تعمل الأسطح الخضراء على تحسين البيئة الحضرية - فلماذا لا تملكها جميع المباني؟

تعمل الأسطح الخضراء على تحسين البيئة الحضرية - فلماذا لا تملكها جميع المباني؟
USEPA / فليكر.

أصبحت الأسطح المغطاة بالأعشاب وحدائق الخضروات وأوراق الشجر الخضراء مشهداً شائعاً في العديد من المدن حول العالم. المزيد والمزيد من الشركات الخاصة وسلطات المدينة تستثمر في الأسطح الخضراء ، التي تجذبهم فوائد واسعة النطاق التي تشمل توفير في تكاليف الطاقة ، والتخفيف من مخاطر الفيضانات ، وإنشاء موائل للحياة البرية في المناطق الحضرية ، ومعالجة تلوث الهواء والحرارة الحضرية وحتى إنتاج الغذاء.

اقترح تقرير حديث في المملكة المتحدة أن سوق السقف الأخضر هناك يتوسع في بمعدل 17٪ كل عام. أكبر مزرعة في العالم على السطح سيفتح في باريس في 2020 ، يحل محل مخططات مماثلة في مدينة نيويورك وشيكاغو. شتوتغارت ، في ألمانيا ، يُعتقد أنها كذلك "عاصمة السقف الأخضر لأوروبا"، بينما سنغافورة حتى تثبيت السقوف الخضراء على الحافلات.

يمكن لهذه التصميمات الحضرية المتنامية جذريًا مساعدة المدن على التكيف مع التحديات الضخمة التي تواجهها ، مثل الوصول إلى الموارد ونقص المساحات الخضراء بسبب التنمية. لكن المشاركة من سلطات المدينة والشركات والمؤسسات الأخرى أمر حاسم لضمان نجاحها - كما هو الحال في الأبحاث التي تبحث في خيارات مختلفة لتناسب مجموعة متنوعة من المساحات الموجودة على سطح المدن.

اتجاه متزايد

تعد المملكة المتحدة جديدة نسبيًا في تطوير الأسطح الخضراء ، وتقوم الحكومات والمؤسسات بدور رئيسي في نشر هذه الممارسة. لندن هي موطن للكثير من سوق السقف الأخضر في المملكة المتحدة ، ويرجع ذلك أساسا إلى سياسات التفكير إلى الأمام مثل خطة لندن 2008، مما مهد الطريق لأكثر من ضعف مساحة الأسطح الخضراء في العاصمة.

على الرغم من أن لندن قد قادت الطريق ، إلا أن هناك الآن "مختبرات حية" في جامعات شيفيلد وسالفورد التي تساعد على إقامة سابقة في مكان آخر. ال مشروع الإشعال - بقيادة هيئة مانشستر الكبرى المشتركة - يتضمن تطوير مختبر حي في جامعة سالفورد ، بهدف اكتشاف طرق لإقناع المطورين والمستثمرين بتبني الأسطح الخضراء.

البحث المستمر هو عرض كيف يمكن أن تتكامل مع الأسطح الخضراء جدران المعيشة ونظم الصرف الصحي المستدامة على الأرض ، مثل أشجار الشوارع، لإدارة المياه بشكل أفضل وجعل البيئة المبنية أكثر استدامة.

البحث يوضح أيضا مبلغ ذو قيمة من الأسطح الخضراء. الأطباء هم وصف متزايد الوقت الذي يقضيه البستنة في الهواء الطلق للمرضى التعامل مع القلق والاكتئاب. و وقد وجدت الأبحاث أن الوصول إلى أبسط المساحات الخضراء يمكن أن يوفر نوعية حياة أفضل لمرضى الخرف ويساعد على منع السمنة.

تعمل الأسطح الخضراء على تحسين البيئة الحضرية - فلماذا لا تملكها جميع المباني؟
سقف صالح للأكل في Fenway Park ، ملعب Boston Red Sox.
مايكل هاردمان, مؤلف المنصوص

في أمريكا الشمالية ، أصبحت الأسطح الخضراء سائدة ، حيث تم تركيب مجموعة واسعة من الأسقف الواسعة والمنتجة والمنتجة للغذاء في المباني. مرة أخرى ، ساعد قادة وسلطات المدينة في دفع الحركة إلى الأمام - مؤخرًا ، سان فرانسيسكو خلق سياسة تتطلب المباني الجديدة لديها أسطح خضراء. لدى تورونتو سياسات يرجع تاريخها إلى 1990s ، مما يشجع تطوير المزارع الحضرية على أسطح المنازل.

تستفيد هذه البلدان أيضًا من وجود مبانٍ أحدث ، مما يجعل من الأسهل تركيب الأسطح الخضراء. تعد القدرة على تخزين وتوزيع المياه مباشرة عبر السطح أمرًا بالغ الأهمية للحفاظ على النباتات على أي سقف أخضر - وخاصة على "الأسطح الصالحة للأكل" التي تزرع الفاكهة والخضروات. كما أنه من الأسهل بكثير إنشاء هذه السعة في المباني الحديثة ، والتي يمكن أن تحمل وزنًا أكبر من المباني القديمة ذات التصميم القديم. كما أن وجود سقف أقوى يجعل من السهل زراعة مجموعة أكبر من النباتات ، لأن التربة يمكن أن تكون أعمق.

الجديد الطبيعي؟

لكي تصبح الأسطح الخضراء هي القاعدة للتطورات الجديدة ، يجب أن تكون هناك موافقة من السلطات العامة والجهات الفاعلة الخاصة. قد يضطر المسؤولون عن صيانة المباني إلى اكتساب مهارات جديدة ، مثل المناظر الطبيعية ، وفي بعض الحالات قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى المتطوعين للمساعدة. تشمل الاعتبارات الأخرى تثبيت مسارات التصريف ، وتلبية متطلبات الصحة والسلامة ، وربما السماح بالوصول إلى الجمهور ، بالإضافة إلى قيود التخطيط والتعطيل من الفظائع المعتادة داخل المباني وحولها أثناء التثبيت.

لإقناع المستثمرين والمطورين بأن تثبيت الأسطح الخضراء أمر جدير بالاهتمام ، فإن الحجج الاقتصادية لا تزال هي الأهم. المصطلح "العاصمه الطبيعيه" تم تطويره لشرح القيمة الاقتصادية للطبيعة ؛ على سبيل المثال ، قياس الأموال التي يتم توفيرها عن طريق تثبيت حلول طبيعية للحماية من أضرار الفيضان ، أو التكيف مع تغير المناخ أو مساعدة الناس على عيش حياة أكثر صحة وسعادة.

كما ينمو الخبرة حول الأسطح الخضراء ، والمعايير الرسمية لديها تم تطويره للتأكد من أنها مصممة وبنيت وصيانتها بشكل صحيح ، وتعمل بشكل جيد. أدت التحسينات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا التي تقوم عليها تطوير السقف الأخضر أيضًا إلى اختلافات جديدة في هذا المفهوم.

على سبيل المثال، "السقوف الزرقاء" زيادة قدرة المباني على الاحتفاظ بالمياه لفترات زمنية أطول ، بدلاً من التصريف بسرعة - وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية في أوقات هطول الأمطار الغزيرة. هناك أيضا مجموعات من الأسطح الخضراء مع الألواح الشمسية ، و "السقوف البنية" التي هي البرية في الطبيعة وتعظيم التنوع البيولوجي.

إذا استمر هذا الاتجاه ، فقد يؤدي إلى خلق وظائف جديدة واقتصاد غذائي محلي أكثر حيوية واستدامة - إلى جانب العديد من المزايا الأخرى. لا تزال هناك عوائق يجب التغلب عليها ، لكن الأدلة تشير إلى أن الأسطح الخضراء لديها القدرة على تحويل المدن ومساعدتها على العمل بشكل مستدام في المستقبل. يجب دراسة قصص النجاح وتكرارها في أي مكان آخر ، لجعل الأسطح الخضراء والأزرق والبنية المنتجة للغذاء هي المعيار في مدن العالم.

عن المؤلفين

مايكل هاردمان ، محاضر أول في الجغرافيا الحضرية ، جامعة سالفورد ونيك ديفيز ، زميل أبحاث ، جامعة سالفورد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Green Roofs Improve The Urban Environment – So Why Don't All Buildings Have Them?

Green Roofs Improve The Urban Environment – So Why Don't All Buildings Have Them?
USEPA/Flickr.

Rooftops covered with grass, vegetable gardens and lush foliage are now a common sight in many cities around the world. More and more private companies and city authorities are investing in green roofs, drawn to their wide-ranging benefits which include savings on energy costs, mitigating the risk from floods, creating habitats for urban wildlife, tackling air pollution and urban heat and even producing food.

A recent report in the UK suggested that the green roof market there is expanding at a rate of 17% each year. The world’s largest rooftop farm will open in Paris in 2020, superseding similar schemes in New York City and Chicago. Stuttgart, in Germany, is thought of as “the green roof capital of Europe”, while Singapore is even installing green roofs on buses.

These increasingly radical urban designs can help cities adapt to the monumental challenges they face, such as access to resources and a lack of green space due to development. But buy-in from city authorities, businesses and other institutions is crucial to ensuring their success – as is research investigating different options to suit the variety of rooftop spaces found in cities.

A growing trend

The UK is relatively new to developing green roofs, and governments and institutions are playing a major role in spreading the practice. London is home to much of the UK’s green roof market, mainly due to forward-thinking policies such as the 2008 London Plan, which paved the way to more than double the area of green roofs in the capital.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Although London has led the way, there are now “living labs” at the Universities of Sheffield and Salford which are helping to establish the precedent elsewhere. The IGNITION project – led by the Greater Manchester Combined Authority – involves the development of a living lab at the University of Salford, with the aim of uncovering ways to convince developers and investors to adopt green roofs.

Ongoing research is showcasing how green roofs can integrate with living walls and sustainable drainage systems on the ground, such as street trees, to better manage water and make the built environment more sustainable.

Research is also demonstrating the social value of green roofs. Doctors are increasingly prescribing time spent gardening outdoors for patients dealiong with anxiety and depression. And research has found that access to even the most basic green spaces can provide a better quality of life for dementia sufferers and help prevent obesity.

Green Roofs Improve The Urban Environment – So Why Don't All Buildings Have Them?
An edible roof at Fenway Park, stadium of the Boston Red Sox.
Michael Hardman, Author provided

In North America, green roofs have become mainstream, with a wide array of expansive, accessible and food-producing roofs installed in buildings. Again, city leaders and authorities have helped push the movement forward – only recently, San Francisco created a policy requiring new buildings to have green roofs. Toronto has policies dating from the 1990s, encouraging the development of urban farms on rooftops.

These countries also benefit from having newer buildings, which make it easier to install green roofs. Being able to store and distribute water right across the rooftop is crucial to maintaining the plants on any green roof – especially on “edible roofs” which farm fruit and vegetables. And it’s much easier to create this capacity in newer buildings, which can typically hold greater weight, than retro-fit old ones. Having a stronger roof also makes it easier to grow a greater variety of plants, since the soil can be deeper.

The new normal?

For green roofs to become the norm for new developments, there needs to be buy-in from public authorities and private actors. Those responsible for maintaining buildings may have to acquire new skills, such as landscaping, and in some cases volunteers may be needed to help out. Other considerations include installing drainage paths, meeting health and safety requirements and perhaps allowing access for the public, as well as planning restrictions and disruption from regular ativities in and around the buildings during installation.

To convince investors and developers that installing green roofs is worthwhile, economic arguments are still the most important. The term “natural capital” has been developed to explain the economic value of nature; for example, measuring the money saved by installing natural solutions to protect against flood damage, adapt to climate change or help people lead healthier and happier lives.

As the expertise about green roofs grows, official standards have been developed to ensure that they are designed, built and maintained properly, and function well. Improvements in the science and technology underpinning green roof development have also led to new variations on the concept.

For example, “blue roofs” increase the capacity of buildings to hold water over longer periods of time, rather than drain away quickly – crucial in times of heavier rainfall. There are also combinations of green roofs with solar panels, and “brown roofs” which are wilder in nature and maximise biodiversity.

If the trend continues, it could create new jobs and a more vibrant and sustainable local food economy – alongside many other benefits. There are still barriers to overcome, but the evidence so far indicates that green roofs have the potential to transform cities and help them function sustainably long into the future. The success stories need to be studied and replicated elsewhere, to make green, blue, brown and food-producing roofs the norm in cities around the world.

About The Authors

Michael Hardman, Senior Lecturer in Urban Geography, University of Salford and Nick Davies, Research Fellow, University of Salford

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}