمرة من عملياتها. ولكن هذا هو المتنازع عليها وهناك مخاوف بشأن آثار التنقيب عن الغاز على المياه والزراعة.

كانت المعارضة لمشروع الغاز قوية. في 2018 تم العثور على CSIRO لن يكون أكثر من 43٪ من السكان المحليين "موافقين" على عملية الغاز المقترحة.

ومع ذلك ، ابتكر سانتوس عملية معقدة للضغط على قضيته. عملاق الغاز لديه متجر خاص به في المدينة و يتبرع بالمال للمنظمات المحلية. كما وجدنا ، اسمها في كل مكان: على قمصان الرجبي ، في ملعب الجولف ، في الصحف المحلية.

سانتوس في نارابري.

يفوت السكان المحليون الفوائد

تكمن المشكلة الحقيقية في الحصول على قبول مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في الملكية والمشاركة. إذا فقدت المجتمعات المحلية الفوائد الاقتصادية من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة المملوكة للشركات ، فإن استعدادها لقبول البنية التحتية ، مثل الكثافة المتزايدة لمزارع الرياح ، يتراجع.

الدرس الواضح هو أن الشرعية الاجتماعية تأتي من المنافع المحلية. إذا كان الناس يرون القليل من الفوائد المحلية ولديهم علاقات ضعيفة مع شركات الطاقة ، فمن المرجح أن يركزوا على السلبيات مثل تعطيل وجهات النظر والبيئة واستخدام الأراضي.

سيكون تحسين جودة واستقرار الوظائف بداية جيدة. من شأن دعم الملكية المحلية ، وجعل التنظيم أكثر ملاءمة لمصادر الطاقة المتجددة وتنويع وإضفاء الطابع الديمقراطي على إنتاج الطاقة أن يساعد في بناء قاعدة اجتماعية دائمة لانتقال الطاقة لدينا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

توم مورتون ، أستاذ مشارك ، الصحافة ، قائد تيار ، مركز أبحاث العدالة المناخية ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني؛ جيمس جودمان ، أستاذ علم الاجتماع السياسي ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني؛ جوناثان بول مارشال ، زميل المستقبل ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني؛ كاتيا مولر ، باحثة ما بعد الدكتوراه في الأنثروبولوجيا ، جامعة مارتن لوثر هالي - ويتنبيرغوريكا هيكينين ، طالبة دكتوراه ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 أشياء يجب عليك فعلها الآن لمحاربة COVID-19
5 أشياء يجب عليك فعلها الآن لمحاربة COVID-19
by كاسي إرنست وبولينا كولومبو
ما هو معنى الحياة؟
ما هو معنى الحياة؟
by جون أورورك

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

People Need To See The Benefits From Local Renewable Energy Projects, And That Means Jobs

People Need To See The Benefits From Local Renewable Energy Projects, And That Means Jobs Holiday Point/Flickr, CC BY

The Australian government’s investment roadmap for low-emissions technologies promises more taxpayers’ money to the gas industry but fails to deliver the policy needed for people to support a transition to renewable energy.

It ignores what academic experts, the CSIRO, the Australian Energy Market Operator, the Australian Industry Group and several premiers and energy ministers are all saying: renewable sources of energy are already cheaper than gas or coal generation, and wind and solar could provide up to 75% of Australia’s electricity by 2025. The technologies could also drive employment in a post-COVID renewables-led recovery, enabling Australia to “rebuild stronger and cleaner”.

But policymakers need to make sure the communities bearing the costs of the energy transition also share in its benefits.

Get local people involved

Our research on the social impacts of renewable energy shows a strong emphasis on sharing the benefits with the community and encouraging participation is essential for successful energy transitions.

People Need To See The Benefits From Local Renewable Energy Projects, And That Means Jobs Wind farms and other renewable energy developments could help drive a post-COVID recovery. Flickr/Indigo Skies Photography, CC BY-NC-ND

The bulk of well-paid, plentiful jobs in renewables come during manufacture and construction, but who benefits from those jobs can be an issue.

Mortlake, in south-west Victoria, is home to two wind farms that won tenders under the state’s Renewable Energy Auction Scheme.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The scheme is successful in making local content commitments, with regional supply chains and training in Geelong, Ballarat and Portland. Local content in this context refers to the Victorian Major Projects Skills Guarantee and the Local Jobs First policy. These government schemes are principally designed to encourage employment in Victoria.

While some construction workers have come from nearby areas, employment is mainly local to the state, not to people living in Mortlake. One of the locals described the experience to us as a “circus coming to town” – not jobs.

Commitments to Australian employment are a step in the right direction, but the term “local” should be used with caution.

The suppliers and tradespeople in a community earmarked for any renewable energy project may lack the specialist training and hence are less likely to get hired. Industry tendering processes still tend to favour large national or international contractors with established supply chains.

The wind industry in Mortlake has become a better listener to community concerns, partly due to lessons learnt from previous local opposition to proposed wind farms. The emphasis now is on local benefits and engagement.

For example, one of the wind farm developers agreed to put the transmission line underground following council lobbying.

Don’t divide communities

Renewable energy projects are often in direct competition with gas for the hearts and minds of communities.

Yet one study found there are many more potential jobs in renewables than in gas in north-west New South Wales.

People Need To See The Benefits From Local Renewable Energy Projects, And That Means Jobs Solar farms promise jobs, but who gets them? Flickr/Pieter Morlion, CC BY-NC-ND

Narrabri is close to the NSW government’s New England Renewable Energy Zone. According to the AltEnergy database, there have been proposals dating from 2018 for at least six solar farms in the region (three each in Narrabri and Gunnedah).

Together these would produce about 600 megawatts of electricity. Most of the projects have undertaken community consultation and secured planning approvals. Only Gunnedah South, which has secured a power supply contract with Amazon, appears to be imminent, with 150 locally sourced jobs in the construction phase.

Locals we interviewed in Narrabri and Gunnedah in 2018 were sceptical that renewables could deliver lasting jobs. Clearly, there still needs to be evidence on the ground that the renewables industry can create local employment, whether directly or via related ventures and supply chains.

While few people knew of the numerous solar projects or could name the companies involved, everybody we spoke to knew of Santos and its proposal to drill the region for gas.

Santos says it will create “up to” 200 ongoing jobs from its operations. But this is contested and there are concerns about impacts of gas drilling on water and on agriculture.

Opposition to the gas project has been strong. In 2018 the CSIRO found no more than 43% of locals would “be OK with” the proposed gas operation.

Yet Santos has created a sophisticated operation to press its case. The gas giant has its own store in town and donates money to local organisations. As we found, its name is everywhere: on rugby jerseys, at the golf course, in the local newspaper.

Santos in Narrabri.

Locals miss out on the benefits

The real problem with getting acceptance of renewables lies in ownership and participation. If local communities miss out on economic benefits from corporate-owned renewables, their willingness to accept infrastructure, such as an ever-greater density of wind farms, declines.

The clear lesson is that social legitimacy comes from local benefits. If people see little local benefit and have weak relationships with the energy companies, they are likely to focus on negatives such as disruption to views, ecology and land use.

Improving the quality and stability of jobs would be a good start. Supporting local ownership, making regulation more renewables-friendly and diversifying and democratising energy production would help build a lasting social base for the energy transition we have to have.The Conversation

About The Author

Tom Morton, Associate Professor, Journalism, Stream Leader, Climate Justice Research Centre, University of Technology Sydney; James Goodman, Professor in Political Sociology, University of Technology Sydney; Jonathan Paul Marshall, Future Fellow, University of Technology Sydney; Katja Müller, Postdoctoral Researcher in Anthropology, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, and Riikka Heikkinen, PhD Candidate, University of Technology Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…