لماذا لا يمكننا فقط سحب CO2 من الهواء؟

لماذا لا يمكننا فقط سحب CO2 من الهواء؟
شترستوك

يدرك الكثير من الناس أكثر من أي وقت مضى أن المستويات المرتفعة من ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO₂) في الغلاف الجوي تسرع من تغير المناخ وارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض. ومع ذلك ، أصدر مصنعو الأغذية تحذيرات صارخة بأنهم قد نفدوا من الغاز الذي يستخدم في العديد من المنتجات البيرة على الفطيرة الصغيرة. والسؤال الواضح هو: لماذا لا يمكننا التقاط CO₂ الزائد من الغلاف الجوي واستخدام ذلك؟

من الممكن في الواقع أخذ CO₂ من الغلاف الجوي باستخدام عملية تعرف باسم التقاط الهواء المباشر. في الواقع ، هناك عدد من الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك واحد في سويسرا و آخر في كندا، باستطاعة بالفعل تنفيذ هذه العملية. من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن أن تحول المشكلة إلى مورد قيم ، لا سيما في البلدان النامية ذات الثروة الطبيعية الأخرى.

المشكلة هي التكلفة. في حين أن مقدار CO₂ في الهواء يضر بالمناخ ، إلا أن هناك نسبيا عدد قليل جدا من جزيئات CO₂ في الهواء التي تمتصها مكلفة جدا. ولكن قد تكون هناك حلول أخرى يمكن أن تساعد في الحد من انبعاثات الكربون وتوفير مصدر جديد من COI للصناعة.

إنها مسألة تركيز واستهلاك الطاقة. كمية CO₂ في الهواء (والتي تتكون في الغالب من النيتروجين والأكسجين) حولها أجزاء 400 لكل مليون أو 0.04٪. إذا كنا سنعرض عينة من الجزيئات من الهواء كأكياس من كرات 5,000 ، فإن اثنين منها فقط سيكون CO₂. سحبها من الحقيبة سيكون صعبًا جدًا.

مثل العثور على الكرة في حقيبة.
مثل العثور على الكرة في حقيبة.
بيتر سترينج, مؤلف المنصوص

يمكننا التقاط CO₂ باستخدام ما يعرف بالمواد الماصة التي تتفاعل جسديا أو تترابط مع الغاز على المستوى الجزيئي. لالتقاط كمية قابلة للحياة من CO₂ من الهواء ، سوف نحتاج إلى ضغط كميات هائلة من أجل تمريرها من خلال المواد الماصة ، وهو أمر يتطلب الكثير من الطاقة.

إن عادم محطات الطاقة هو مصدر أكثر تركيزًا لـ CO₂ (وواحد مسؤول عن الكثير من إجمالي انبعاثات الكربون). وقد حددت كربون XPRIZE ، وهي منافسة لتشجيع تطوير تكنولوجيا التقاط الكربون واستخدامه عشرة التصفيات النهائية التي تركز على التقاط CO₂ من محطات توليد الطاقة بدلاً من الغلاف الجوي.

ومع ذلك في حين أن تركيز CO₂ نموذجي من حول 10٪ (إن كواكب 600 من 5,000) في عادم محطة توليد الطاقة أكبر بكثير من الهواء ، فإن التقاط CO₂ سيظل طريقة مكلفة لتطهير الغاز باستخدام التقنيات الحالية. تحتاج أيضا إلى إزالة بخار الماء في العادم ، الأمر الذي يتطلب المزيد من الطاقة.

مصادر أفضل

ومع زيادة أهمية تركيز تركيز ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الجو ، أو إذا كنت بحاجة لإنتاج الغاز في مواقع نائية بمصادر طاقة متجددة كبيرة ، فإن التقاط الهواء المباشر يمكن أن يصبح تقنية قابلة للتطبيق. ولكن في الوقت الحالي توجد مصادر CO₂ أكثر تركيزًا وبالتالي أرخص لتسخير.

على سبيل المثال ، تقوم معامل التقطير ومصانع الجعة بإنتاج الغاز كمنتج نفايات ذو درجة نقاء عالية (فوق 99.5٪) بمجرد إزالة أي ماء. كما أن أعمال الأسمنت وأعمال الصلب وصناعات العمليات الأخرى عالية نسبياً تركيزات CO₂. إن بناء منشآت أصغر حجماً لالتقاط CO₂ من المصانع والنباتات الفردية سيكون طريقة أرخص لإنشاء مصدر جديد للغاز. وقد تثبت أيضًا استثمارًا جيدًا في المصانع التي تحتاج إلى إمدادات خاصة بها من CO₂ لتنفيذ عملياتها.

النقص الحالي في CO₂ يؤثر بشكل رئيسي على صناعة الطعام والشراب. لكننا بدأنا أيضا نرى دفعة أكبر لاستخدام CO₂ في صناعات أخرى كطريقة لخلق سوق لمادة خلاف ذلك هو منتج نفايات يساهم في تغير المناخ الخطير. يمكنك الآن شراء المواد الكيميائية ومواد البناء التي بدأت الحياة كجزيئات CO₂ بدلاً من الوقود الأحفوري ، على سبيل المثال ، بما في ذلك المجاميع المعدنية التي تلتقط في الواقع المزيد من الكربون مما هو تستخدم لإنتاجها.

المحادثةومع ظهور المزيد من تكنولوجيات الاستفادة من غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، سيزداد الطلب على الغاز ، وكذلك ستزداد الحاجة إلى المزيد من الإنتاج المحلي. المستقبل هو حول تحويل النفايات إلى سلعة.

اوت المؤلفين

بيتر سترينج ، أستاذ الهندسة الكيميائية والكيمياء ، جامعة شيفيلد وكاتي أرمسترونج ، مدير شبكة CO2Chem ، جامعة شيفيلد

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ الكلمات الأساسية = Peter Styring؛ maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = انبعاثات CO2 ؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Can't We Just Pull CO2 Out Of The Air?

Why Can't We Just Pull CO2 Out Of The Air?
Shutterstock

More people than ever are acutely aware that rising levels of carbon dioxide (CO₂) in the atmosphere are accelerating climate change and global warming. And yet food manufacturers have been issuing stark warnings that they’ve nearly run out of the gas, which is used in many products from beer to crumpets. The obvious question is: why we can’t just capture the excess CO₂ from the atmosphere and use that?

It is actually possible to take CO₂ from the atmosphere using a process known as direct air capture. Indeed, there are a number of companies across the world, including one in Switzerland and another in Canada, that can already carry out this process. In theory, it could turn a problem into a valuable resource, particularly in developing countries with little other natural wealth.

The problem is the cost. While the amount of CO₂ in the air is damaging the climate, relatively speaking there are so few CO₂ molecules in the air that sucking them out is very expensive. But there may be other solutions that could help reduce carbon emissions and provide a new source of CO₂ for industry.

It’s all a matter of concentration and energy consumption. The amount of CO₂ in the air (which is mostly made up of nitrogen and oxygen) is around 400 parts per million or 0.04%. If we were to represent a sample of molecules from the air as a bag of 5,000 balls, just two of them would be CO₂. Pulling them out of the bag would be very difficult.

Like finding a ball in a bag.
Like finding a ball in a bag.
Peter Styring, Author provided

We can capture CO₂ using what’s known as a sorbent material that either physically interacts or bonds with the gas at a molecular level. To capture a viable amount of CO₂ from the air, we would need to compress huge amounts in order to pass it through the sorbent, something that would require a lot of energy.

The exhaust of power stations is a more concentrated source of CO₂ (and one responsible for so much of our total carbon emissions). The Carbon XPRIZE, a competition to encourage the development of carbon capture and utilisation technology, has identified ten finalists that focus on capturing CO₂ from power plants rather than the atmosphere.

Yet while the typical CO₂ concentration of around 10% (600 balls out of the 5,000) in power station exhaust is much greater than that of air, capturing the CO₂ would still be a costly way of purifying the gas using current technologies. You also need to remove the water vapour in the exhaust, which would require more energy.

Better sources

As it becomes more important to reduce the concentration of CO₂ in the atmosphere, or if you needed to produce the gas in remote locations with large renewable energy sources, direct air capture could become a viable technology. But at the moment there are CO₂ sources that are more concentrated and so cheaper to harness.

For example, distilleries and breweries produce the gas as a waste product with high purity (over 99.5%) once any water has been removed. Cement works, steel works and other process industries also have relatively high CO₂ concentrations. Building smaller facilities that just capture the CO₂ from individual factories and plants would be a cheaper way to create a new source of the gas. They may also prove a good investment at plants that need their own supply of CO₂ to carry out their processes.

The current CO₂ shortage is mainly affecting the food and drink industry. But we’re also starting to see a greater push to use CO₂ in other industries as a way of creating a market for a substance that is otherwise a waste product contributing to dangerous climate change. You can now buy chemicals and building materials that started life as CO₂ molecules instead of fossil fuels, for example, including mineral aggregates that actually capture more carbon than is used to produce them.

The ConversationAs more of these CO₂ utilisation technologies emerge, demand for the gas will increase and so will the need for more localised production. The future is about turning a waste into a commodity.

Aout The Authors

Peter Styring, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry, University of Sheffield and Katy Armstrong, CO2Chem Network Manager, University of Sheffield

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Carbon Dioxide Utilisation: Closing the Carbon Cycle
climateBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Elsevier
List Price: $195.00

Buy Now

Evidence-Based Climate Science, Second Edition: Data Opposing CO2 Emissions as the Primary Source of Global Warming
climateBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Elsevier
List Price: $135.00

Buy Now

Don't Stop CO2 Emissions! - Keep Burning Coal, Oil and Gas!: CO2 the Gas of Life
climateAuthor: J. C. Mirre
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $6.99

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}