خمسة أشياء تحتاج إلى معرفته حول صفقة المناخ في باريس

خمسة أشياء تحتاج إلى معرفته حول صفقة المناخ في باريس

انتهت محادثات الأمم المتحدة للمناخ في باريس مع اتفاق بين بلدان 195 لمعالجة ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري. اتفاق المناخ هو في آن واحد التاريخي، المهم - وغير كاف. من ما إذا كان كافيا لتجنب التغير المناخي الخطير لانتصارات غير متوقعة بالنسبة للدول الضعيفة، وهنا خمسة أشياء للمساعدة في فهم ما تم الاتفاق عليه فقط في COP21.

1. وهذا بالغ الأهمية، التغير العالمي الحدث

الأمر الأكثر لفتًا للانتباه هو أن هناك واحدًا. بالنسبة لجميع البلدان ، من الدول الكبرى إلى الدول الغنية ، فإن الممالك التي تعتمد على الوقود الأحفوري إلى الدول الجزرية المنخفضة الضعيفة ، توافق الجميع على تنسيق العمل العالمي بشأن تغير المناخ أمر مثير للدهشة.

وأنها ليست مجرد كلمات دافئة. أي اتفاق قوي لا بد أن يكون أربعة عناصر. أولا، فإنه يحتاج إلى هدف مشترك، والذي أصبح الآن تم تعريفها. وينص الاتفاق على أن الأطراف سوف يعقد درجات الحرارة إلى "أقل بكثير من 2 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل الثورة الصناعية، ومواصلة الجهود للحد من ارتفاع درجة الحرارة إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل الثورة الصناعية".

ثانياً ، يتطلب ذلك إجراء تخفيضات موثوقة علمياً في ثاني أكسيد الكربون وغيره من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة. والاتفاقية هنا أكثر صراحة ، لكنها تنص على أن الانبعاثات يجب أن تبلغ ذروتها "في أقرب وقت ممكن" ثم تنخفض بسرعة. الخطوة التالية هي:

تحقيق التوازن بين الانبعاثات البشرية بحسب المصادر وإزالتها بواسطة المصارف من الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري في النصف الثاني من هذا القرن، على أساس من العدالة ...

الثالث ، حيث أن التعهدات الحالية للحد من الانبعاثات تنطوي على ارتفاع درجة حرارة ما يقرب من 3 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل الصناعةيجب أن تكون هناك آلية للانتقال من حيث تتواجد البلدان اليوم إلى انعدام الانبعاثات. ھﻧﺎك اﺳﺗﻌراﺿﺎت ﻣدﺗﮭﺎ ﺧﻣس ﺳﻧوات ، و "ﺳﺗﻣﺛل ﺟﮭود ﺟﻣﯾﻊ اﻷطراف أﺣد اﻟﺗﻘدم ﺑﻣرور اﻟوﻗت" ، اﻷﻣر اﻟذي ﯾﻌﻧﻲ ﻓﻲ ﮐل ﺧطوة أن ﺗزﯾد اﻟﺑﻟدان ﻣن ﻣﺳﺗوﯾﺎت ﺧﻔض اﻻﻧﺑﻌﺎﺛﺎت ﻣن اﺗﻔﺎﻗﯾﺎت اﻟﯾوم.

وأخيراً ، يعني هذا أن الدول المتقدمة تحتاج إلى الانتقال بسرعة من طاقة الوقود الأحفوري إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. لكن التحدي أكبر بالنسبة للعالم النامي: يجب على هذه البلدان أن تقفز إلى عصر الوقود الأحفوري. فهم بحاجة إلى أموال للقيام بذلك ويوفر لهم جزء رئيسي من الاتفاقية 100 مليار دولار أمريكي سنويًا إلى 2020 ، وأكثر من ذلك بعد 2020.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هناك الكثير الذي يجب أن يعجبه هذا الاتفاق: فهو يعطي هدفًا مشتركًا لتجنب أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ ، حيث أن التخفيضات الشاملة للانبعاثات المعلنة موثوقة إلى حد معقول ، فهناك آلية لزيادة تخفيضات الانبعاثات الوطنية بمرور الوقت نحو "صافي الصفر" ، وهناك تمويل مضمون لمساعدة البلدان الفقيرة على تسخير طاقة الشمس والرياح والأمواج بدلاً من الفحم والنفط والغاز. ويوفر خريطة طريق لإبعاد العالم عن إدمانه الخطير لطاقة الوقود الأحفوري.

2. ليس كافياً لتجنب تغير المناخ الخطير

إن ما يشكل تغيرًا خطيرًا في المناخ يختلف باختلاف الأشخاص. بالنسبة لبعض الفقراء ، فإن تغير المناخ أصبح بالفعل خارج الخطورة ، إنه أمر مميت. تتصاعد التهديدات مع تزايد انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. نظرًا لأن هذه الصفقة كانت طويلة جدًا في الوصول ، فإن نافذة الفرصة للحد من ارتفاع درجة الحرارة عند 1.5 درجة مئوية تقفل بسرعة ؛ هذا يسبب مشاكل للعديد من المناطق المنخفضة. حتى أكثر الطرق طموحًا لخفض الانبعاثات في العقود القادمة بالنسبة لميزانية الكربون المرتبطة بفرصة معقولة (66٪) للحفاظ على 2 ° C أعلى من مستويات ما قبل الصناعة ، هي تحديات بالغة الصعوبة. أمام البلدان طريق طويل للوصول إلى هذه المستويات من التخفيضات.

والأهم من ذلك ، لا توجد عقوبات ، باستثناء العار العام ، بالنسبة للبلدان التي لا تفي بالتزاماتها لخفض الانبعاثات. ولتنفيذ هذه الصفقة ، يجب على الجمهور ومنظمات المجتمع المدني وأحزاب المعارضة في السياسة والشركات أن تبقي سياسات الحكومة تحت السيطرة. أساسا ، هي إرادة الشعب ، ومعظم الحكومات والشركات التجارية المستنيرة ، وضد جيوب عميقة لصناعة الوقود الأحفوري.

أحد المخاوف المستقبلية هو أنه عندما يحدث "الجرد العالمي" في 2023 ، قد ترى بعض البلدان أن الآخرين لا يقومون بواجبهم ، وقد يتوقفون هم أنفسهم عن الحد من الانبعاثات ، وسوف ينهار الاتفاق.

3. سيكون لدينا لإزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو

تسود الانبعاثات الناتجة من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الانبعاثات التراكمية لثاني أكسيد الكربون. بالنظر إلى الانبعاثات حتى الآن ، فإن الحد من ارتفاع درجة الحرارة إلى "أقل بكثير من" 2 ° C ، وأي مكان قريب من 1.5 ° C يعني تقليل CO2 الانبعاثات إلى ما يقرب من الصفر بسرعة كبيرة.

عندها سيحتاج المجتمع إلى مزيد من الاستمرار للانبعاثات السلبية. أي إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الغلاف الجوي وتخزينه في مكان آخر. هناك العديد من الخيارات هنا ، من زراعة الأشجار والحفاظ على استعادة الغابات إلى الأبد ، وتعزيز امتصاص التربة ، أو استخدام طاقة الكتلة الحيوية في محطات توليد الكهرباء ثم تخزين ثاني أكسيد الكربون تحت الأرض (ما يسمى الطاقة الحيوية مع احتجاز الكربون وتخزينه). نتوقع أن نسمع الكثير عن هذا.

4. نتوقع تغييرات في السياسة عبر للحدود

للوصول إلى انبعاثات صفرية ، يتطلب هذا القرن العديد من التغييرات في السياسة. يجب أن تكون شركات الوقود الأحفوري قد جردت إعاناتها. يجب أن تنتهي الاستثمارات في البنية التحتية ذات الانبعاثات الكربونية العالية ، وخاصة قروض البنك الدولي وغيرها من الدعم المصرفي الإقليمي المتعدد الأطراف للبلدان. سوف تصبح المباني ذات الانبعاثات الصفرية هي القاعدة. يجب حماية الغابات الاستوائية للحد من إزالة الغابات ثم القضاء عليها.

تتوقع دفعة أكبر على القيود التكنولوجية في مجال الطاقة المتجددة، مع استثمارات جديدة كبيرة، وتحسين معظمها كيفية تخزين الطاقة، لعدم عندما تكون الرياح تهب والشمس لا تسطع. ونتوقع ان تكلفة الطاقة المتجددة لإغراق أبعد من ذلك بكثير كما يتم تحجيم هذه التقنيات ووضعها موضع التنفيذ في جميع أنحاء العالم. نتوقع مساحات كبيرة من العالم أن تعطى لأكثر من توربينات الرياح ومزارع الطاقة الشمسية.

5. حصلت على معظم البلدان الضعيفة في العالم قضيتهم مركز المرحلة

كانت باريس لعبة عالية المخاطر من لعبة البوكر الجيوسياسية. والمثير للدهشة أن تلك الدول ذات اليد الأضعف جاءت أفضل من المتوقع. خضعت محادثات المناخ لسلسلة من التحالفات المتغيرة لتتخطى البلدان الشمالية المعتادة ذات الدخل المرتفع والبلدان الجنوبية في العالم التي تفتقر إلى الدخل. وكان من الأمور المركزية في هذا الأمر الدبلوماسية الأمريكية الصينية ، حيث اتفقت الدولتان على الحد من الانبعاثات ، ومؤخراً على الجديد المنتدى الضعفاء المناخ التجمع من البلدان. من أي مكان، وقد اضطر منتدى محافظة على درجة الحرارة العالمية إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية على رأس جدول الأعمال السياسي.

لم نسمع آخر هذا المستوى من الطموح - أحد القرارات في اتفاقية باريس هو دعوة الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ إلى إعداد تقرير خاص عن التأثيرات في 1.5 ° C ، ومسارات الانبعاثات المتسقة مع هذا المستوى. من الاحترار.

لم تحصل هذه البلدان على كل ما أرادته - الولايات المتحدة لن تقبل تحمل المسؤولية المالية من قبل الدول التي قد تفقد أراضيها لارتفاع مستويات البحار في المستقبل. لكنهم لعبوا أيديهم بذكاء شديد.

نبذة عن الكاتبالمحادثة

لويس سيمونسيمون لويس ، القارئ في علوم التغيير العالمي في جامعة ليدز ، و UCL هو عالم بيئة النبات من خلال التدريب مع التركيز المركزي على المناطق المدارية والتغير البيئي العالمي بما في ذلك تغير المناخ. اهتمامه الرئيسي هو كيف يغير البشر الأرض كنظام. هذا لأن إحدى القضايا الرئيسية التي تواجه الإنسانية في القرن 21st سوف تتمثل في معالجة الكيفية التي يمكن بها لسكان لا يقل عن مليار 8 أن يعيشوا حياة محترمة دون انتهاك العتبات البيئية التي قد تسبب اضطرابات اجتماعية واقتصادية وبيئية خطيرة ، أو حتى نتائج أكثر حدة .

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1522744363. maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Five Things You Need To Know About The Paris Climate Deal

Five Things You Need To Know About The Paris Climate Deal

The UN climate talks in Paris have ended with an agreement between 195 countries to tackle global warming. The climate deal is at once both historic, important – and inadequate. From whether it is enough to avoid dangerous climate change to unexpected wins for vulnerable nations, here are five things to help understand what was just agreed at COP21.

1. This Is A Momentous, World-changing Event

The most striking thing about the agreement is that there is one. For all countries, from superpowers to wealthy city-states, fossil fuel-dependent kingdoms to vulnerable low-lying island nations, to all agree to globally coordinate action on climate change is astonishing.

And it is not just warm words. Any robust agreement has to have four elements. First, it needs a common goal, which has now been defined. The agreement states that the parties will hold temperatures to “well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels”.

Second, it requires matching scientifically credible reductions in carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions. The agreement is woollier here, but it does state that emissions should peak “as soon as possible” and then be rapidly reduced. The next step is to:

Achieve a balance between anthropogenic emissions by sources and removals by sinks of greenhouse gases in the second half of this century, on the basis of equity …

Third, as current pledges to reduce emissions imply a warming of nearly 3°C above pre-industrial levels, there needs to be a mechanism to move from where countries are today, to zero emissions. There are five-year reviews, and “the efforts of all parties will represent a progression over time”, which means at each step countries should increase their levels of emission cuts from today’s agreements.

Finally, this all means developed countries need to rapidly move from fossil fuel energy to renewable sources. But the challenge is larger for the developing world: these countries must leapfrog the fossil fuel age. They need funds to do so and a key part of the agreement provides US$100 billion per year to 2020, and more than that after 2020.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


There is a lot to like about this agreement: it gives a common goal to avoid the worst impacts of climate change, the overall emissions cuts stated are reasonably credible, there is a mechanism to increase national emissions cuts over time towards “net zero”, and there is funding secured to help poorer countries harness the power of the sun, wind and waves instead of coal, oil and gas. It provides a roadmap to get the world off its dangerous addiction to fossil fuel energy.

2. It’s Not Enough To Avoid Dangerous Climate Change

What constitutes dangerous climate change is different for different people. For some poor people climate change is already beyond dangerous, it’s deadly. The threats escalate as the cumulative emissions of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere increase. Because this deal has been so long in arriving, the window of opportunity to limit temperature rises at 1.5°C is closing fast; this spells trouble for many low-lying areas. Even the most ambitious pathways to zero emissions in the coming decades for a carbon budget associated with a reasonable (66%) chance of keeping 2°C above pre-industrial levels are extremely challenging. Countries have a long way to go to get to these levels of reductions.

Importantly, there are no penalties, except public shaming, for countries that do not meet their commitments to reduce emissions. To implement this deal the public, civil society organisations, opposition parties in politics and businesses will need to keep government policies in check. Essentially, it is the will of the people, most governments and enlightened businesses, pitted against the deep pockets of the fossil fuel industry.

One future fear is that when the “global stocktake” happens in 2023, some countries may see that others aren’t doing their bit, and may themselves then stop reducing emissions and the agreement will fall apart.

3. We’ll Have To Remove Carbon Dioxide From The Atmosphere

The warming we see from greenhouse gas emissions is dominated by the cumulative emissions of carbon dioxide. Given the emissions so far, limiting warming to “well below” 2°C, and anywhere near 1.5°C means reducing CO2 emissions to near zero extremely quickly.

Then society will need to continue further, to negative emissions. That is, removing carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and storing it somewhere else. There are various options here, from planting trees and keeping restored forest in perpetuity, enhancing uptake in soils, or using biomass energy in power plants then storing the carbon dioxide underground (so-called Bio-Energy with Carbon Capture and Storage). Expect to hear a lot more about this.

4. Expect Across-the-board Policy Changes

To get to zero emissions this century requires many policy changes. Fossil fuel companies must have their subsidies stripped. Investments in high-carbon emitting infrastructure must end, particularly World Bank loans and other regional multilateral bank support for countries. Zero emissions buildings will become the norm. Tropical forests will have to be protected to reduce and then eliminate deforestation.

Expect a greater push on the technological limitations on renewable energy, with big new investments, mostly improving how to store power, for when the wind is not blowing and the sun is not shining. Expect the cost of renewables to sink much further as these technologies are scaled up and implemented worldwide. Expect significant areas of the world to be given over to wind turbines and solar farms.

5. The World’s Most Vulnerable Countries Got Their Issue Centre Stage

Paris was a high-stakes game of geopolitical poker. Surprisingly, those countries with the poorest hand came out better than expected. The climate talks were subject to a series of shifting alliances going beyond the usual income-rich northern countries and income-poor global south countries. Central to this has been US-Chinese diplomacy, both agreeing to limit emissions, and more recently the new Climate Vulnerable Forum grouping of countries. From nowhere, the forum has forced keeping global temperatures to 1.5°C high on the political agenda.

We haven’t heard the last of this level of ambition – one of the decisions in the Paris agreement is to invite the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change to produce a special report on the impacts at 1.5°C, and emissions pathways consistent with this level of warming.

These countries didn’t get everything they wanted – the US would not accept liability in financial terms for states that may lose their territory to rising sea levels in the future. But they played their hand extremely smartly.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

lewis simonSimon Lewis, Reader in Global Change Science at University of Leeds and, UCL is a plant ecologist by training with a central focus on the tropics and global environmental change including climate change. His primary interest is in how humans are changing the Earth as a system. This is because one of the key issues facing humanity in the 21st century will be to address how a population of at least 8 billion can lead fulfilled lives without breaching environmental thresholds that may cause serious social, economic and environmental disruption, or even more severe outcomes.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1522744363;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.
Ghost Town: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We sent drones out in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle to see how the cities have changed since the COVID-19 lockdown.
We're All Being Home-Schooled... on Planet Earth
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
During challenging times, and probably mostly during challenging times, we need to remember that "this too shall pass" and that in every problem or crisis, there is something to be learned, another…
Monitoring Health In Real Time
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Seems to me this process is very important going forward. Coupled with other devices we are now able to distantly monitor people's health in real time.
Game Changing Cheap Antibody Test Sent For Validation In Coronavirus Fight
by Alistair Smout and Andrew MacAskill
LONDON (Reuters) - A British company behind a 10-minute coronavirus antibody test, which will cost about a $1, has begun sending prototypes to laboratories for validation, which could be a…
How To Counteract The Epidemic of Fear
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Sharing a message sent by Barry Vissell about the epidemic of fear that has infected many people...
What Real Leadership Looks And Sounds Like
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Lt. Gen. Todd Semonite, Chief of Engineers and commanding general of the Army Corps of Engineers, talks with Rachel Maddow about how the Army Corps of Engineers works with other federal agencies and…
What Works For Me: Listening To My Body
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The human body is an amazing creation. It works without needing our input as to what to do. The heart beats, the lungs pump, the lymph nodes do their thing, the evacuation process works. The body…