لمعالجة أزمة المناخ ، نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الديمقراطية ، وليس أقل

لمعالجة أزمة المناخ ، نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الديمقراطية ، وليس أقل

مع ازدياد الشعور بأزمة المناخ في جميع أنحاء العالم ، حيث يخرج المحتجون إلى الشوارع ويتعثر السياسيون للرد ، هناك سؤال حاسم بدأ في الظهور. كيف يمكن للحكومات تطوير استراتيجيات المناخ التي تبني الدعم الشعبي للعمل؟ إعلان ست لجان برلمانية في المملكة المتحدة بأنها ستعقد تجمع المواطنين حول حالة الطوارئ المناخية هي خطوة حاسمة نحو الإجابة على هذا السؤال.

لا يوجد نقص في الوصفات الطبية للعمل المناخي. من الاقتصاديين الذين طالبوا بفرض ضريبة على الكربون على مستوى الاقتصاد ، إلى العلماء الذين يدعون إلى "إدارة نظام الأرض" على مستوى الكواكب ، هناك خبراء يؤكدون لنا أن لديهم استراتيجيات لخفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة بسرعة وفعالية. ولكن هناك وهمًا خطيرًا يكمن وراء هذه الوصفات - ما أطلق عليه عالم الاجتماع مارتن هاجر وهم "cockpitism". تصف قمرة القيادة الافتراض القائل بأنه يمكنك إملاء حلول المناخ بنفس الطريقة التي قد يطير بها طيار طائرة ، ويجلس في قمرة القيادة لرسم المسار الأكثر كفاءة ، مع أدوات وأدوات معايرة تماما.

هذا الوهم إشكالي للغاية - وليس فقط لأن نظام المناخ هو كيان أكثر تعقيدًا بكثير من كونه طائرة. إنها مشكلة لأنها تقطع الناس. إنها نظرة غير سياسية على ما يبدو أن "الخبراء" المعرّفين ذاتيًا يمكنهم أن يقرّروا ما هو الأفضل للناس ويفرضون هذه الحلول. في أقصى حالاته ، يشير إلى أن الديمقراطية هي المشكلة وليس الحل - كعالم الأرض المخضرم جيمس لوفلوك قال ذات مرة"، قد يكون تغير المناخ قضية شديدة الخطورة مثل الحرب. قد يكون من الضروري تعليق الديمقراطية لفترة من الوقت. "

بحثي الخاص يشير إلى أن العكس هو الصحيح. لمعالجة أزمة المناخ ، نحتاج إلى مزيد من الديمقراطية الأفضل وليس أقل. لقد أظهرت المقابلات التي أجريتها مع السياسيين أنهم مقتنعون بالحاجة إلى اتخاذ إجراء بشأن المناخ ، لكنهم لم يعرفوا ما هو الدعم الذي سيقدمه الناخبون. كما أخبرني أحدهم: "لقد أجريت عشرات الآلاف من المحادثات مع الناخبين ، وليس لدي محادثات حول تغير المناخ."

ولكن قد يكون هذا على وشك التغيير ، كما نعلم من بيانات الاستطلاع القلق العام بشأن تغير المناخ هو الآن في أعلى مستوياته على الإطلاق. لكن كيف يترجم هذا إلى دعم للعمل المناخي بعيد المدى؟ هل سيكون الناس أكثر عرضة لدعم البرامج المحلية ، مع إعطاء صلاحيات للمدن والبلدات لخفض الانبعاثات؟ هل سيكون هناك دعم لفرض حظر على مركبات البنزين والديزل ، على مدى العقد القادم؟ هل سيدعم الناس ضرائب أعلى على الكربون ، إذا تم استثمار الأموال في حلول منخفضة الكربون ودعم الأسر الضعيفة؟ والأهم من ذلك ، كيف يمكن أن يرتبط كل ذلك معًا باستراتيجية مناخية موثوقة وفعالة من شأنها أن تبني ولاية اتخاذ مزيد من الإجراءات نحو هدف الكربون الصافي؟

لمعالجة أزمة المناخ ، نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الديمقراطية ، وليس أقل الناس يقولون انهم يريدون العمل المناخ. ولكن هل هم على استعداد حقًا لحظر سيارات البنزين؟ ديزي / مصراع

هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن تساعد فيه عمليات مثل مجلس المواطنين ، أو العمليات التداولية الأخرى مثل هيئات المحلفين أو ورش العمل التداولية. تتيح هذه العمليات لمجموعة تمثيلية من المواطنين مقابلة الخبراء على قدم المساواة وتقييم الأدلة والمناقشة واقتراح الحلول. إنها ليست بديلاً عن السياسة الانتخابية ، ولكنها توفر فهمًا أكثر تفصيلًا وتفصيلًا لوجهات نظر الناخبين من الاقتراع السياسي التقليدي أو مجموعات التركيز.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في الآونة الأخيرة جمعية المواطنين حول تغير المناخ في أيرلندا ، عرض المواطنون مجموعة من الاقتراحات الراديكالية والثقة بشكل مدهش ، ومعظمها الآن الحكومة المضي قدما. في المملكة المتحدة ، تقوم العديد من المناطق المحلية الآن بإعداد عمليات تداولية لتحديد الخطوات التالية الخاصة بها بشأن المناخ.

حسنًا ، يمكن أن تساعد هذه العمليات في تطوير سياسة أكثر شمولًا وأقل انقسامًا ، وتصدى لانعدام الثقة "للخبراء" وتسمح بالتفاعل المستمر بين آراء وقيم الجمهور والسياسيين.

مجلس المواطنين ليس حلا سحريا. المداولة لن تحل المشكلة بحد ذاتها. نحن بحاجة إلى عمل بعيد المدى يتطلب سياسة جذرية ومواجهة المصالح الخاصة. لكن هذه السياسة والإجراءات لن تتحقق إلا إذا فهمها الناس ودعموها. كلما اكتشفنا المزيد حول كيفية بناء تفويض عام للعمل المناخي ، وكلما شملنا أشخاصًا في نقاش حقيقي ومداولات ، زاد احتمال قيامنا بالعثور على طريقة من خلال أزمة المناخ. إذا لم تكن ديمقراطية ، فهي ليست واقعية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريبيكا ويليس ، باحثة في السياسة البيئية والسياسة ، جامعة لانكستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
by ماريا سيليست فاغنر وبابلو ج. بوزكوفسكي

To Tackle The Climate Crisis We Need More Democracy, Not Less

To Tackle The Climate Crisis We Need More Democracy, Not Less

As the climate crisis is increasingly felt across the globe, protesters take to the streets and politicians scrabble to respond, a crucial question is beginning to emerge. How can governments develop climate strategies which build public support for action? An announcement by six UK parliamentary committees that they will hold a citizens’ assembly on the climate emergency is a crucial step toward answering that question.

There are no shortage of prescriptions for climate action. From economists calling for an economy-wide carbon tax, to scientists advocating “earth system governance” at the planetary level, there are experts assuring us that they have strategies to cut greenhouse gas emissions quickly and effectively. But there’s a dangerous illusion sitting behind these prescriptions – what the social scientist Maarten Hajer called the illusion of “cockpitism”. Cockpitism describes the assumption that you can dictate climate solutions the same way a pilot might fly a plane, sitting in the cockpit charting the most efficient course, with perfectly calibrated instruments and levers.

This illusion is very problematic – and not just because the climate system is an entity far more complex than a plane. It is problematic because it cuts people out. It is a seemingly apolitical view that self-defined “experts” can decide what is best for people and impose those solutions. At its most extreme, it suggests that democracy is the problem, not the solution – as veteran earth scientist James Lovelock once said, “climate change may be an issue as severe as a war. It may be necessary to put democracy on hold for a while.”

My own research suggests that the opposite is true. To tackle the climate crisis, we need more, and better, democracy, not less. My interviews with politicians showed that they were convinced of the need for action on climate, but did not know what support there would be from the electorate. As one told me: “I’ve had tens of thousands of conversations with voters, and I just don’t have conversations about climate change.”

But this may be about to change, as we know from polling data that generalised concern about climate change is now at an all-time high. Yet how does this translate into support for far-reaching climate action? Would people be more likely to support locally based programmes, with powers given to cities and towns to cut emissions? Would there be support for introducing a ban on petrol and diesel vehicles, over the next decade? Would people support higher taxes on carbon, if the money was invested in low-carbon solutions and support for vulnerable households? And crucially, how could this all link together into a credible, effective climate strategy that would build the mandate for further action toward a net-zero carbon target?

To Tackle The Climate Crisis We Need More Democracy, Not Less People say they want climate action. But are they really ready to ban petrol cars? daisy / shutterstock

This is where processes such as a citizens’ assembly, or other deliberative processes such as citizens’ juries or deliberative workshops, can help. These processes allow a representative group of citizens to meet with experts on equal terms, assess evidence, debate and suggest solutions. They are not a substitute for electoral politics, but they provide a more nuanced and detailed understanding of voters’ viewpoints than traditional political polling or focus groups.

At the recent Citizens’ Assembly on climate change held in Ireland, citizens offered up a surprisingly radical and confident set of suggestions, most of which the government is now taking forward. In the UK, many local areas are now setting up deliberative processes to decide their own next steps on climate.

Done well, such processes can help to develop a more inclusive, less divisive politics, countering the distrust of “experts” and allowing a constant interplay between the views and values of the public and politicians.

A citizens’ assembly is not a panacea. Deliberation won’t, in and of itself, solve the problem. We need far-reaching action which will require radical policy and confrontation of vested interests. But this policy and action will only be achievable if people understand and support it. The more we find out about how to build a public mandate for climate action, and the more we include people in genuine debate and deliberation, the more likely we are to find a way through the climate crisis. If it’s not democratic, it’s not realistic.

About The Author

Rebecca Willis, Researcher in Environmental Policy and Politics, Lancaster University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}