الحراجة الزراعية قد تكون سلاحًا جديدًا في مكافحة التغير المناخي

الحراجة الزراعية قد تكون سلاحًا جديدًا في مكافحة التغير المناخي

يمكن للحراجة الزراعية أن تلعب دوراً مهماً في الحد من تغير المناخ لأنها تعزل المزيد من الكربون في الغلاف الجوي في أجزاء النبات والتربة عن الزراعة التقليدية ، كما يقول الباحثون.

النظام الزراعي الذي يجمع بين الأشجار والمحاصيل والماشية على قطعة الأرض نفسها ، والحراجة الزراعية تحظى بشعبية خاصة في البلدان النامية لأنها تسمح لمزارعي المساهمين الصغار - الذين لديهم القليل من الأراضي المتاحة لهم - بتعظيم مواردهم. ويمكنهم زراعة محاصيل الخضر والحبوب حول الأشجار التي تنتج الفاكهة والمكسرات والخشب لحرائق الطهي ، وتوفر الأشجار الظل للحيوانات التي توفر الحليب واللحوم.

"لسوء الحظ ، هناك اتجاه لمعالجة الزراعة والحراجة بشكل منفصل عند التعامل مع مخاوف الموارد الطبيعية ..."

قام الباحثون بتحليل البيانات من الدراسات المنشورة حول العالم في 53 والتي تتبع التغيرات في الكربون العضوي للتربة بعد تحويل الأراضي من الغابات إلى زراعة المحاصيل والمراعي - المراعي إلى الحراجة الزراعية. في حين أن الغابات تتغاضى عن نسبة 25 من الكربون أكثر من أي استخدام آخر للأرض ، فإن الحراجة الزراعية ، في المتوسط ​​، تخزن بشكل ملحوظ كميات أكبر من الكربون مقارنة بالزراعة.

أدى التحول من الزراعة إلى الزراعة الحراجية إلى زيادة كبيرة في الكربون العضوي للتربة بمعدل 34 في المائة ، وفقاً لما ذكره مايكل جاكوبسون ، أستاذ الموارد الحرجية في جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا ، التي أجرت مجموعة أبحاثها في كلية العلوم الزراعية هذه الدراسة. أدى التحول من المراعي / الأراضي العشبية إلى الحراجة الزراعية إلى زيادة الكربون العضوي في التربة بنسبة حوالي 10 في المائة ، في المتوسط.

ويقول: "أظهرنا أن أنظمة الحراجة الزراعية تلعب دوراً فعالاً في امتصاص الكربون على مستوى العالم ، والمشاركة في احتجاز الكربون ، والتخزين طويل الأجل لثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي". "إن هذه العملية حاسمة لتخفيف أو إرجاء ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري."

ومع ذلك ، لم يتم تخزين الكربون بشكل متساوٍ في مستويات مختلفة من التربة ، كما تشير الباحثة أندريا دي ستيفانو ، وهي طالبة دراسات عليا في جامعة بنسلفانيا عندما كان يعمل في هذه الدراسة ، وهو الآن في جامعة ولاية لويزيانا. ويشير إلى أن الدراسة ، التي تظهر في نظم الزراعة الحراجيةيوفر أساساً تجريبياً لدعم توسيع نظم الحراجة الزراعية كاستراتيجية لتخفيض تركيز ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الجو وتخفيف تغير المناخ.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يقول دي ستيفانو: "إن التحول من الغابات إلى الحراجة الزراعية أدى إلى خسائر في مخزونات الكربون العضوي للتربة في الطبقات العليا ، في حين لم يتم اكتشاف فروق ذات دلالة عند إدراج طبقات أعمق".

"من ناحية أخرى ، أدى التحول من الزراعة إلى الحراجة الزراعية إلى زيادة مخزونات الكربون العضوي في التربة على جميع المستويات ، في معظم الحالات. كما لوحظت زيادات كبيرة في الانتقال من المراعي / الأراضي العشبية إلى الحراجة الزراعية في الطبقات العليا ، لا سيما مع إدراج النباتات المعمِّرة في النظم ، كما هو الحال في النظم الحَجَرَة والنُظم الزراعية الكبرى. "

هناك أدلة على أن الغابات هي مخزونات كبيرة من الكربون مقارنة بالنظم الزراعية ، كما يعترف جاكوبسون ، وكان الباحثون يشكون في أن الحراجة الزراعية تقع في مكان ما بينهما ، من حيث عزل الكربون ، ولكن هذا البحث هو أول من يوثق الاختلافات.

ويشير جاكوبسون إلى أن البرامج الحكومية في بعض البلدان في المناطق المدارية - مثل البرازيل وإندونيسيا وكينيا - تدفع للمزارعين لزراعة أشجار على أراضيهم للتخفيف من تغير المناخ. ويتم تبني هذه الاستراتيجية على نطاق واسع لأن الأنظمة الزراعية أكثر تكاملاً في المناطق المدارية حيث يكون المزارعون أكثر فقراً وغالباً ما تكون هناك حاجة ماسة للمنافع الاقتصادية.

يقول جاكوبسون: "في الولايات المتحدة ، يمكنك رؤية الحراجة الزراعية أكثر بكثير من وجهة نظر بيئية والفوائد الاقتصادية - رغم أهميتها - ثانوية". ولكن في المناطق المدارية ، يجب أن تكون لديك المنافع الاقتصادية لجعلها تعمل أو أن المزارعين لن يفعلوا ذلك. معظمهم يملكون فداناً أو أرضين فقط ويحتاجون إلى كل هذه المنتجات لعائلاتهم من أجل البقاء ، لذلك فإن الأشجار حيوية. هذا تمييز مهم ، كما أعتقد. "

ترتبط الزراعة الحراجية ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالحركة الزراعية المستدامة في الولايات المتحدة ، بمبادراتها العضوية والمحلية ومبادرات الزراعة المستدامة. يدرك الأميركيون الحاجة إلى التنويع على مستوى المزرعة ، بما في ذلك التناوب المحصولي ، وتغطية المحاصيل ، والثقافات المتعددة ، وبالطبع ، الحراجة الزراعية.

تشترك الزراعة الحرجية والزراعة المستدامة في العديد من الأهداف. نسبة عالية من مستجمعات المياه والمناظر الطبيعية في البلاد هي فسيفساء متشابكة من كلا الاستخدامين. ويشكل جاكوبسون معًا غالبية استخدام الأراضي في الولايات المتحدة.

"لسوء الحظ ، هناك اتجاه لمعالجة الزراعة والحراجة بشكل منفصل عند التعامل مع مخاوف الموارد الطبيعية ، ولكن الحراجة الزراعية تقدم مجموعة من تقنيات الحفظ والإنتاج التي يمكن أن تساعد في دمج جهود الحراجة والزراعة خارج دورات الكربون ، مثل نوعية المياه والتنوع البيولوجي. ".

مصدر: ولاية بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الحراجة الزراعية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Agroforestry May Be A New Weapon In Climate Change Fight

climate solutions

Agroforestry May Be A New Weapon In Climate Change Fight

Agroforestry could play an important role in mitigating climate change because it sequesters more atmospheric carbon in plant parts and soil than conventional farming, report researchers.

An agricultural system that combines trees with crops and livestock on the same plot of land, agroforestry is especially popular in developing countries because it allows small shareholder farmers—who have little land available to them—to maximize their resources. They can plant vegetable and grain crops around trees that produce fruit, nuts, and wood for cooking fires, and the trees provide shade for animals that provide milk and meat.

“Unfortunately, there is a tendency to treat agriculture and forestry separately when addressing natural-resource concerns…”

The researchers analyzed data from 53 published studies around the world that tracked changes in soil organic carbon after land conversion from forest to crop cultivation and pasture-grassland to agroforestry. While forests sequester about 25 percent more carbon than any other land use, agroforestry, on average, stores markedly more carbon than agriculture.

The transition from agriculture to agroforestry significantly increased soil organic carbon an average of 34 percent, according to Michael Jacobson, professor of forest resources at Penn State, whose research group in the College of Agricultural Sciences conducted the study. The conversion from pasture/grassland to agroforestry produced soil organic carbon increases of about 10 percent, on average.

“We showed that agroforestry systems play an effective role in global carbon sequestration, involved in carbon capture and the long-term storage of atmospheric carbon dioxide,” he says. “The process is critical to mitigating or deferring global warming.”

However, carbon was not stored equally in different soil levels, notes lead researcher Andrea De Stefano, a graduate student at Penn State when he worked on the study, now at Louisiana State University. He points out that the study, which appears in Agroforestry Systems, provides an empirical foundation to support expanding agroforestry systems as a strategy to reduce atmospheric carbon dioxide concentration and mitigate climate change.

“The conversion from forest to agroforestry led to losses in soil organic carbon stocks in the top layers, while no significant differences were detected when deeper layers were included,” De Stefano says.

“On the other hand, the conversion from agriculture to agroforestry increased soil organic carbon stocks at all levels, in most cases. Significant increases were also observed in the transition from pasture/grassland to agroforestry in the top layers, especially with the inclusion of perennial plants in the systems, such as in silvopasture and agrosilvopastoral systems.”

There is evidence that forests are great storages of carbon compared to agricultural systems, Jacobson concedes, and researchers had suspected that agroforestry lies somewhere in between, in terms of carbon sequestration, but this research is the first to document the differences.

Government programs in some countries in the tropics—such as Brazil, Indonesia, and Kenya—are paying farmers to grow trees on their land to mitigate climate change, Jacobson points out. And that strategy is widely embraced because farming systems are much more integrated in the tropics where farmers are poorer and the economic benefits are often desperately needed.

“In the United States, you can see agroforestry much more from an environmental point of view and the economic benefits—while important—are secondary,” Jacobson says. “But in the tropics, you must have the economic benefits to make it work or farmers won’t do it. Most only have an acre or two of land and they need all these products for their families to survive, so the trees are vital. That is an important distinction, I think.”

Agroforestry is closely connected to the sustainable agriculture movement in the US, with its organic, local foods, and permaculture initiatives. Americans recognize the need for on-farm diversification that includes crop rotations, cover crops, polycultures, and of course, agroforestry.

Agroforestry and sustainable agriculture share many goals. A high proportion of the watersheds and landscapes in the country are an interwoven mosaic of both uses. Together they comprise the majority of the land use in the US, Jacobson says.

“Unfortunately, there is a tendency to treat agriculture and forestry separately when addressing natural-resource concerns, but agroforestry offers a set of conservation and production technologies that can help to integrate forestry and agriculture efforts beyond carbon cycles, such as water quality and biological diversity.”

Source: Penn State

Related Books

Farming the Woods: An Integrated Permaculture Approach to Growing Food and Medicinals in Temperate Forests
climate solutionsAuthor: Ken Mudge
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
List Price: $39.95

Buy Now

Restoration Agriculture
climate solutionsAuthor: Mark Shepard
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Acres U.S.A.
List Price: $30.00

Buy Now

Integrated Forest Gardening: The Complete Guide to Polycultures and Plant Guilds in Permaculture Systems
climate solutionsAuthor: Wayne Weiseman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
List Price: $45.00

Buy Now

climate solutions
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}