زيادة القلق البيئي يعني أننا يجب أن نعالج الصحة العقلية إلى جانب الأمن الغذائي

الآثار القلق بشأن تغير المناخ له تأثير سلبي على صحتنا ويجب أن تكون معالجة ذلك جزءًا من المعركة. (صراع الأسهم)

لأكثر من ربع قرن ، فشلت مفاوضات الأمم المتحدة للمناخ في التوصل إلى معاهدة ملزمة قانونًا. على سبيل المثال ، فشل 1997 بروتوكول كيوتو على غرار بعد نجاح 1987 بروتوكول مونتريال، التي تتطلب قانونا من جميع الدول التخلص التدريجي من مركبات الكربون الكلورية فلورية ، وهي مادة كيميائية تستخدم في الثلاجات ومكيفات الهواء.

القلق البيئي - المشاعر الصعبة الناجمة عن الظروف والمعرفة البيئية - على ارتفاع. متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية ترتفع ، وكذلك مستويات البحر. القلق البيئي سوف يرتفع إذا كانت الاتفاقات غير الملزمة ، مثل 2015 Paris Agreementلا تنجح.

يتنبأ تقرير اللجنة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) حول تأثيرات الاحترار العالمي بأنه إذا استمر الاتجاه الحالي للاحتباس الحراري فسيكون هناك كارثة مناخية كبيرة خلال حياتنا. أكثر من 11,000 عالم من 153 دولة يحذرون من ذلك تغير المناخ يهدد النظم البيئية والإنسانية. علماء الأحياء يخافون الانقراض الجماعي السادس من الأنواع. بحسب ال المنبر الحكومي الدولي للعلوم والسياسات في مجال التنوع البيولوجي وخدمات النظم الإيكولوجيةحاليا ، هناك مليون نوع معرضون لخطر الانقراض.

أصبحت أنظمتنا الغذائية عرضة للخطر بسبب فقدان التنوع البيولوجي للأنواع النباتية والحيوانية: نحن قلقون من الجوع والأمن الغذائي والسلامة والاحتيال. بصفتي باحثًا يدرس التحولات العادلة والمستدامة في النظم الغذائية ، أرى بوضوح أن تغير المناخ يفرض ضغوطًا إضافية على النظم الغذائية والسكان المستضعفين بالفعل.

لا يوجد نقص في الالتزامات والإعلانات. أعلنت الحكومات على مختلف المستويات في جميع أنحاء العالم عن حالة طوارئ للمناخ - أكثر من 1,000 ولاية قضائية وعد. في 17 يونيو 2019 ، مجلس العموم الكندي أصدر اقتراحًا بإعلان حالة الطوارئ المناخية الوطنية.

تصاعد الخوف والقلق

قد تساعد إعلانات الطوارئ المتعلقة بالمناخ في زيادة تعبئة الموارد المالية والبشرية لإجراءات المناخ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن يؤدي استخدام لغة زمن الحرب إلى تفاقم الخوف والذعر والاكتئاب بين أولئك الذين هم بالفعل عرضة لمصادر القلق الأخرى. وتشمل هذه المصادر القلق الناجم عن النقص المزمن في الأغذية والإنتاج والاستهلاك الأخلاقيين.

يمكن أن يزيد القلق البيئي تفاقم القلق الغذائيوهو ما أثارته مجموعة من المخاوف من الغذاء والتسمم الغذائي وإبعاد سلاسل الإمداد بالأزمات والجوع وأزمات الزراعة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تعطيل النظم الغذائية

الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ تقرير خاص عن تغير المناخ والأرض، التي ساهمت بها أيضًا ، توصي بتناول كميات أقل من اللحوم الحمراء. يقدر هذا التقرير أن استخدام الماشية والمحاصيل والأسمدة والوقود الأحفوري في الزراعة يمثل حوالي 21 إلى 37 في المائة من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية.

دليل الغذاء في كندا يوصي بتقليل استهلاك اللحوم والبيض ومنتجات الألبان لصالح مصادر البروتين النباتي. في كندا، كانت الزراعة مسؤولة عن حوالي 10 في المائة من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الوطنية ، وهي أكبر حصة تأتي من الماشية.

تقريبا يتم ذبح 70 مليار حيوان للاستهلاك سنويًا. يمكن تناول المزيد من النباتات تحقيق فوائد لكوكب الأرض وكذلك صحة الإنسان. السياسة الغذائية لعام 2019 لكندا يشجع نظم الغذاء منخفضة الكربون ، والمرنة ، وأقل تبذيرًا والتي تدعم أيضًا الاقتصاديات المحلية والوظائف.

مستقبل غذائي منخفض الكربون سوف من الواضح أن تعطل التوظيف والوظائف في النظم الغذائية الصناعية. إحدى الطرق لتأمين مستقبل مستدام وعادل للغذاء يمكن أن تتمثل في تعزيز علم البيئة الزراعية ، الذي يجمع بين الحركات العلمية والاجتماعية لتحويل الزراعة الصناعية كثيفة الكربون إلى أنظمة غذائية منخفضة الكربون وقابلة للمناخ.

العثور على الأمل

يجب الاعتراف بالقلق البيئي ومعالجته كممارسة اجتماعية مع مصادر القلق الأخرى ، بما في ذلك القلق الغذائي. يجب أن نتجنب عزل أو إلقاء اللوم على أولئك المتأثرين به. والناس يرفضون بشكل متزايد العيش في حالة خوف دائمة. نتيجة لذلك ، أثار قلق المناخ تحركات جماهيرية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مثل الإضراب المدرسي للمناخ و ال تمرد الانقراض.

يمكن للأشخاص الذين يشعرون بالقلق من تغير المناخ الاستفادة من المشاركة الميسرة في علوم المناخ. توفر عيادة الصحة البيئية بجامعة نيويورك مساحة للحديث عن مخاوف المناخ ووصف الإجراءات المناخية المحلية باعتبارها ممارسة اجتماعية للحد من القلق البيئي.

على الرغم من ارتفاع الضغط والاكتئاب ، يتردد المزارعون الكنديون في طلب المساعدة بسبب الوصمة الاجتماعية. من الواضح أننا بحاجة إلى جيل جديد من المقاتلين الأكفاء ، المهنيين إشراك العلم وعمال تنمية المجتمع بأعداد قياسية. نحن بحاجة أيضا إلى حشد مستشاري الصحة العقلية والمعالجين النفسيين ودوائر التعلم ومجموعات الدعم.

نبذة عن الكاتب

لاكسمي براساد بانت ، محاضر أول ، جامعة غرينتش ؛ أستاذ مساعد ، كلية الدراسات العليا ، جامعة غلف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
هل يمكن للذكاء الاصطناعي أن ينافس الإبداع الإنساني؟
هل يمكن للذكاء الاصطناعي أن ينافس الإبداع الإنساني؟
by تيم شفيسورث ورينيه تشيستر غودوشيت

Rising Eco-Anxiety Means We Should Address Mental Health Alongside Food Security

impacts Worrying about climate change has an adverse effect on our health and addressing this has to be part of the fight. (Shutterstock)

For over a quarter of a century, United Nations climate negotiations have failed to reach a legally binding treaty. For instance, the failed 1997 Kyoto Protocol was modelled after the success of the 1987 Montreal Protocol, which legally required all nations to phase out chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), a chemical used in refrigerators and air conditioners.

Eco-anxiety — the difficult emotions caused by environmental conditions and knowledge — is on the rise. Global mean temperatures are rising, as are sea levels. Eco-anxiety will further rise if non-binding agreements, such as the 2015 Paris Agreement, don’t succeed.

An Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report on the impacts of global warming predicts that if the current trend of global warming continues there will be a major climate catastrophe within our lifetime. More than 11,000 scientists from 153 countries warn that climate change is threatening ecosystems and humanity. Biologists fear the sixth mass extinction of species. According to the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services, currently, one million species are at risk of extinction.

Our food systems have become vulnerable due to the loss of biological diversity of plant and animal species: we are anxious about hunger and food security, safety and fraud. As a researcher who examines just and sustainable transitions in food systems, I clearly see that climate change puts additional pressure on already vulnerable food systems and populations.

There is no shortage of commitments and declarations. Governments at different levels across the world have been declaring a climate emergency — over 1,000 jurisdictions and counting. On June 17, 2019, the Canadian House of Commons passed a motion to declare a national climate emergency.

Escalating fear and anxiety

The declarations of climate emergency might help to increase the mobilization of financial and human resources for climate actions. Additionally, the use of wartime language can exacerbate fear, panic and depression among those who are already vulnerable to other sources of anxieties. These sources include anxiety arising from chronic food shortages and ethical production and consumption.

Eco-anxiety can further exacerbate food anxiety, which has been provoked by a range of food scares, food poisonings, distancing of food supply chains, hunger and farming crises.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Disrupting food systems

The IPCC Special Report on Climate Change and Land, to which I have also contributed, recommends eating less red meat. This report estimates that livestock, crop, fertilizer and fossil fuel use in agriculture account for about 21 to 37 per cent of global greenhouse gas emissions.

Canada’s Food Guide recommends reducing meat, egg and dairy consumption in favour of plant-based protein sources. In Canada, agriculture was responsible for about 10 per cent of national greenhouse gas emissions, the largest share coming from livestock.

Nearly 70 billion animals are slaughtered for consumption annually. Eating more plants can achieve benefits for the planet as well as human health. The 2019 Food Policy for Canada promotes low-carbon, climate-resilient and less wasteful food systems that also support local economies and jobs.

A low-carbon food future will clearly disrupt employment and jobs in industrial food systems. One way to secure a sustainable and just food future could be to promote agroecology, which combines science and social movements to transform carbon-intensive industrial agriculture into low-carbon and climate-resilient food systems.

Finding hope

Eco-anxiety should be recognized and addressed as a social practice together with other sources of anxieties, including food anxiety. We should avoid isolating or blaming those who are affected by it. And people are increasingly refusing to live in a constant state of fear. As a result, climate anxiety has sparked mass movements across the world, like the school strike for climate and the Extinction Rebellion.

People who are anxious about climate change can benefit from facilitated engagement in climate science. The Environmental Health Clinic at New York University provides a space to talk about climate concerns and prescribe local climate actions as a social practice of reducing eco-anxiety.

Despite high stress and depression, Canadian farmers hesitate to seek help because of social stigma. We obviously need a new generation of competent fighters, science engagement professionals and community development workers in record numbers. We also need to mobilize mental health counselors, psychotherapists, learning circles and support groups.

About The Author

Laxmi Prasad Pant, Senior Lecturer, University of Greenwich; Adjunct Professor, Associated Graduate Faculty, University of Guelph

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)