لماذا تختفي حمائم السلاحف من المملكة المتحدة وأماكن أخرى

لماذا تختفي حمائم السلاحف من المملكة المتحدة ريبيكا يونغ, مؤلف المنصوص

إن 12 يومًا من عيد الميلاد هي أغنية تعد بالكثير ، ولكن هناك خطًا قد يضطر carollers إلى حذفه في المستقبل. أمام بيت كامل من أمراء القفز وسيدات الرقص ، يفترض في اليوم الثاني أن يحضر حمائم سلحفاة. لكن الانخفاضات الحادة في عدد السكان في جميع أنحاء أوروبا قد تعني أن اليوم الثاني من خيبة الأمل يخيبه الحب الحقيقي في أعياد الميلاد القادمة.

حمامة السلحفاة الأوروبية التي تعد أكبر قليلاً من طائر الشحرور هي أصغر أنواع الحمامة في المملكة المتحدة ، بالإضافة إلى الأنواع المهاجرة الوحيدة. سيكون من الصعب عليك العثور على حمائم السلاحف في المملكة المتحدة خلال شهر ديسمبر ، حيث يقضون الشتاء في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى ، ويعودون إلى أوروبا للتكاثر في أواخر أبريل. مع عودتهم تأتي أغنيتهم ​​اللطيفة ، علامة الربيع الطويلة.

مرة واحدة على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء إنجلترا وويلز ، الحمائم سلحفاة المملكة المتحدة انخفضت بنسبة 98 ٪ بين عامي 1970 و 2015، مع انخفاض مماثل في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. إذن ما الذي يحدث لأيقونة موسم الأعياد؟

لماذا تختفي حمائم السلاحف من المملكة المتحدة اللحن والأغاني المبكرة لأغنية "The 12 Days of Christmas" ، التي سجلها فرانك كيدزون في ليدز ميركوري ، 1891. فرانك كيدزون

تفاقم الدمار

الحمائم السلاحف تأكل البذور فقط ، والخيار الأول هو بذور الأعشاب الضارة. منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية ، تكثفت الزراعة بشكل كبير في جميع أنحاء أوروبا ، وفي حين زاد ذلك أيضًا من إنتاج الغذاء ، فقد أهلك مصادر الغذاء للحمائم والسلاحف وغيرها من طيور الأراضي الزراعية والثدييات والحشرات. إن تقليص هوامش الحقول البرية ، وزيادة استخدام مبيدات الأعشاب وزراعة المحاصيل في الخريف بدلاً من الربيع ، كلها عوامل ساهمت في اختفاء الزهور البرية. مع توفر أقل من هذا الموائل والغذاء ، تضطر الأنواع إلى إطعام المزيد من المواقع التي يسهل الوصول إليها والتي يصنعها الإنسان ، مثل الحبوب المخزنة أو المنسكبة في المزارع ومغذيات الطيور في الحديقة.

وقد زاد هذا من خطر انتشار الأمراض حيث تتجمع الطيور للتغذية. مثلما تميل الأمراض إلى الانتشار في وسائل النقل العام ، عندما تتلامس أعداد كبيرة من الناس عن كثب ، فإن الأمر نفسه ينطبق على الطيور في مغذيات الحدائق. ويلقى باللوم أيضًا على عدد أقل من مصادر الغذاء البرية في وصول حمائم السلاحف في وقت لاحق إلى أوروبا وهجرتها السابقة إلى إفريقيا ، مما يقلل من وقت تكاثرها المحتمل. يمكن أن تضع حمائم السلاحف ثلاثة براثن من البيض في كل موسم ، ولكن مع وقت أقل للتكاثر ، فإنها تربى عددًا أقل من الدجاج. كعلماء في مجال الحفظ ، نعتقد أن هذا التأثير وحده يمكن أن يفسر معظم الانخفاض الذي شوهد خلال السنوات الخمسين الماضية.

لماذا تختفي حمائم السلاحف من المملكة المتحدة يوفر الريف البريطاني الآن أماكن قليلة جيدة لتناول الطعام والراحة للحمائم السلحفاة. Ian_Sherriffs / شترستوك


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ولكن حمائم السلاحف تُقتل أيضًا على أيدي الصيادين الترفيهيين ، ورغم أنها محمية على نطاق واسع ، فقد سمح للصيد في عشر دول في الاتحاد الأوروبي حتى عام 2018 ، مع قتل أكثر من مليون طائر كل عام في فرنسا وإسبانيا والبرتغال ، على طول طريق الهجرة الغربية التي تسافر بها الطيور في المملكة المتحدة. من المرجح أن يمنع الصيد على هذه المستويات سكان حمائم السلاحف من التعافي ، حتى مع فرض قيود على توقيت الصيد وأعداد الطيور التي تم إطلاقها.

وكمهاجرون ، تتعرض حمائم السلاحف للتهديد من قبل ما يُعرف بالخطر المتعدد - فهي تواجه تحديات في مناطق الشتاء الإفريقية وكذلك في مناطق تكاثرها الأوروبية. تميل الأنواع المهاجرة ، بعد استبعادها من كلا الموائل ، إلى انخفاضات أكثر حدة من نظيراتها المستقرة.

كيف تساعد

كمرشح دكتوراه يدرس حمائم السلاحف ، كان لي شرف العمل مع هذه الطيور الجميلة في بيئتها الطبيعية. لقد رأيت الآلاف من حمائم السلاحف تغادر موقعًا بارزًا للتجول في فصل الشتاء في السنغال - مشهدًا رائعًا للنظر إليه ، بالنظر إلى ندرتها في المملكة المتحدة. في رحلة إلى هنغاريا ، واحدة من الدول الوحيدة في أوروبا التي تضم مجموعة مستقرة من حمائم السلاحف ، سمعتهم يغنون ورأيت أزواج ترفرف بين الأشجار. بعد أن أمضيت معظم وقتي على مدى العامين الماضيين في القراءة عن مدى سوء أداء هذا النوع ، كانت هذه اللحظات تنشط حقًا.

أنا آمل أن عمل تشغيل السلاحف حمامة، وهو جهد قامت به أربع منظمات للحماية في المملكة المتحدة ، يمكنه مواجهة المشاكل التي تواجه النوع. ويشمل ذلك مساعدة المزارعين على رعاية الحياة البرية من خلال إعادة إدخال هوامش الحقول غير المحصولية حيث يمكن للنباتات التي تحب الحمضيات أن تأكلها. يعمل المحافظون أيضًا عن كثب مع منظمات الصيد في أوروبا لضمان استدامة النشاط. لقد نجحوا بالفعل في الحد من بدل الصيد في فرنسا.

يمكن لأي شخص أن يساعد ببساطة عن طريق الإبلاغ عن حمامة السلحفاة رؤية على موقع British Trust for Ornithology's BirdTrack. يمكن أن يساعد هذا في استهداف جهود الحفظ حيث سيكون لها أكبر الأثر. السلحفاة حمامة الموائل ودية يمكن أن تنتشر في الحدائق والمتنزهات البريطانية أيضًا ، مما يشجع زوّار الربيع على الإطعام والعش. كل ما يتطلبه الأمر هو زراعة أنواع الطعام التي يحبونها ، مثل البرسيم والأزهار الحمراء والبيضاء ، أو السماح للتحوطات بالنمو حتى تتعشش الطيور.

إذا كان الناس يتصرفون الآن ، فيمكنهم حماية خراب الربيع في الريف البريطاني ، والتأكد من عدم تفريغ أي شخص في اليوم الثاني من عيد الميلاد.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

ريبيكا يونغ ، مرشح دكتوراه في الحفظ والبيئة ، جامعة كارديف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

Why Turtle Doves Are Disappearing From The UK and Elsewhere

Why Turtle Doves Are Disappearing From The UK Rebecca Young, Author provided

The 12 Days of Christmas is a song that promises a great deal, but there’s a line that carollers may have to omit in future. Before a whole house of leaping lords and dancing ladies, the second day is supposed to bring two turtle doves. But dramatic declines in populations across Europe may mean that day two disappoints true loves in Christmases to come.

Only slightly larger than a blackbird, the European turtle dove is the UK’s smallest species of pigeon, as well as its only migrant species. You would be hard pushed to find turtle doves in the UK during December, as they spend the winter in sub-Saharan Africa, returning to Europe to breed in late April. With their return comes their gentle purring song, a long-standing sign of spring.

Once widespread across England and Wales, the UK turtle dove population plummeted by 98% between 1970 and 2015, with similar declines across Europe. So what’s happening to this icon of the festive season?

Why Turtle Doves Are Disappearing From The UK The melody and early lyrics of ‘The 12 Days of Christmas’ song, recorded by Frank Kidson in the Leeds Mercury, 1891. Frank Kidson

Dovetailing destruction

Turtle doves only eat seeds, and their first choice is weed seeds. Since the second world war, farming has drastically intensified across Europe and while this has also increased food production, it has decimated the food sources of turtle doves and other farmland birds, mammals and insects. Cutting back wild field margins, increasing herbicide use and sowing crops in autumn instead of spring have all contributed to the disappearance of wildflowers. With less of this habitat and food available, species are forced to feed more on easily accessible, man-made food sites, like stored or spilt grain on farms and garden bird feeders.

This has increased the risk of diseases spreading where birds congregate to feed. Just as diseases tend to spread on public transport, when large numbers of people come into close contact, the same is true for birds at garden feeders. Fewer wild sources of food are also blamed for the later arrival of turtle doves in Europe and their earlier migration to Africa, reducing their possible breeding time. Turtle doves can lay up to three clutches of eggs per season, but with less time to breed, they’re raising fewer chicks. As conservation scientists, we think this effect alone could explain most of the decline that’s been seen over the last 50 years.

Why Turtle Doves Are Disappearing From The UK The UK countryside now offers few good places to eat and rest for turtle doves. Ian_Sherriffs/Shutterstock


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But turtle doves are also killed by recreational hunters, and although they’re widely protected, hunting was permitted in ten EU countries as recently as 2018, with more than a million birds killed each year in France, Spain and Portugal, along the western migratory route which UK birds travel. Hunting at these levels is likely to prevent turtle dove populations from recovering, even with restrictions on the timing of hunting and the numbers of birds shot.

As migrants, turtle doves are threatened by what’s known as multiple jeopardy – they face challenges in African wintering grounds as well as in their European breeding grounds. Squeezed out of both habitats, migrant species tend to suffer more severe declines than their sedentary counterparts.

How to help

As a PhD candidate studying turtle doves, I’ve had the privilege of working with these beautiful birds in their natural habitat. I saw thousands of turtle doves leaving one prominent winter roosting site in Senegal – an amazing sight to behold, considering their rarity back in the UK. On a trip to Hungary, one of the only countries in Europe that’s home to a stable population of turtle doves, I heard them singing and saw pairs fluttering between trees. Having spent the majority of my time over the past two years reading about how poorly this species is faring, these moments were truly invigorating.

I’m hopeful that the work of Operation Turtle Dove, an effort by four UK conservation organisations, can counter the problems facing the species. This includes helping farmers look after wildlife by reintroducing uncropped field margins where the plants that doves like to eat can grow. Conservationists are also working closely with hunting organisations in Europe to ensure the activity is sustainable. They’ve already succeeded in reducing the hunting allowance in France.

Anybody can help by simply reporting a turtle dove sighting on the British Trust for Ornithology’s BirdTrack website. This can help target conservation efforts where they’ll have the greatest impact. Turtle dove-friendly habitats can sprout up in British gardens and parks too, encouraging the spring visitors to feed and nest. All it takes is planting the food species they like, such as fumitory and red and white clover, or allowing hedges to grow for the birds to nesting.

If people act now, they can safeguard the purr of spring in the British countryside, and make sure no one goes empty handed on the second day of Christmas.The Conversation

About the Author

Rebecca Young, PhD Candidate in Conservation and Ecology, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…