استمرار الجفاف عبر أمريكا

أبقار تكساس تعاني من الجفاف

وفقا لريبيكا ليندسي من المركز الوطني لبيانات المناخ ، فإن قائمة الآثار المترتبة على الجفاف الأمريكي تبدو بلا نهاية.

كانت هناك مخزونات متدنية قياسية ، وأضرار كبيرة لأسس المنازل ، والإيثانول ومحطات معالجة اللحم البقري ، والقيود الإلزامية على المياه. في مقاطعة واحدة في ولاية تكساس وحدها كان هناك ما لا يقل عن أشجار البقان ميتة 25,000.

توضح الخريطة أدناه حالة الجفاف عبر الولايات المتحدة اعتبارًا من يناير 29 ، 2013. لقد عملت الأمطار والثلوج على تحسين الجفاف إلى حد ما في أجزاء من الغرب الأوسط ، ووادي أوهايو ، ومنطقة Deep South في الأسابيع الماضية 6-12 ، ولكن مناطق الجفاف الاستثنائية - وهي أشد أنواع الجفاف - تقع عبر السهول الكبرى وجورجيا. ، مع مناطق واسعة من الجفاف الشديد والشديد في جميع أنحاء الغرب والجنوب الشرقي.

ووفقًا لمجلة رصد الجفاف في الولايات المتحدة ، فإن نسبة 58 المقدرة في الولايات المتحدة المتجاورة كانت في مستوى معين من الجفاف اعتبارًا من يناير 29 ، مع نسبة 12 إضافية في فئة "غير طبيعي جافًا". تنبؤات تدفق التدفق للعديد من الأنهار الغربية الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك كولورادو وريو غراندي ، هي أقل من الطبيعي.

خريطة الجفاف من الولايات المتحدة

خريطة من فريق Climate.gov ، استنادا إلى بيانات من برنامج مراقبة الجفاف في الولايات المتحدة. استعرضها جيك كراوتش وديك أرندت ، المركز الوطني للبيانات المناخية.


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.



الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Drought Across America Continues Its Toll

Texas Cows Suffer From Drought

According to Rebecca Lindsey of the National Climate Data Center the list of impacts from the U.S. drought seems endless. 

There have been record-low hay stocks,  significant damage to house foundations, ethanol and beef processing plants idled, and mandatory water restrictions. In one Texas county alone there have been at least 25,000 dead pecan trees.

The map below shows the drought status across the United States as of January 29, 2013. Rain and snow have improved the drought somewhat in parts of the Midwest, the Ohio Valley, and the Deep South in the past 6-12 weeks, but areas of exceptional drought—the most severe category of drought —remain across the Great Plains and Georgia, with broad areas of extreme and severe drought across the West and Southeast.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, an estimated 58 percent of the contiguous United States was in some level of drought as of January 29, with an additional 12 percent in the “Abnormally dry” category. Stream flow forecasts for many major western rivers, including the Colorado and the Rio Grande, are below normal.

Drought Map Of The United States

Map by Climate.gov team, based on data from the U.S. Drought Monitor Program. Reviewed by Jake Crouch and Deke Arndt, National Climatic Data Center.


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.



 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}