الحل المناخ الصحيح تحت أقدامنا

الحل المناخ الصحيح تحت أقدامناالأفكار الكامنة وراء الزراعة التجددية بسيطة وقديمة.

هناك ألف طريقة للركوع وتقبيل الأرض ؛ هناك ألف طريقة للعودة إلى المنزل مرة أخرى. -Rumi

قد يتم دفن طريقة وقف التغير المناخي في أرض 300 مربعة من الأرض في حي البندقية في لوس أنجلوس ، وسط اللفت والبطاطا. يقوم شباب من مدينة دزينة بحفر السرير المرتفع في شارع جانبي هادئ يزرعون شتلات الطماطم بين أشجار الخوخ والجير. تعرق كالفن البالغ من العمر 19 عامًا وهو يعمل في أشعل النار. هناك الكثير على المحك هنا. يستكشف الأطفال الذين لا مأوى لهم في السابق الزراعة مبدئيًا من خلال برنامج للتوعية المجتمعية بدأته منظمة غير ربحية في كاليفورنيا تسمى Kiss the Ground. الأهم من ذلك ، أنهم يميلون إلى مستقبل كوكبنا.

يقول المخرج جوش تيكيل: "قد تنقذنا التربة فقط ، لكن علينا أن ننقذها أولاً". وقد كتب ذلك في كتابه 2017 ، والذي يُطلق عليه أيضًا تقبيل الأرض، بعد أن أصبحت تستثمر بعمق في إمكانات التربة لعكس تغير المناخ. (غير الربحية تدعم الكتاب و الفيلم الوثائقي القادم من Tickell حول هذا الموضوع ، على الرغم من أنه ليس له دور مع المنظمة.) لقد عانى من تربة التربة وتغير المناخ بشكل وثيق. بدأ العمل في المزارع منذ أكثر من عقدين من أجل World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms ، وفي 2017 كان عليه هو وعائلته مغادرة منزلهم في أوجاي ، الفارين من حرائق الغابات المدمرة.

حتى في الوقت الذي يعمل فيه معظم العالم على خفض الانبعاثات ، تؤكد الدراسات الجديدة أنه سيكون من المستحيل وقف تغير المناخ دون تغيير الزراعة. يحول تدهور التربة ببطء ثلث العالم إلى صحراء. بهذا المعدل، سيتم استنزاف التربة الخصبة في سنوات 60.

بالضبط ما علاقة التربة بتغير المناخ؟ في الغلاف الجوي ، الكثير من الكربون يسخن المناخ. لكن في الأرض ، الكربون مفيد.

يؤدي فقدان التربة السطحية إلى إطلاق الكربون في الهواء. الزراعة الحديثة التي تعمل بالبترول ، والتي بدأت في جميع أنحاء 1930 ، لديها أصدرت 50 إلى 70 في المئة من الكربون في التربة في الجو. في تقرير العام الماضي ، حذرت الأمم المتحدة من أن تركيز ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي زاد بسرعة قياسية ليصل إلى مستوى لم يشهده أكثر من 3 مليون سنة.

يقول تيكيل "المفارقة هي أن إدخال الكربون في التربة يحل مشاكل عالمية متعددة" تقبيل الأرض. "إنه يقلل من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الجو ، ويزيد من خصوبة التربة ، ويساعد المزارعين على النمو أكثر ، ويسمح للمحيطات بإطلاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون الذي يهدد بتحمض العوالق النباتية التي تنتج الكثير من الأكسجين الذي نتنفسه."

وهناك طريقة بسيطة للوصول إلى الأرض. بدلاً من مشاريع الهندسة الحيوية المعقدة التي تحاول فخ الكربون تحت الأرض ، تقترح مبادرات مثل Kiss the Ground أن أفضل الآلات لربط الكربون في الأرض موجودة بالفعل: النباتات.

يوضح دون سميث ، مدير الأبحاث في المنظمة: "إنهم يكسرون ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو إلى مكوناته ويحجزوا الكربون في التربة". الزراعة الحديثة التي تركز على الكفاءات الصناعية والأرباح تزعج هذه العملية الطبيعية ، وذلك بشكل رئيسي من خلال الحراثة ، و monocultures ، والإفراط في استخدام المواد الكيميائية الاصطناعية. "لكن طرقًا مثل التسميد والنباتات الدائمة والتنوع البيولوجي تساعد في تجديد التربة."

الفكرة الكامنة وراء الزراعة التجددية بسيطة وقديمة: التربة الأم ، التي تغذي الحصاد ، يجب أن تتم رعايتها وحمايتها.

"تستخدم [النباتات] أشعة الشمس كطاقة ، وسحب ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو وتحويله إلى وقود كربون ، وهذا ما ينمو به" التربة سوف ينقذنا المؤلف كريستين أولسون في فيلم وثائقي عن Tickel. "يرسلون 40 في المئة من هذا الوقود إلى جذورهم ، وهذه واحدة من الطرق التي يتم بها تثبيت الكربون في التربة."

يقدر الباحثون في الحكومة الفرنسية أن الأرض يمكنها عزل غيغونات 6 من CO2 في التربة سنويًا من خلال زراعة النوع الصحيح من المحاصيل ، وبالتالي التعويض عن غيغونات 4.3 من الإنسانية CO2 التي تنبعث في الغلاف الجوي كل عام.

ما مدى واقعية هذا؟ حسب Whendee Silver ، الباحث البارز في مشروع Marin Carbon ومعلم البيئة في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي ، أنه إذا كان 5 في المئة من المراعي في كاليفورنيا مغلفة بطبقة رقيقة من السماد العضوي ، فإن عزل الكربون الناتج تعويض انبعاثات الدفيئة السنوية 6 مليون سيارة.

في وادي سانتا ينز ، أصبحت مزرعة تيد تشامبرلين أول مزرعة في جنوب كاليفورنيا تنفذ خطة واسعة النطاق لاستزراع الكربون. زادت طبقة ربع سماد من السماد المطبق منذ عامين من قدرة أراضي الرعي على الاحتفاظ بالمياه ، وزاد إنتاج العشب بنسبة 24 في المئة. هذه الأنواع من النتائج تعطي حافز المزارعين والمزارعين حافزًا اقتصاديًا للمساعدة في عزل الكربون.

الحل المناخ الصحيح تحت أقدامناشهدت جوش تيكيل كل من التربة وتغير المناخ بشكل وثيق. لقد عمل في المزارع لأكثر من عقدين ، وفي 2017 ، فر هو وعائلته من حرائق الغابات المدمرة في أوجاي. صورة من تقبيل الأرض.

في الواقع ، يجد مربي الماشية في جميع أنحاء البلاد الذين ينتقلون إلى زراعة الكربون نتائج رائعة. منذ عقود مضت ، في بسمارك ، داكوتا الشمالية ، كان جابي براون قد فقد مزرعته تقريبًا بعد عدة سنوات من الجفاف. كان قادرا على تحويلها مرة أخرى من خلال العمل مع النظم الطبيعية ، مثل التخلي عن الحراثة ، الذي يعطل التربة. لقد تخلصنا الآن من استخدام الأسمدة الاصطناعية ومبيدات الفطريات والمبيدات الحشرية. يقول موقع مزرعة براون على الإنترنت: "إننا نستخدم الحد الأدنى من مبيدات الأعشاب ونعمل جاهدين للقضاء عليها". "نحن لا نستخدم الكائنات المعدلة وراثيًا أو الغليفوسات. تتيح إستراتيجية الرعي المتطورة باستمرار لمعظم مراعينا فترة استرداد تزيد عن أيام 360. "يعتبر براون أحد رواد الزراعة التجديدية ، ومزرعته نموذج مزدهر. "لقد سمحت هذه الاستراتيجيات بتحسين صحة التربة ودورات المياه والماء بشكل كبير. وبعبارة أخرى ، استفادت الموارد الطبيعية. وهذا يؤدي إلى زيادة الإنتاج والربح وتحسين نوعية الحياة بالنسبة لنا. نحن نتحرك نحو الاستدامة ليس فقط لأجيالنا ، ولكن للأجيال القادمة كذلك ، "يذكر الموقع.

والحل عزل ليس فقط للزراعة. دراسة جديدة في المجلة علم السلف وجدت أن الإدارة الأفضل للغابات والأراضي العشبية والتربة في الولايات المتحدة يمكن أن تعالج ما يصل إلى 21 من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة السنوية في البلاد.

يقول تيكيل في كتابه ، "تم القيام به بشكل صحيح" ، تشير الأرقام إلى أنه يمكننا عزل معظم إنزيمات CO2 التي أصدرتها البشرية حتى الآن ، إن لم يكن جميعها. ... لن يعفينا من الاضطرار إلى وضع حد لاستخدام الفحم والوقود القائم على النفط ... ولكن باستخدام القوة التصالحية للطبيعة ، قد يعطينا فرصة في مستقبل يحفظ غالبية النظم الإيكولوجية للأرض سليمة. "

يعتقد بعض الخبراء أن التأثير قد يكون أكثر هامشية ، مشيرين إلى أن الاحتباس الحراري يؤدي إلى مزيد من حرائق الغابات ، وأن المزيد من الحرائق تؤدي إلى مزيد من الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. وضغط تغذية السكان المتناميين يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مزيد من إزالة الغابات ، والمزيد من المواد الكيميائية ، والمزيد من الأراضي الطبيعية التي يتم تحويلها للزراعة الصناعية. لن تعتمد النتائج على عدد المزارعين والدول فقط ، بل على أنماط الاستهلاك: كيف يأكل الناس ويشربون ويتسوقون.

لهذا السبب ، تعقد Kiss the Ground بانتظام تدريبات حول "دعاة التربة" في مكاتبها في فينيسيا وعلى الإنترنت ، وتجمعات للأشخاص الذين يرغبون في معرفة المزيد حول العلاقة بين التربة والمناخ. بالنظر إلى إمكانية عزل الكربون في الزراعة ، هناك الكثير من النقاش حول الخيارات الغذائية.

يبدأ أحد الأدلة العملية للمجموعة بـ "تعرف على مصدر الغذاء الخاص بك". بعض المعلومات منطقية: تناول كل ما في الموسم ، وتناول الأطعمة الكاملة بدلاً من الأطعمة المصنعة ، وزرع طعامك ، والسماد العضوي. وهناك بعض النصائح المثيرة للجدل: "إذا تناول 50 في المئة من سكان العالم سعرات 2,500 يوميًا وقلل من استهلاك اللحوم بشكل عام ، عندئذٍ يمكن تجنب غيغونات 26.7 المقدرة من الانبعاثات من التغير الغذائي وحده".

"لا يزال عدد أقل من الناس يعرفون أن الأغذية المستزرعة تقليدية تتطلب رطل 3 من المواد الكيميائية السامة لكل أمريكي سنويًا."

غالبًا ما يفاجأ الأشخاص الذين يتلقون التدريب باكتشاف أن الزراعة الإيكولوجية المستدامة والتربة الصحية في الواقع تزدهر عندما ترعى الماشية الأرض. ماثيو وتيرسيس إنجلهارت ، مؤسسا سلسلة نباتية شهيرة Café Gratitude وأولياء الأمور المؤسس المشارك لـ Kiss the Ground ريلاند إنجلهارت ، يبقيان الدجاج والماشية في مزرعتهما في شمال كاليفورنيا ، يطلق عليها اسم كن مزرعة الحب. بعد سنوات 40 كنباتيين ، قرروا تناول اللحوم من مزرعتهم. تسبب تبديل Engelharts في صراخ في أوساط المجتمع النباتي ؛ حتى أنهم تلقوا تهديدات بالقتل.

يقول دعاة "تيكيل" وغيرهم من دعاة "قبلة الأرض" أن المسألة ليست مسألة تناول اللحوم ، ولكن ما نوعها. "لا يزال عدد أقل من الناس يعرفون أن الأغذية المستزرعة التقليدية تتطلب رطل 3 من المواد الكيميائية السامة لكل أمريكي سنويًا. وحتى أقل معرفة أن عملية زراعة المنتجات العضوية تتطلب وفاة أعداد كبيرة من الحيوانات. لذلك ، فإن اختيارنا لمستقبل الطعام ليس نباتيًا مقابل باليو مقابل النهمة مقابل نباتي ، "كتب تيكيل في كتابه. "بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب أن نختار بين نظام غذائي يكرم ويحترم حياة النباتات والحيوانات والكوكب والناس مقابل نظام يفسد مشاعينا البيولوجية ويزيلها ويدمرها".

بالنسبة لـ Tickell والكثير غيرها ، إنه حل بسيط.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على نعم فعلا! مجلة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ميكايلا هاس كتب هذا المقال ل قضية الأوساخ، طبعة الربيع 2019 من نعم فعلا! مجلة. ميكايلا هي صحفي حلول ومؤلفة كتاب "Bouncing Forward: فن وعلم زراعة الصمود (Atria)". اتبعها على تويتر MichaelaHaas.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords solutions؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Climate Solution Right Under Our Feet

The Climate Solution Right Under Our FeetThe ideas behind regenerative farming are simple and ancient.

There are a thousand ways to kneel and kiss the ground; there are a thousand ways to go home again. —Rumi

The way to stop climate change might be buried in 300 square feet of earth in the Venice neighborhood of Los ­Angeles, amid kale and potatoes. A half-dozen city youth are digging through the raised bed on a quiet side street, planting tomato seedlings between peach and lime trees. Nineteen-year-old ­Calvin sweats as he works the rake. There’s a lot at stake here. The formerly homeless youngsters are tentatively exploring farming through a community outreach program started by a California nonprofit called Kiss the Ground. More importantly, they are tending to the future of our planet.

“Soil just might save us,” filmmaker Josh Tickell says, “but we are going to have to save it first.” He wrote that in his 2017 book, also called Kiss the Ground, after becoming deeply invested in the potential of soil to reverse climate change. (The nonprofit supports the book and Tickell’s upcoming documentary about it, though he has no role with the organization.) He has experienced both soil and climate change intimately. He started to work on farms more than two decades ago for World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms, and in 2017 he and his family had to leave their home in Ojai, fleeing devastating wildfires.

Even as most of the world works to reduce emissions, new studies confirm that it will be impossible to stop climate change without changing agriculture. Soil degradation is slowly turning a third of the world into desert. At this rate, fertile soil will be depleted in 60 years.

What exactly does soil have to do with climate change? In the atmosphere, too much carbon overheats the climate. But in the ground, carbon is useful.

Loss of topsoil releases carbon into the air. Modern petroleum-fueled agriculture, beginning around 1930, has released 50 to 70 percent of soil’s carbon into the atmosphere. In a report last year, the U.N. warned that the concentration of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere increased at record speed to hit a level not seen for more than 3 million years.

“The irony is that bringing carbon into the soil solves multiple global problems,” Tickell says in Kiss the Ground. “It reduces carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, it increases the fertility of the soil, it helps farmers grow more, and it allows the oceans to release the CO2 that threatens to acidify the phytoplankton that produce so much of the oxygen we breathe.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


And there’s a simple way to get it into the ground. Instead of complicated bioengineering projects that attempt to trap carbon underground, initiatives such as Kiss the Ground’s propose that the best machines for binding the carbon in the ground already exist: plants.

“They break the CO2 from the atmosphere down into its components and sequester the carbon in the soil,” explains Don Smith, the organization’s research director. Modern agriculture that is focused on industrial efficiencies and profits disturbs this natural process, mainly through tilling, monocultures, and overuse of synthetic chemicals. “But methods such as composting, perennial plants, and biodiversity help regenerate the soil.”

The idea behind regenerative farming is simple and ancient: The mother soil, which nurtures the harvest, in turn has to be nurtured and protected.

“The [plants] use sunlight as energy, pull the carbon dioxide out of the atmosphere, turn it into carbon fuel, and that’s how they grow,” explains The Soil Will Save Us author Kristin Ohlson in Tickell’s documentary. “They send 40 percent of that carbon fuel down to their roots, and that’s one of the ways carbon gets fixed in soil.”

Researchers for the French government estimate that the Earth can sequester 6 gigatons of CO2 in the soil yearly through planting the right kind of crops, thus compensating for the 4.3 gigatons of CO2 humanity emits into the atmosphere every year.

How realistic is this? Whendee Silver, lead researcher for the Marin Carbon Project and an ecosystem ecologist at the University of California, Berkeley, has calculated that if as little as 5 percent of California’s rangelands were coated with a thin layer of compost, the resulting carbon sequestration would offset the annual greenhouse emissions of 6 million cars.

In the Santa Ynez Valley, the Ted Chamberlin Ranch became the first ranch in Southern California to implement a large-scale carbon farming plan. A quarter-inch layer of compost applied two years ago increased the grazing land’s capacity to hold water, and grass production increased 24 percent. These kinds of results give ranchers and farmers economic incentive to help sequester carbon. 

The Climate Solution Right Under Our FeetJosh Tickell has experienced both soil and climate change intimately. He’s worked on farms for more than two decades, and in 2017 he and his family fled the devastating wildfires in Ojai. Photo from Kiss the Ground.

In fact, ranchers all over the country who shift to carbon farming find impressive results. Decades ago, in Bismarck, North Dakota, Gabe Brown had almost lost his ranch after several years of drought. He was able to turn it profitable again by working with natural systems, such as abandoning tilling, which disrupts soil. “We have now eliminated the use of synthetic fertilizers, fungicides, and pesticides. We use minimal herbicide and are striving to eliminate it,” the Brown’s ranch website states. “We do not use GMOs or glyphosate. Our ever-evolving grazing strategy allows most of our pastures a recovery period of over 360 days.” Brown is considered one of the pioneers of regenerative farming, and his farm is a flourishing model. “These strategies have allowed the health of the soil, the mineral and water cycles to greatly improve. In other words, the natural resources have benefited. This results in increased production, profit, and a higher quality of life for us. We are moving toward sustainability for not only ours, but future generations as well,” the website states.

And the sequestration solution is not just for agriculture. A new study in the journal Science Advances found that better management of forests, grasslands, and soils in the United States could remedy as much as 21 percent of the country’s annual greenhouse gas emissions.

“Done correctly,” Tickell says in his book, “the numbers suggest we could sequester most if not all of the CO2 that has been emitted by humanity thus far. … It would not absolve us of having to end the use of coal and petroleum-based fuels … but by using the restorative power of nature, it might give us a chance at a future that keeps a majority of Earth’s ecosystems intact.”

Some experts believe the effect may be more marginal, pointing out that global warming is leading to more wildfires, and more wildfires lead to more carbon in the atmosphere. And the pressure of feeding growing populations can lead to more deforestation, more chemicals, more acres of natural land being converted for industrial farming. Outcomes will depend not only on how many farmers and states get on board, but on consumption patterns: how people eat, drink, and shop.

For this reason, Kiss the Ground regularly holds “soil advocate” trainings both at its Venice offices and online, gatherings of people who want to learn more about the connection between soil and climate. Given the potential for carbon sequestration in agriculture, there is a lot of discussion about food choices.

One of the group’s practical guides starts with “Know your food source.” Some of the information is common sense: Eat what’s in season, whole foods instead of processed foods, grow your own, and compost. And some advice is controversial: “If 50 percent of the world’s population ate 2,500 calories per day and reduced meat consumption overall, then an estimated 26.7 gigatons of emissions could be avoided from dietary change alone.”

“Fewer still know that conventionally farmed food requires 3 pounds of toxic chemicals per American per year.”

People taking the training are often surprised to find out that sustainable ecological farming—and healthy soil—actually thrives when cattle graze the land. Matthew and Terces Engelhart, founders of the popular vegan chain Café Gratitude and parents of Kiss the Ground co-founder Ryland ­Engelhart, keep chickens and cattle on their farm in Northern California, dubbed the Be Love Farm. After 40 years as vegetarians, they decided to eat the meat from their own farm. The ­Engelharts’ switch caused an outcry among the vegan community; they even received death threats.

Tickell and other Kiss the Ground advocates say the issue is less a question of whether to eat meat, but what kind. “Fewer still know that conventionally farmed food requires 3 pounds of toxic chemicals per American per year. And even fewer know that the process of growing organic produce requires the deaths of vast numbers of animals. Our choice for the future of food therefore is not vegan versus paleo versus omnivore versus vegetarian,” Tickell writes in his book. “Rather, we must choose between a food system that honors and respects the lives of flora, fauna, planet, and people versus a system that demoralizes, dehumanizes, and destroys our biological commons.”

For Tickell and so many others, it’s a down-to-earth solution.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine.

About The Author

Michaela Haas wrote this article for The Dirt Issue, the Spring 2019 edition of YES! Magazine. Michaela is a solutions journalist and the author of Bouncing Forward: The Art and Science of Cultivating Resilience (Atria). Follow her on Twitter @MichaelaHaas.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate solutions;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}