هل الغذاء هو أفضل أمل لخفض انبعاثات الميثان؟

هل الغذاء هو أفضل أمل لخفض انبعاثات الميثان؟

تتمثل إحدى الفرص الرئيسية لتجنب أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ في الحد من انبعاثات الميثان ، خاصة من إنتاج الغذاء ، وفقا لزوج من الدراسات الجديدة.

الصحف المنشورة في المجلات بيانات علوم نظام الأرض و خطابات البحوث البيئية، تقرير أن انبعاثات الميثان قد قفزت بشكل كبير في السنوات الأخيرة وتقترب من أسوأ سيناريو معترف به دوليا لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة. غير مسبوقة ، هذه الزيادة يمكن أن ترى ارتفاع درجات الحرارة بقدر 6 درجة فهرنهايت (4 درجة مئوية) ، مما يسرع ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر والظروف الجوية القاسية.

كما تعرض الأوراق توصيات للحد من انبعاثات الميثان في المستقبل ، مع التركيز على إنتاج الغذاء ، الذي يشكل نحو ثلث إجمالي الانبعاثات البشرية.

وتوجه الزيادة المزعجة للميثان الانتباه إلى إدارة تلك الانبعاثات من أجل التخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ. في حين أن معظم جهود التخفيف قد ركزت على ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، فإن غاز الدفيئة الأكثر شيوعًا ، إمكانات ارتفاع درجة حرارة الميثان هي زيادة زمن 28 في أفق 100-year ، وعمرها في الغلاف الجوي أقصر بكثير. وبعبارة أخرى ، يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى ضرر كبير ، ولكن السيطرة عليه يمكن أن يؤدي إلى معادلة تغير المناخ بسرعة كبيرة.

"يقدم الميثان أفضل فرصة لإبطاء تغير المناخ بسرعة" ، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك في الدراسات روب جاكسون ، رئيس قسم علوم نظام الأرض بجامعة ستانفورد. "يمتلك ثاني أكسيد الكربون مدى وصول أطول ، لكن غاز الميثان يضرب أسرع".

وتأتي هذه الدراسة في أعقاب نوايا الكونجرس الجمهوريين المعلنة لإلغاء معايير الحد من الميثان في صناعة الغاز الطبيعي.

ارتفاع مفاجئ

استنتاجات الصحيفة مثيرة للدهشة بشكل خاص لأن تركيزات الميثان كانت راكدة لسنوات حتى قبل عقد من الزمن. وخلافاً لثاني أكسيد الكربون ، فإن معظم انبعاثات غاز الميثان هي من صنع الإنسان. ومن أهم هذه العوامل ، وفقاً للتحليل ، مصادر زراعية مثل الماشية ، التي تنبعث منها غازات الميثان من خلال الوظائف الجسدية والسماد العضوي ، وحقول الأرز التي تنبعث منها الميثان عند غمرها بالفيضان. الناس مسؤولون عن نسبة 60 في جميع انبعاثات الميثان على مستوى العالم.

على الرغم من الطفرة في إنتاج النفط والغاز في الولايات المتحدة ، يرى مؤلفو الدراسة أن زيادة انبعاثات الوقود الأحفوري تلعب دورًا ثانويًا مقارنةً بالزراعة لزيادة غاز الميثان العالمي. هناك درس يجب تعلمه ، يقول جاكسون. "تلقت صناعة الوقود الأحفوري معظم الاهتمام في السنوات الأخيرة. الانبعاثات الزراعية تحتاج إلى تمحيص مماثل ".

والمصادر الطبيعية للميثان ، التي تمثل نسبة 40 في المائة من جميع انبعاثات الميثان ، هي أكثر عدم يقين من مصادر الإنسان. وتشمل أمثلة ذلك ، تسرب غاز الميثان من الأعطال الطبيعية والتسرّب في قاع المحيط ، وإمكانية زيادة الانبعاثات مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض. وهناك مجال بحث آخر يشمل دراسة الجذور القصيرة العمر التي تدمر الميثان في الغلاف الجوي.

بسبب الطبيعة المتطورة لهذه المعرفة ، تخطط مجموعة من العلماء وراء الدراسة لتحديث ميزانية الميثان كل عامين. هذا الجهد هو تحت مظلة مشروع الكربون العالمي ، وهي مبادرة قادها جاكسون تطلق ميزانية سنوية عالمية للكربون. وتشير أحدث ميزانية للكربون في المجموعة إلى أن تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون ظلت ثابتة إلى حد كبير خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية ، وهو ما يعزز أهمية إدارة الميثان.

إليك ما يمكننا القيام به

لحل التناقضات حول حجم الانبعاثات والاتجاهات الإقليمية ، يوصي جاكسون ومؤلفوه بتفصيل أكثر دقة لتقسيم انبعاثات الميثان والمصارف حسب المنطقة والعملية وزيادة التفاعل بين المجموعات العلمية التي تقوم بتطوير مخزونات الانبعاثات.

وتشمل الحلول الممكنة للزراعة تربيتها للأرز كي تتطلب قدراً أكبر من الفيضانات ، وتغيير تغذية الماشية لتقلل من العمليات المعوية التي تخلق الميثان ، وتعزز النظم الغذائية التي تعتمد على كميات أقل من اللحوم ، وتنشر المزيد من أجهزة الهضم الحيوية الزراعية. وتشمل الفرص في مجالات أخرى التنفيس وإحراق الميثان في مناجم الفحم ، وكشف وإزالة تسرب الغاز الطبيعي من عمليات التنقيب عن النفط والغاز ، وتغطية مكبات النفايات للسيطرة على انبعاثات الميثان.

في غضون ذلك ، يدعو المؤلفون إلى إيلاء اهتمام عاجل لتحديد وتقليل انبعاثات الميثان ، والتأكيد على المنافع المناخية السريعة للتخفيف والفوائد الاقتصادية والصحية والزراعية المشتركة. يقول جاكسون: "ما زلنا بحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، ولكن خفض الميثان يوفر فوائد تكميلية للمناخ ، والاقتصادات ، والصحة البشرية".

حصل جاكسون وزملاؤه على منحة حديثة من مؤسسة جوردن وبيتي مور لتحسين تحليل انبعاثات وغازات الميثان العالمية. جاكسون هو زميل أقدم في معهد ستانفورد وودز للبيئة ومعهد Precourt للطاقة.

مصدر: جامعة ستانفورد

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تقليل الميثان ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is Food Our Best Hope For Cutting Methane Emissions?

Is Food Our Best Hope For Cutting Methane Emissions?

A major opportunity for avoiding climate change’s worst impacts lies in reducing methane emissions, particularly from food production, according to a pair of new studies.

The papers, published in the journals Earth System Science Data and Environmental Research Letters, report that emissions of methane have jumped dramatically in recent years and are approaching an internationally recognized worst-case scenario for greenhouse gas emissions. Unchecked, this increase could see temperatures rise as much as 6 degrees Fahrenheit (4 degrees Celsius), speeding sea level rise and more extreme weather.

The papers also lay out recommendations for curbing methane emissions in the future, with a focus on food production, which makes up about one third of total human-made emissions.

The alarming increase in methane draws attention to managing those emissions for climate change mitigation. While most mitigation efforts have focused on carbon dioxide, the more common greenhouse gas, methane’s warming potential is about 28 times greater on a 100-year horizon, and its lifespan in the atmosphere is much shorter. In other words, it can do major damage, but getting it under control could tip the climate change equation relatively rapidly.

“Methane presents the best opportunity to slow climate change quickly,” says coauthor of the studies Rob Jackson, chair of Stanford University’s Earth system science department. “Carbon dioxide has a longer reach, but methane strikes faster.”

The study comes in the wake of congressional Republicans’ stated intentions to rescind methane-limiting standards for the natural gas industry.

Surprising rise

The paper’s findings are particularly surprising because methane concentrations were stagnant for years up until a decade ago. And unlike carbon dioxide, the bulk of methane emissions are human-driven. Chief among those, according to the analysis, are agricultural sources such as livestock, which emit methane through bodily functions and manure, and rice fields, which emit methane when flooded. People are responsible for 60 percent of all methane emissions globally.

Despite a boom in US oil and gas production, the study’s authors see rising fossil fuel emissions playing a secondary role compared to agriculture for the global methane increase. There is a lesson to learn, Jackson says. “The fossil fuel industry has received most of the attention in recent years. Agricultural emissions need similar scrutiny.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Natural sources of methane, which account for 40 percent of all methane emissions, are more uncertain than human-driven ones. Examples include methane leaking out of natural faults and seeping on the ocean floor, and the potential for increased emissions as permafrost warms. Another research area includes studying the short-lived radicals that destroy methane in the atmosphere.

Because of the evolving nature of this knowledge, the group of scientists behind the study plans to update the methane budget every two years. The effort is under the umbrella of the Global Carbon Project, an initiative led by Jackson that releases an annual global carbon budget. The group’s most recent carbon budget shows concentrations of carbon dioxide have been largely flat for the past three years—a finding that reinforces the importance of methane management.

Here’s what we can do

To resolve discrepancies on the magnitude of emissions and regional trends, Jackson and his coauthors recommend more accurate partitioning of methane emissions and sinks by region and process and more interactions among scientific groups developing emissions inventories.

Possible solutions for agriculture include breeding rice to require less flooding, altering feed for livestock to lessen intestinal processes that create methane, promoting less meat-intensive diets, and deploying more farm bio-digesters. Opportunities in other areas include venting and flaring of methane in coal mines, detecting and removing natural gas leaks from oil and gas drilling operations, and covering landfills to capture methane emissions.

In the meantime, the authors call for urgent attention to quantify and reduce methane emissions, stressing mitigation’s rapid climate benefits and economic, health, and agricultural co-benefits. Jackson says, “We still need to cut carbon dioxide emissions, but cutting methane provides complementary benefits for climate, economies, and human health.”

Jackson and colleagues received a recent grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation to further analyze global methane emissions and sinks. Jackson is a senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment and the Precourt Institute for Energy.

Source: Stanford University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=reducing methane;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…