لإنقاذ الكوكب ، هل نحن بحاجة لتقليص الاقتصاد؟

لإنقاذ الكوكب ، هل نحن بحاجة لتقليص الاقتصاد؟

ما هو منعش جدا حول أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة هو أنهم يدركون التوتر المتأصل بين التنمية الاقتصادية وإيكولوجيا كوكبنا. أو هكذا يبدو. تؤكد الديباجة أن "كوكب الأرض وأنظمته الإيكولوجية هي وطننا" ويؤكد على ضرورة تحقيق "الانسجام مع الطبيعة". وتلتزم بالاحتباس الحراري تحت 2 ℃ ، وتدعو إلى "أنماط مستدامة للإنتاج والاستهلاك".

تشير هذه اللغة إلى الوعي بأن شيئا ما عن نظامنا الاقتصادي قد انحرف بشكل رهيب - بحيث لا يمكننا الاستمرار في مضغ الكوكب الحي دون تعريض أمننا وازدهارنا للخطر ، بل وحيوية أجناسنا في المستقبل.

لكن إذا نظرت عن كثب ، يظهر تناقض صارخ. يعتمد جوهر برنامج أهداف التنمية المستدامة على النموذج القديم للنمو الاقتصادي غير المحدود الذي تسبب في أزمة بيئية في المقام الأول: مستويات متزايدة باستمرار من الاستخراج والإنتاج والاستهلاك. يستدعي SDG 8 "على الأقل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي 7 ٪ في أقل البلدان نموا" و "مستويات أعلى من الإنتاجية الاقتصادية" في جميع المجالات. وبعبارة أخرى ، هناك تناقض عميق في صميم هذه الأهداف التي يفترض أنها مستدامة. انهم يدعون على حد سواء أقل وأكثر في نفس الوقت.

وتأتي هذه الدعوة لمزيد من النمو في لحظة غريبة ، تماماً كما نتعلم أنه غير ممكن جسدياً. في الوقت الحالي ، تتجاوز مستويات الإنتاج والاستهلاك العالميين القدرة البيولوجية لكوكبنا تقريبًا 60٪ سنويًا. بعبارة أخرى ، النمو ليس خيارًا بعد الآن - لقد نمت بالفعل أكثر من اللازم. يقول لنا العلماء أننا كذلك تهب حدود الكواكب الماضية بسرعة فائقة وشهد على أكبر انقراض جماعي للأنواع في أكثر من 66m سنوات.

الحقيقة القاسية هي أن تجاوزنا البيئي يرجع بشكل كامل تقريباً إلى الاستهلاك المفرط في الدول الغنية ، لا سيما في الغرب.

يدعو SDG 8 إلى تحسين "كفاءة الموارد العالمية" و "فصل النمو الاقتصادي عن التدهور البيئي". للأسف ، لا توجد مؤشرات على أن هذا ممكن في أي شيء بالقرب من الوتيرة اللازمة. نمت استخراج واستهلاك المواد العالمية بنسبة 94٪ بين 1980 و 2010 ، التسارع في العقد الماضي لتصل إلى 70 مليار طن سنوياً. ومازالت مستمرة: بواسطة 2030 ، من المتوقع أن ننتهك مليار 100 من الاشياء كل سنة. تظهر التوقعات الحالية أن 2040 سنقوم بذلك أي أكثر من ضعف الشحن في جميع أنحاء العالم ، والنقل بالشاحنات ، والأميال الجوية - بالإضافة إلى جميع الأشياء التي تنقلها هذه المركبات. بواسطة 2100 سنكون المنتجة ثلاث مرات أكثر النفايات الصلبة مما نفعل اليوم.

تحسينات الكفاءة لن تقطعها. نعم ، قد يكون بعض نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ضروريًا في الدول الفقيرة. لكن بالنسبة للعالم ككل ، فإن الخيار الوحيد هو إزالة النمو المتعمد والتحول السريع إلى ما يسميه الاقتصادي الإقتصادي الأسطوري هيرمان دالي "حالة مستقرة" تحافظ على النشاط الاقتصادي في التوازن البيئي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


نمو النمو لا يعني الفقر. على العكس من ذلك ، هو إزالة النمو متوافق تماما مع مستويات عالية من التنمية البشرية. من الممكن تمامًا لنا أن نقلص استهلاكنا من الموارد بينما نزيد من الأشياء المهمة حقاً مثل السعادة البشرية والرفاه والتعليم والصحة وطول العمر. فكر في حقيقة أن أوروبا لديها مؤشرات إنمائية بشرية أعلى من الولايات المتحدة في معظم الفئات ، على الرغم من انخفاض الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنسبة 40٪ للفرد و 60٪ أقل من نصيب الفرد من الانبعاثات.

هذه هي النهاية التي يجب أن نركز عليها اهتمامنا الكامل. في الواقع ، فإن الطريق الأسترالي إلى الفقر هو الاستمرار في مسارنا الحالي ، لأنه ، كما يشير كبير الاقتصاديين جوزيف ستيغلتز ، في عالم من التجاوز الإيكولوجي ، نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي يقلل من مستويات المعيشة بدلا من تحسينها.

نحن بحاجة إلى استبدال الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بمقياس أعمق للتقدم البشري ، مثل حقيقي تقدم المؤشروالتخلي عن مفهوم النمو الاقتصادي المتسارع بدون نهاية. وللأسف ، فإن أهداف التنمية المستدامة تمر بهذا التحدي العاجل إلى الجيل التالي - في الجزء السفلي من SDG 17 تنص على ما يلي: "من خلال 2030 بناء على المبادرات الحالية لتطوير قياسات التقدم في التنمية المستدامة التي تكمل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي". وبعبارة أخرى ، فإنهم يضعون على الرف المشكلة حتى 2029.

لكن ماذا عن العمل؟ كلما ألقى محاضرة حول تراجع النمو ، هذا هو السؤال الأول الذي سأحصل عليه - وعلينا أن نأخذه بجدية. نعم ، سيتطلب إلغاء النمو التخلص من الإنتاج والعمل غير الضروريين. ولكن هذا يقدم لنا فرصة جميلة لتقصير أسبوع العمل وإعطاء فكرة معينة لتلك الفكرة الكبيرة الأخرى التي استحوذت على خيال الجمهور خلال العامين الماضيين: الدخل الأساسي العالمي. كيف تمولها؟ هناك العديد من الخيارات ، بما في ذلك الضرائب التصاعدية على استخدام الأراضي التجارية والمعاملات المالية والمعاملات بالعملات الأجنبية والمكاسب الرأسمالية.

دعونا نواجه الأمر - في عصر الأتمتة السريعة ، والعمالة الكاملة على نطاق عالمي هو الأنابيب حلم على أية حال. لقد حان الوقت للتفكير في طرق لتسهيل سبل العيش الموثوقة في غياب التوظيف الرسمي. لن يساعدنا ذلك فقط على إزالة النمو الضرورية ، بل سيسمح أيضًا للناس بالهروب من ترتيبات العمل الاستغلالية وتحفيز أصحاب العمل على تحسين ظروف العمل - وهما هدفان حددتهما أهداف التنمية المستدامة. والأكثر من ذلك ، أنه سيسمح للناس باستثمار المزيد من وقتهم وجهدهم في الأمور التي تهم: العناية بأحبائهم ، وتنمية غذائهم ، وتغذية المجتمعات المحلية ، وإعادة بناء البيئات المتدهورة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيسون هيكيل ، محاضر ، كلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 161628384X، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
لماذا يفتقد الناس تنقلاتهم اليومية
لماذا يفتقد الناس تنقلاتهم اليومية
by علامات أبيجيل وآخرون

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

To Save The Planet, Do We Need To Shrink The Economy?

To Save The Planet, Do We Need To Shrink The Economy?

What is so refreshing about the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals is that they recognise the inherent tension between economic development and the ecology of our planet. Or so it seems. The preamble affirms that “planet Earth and its ecosystems are our home” and underscores the necessity of achieving “harmony with nature”. It commits to holding global warming below 2℃, and calls for “sustainable patterns of production and consumption”.

This language signals awareness that something about our economic system has gone terribly awry – that we cannot continue chewing through the living planet without gravely endangering our security and prosperity, and indeed the future viability of our species.

But if you look more closely, a glaring contradiction emerges. The core of the SDG programme relies on the old model of indefinite economic growth that caused our ecological crisis in the first place: ever-increasing levels of extraction, production and consumption. SDG 8 calls for “at least 7% GDP growth per annum in the least developed countries” and “higher levels of economic productivity” across the board. In other words, there is a profound contradiction at the heart of these supposedly sustainable goals. They call for both less and more at the same time.

This call for more growth comes at an odd moment, just as we are learning that it is not physically possible. Currently, global production and consumption levels are overshooting our planet’s biocapacity by nearly 60% each year. In other words, growth isn’t an option any more – we’ve already grown too much. Scientists tell us that we are blowing past planetary boundaries at breakneck speed and witnessing the greatest mass extinction of species in more than 66m years.

The hard truth is that our ecological overshoot is due almost entirely to over-consumption in rich countries, particularly the West.

SDG 8 calls for improving “global resource efficiency” and “decoupling economic growth from environmental degradation”. Unfortunately, there are no signs that this is possible at anything near the necessary pace. Global material extraction and consumption grew by 94% between 1980 and 2010, accelerating in the last decade to reach as high as 70 billion tonnes per year. And it’s still going up: by 2030, we’re projected to breach 100 billion tonnes of stuff per year. Current projections show that by 2040 we will more than double the world’s shipping, trucking, and air miles – along with all the things those vehicles transport. By 2100 we will be producing three times more solid waste than we do today.

Efficiency improvements are not going to cut it. Yes, some GDP growth may still be necessary in poorer countries; but for the world as a whole, the only option is intentional de-growth and a rapid shift to what legendary ecological economist Herman Daly calls a “steady-state” that maintains economic activity at ecological equilibrium.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


De-growth does not mean poverty. On the contrary, de-growth is perfectly compatible with high levels of human development. It is entirely possible for us to shrink our resource consumption while increasing things that really matter such as human happiness, well-being, education, health and longevity. Consider the fact that Europe has higher human development indicators than the US in most categories, despite 40% less GDP per capita and 60% less emissions per capita.

This is the end toward which we must focus our full attention. Indeed, the surer route to poverty is to continue on our present trajectory, for, as top economist Joseph Stigltiz points out, in a world of ecological overshoot, GDP growth is diminishing living standards rather than improving them.

We need to replace GDP with a saner measure of human progress, such as the Genuine Progress Indicator, and abandon the notion of exponential economic growth without end. Sadly, the SDGs pass this urgent challenge down to the next generation – at the bottom of SDG 17 it states: “By 2030 build on existing initiatives to develop measurements of progress on sustainable development that complement GDP.” In other words, they shelve the problem until 2029.

But what of employment? Whenever I lecture about de-growth, this is always the first question I get - and we have to take it seriously. Yes, de-growth will require eliminating unnecessary production and work. But this presents us with a beautiful opportunity to shorten the working week and give some thought to that other big idea that has captured the public’s imagination over the past couple of years: a universal basic income. How to fund it? There are many options, including progressive taxes on commercial land use, financial transactions, foreign currency transactions and capital gains.

Let’s face it – in an age of rapid automation, full employment on a global scale is a pipe dream anyhow. It’s time we think of ways to facilitate reliable livelihoods in the absence of formal employment. Not only will this assist us toward necessary de-growth, it will also allow people to escape exploitative labour arrangements and incentivise employers to improve working conditions – two goals that the SDGs set out to achieve. What’s more, it will allow people to invest more of their time and effort into things that matter: caring for their loved ones, growing their own food, nourishing communities, and rebuilding degraded environments.

About The Author

Jason Hickel, Lecturer, London School of Economics and Political Science

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…