كيفية الحصول على جميع الشبكة الكهربائية المتجددة

كيفية الحصول على جميع الشبكة الكهربائية المتجددة
الشبكة المتجددة كلها تعني المزيد من الكهرباء والمزيد من خطوط النقل. روس أليسون لوار / فليكر, CC BY-NC-ND

الحل الرئيسي ل تغير المناخ ومن المعروف جيدا - التوقف عن حرق الوقود الأحفوري. كيفية القيام بذلك أكثر تعقيدًا ، ولكن بصفتي باحثًا يقوم بنمذجة الطاقة ، أرى أنا وآخرون الخطوط العريضة لمستقبل ما بعد الوقود الأحفوري: نحن جعل الكهرباء مع مصادر الطاقة المتجددة وكهرب كل شيء تقريبا.

وهذا يعني تشغيل المركبات والقطارات على الكهرباء وتدفئة المباني بالكهرباء مضخات حرارية، كهربة التطبيقات الصناعية مثل إنتاج الصلب واستخدام الكهرباء المتجددة لصنع الهدرجة (على غرار الغاز الطبيعي) لمتطلبات أخرى. لذلك ينصب التركيز على تشغيل الشبكة الكهربائية بمصادر متجددة.

هناك جدال حول ما إذا كانت شبكات الكهرباء المتجددة بالكامل قابليه و كيف بسرعة يمكن إجراء الانتقال. أؤكد هنا أن الجدوى واضحة ، لذا فإن مسألة الانتقال فقط هي ذات الصلة.

التقنيات المعروفة

كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد
مزرعة رياح في تكساس. تكساس حصلت على حوالي 15٪ من الكهرباء من الرياح في 2017.
Draxis / فليكر, CC BY-ND

يركز بحثي على اقتصاديات الطاقة المتجددة. لإثبات جدوى وتقدير تكلفة أنظمة الكهرباء المتجددة ، يستخدم الباحثون نماذج الكمبيوتر التي تحسب الإنتاج المحتمل من التقنيات المختلفة في كل نقطة زمنية ، بناءً على الظروف المناخية المتغيرة. يكشف النموذج عن أي مزيج من مصادر الكهرباء وأنظمة تخزين الطاقة لديه أقل تكلفة مع تلبية الطلب دائمًا.

دراسات عديدة إثبات أن الشبكات الكهربائية المتجددة بالكامل ممكنة في الولايات المتحدة, أوروبا, أستراليا وفي أماكن أخرى. لقد أكملت أنا وزملائي مؤخرًا دراسة صغيرة حول دولة الجزيرة موريشيوس. جزر جذابة أماكن للتحولات الأولية المتجددة بسبب صغر حجمها والبساطة النسبية والاعتماد على الوقود المستورد.

وهناك عدد من طرق لجعل الكهرباء المتجددة: الطاقة المائية ، الرياح ، الخلايا الشمسية ، الطاقة الحرارية الأرضية وحرق أشكال مختلفة من الكتلة الحيوية (المواد النباتية) ، إلى جانب تحسين الكفاءة لاستخدام طاقة أقل. هذه تقنيات ناضجة بتكاليف معروفة.

وتشمل الاحتمالات الأخرى موجة ، المد والجزر و تركيز الطاقة الشمسيةحيث تركز عاكسات الأشعة الشمسية لإنتاج الطاقة. في حين أنه قد يتم استخدامها في المستقبل ، فإن الحاجة إلى معالجة تغير المناخ أمر ملح ، وفي تقديري ، تكفي التقنيات الناضجة.

آراء حول الطاقة النووية تشغيل قوي ، وهو محادثة أخرى. لكن النماذج تظهر أن الولايات المتحدة لا تحتاج إلى طاقة نووية لسحب الوقود الأحفوري.

شبكة المستقبل

أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة خاصة بالموقع: يعتمد أفضل نظام على موارد الموقع (هل هو عاصف؟) ، ونمطه الزمني (كم مرة لا تكون عاصفة؟) وتوافر مصادر مكملة (هل توجد طاقة مائية للنسخ الاحتياطي؟). على الرغم من حساسية الموقع هذه ، فإن الدراسات التي أجريت في أماكن متباينة تجد نتائج مماثلة.

وجود مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر المتجددة يمكن أن تقلل من التكاليف. على وجه الخصوص ، والطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح مكمل إذا كان الموسم المشمس ليس موسم الرياح ؛ تجد النماذج أن مزيجًا من الاثنين يكون أقل تكلفة من أيٍّ منهما وحده.

بالنسبة لمعظم التقنيات ، نطاق أوسع يقلل من التكلفة. على سبيل المثال ، في الولايات المتحدة ، يمكن أن تكون المزارع الشمسية واسعة النطاق أكبر من 1,000 مرات بأكثر من أنظمة الأسطح السكنية وحوالي نصف التكلفة. لتقليل التكلفة ، نقوم ببناء أنظمة كبيرة.

كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد
يؤدي بناء مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة على نطاق واسع ، مثل محطة الطاقة الشمسية 550- ميجاوات في صحراء موهافي بكاليفورنيا ، إلى انخفاض تكاليف الطاقة المنتجة.
وزارة الداخلية الأمريكية, CC BY-SA

لأن الظروف الشمسية والرياح تختلف عبر النظام ، والمناظر الطبيعية التكاليف تنخفض مع نمو مساحة الإنتاج، لذلك يجب أن يكون هناك شبكة كهربائية قوية لنقل الكهرباء من الأماكن التي توجد فيها إمدادات إلى أماكن الطلب. نحتاج أيضًا إلى المزيد من الكهرباء لتطبيقات مثل وسائل النقل التي تستخدم الوقود الأحفوري حاليًا. هذا يعني أن الشبكة يجب أن تنمو.

تشير الدراسات إلى أن تشغيل الشبكة الكهربائية مع الطاقة المتجددة المتغيرة سوف تشمل عدم استخدام ، أو الإغراق ، بعض الطاقة في بعض الأحيان ، وهي استراتيجية تقلل التكلفة مقارنة دائمًا بتخزين الطاقة الفائضة.

لا يزال ، شكل من أشكال تخزين الكهرباء وهناك حاجة. تعمل البطاريات بشكل جيد لتنعيم التقلبات على المدى القصير ، ولكن لتخزين الطاقة لساعات أو أيام عديدة ، ضخ تخزين الطاقة الكهرومائية أقل تكلفة. تستخدم المضخة المائية أي طاقة إضافية في الشبكة لضخ المياه صعودًا ، وعندما تكون هناك حاجة إلى الطاقة ، يتدفق الماء لتوليد الطاقة في التوربينات. الولايات المتحدة لديها بعض الأمثلة الحالية و العديد من المواقع الممكنة. مع توسيع الشبكة ، قد يكون موقع التخزين على مسافة من المستخدمين.

تتوفر الطاقة الكهرومائية وطاقة الكتلة الحيوية عند الطلب ، وبالتالي فإن وجود هذه الطاقة في شبكة كهربائية متجددة يقلل من الحاجة إلى تخزين الطاقة ويقلل التكلفة. كلاهما له تأثيرات بيئية يجب إدارتها.

كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد كيف يكون لديك كل شبكة كهربائية قابلة للتجديد
ادارة معلومات الطاقة الامريكية, CC BY

الطاقة الكهرومائية يمكن أن تغير النظم الإيكولوجية المحلية. احتراق الكتلة الحيوية تنبعث منها ثاني أكسيد الكربون، ولكن دراسة عملت عليها تبين أن انبعاثات الكتلة الحيوية قابلة للعكس ومن الواضح أن الكربون أفضل من انبعاثات الوقود الأحفوري. تعتمد الاستدامة أيضًا بشكل حاسم على إدارة حقول الكتلة الحيوية والغابات ؛ سجل المسار البشري على هذا لم يكن ممتازا.

تتطلب أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة الأرض. ا دراسة الولايات المتحدة يوضح أن توفير جميع الكهرباء من الرياح والمياه والطاقة الشمسية سوف يحتاج إلى 0.42٪ من مساحة الأرض ، بالإضافة إلى 1.6٪ من مساحة الأرض للمسافة بين توربينات الرياح. تتطلب طاقة الكتلة الحيوية مساحة أكبر بكثير من طاقة الرياح أو الطاقة الشمسية ، لذلك يجب أن تكون الكتلة الحيوية جزءًا صغيرًا من محلول الطاقة المتجددة.

الحواجز الحقيقية سياسية وثقافية

شبكة كهرباء متجددة في المستقبل مع كهربة المرتبطة قد أو لا تقليل تكاليف الطاقة. ولكن تجنب أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ يعني الإقلاع عن الوقود الأحفوري ، ما إذا كان هذا سيوفر المال أم لا. ومع ذلك ، فإن الانتقال المتجدد سيكون أسرع وأسهل من الناحية السياسية إذا كان أقل تكلفة.

In موريشيوس، دراستنا وجدت تكاليف الكهرباء المتجددة أن تكون مماثلة للتكاليف الحالية هناك ، على أساس التكاليف الرأسمالية الحالية للطاقة المتجددة. بعض الدراسات كما تجد أن تكاليف الكهرباء المتجددة في المستقبل ستكون أقل من تكاليف الوقود الأحفوري الحالية ، في حالة انخفاض التكاليف على الأرجح مع قيامنا ببناء المزيد من أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة وتحسين حالتها.

وهذا كل شيء ، من منظور تقني. يمكن لمزيج من المصادر المتجددة وتخزين الطاقة - المجموعة المحددة اعتمادًا على الظروف والتفضيلات المحلية - توفير جميع الكهرباء اللازمة بسعر في المتناول ، وسوف يقلل من تلوث الهواء عند التشغيل.

لكن هناك حاجة لسياسات الحكومة للانتقال إلى الطاقة المتجددة. إن تغير المناخ هو تكلفة خارجية يتحملها المجتمع وليس منتجو الطاقة - لذلك فإن قوى السوق وحدها لن تقوم بالانتقال. إلى جانب وضع سعر على الكربون (ربما مع عاد الأرباح إلى الجمهور) ، يمكن للحكومة تسهيل بناء البنية التحتية اللازمة. وهناك حاجة إلى دعم عام: على سبيل المثال ، يعد قبول الجمهور لخطوط النقل لنقل الكهرباء من السهول الكبرى العاصفة إلى مراكز المدن تحديًا آخر لشبكة قابلة للتجديد.

مشروع على نطاق تحويل نظام الطاقة سوف خلق فرص عمل - العديد من الوظائف - والتي ربما تكون المقياس الاقتصادي الأكثر أهمية للمواطن.

تظهر الأبحاث التي أجراها مني ومن آخرين أن الشبكات الكهربائية المتجددة بالكامل ممكنة مع التكنولوجيا الحالية بالأسعار الحالية ؛ إن العوائق التي تحول دون استخدام الكهرباء المتجددة أكثر سياسية وثقافية من التكنولوجية أو الاقتصادية.

عن المؤلف

ديفيد تيمونزأستاذ مشارك في الاقتصاد جامعة ماساتشوستس بوسطن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How To Have An All Renewable Electric Grid

How To Have An All Renewable Electric Grid
An all-renewable grid will mean more electricity and more transmission lines. Russ Allison Loar/flickr, CC BY-NC-ND

The main solution to climate change is well known – stop burning fossil fuels. How to do this is more complicated, but as a scholar who does energy modeling, I and others see the outlines of a post-fossil-fuel future: We make electricity with renewable sources and electrify almost everything.

That means running vehicles and trains on electricity, heating buildings with electric heat pumps, electrifying industrial applications such as steel production and using renewable electricity to make hydrogen (similar to natural gas) for other requirements. So the focus is on powering the electric grid with renewable sources.

There is debate, though, about whether fully renewable electricity systems are feasible and how quickly the transition can be made. Here I argue that feasibility is clear, so only the transition question is relevant.

Known technologies

How To Have An All Renewable Electric GridHow To Have An All Renewable Electric Grid
A wind farm in Texas. Texas got about 15% of its electricity from wind in 2017.
Draxis/flickr, CC BY-ND

My research focuses on the economics of renewable energy. To demonstrate feasibility and estimate cost of renewable electricity systems, researchers use computer models that calculate potential production from different technologies at each point in time, based on changing weather conditions. A model reveals which combination of electricity sources and energy storage systems has the lowest cost while always meeting demand.

Many studies demonstrate that fully renewable electric grids are feasible in the United States, Europe, Australia and elsewhere. My colleagues and I recently completed a small-scale study on the island-nation of Mauritius. Islands are attractive places for initial renewable transitions because of their small scale, relative simplicity and dependence on imported fuels.

There are a number of ways to make renewable electricity: hydro, wind, solar photovoltaics, geothermal and burning various forms of biomass (plant matter), besides improving efficiency to use less energy. These are mature technologies with known costs.

Other possibilities include wave, tidal and concentrating solar power, where reflectors focus solar rays to produce power. While these may be used in the future, the need to address climate change is urgent, and in my estimation, the mature technologies suffice.

Opinions on nuclear energy run strong, which is another conversation. But models show that the United States does not need nuclear energy to retire fossil fuels.

The grid of the future

Renewable energy systems are location-specific: The best system depends on a location’s resources (is it windy?), its temporal pattern (how often is it not windy?) and availability of complementary sources (is there hydropower for backup?). Despite this location sensitivity, studies in disparate places are finding similar results.

Having a diversity of renewable sources can reduce costs. In particular, solar and wind are complementary if the sunny season is not the windy season; models find that a combination of both is typically less expensive than either alone.

For most technologies, larger scale reduces cost. For example, in the United States, large-scale solar farms can be more than 1,000 times larger than residential rooftop systems and about half the cost. To minimize cost, we build large systems.

How To Have An All Renewable Electric GridHow To Have An All Renewable Electric Grid
Building large-scale renewable energy projects, such as this 550-megawatt solar plant in the Mojave Desert in California, leads to lower costs for energy produced.
U.S. Department of Interior, CC BY-SA

Because solar and wind conditions vary across the landscape, system costs fall as a production area grows, so there needs to be a robust electric grid to move electricity from places where there is supply to places of demand. We also need more electricity for applications like transportation that currently use fossil fuels. This means the grid must grow.

Studies show that running an electric grid with variable renewable energy will include not using, or dumping, some energy at times, a strategy that reduces cost compared to always storing surplus energy.

Still, some form of electricity storage is needed. Batteries work well for smoothing short-term fluctuations, but for storing energy for many hours or days, pumped hydroelectric storage is less expensive. Pumped hydro uses any extra energy in the grid to pump water uphill, and when energy is needed, the water runs back down to generate power in a turbine. The United States has some existing examples and many feasible locations. With grid expansion, storage may be located at a distance from users.

Hydroelectricity and biomass power are available on demand, so having these in a renewable electric grid shrinks the energy storage need and reduces cost. Both have environmental effects that must be managed.

How To Have An All Renewable Electric GridHow To Have An All Renewable Electric Grid
U.S. Energy Information Administration, CC BY

Hydropower can alter local ecosystems. Burning biomass emits carbon dioxide, but a study I worked on shows that biomass emissions are reversible and are clearly carbon-preferable to fossil-fuel emissions. Sustainability also depends critically on management of biomass fields and forests; the human track record on this has not been stellar.

Renewable energy systems require land. A U.S. study shows that supplying all electricity from wind, water and solar would need 0.42% of land area, plus 1.6% of land area for space between wind turbines. Biomass energy requires much more land than wind or solar, so biomass must be a small part of the renewable energy solution.

Real barriers are political and cultural

A future renewable electricity grid with associated electrification may or may not reduce energy costs. But avoiding the worst effects of climate change means quitting fossil fuels, whether or not this saves money. Still, the renewable transition will be faster and politically easier if it is less expensive.

In Mauritius, our study finds renewable electricity costs to be similar to present costs there, based on current capital costs for renewable energy. Some studies also find costs for future renewable electricity to be lower than present fossil-fuel costs, in the likely event that costs fall as we build more renewable energy systems and get better at doing it.

And that’s it, from a technical perspective. A combination of renewable sources and energy storage – the specific combination depending on local conditions and preferences – can supply all the electricity needed at an affordable price, and will reduce air pollution to boot.

But government policies are needed to make a transition to renewable energy. Climate change is an external cost – borne by society rather than by energy producers – so market forces alone will not make the transition. Besides putting a price on carbon (perhaps with dividends returned to the public), government could make it easier to build the needed infrastructure. And public support is needed: For example, public acceptance of transmission lines to move electricity from the windy Great Plains to city centers is another challenge for an all-renewable grid.

A project on the scale of transforming the energy system will create jobs – many jobs – which is perhaps the economic measure of most importance to the citizenry.

Research from me and others shows that fully renewable electric grids are feasible with current technology at current prices; barriers to using renewable electricity are more political and cultural than technological or economic.

About the Author

David Timmons, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Massachusetts Boston

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}