لماذا العمل على تغير المناخ يتعطل وماذا يفعل حيال ذلك

لماذا العمل على تغير المناخ يتعطل وماذا يفعل حيال ذلك أنتج منجم Garzweiler السطحي 35 مليون طن من الفحم البني (Lignite) في عام 2017. تخطط ألمانيا للتخلص التدريجي من الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم بحلول عام 2038. (صراع الأسهم)

نزل طاقم العمل في 12 موقفًا لركن السيارات في تورنتو في أواخر نوفمبر 2018 ، وتوجهوا إلى محطات شحن السيارات الكهربائية (EV). جاء عملهم في أعقاب تقرير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ التي حذرت من عواقب بيئية واقتصادية وصحية خطيرة في غياب أي زخم خطير نحو إزالة الكربون بحلول عام 2030.

لكن الطواقم لم تكن تضيف إلى تركيب محطتين للشحن في كل موقف للسيارات في عام 2013. جاءوا ل احذفهم.

لم يكن هذا المحو لمشروع المناخ التابع لحكومة إقليمية من قبل خليفتها سوى قمة جبل الجليد الذائب. بدأ التراجع المطرد لسياسة المناخ عندما بدأت حكومة المحافظين المنتخبة حديثًا ألغى سقف المقاطعة ونظام التجارة و عقود الطاقة المتجددة من نظام التغذية في أونتاريو. كما أزال الإعانات للسيارات الكهربائية (ما يصل إلى 14,000 دولار لكل مركبة في ظل الحكومة السابقة).

على الرغم من بيعها كتكلفة منخفضة ، فإن بعض الانتكاسات كانت باهظة الثمن. إلغاء 750 مشروعًا للطاقة المتجددة ، على سبيل المثال ، التكلفة 231 مليون دولار.

من المغري رؤية هذا الفك من خلال عدسة السياسة المستقطبة التي تعاني منها العديد من الديمقراطيات الغربية. أن يفتقد الصورة الأكبر.

أبحاثنا على أكثر من عشرين مبادرات المناخ في جميع أنحاء العالم - من مستوى المجتمع إلى المستوى العالمي - كشفت أن قصة أونتاريو مألوفة بشكل محبط. لا يوجد نقص في مبادرات المناخ - دراسات الحالة لدينا ليست سوى شريحة صغيرة من الآلاف. بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن المشكلة تكمن في أن هذه المبادرات تميل إلى البدء ، وإحراز بعض التقدم ، ثم التعثر أو حتى التراجع.

كل شئ متصل

الاعتماد على الطاقة الأحفورية يعني أنه من الصعب على سياسة أو تكنولوجيا جديدة في عزلة أن تحفز التغييرات الطارئة. جزء من القصة هو الارتداد الذي تولده ، كما حدث في أونتاريو ، عن المصالح السياسية والاقتصادية التي تحشد المعارضة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن المقاومة العلنية ليست العقبة الوحيدة أمام التغيير. غالبًا ما يؤدي تغيير شيء ما إلى الجمود القوي للسياسات والتقنيات والاهتمامات والاهتمامات وأنماط السلوك ذات الصلة.

على سبيل المثال ، قد تحقق سياسة محلية أو إقليمية لتحفيز شراء السيارات الكهربائية عن طريق السماح بموقف مجاني للسيارات أو تقديم إعانات بعض التقدم في الحد من الانبعاثات. ولكن إذا لم تتغير أجزاء أخرى من نظام النقل ، فستتوقف السياسة أو تنعكس.

لماذا العمل على تغير المناخ يتعطل وماذا يفعل حيال ذلك رجل يربط بين سيارته فولكس واجن الإلكترونية للجولف في محطة شحن في بيتربورو ، أونتاريو ، في يونيو 2018. الصحافة الكندية / دوغ إيف

بدون محطات الشحن ، الناس سوف يكون القلق المدى. إذا انخفض الدعم أو مستويات أعلى من الحكومة لا تفرض معايير أكثر صرامة الوقود ، وأسواق EVs يمكن أن تجف. إذا تم تزويد الشبكة الكهربائية بواسطة طاقة الفحم القذرة أو غيرها من أنواع الوقود عالية الكربون ، فإن عمليات الشراء EV سيكون لها تأثير أقل على إجمالي الانبعاثات. إذا ظل امتصاص EVs منخفضًا نتيجة لذلك ، فقد تعارض شركات السيارات والجمهور سياسات مثل تلك التي تكون مكلفة للتأثير المحدود.

هذه الديناميات الصعبة المتبادلة واضحة عبر السياسات والمقاييس. حتى في ألمانيا ، التي نفذت بعض سياسات الطاقة المتجددة الأكثر عدوانية ، تعطلت عملية إزالة الكربون على الرغم من الدعم الشعبي القوي. أدت ديناميكيات التسعير والسياسة ، مثل ثورة الغاز الصخري خارج ألمانيا وقرار التخلص التدريجي من الطاقة النووية ، إلى أن يصبح الفحم أرخص مصدر للطاقة ، مما أدى إلى تمديد محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم.

سيتم التخلص التدريجي من طاقة الفحم الألمانية في عام 2038 (بطيئة جدا وفقا لبعض الناشطين) ويأتي مع مليارات يورو كتعويض عن الدول والشركات المنتجة للفحم.

المطهر من التغيير التدريجي

تتعثر المبادرات المناخية أيضًا لأن الزخم الذي تولدها لا يكون دائمًا في اتجاه تغيير كبير أو إزالة الكربون. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يؤدي الانتقال من إنتاج الفحم إلى إنتاج الكهرباء من الغاز الطبيعي إلى تقليل الانبعاثات. ومع ذلك ، فإن التحول إلى وقود الجسر هذا يعزز الاعتماد على الطاقة الأحفورية. قد لا تؤيد الائتلافات السياسية التي تدعم هذا التغيير المبدئي وتستفيد منه ، المزيد من العمل العدواني.

ومن الأمثلة على ذلك كولورادو سياسة اقتصاد الطاقة الجديدة. في منتصف 2000s ، وشملت الالتزام التحول من الفحم إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بدعم من النقابات وشركات الطاقة. غير أن ثورة التكسير خفضت أسعار الغاز الطبيعي وشجعت على تطوير تحالفات دعمتها كوقود انتقالي.

أعادت حكومة الولاية تحديد اقتصاد الطاقة الجديد ليشمل الغاز الطبيعي ، مما قوض التزامها بالطاقة المتجددة. وضع هذا التحول كولورادو على طريق محسّن ، لكنه لا يزال كثيف الكربون. الدولة في خضم تغيير لوائح النفط والغاز مرة أخرى.

لماذا العمل على تغير المناخ يتعطل وماذا يفعل حيال ذلك يميل العمال إلى رأس البئر في عملية تكسير هيدروليكية خارج Rifle ، كولو ، في مارس 2013. AP Photo / Brennan Linsley

تنطبق هذه الديناميات بالتساوي على الأفراد. تشير الدراسات إلى أن دفع الناس لتغيير ممارساتهم اليومية يمكن تقليل دعمهم لسياسات أوسع وتحويلية لأنهم يشعرون لقد فعلوا ما يكفي.

الحصول على فاشل

حدد بحثنا أربعة أسئلة يجب طرحها عند تصميم وتنفيذ العمل المناخي لمواجهة هذه الديناميات: هل يعطل الاعتماد على الطاقة الأحفورية؟ هل تبني تحالفات تفضل الأعمال العدوانية؟ هل هو حساس للاتصالات أوسع؟ هل يشعل المناخ في مكان آخر؟

هذه الأسئلة تشير إلى الحاجة إلى قيمة التحويلية المحتملة من أي عمل المناخ بدلاً من (فقط) تخفيضات الانبعاثات الفورية. إن التخفيضات السريعة للانبعاثات كتلك الناتجة عن تبديل الوقود مغرية ولكنها قد تتعطل. وبدلاً من ذلك ، يجب على صانعي السياسات تقييم العمل المناخي بشأن ما إذا كان ذلك يسهم في تعطيل الاعتماد على الطاقة الأحفورية وتعزيز مسارات بديلة.

يتطلب الإزعاج أيضًا التفكير خارج نطاق السياسات الفردية. سياسة EV ناجحة مثل النرويج ينتبه إلى قطاع النقل الشخصي بأكمله (الضرائب والإعانات والبنية التحتية وما إلى ذلك). حتى أنها حفزت التغيير في قطاع النقل الأوسع ، بما في ذلك العبارات الكهربائية والطيران.

لماذا العمل على تغير المناخ يتعطل وماذا يفعل حيال ذلك تنقل العبارة التي تعمل بالبطاريات المركبات عبر سوجنفوردن ، أكبر مضيق بحري في النرويج ، عشرات المرات في اليوم. (Wikimalte / يكيميديا), CC BY-SA

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن سياسات البدء تختلف عن سياسات الحفاظ على الأنشطة المناخية وتوسيع نطاقها. طريقة واحدة لإنشاء ائتلافات أوسع من الدعم ل بناء العدالة والإنصاف في كل عمل المناخ. بشكل مفرط مبادرات المناخ التكنولوجي ، مثل المدن الذكية ، يمكن أن تتعثر وتفشل في تحفيز عملية إزالة الكربون على نطاق واسع جزئياً لأنها تفشل في إنشاء تحالفات واسعة ومتنوعة للبناء على النجاحات الأولية.

بناء مجتمع أفضل غير ممكن دون معالجة تغير المناخ. معالجة تغير المناخ ليست كذلك مجدية سياسيا دون متابعة مجتمع أكثر عدلاً وعدلاً لضمان دعم واسع.

حول المؤلف

ماثيو هوفمان ، أستاذ العلوم السياسية ومدير مختبر مختبر الإدارة البيئية ، جامعة تورنتو وستيفن بيرنشتاين ، أستاذ العلوم السياسية والمدير المشارك لمختبر الإدارة البيئية ، جامعة تورنتو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
by ميليسا ستارلينغ وبول ماكجريفي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون

Why Action On Climate Change Gets Stuck and What To Do About It

Why Action On Climate Change Gets Stuck And What To Do About It The Garzweiler surface mine produced 35 million tonnes of brown coal (lignite) in 2017. Germany plans to phase-out coal-fired power by 2038. (Shutterstock)

Work crews descended on 12 commuter parking lots in Toronto in late November 2018, and headed to the electric vehicle (EV) charging stations. Their work came on the heels of an IPCC report that warned of dire environmental, economic and health consequences in the absence of any serious momentum toward decarbonization by 2030.

But the crews were not adding to the two charging stations installed in each parking lot in 2013. They came to remove them.

This erasure of one provincial government’s climate project by its successor was only the tip of the melting iceberg. The steady unravelling of climate policy began when the newly elected Conservative government cancelled the provincial cap and trade system and renewable energy contracts from Ontario’s feed-in-tariff system. It also removed subsidies for electric vehicles (up to $14,000 per vehicle under the previous government).

Despite being sold as cost-cutting, some of the reversals have been expensive. Cancelling 750 renewable-energy projects, for instance, cost $231 million.

It is tempting to view this unwinding through the lens of the polarized politics plaguing many western democracies. That misses the bigger picture.

Our research on more than two dozen climate initiatives around the world — from the community level to the global scale — revealed that the Ontario story is depressingly familiar. There is no lack of climate initiatives — our case studies are only a small cross-section of thousands. Rather, the problem is that these initiatives tend to get started, make some progress and then get stuck or even regress.

Everything is connected

Dependence on fossil energy means it is difficult for a new policy or technology in isolation to catalyze breakthrough changes. Part of the story is the pushback they generate, as happened in Ontario, from political and economic interests that mobilize opposition.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But overt resistance is not the only obstacle to change. Changing one thing often runs into the powerful inertia of related policies, technologies, interests and patterns of behaviour.

For example, a local or provincial policy to incentivize electric vehicle purchases by allowing free parking or providing subsidies may make some progress reducing emissions. But if other parts of the transportation system do not change, the policy will stall or reverse.

Why Action On Climate Change Gets Stuck and What To Do About It A man plugs in his Volkswagen e-Golf at a charging station in Peterborough, Ont., in June 2018. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Doug Ives

Without charging stations, people will have range anxiety. If subsidies decline or higher levels of government do not impose stricter fuel standards, markets for EVs can dry up. If the electric grid is supplied by dirty coal power or other high carbon fuels, EV purchases will have less effect on overall emissions. If the uptake of EVs remains low as a result, auto companies and the public may oppose such policies as costly for limited impact.

These challenging, interdependent dynamics are evident across policies and scales. Even in Germany, which implemented some of the most aggressive renewable energy policies, decarbonization has stalled despite strong public support. Pricing and policy dynamics, such as the shale gas revolution outside of Germany and the decision to phase out nuclear power, led to coal becoming the cheapest source of energy, resulting in the extension of coal-fired power plants.

The German phase-out of coal power will be complete in 2038 (too slow according to some activists) and comes with billions of Euros in compensation for coal-producing states and companies.

The purgatory of incremental change

Climate initiatives also get stuck because the momentum they generate is not always in the direction of substantial change or decarbonization. For instance, moving from coal-fired to natural gas electricity production can lower emissions. However, turning to this bridge fuel reinforces dependence on fossil energy. Political coalitions that support and benefit from such an initial change might not favour more aggressive action.

A case in point is Colorado’s New Energy Economy policy. In the mid-2000s, it included a commitment to shift from coal to renewables supported by unions and energy companies. The fracking revolution, however, lowered natural gas prices and encouraged the development of coalitions that supported it as a transition fuel.

The state government subsequently redefined the new energy economy to include natural gas, undermining its commitment to renewables. This shift put Colorado on an improved, but still carbon-intensive, pathway. The state is in the midst of changing oil and gas regulations again.

Why Action On Climate Change Gets Stuck and What To Do About It Workers tend to a wellhead at a hydraulic fracturing operation outside Rifle, Colo., in March 2013. AP Photo/Brennan Linsley

These dynamics apply equally to individuals. Studies show that nudging people to change their daily practices can decrease their support for broader, transformative policies because they feel they have done enough.

Getting unstuck

Our research has identified four questions to ask when designing and implementing climate action to counter these dynamics: Does it disrupt dependence on fossil energy? Does it build coalitions that favour more aggressive actions? Is it sensitive to broader connections? Does it spark climate action elsewhere?

These questions suggest a need to value the transformative potential of any climate action rather than (only) the immediate emissions reductions. Quick emissions reductions like those generated by fuel switching are seductive but can stall. Instead policy-makers should evaluate climate action on whether it contributes to disrupting reliance on fossil energy and reinforcing alternative paths.

Getting unstuck also requires thinking beyond single policies. A successful EV policy like Norway’s pays attention to the entire personal transport sector (taxes and subsidies, infrastructure, etc.). It has even catalyzed change in the broader transportation sector, including electric ferries and aviation.

Why Action On Climate Change Gets Stuck and What To Do About It A battery-powered ferry shuttles vehicles across Sognefjorden, Norway’s largest fjord, dozens of times a day. (Wikimalte/Wikimedia), CC BY-SA

Moreover, the politics of getting started are different than the politics of maintaining and extending climate action. One way to create broader coalitions of support is to build justice and equity into every climate action. Overly technocratic climate initiatives, such as smart cities, can get stuck and fail to catalyze broad decarbonization in part because they fail to generate broad and diverse coalitions to build on initial successes.

Building a better society is not possible without addressing climate change. Addressing climate change is not politically feasible without pursuing a more just and equitable society to ensure broad support.

About the Authors

Matthew Hoffmann, Professor of Political Science and Co-Director Environmental Governance Lab, University of Toronto and Steven Bernstein, Professor of Political Science and Co-Director of the Environmental Governance Lab, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…