لماذا الهشيم المخاطر الصحية تمتد مئات الأميال

لماذا الهشيم المخاطر الصحية تمتد مئات الأميال

يمكن لانبعاثات الحريق الناتجة عن حرائق الغابات أن تساهم في الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية على بعد مئات الأميال من النيران ، وفقًا لبحث جديد.

يقول الباحثون إن المخاطر أكبر وأكثر انتشارًا من معظم النماذج التنبؤية.

يحذر سبيروس بانديس ، أستاذ الهندسة الكيميائية بجامعة كارنيجي ميلون ، من أن الناس في اتجاه الريح لا يتوقعون بالكامل آثاره المحتملة على صحتهم.

حرائق الغابات والانبعاثات

يقول بانديس: "تشير الدلائل إلى أن هذه الانبعاثات تعتبر ضارة بصحتنا مثل مصادر الاحتراق الأخرى ، مثل المركبات والانبعاثات الصناعية". "تحتوي الانبعاثات الناتجة عن حرائق الغابات على آلاف المركبات العضوية المعقدة ، بعضها مسرطنة".

والانبعاثات المعنية هي الكتلة الأحيائية التي تحترق الهباء الجوي العضوي ، الذي ينشأ من حرق النباتات والأشجار والمواد العضوية الأخرى. ابتكر الباحثون نموذج 3D للكتلة الأحيائية التي تحترق الهباء الجوي العضوي لتتبع نوعين: الهباء الجوي العضوي الأساسي والهباء العضوي الثانوي.

تنبعث الحرائق من الهباء الجوي العضوي الأساسي مباشرة في الغلاف الجوي في مرحلة الجسيمات وتتركز معظمها داخل حريق. يتكون الهباء الجوي العضوي الثانوي من انبعاثات البخار العضوي التي تتكثف في مرحلة الجسيمات بعد الاحتراق والانتشار.

معظم نماذج الكمبيوتر التي تتعقب حركة الجسيمات في الهواء بعد تعقب الحريق للانبعاثات الأولية وتتجاهل الانبعاثات الثانوية.

"600 على بعد أميال"

بالنسبة للنموذج الجديد ، أدخل الفريق بيانات من جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة من خلال ثلاثة أشهر من 2008 ، مما أنشأ مجموعة من التنبؤات التي قاموا بعدها بالتحقق من البيانات التاريخية من شبكات تتبع الهباء الجوي والتنبؤات من نموذج يركز فقط على الهباء الجوي العضوي الأساسي.

درس الباحثون أبريل ، عندما حرائق الزراعة التي تسيطر عليها عززت الانبعاثات ؛ يوليو؛ وسبتمبر ، عندما كانت حرائق الغابات أكثر شيوعًا.

مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الهباء الجوي العضوي الثانوي ، تنبأ نموذج الباحثين بقيم تركيز متوسط ​​أعلى بشكل ملحوظ للكتلة الأحيائية التي تحترق الهباء الجوي العضوي مقارنة بالنماذج الأقل تطوراً - 66٪ أعلى في أبريل وأعلى قليلاً من 100٪ في يوليو وأيلول. كان نموذج الباحثين أكثر دقة عندما قارنوا بين أعمالهم والقياسات الفعلية. كما أظهروا أن الهباء الجوي العضوي الثانوي قد تم التقليل من قيمته سابقًا.

يقول بانديس: "تعمل كيمياء الغلاف الجوي كقوة معززة" ، حيث تنتج مادة جسيمية إضافية عندما يتحرك العمود بعيدًا عن النار بعد يوم أو يومين. التأثيرات ، بطبيعة الحال ، تصبح أصغر نظرًا لأن المرء يبتعد عن النار ، ولكنه قد يظل كبيرًا حتى 600 على بعد أميال - حتى لو لم يعد مرئيًا كدخان كثيف. هذا التحسين أقوى خلال الأيام المشمسة الدافئة. "

حطمت Wildfires 8.8 مليون فدان في الولايات المتحدة في 2018 ، على حدة منحنى يصل من أكثر قليلاً من 2 مليون في 1985 ، وفقًا لخدمة الإطفاء الوطنية المشتركة بين الوكالات.

يقول المؤلفون إنهم يأملون في أن يساعد هذا البحث في توسيع فهم الجمهور لشدة هذه الحرائق وأهمية الحد منها في المستقبل.

تظهر الدراسة في الغلاف الجوي للبيئة.

المصدر: نيك كيبلر جامعة كارنيجي ميلون

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Wildfire Health Hazards Extend Hundreds Of Miles

Why Wildfire Health Hazards Extend Hundreds Of Miles

Fire emissions from wildfires can contribute to cardiovascular disease hundreds of miles from the flames, according to new research.

The researchers say the risks are greater and more widespread than most predictive models show.

Spyros Pandis, a professor of chemical engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, warns that people downwind of a fire are not fully anticipating its possible effects on their health.

Wildfires and emissions

“The evidence suggests that these emissions are just as bad for our health as that of other combustion sources, such as vehicle and industrial emissions,” Pandis says. “The emissions from wildfires contain thousands of complex organic compounds, some of them carcinogenic.”

The emissions in question are biomass burning organic aerosols, which originate from burning plants, trees, and other organic matter. Researchers created a 3D model of biomass burning organic aerosols to track two types: primary organic aerosols and secondary organic aerosols.

Fires emit primary organic aerosols directly into the atmosphere in the particle phase and are mostly concentrated within a fire’s vicinity. Secondary organic aerosols consist of organic vapor emissions that condense in the particle phase after burning and spread out further.

Most computer models that track particle movement in the air after a fire track primary emissions and ignore secondary emissions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


‘600 miles away’

For the new model, the team entered data from across the US from three months of 2008, creating a set of predictions that they then checked against historic data from aerosol tracking networks and predictions from a model focused only on primary organic aerosols.

The researchers studied April, when controlled agriculture fires boosted emissions; July; and September, when wildfires were most common.

Taking secondary organic aerosols into account, the researchers’ model predicted significantly higher average concentration values of biomass burning organic aerosols than less-sophisticated models—66% higher in April and a little more than 100% higher in July and September. The researchers’ model was more accurate when they compared their work to actual measurements. They also showed that the secondary organic aerosols previously were underestimated.

“Atmospheric chemistry acts as a booster,” Pandis says, “producing additional particulate matter as the plume moves away from the fire one or two days later. The effects, of course, get smaller as one gets away from the fire, but it can remain significant up to 600 miles away—even if it’s no longer visible as thick smoke. This enhancement is stronger during warm sunny days.”

Wildfires decimated 8.8 million acres in the United States in 2018, on a sharp curve up from a little more than 2 million in 1985, according to the National Interagency Fire Service.

The authors say they hope that this research will help expand the public’s understanding of the severity of these wildfires and the importance of limiting them in the future.

The study appears in Atmospheric Environment.

Source: Nick Keppler for Carnegie Mellon University

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}