التحدي الهائل للتصحر في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى

التحدي الهائل للتصحر في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى
يجمع السكان المياه في واحد من العديد من الآبار المحفورة في قاع نهر جاف في منطقة ديرما في بوركينا فاسو. مارك بورنوف / IRD

اليوم ، تمثل المناطق الجافة أكثر من 41٪ من الأراضي في جميع أنحاء العالم وهي موطن لأكثر من ملياري شخص.

إنها مرحلة العملية المستمرة لتردي الأراضي التي تتفاقم بسبب تقلبات المناخ - خاصة الجفاف - والضغط الذي تمارسه الأنشطة البشرية (بما في ذلك النمو السكاني والإدارة غير المناسبة للموارد الطبيعية). كل هذه العوامل تقوض بقوة قدرة السكان على التكيف مع بيئة متزايدة الصعوبة.

في أفريقيا في 1970s، كان للجفاف عواقب وخيمة في سياق هش بالفعل. صور آثارها لا تزال علامة الذاكرة الجماعية اليوم. كانت عاملا حاسما في عقد مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة المعني بالتصحر في نيروبي في 1977.

ما وراء الاعتراف من قبل المجتمع الدولي (منذ قمة الأرض في ريو في 1992 ، مع اعتماد اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة التصحر) ، نواجه أيضًا مسألة فهمنا وتقييم عملية التصحر ، والحلول المستدامة لمكافحته. التضمين الحديث لمفهوم "الحياد" من حيث تدهور الأراضي في الأمم المتحدة "أهداف التنمية المستدامة يجعل المعركة ضد التصحر قضية رئيسية للتنمية ، (إعادة) ربط المجتمعات والبيئات ، ورفاهية الإنسان.

الملايين من الهكتارات تختفي

الموقف حساس بشكل خاص في بلدان جنوب الصحراء الكبرى ، حيث يعتمد أكثر من 80٪ من الاقتصاد على زراعة الكفاف. وفقا لمونيك باربوت ، الأمين التنفيذي لاتفاقية مكافحة التصحر ، أكد ذلك تقريبا 12 مليون هكتار من الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة تُفقد كل عام على مستوى العالم بسبب التصحر والجفاف ، حيث كان من الممكن زراعة مليون طن من الحبوب في هذه المنطقة.

على الرغم من تنوع وكثافة الجهود المبذولة لمكافحة التصحر ، فإن التحدي المتمثل في تدهور الأراضي في وقت تغير المناخ في المناطق القاحلة في أفريقيا لا يزال دون حل. ال المخاطر البيئية والمجتمعية هائلةبما في ذلك الأمن الغذائي وتغير المناخ والصحة والقانون والعدالة الاجتماعية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن النمو التدريجي للمعرفة حول أسباب وآليات وعواقب التصحر يتيح لنا الآن استنباط حلول جديدة ، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بمكافحة تدهور التربة والتربة.

الممارسات الجيدة لاعتمادها

يعتمد نجاح هذه المشروعات والبرامج في مكافحة تدهور التربة والتربة على الفهم و تقييم الوضع في الأراضي المعنية. يجب أن يسمح لنا هذا التقييم قبل اتخاذ الإجراء بتحديد نوع التدهور في أي مكان ، وشدته ، ودينامياته الزمنية ، وتوزيعه المكاني وفقًا لعوامل التدهور ، وأنواع وشدة العواقب على الصعيدين المحلي والدولي. هذا النهج لا غنى عنه لاتخاذ إجراءات فعالة.

ممارسات الإدارة المستدامة للأراضي والمياه خلال العقود الأخيرة ، حسنت قدرتنا على مكافحة التصحر والحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال يتعين بذل الجهود ، لا سيما لخلق بيئة اجتماعية اقتصادية مواتية لدعم هذه الممارسات ونشرها ونشرها في مناطق أكبر.

التحدي الهائل للتصحر في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى IRD

لتقييم حالة المعرفة حول هذه القضايا ، مرصد الصحراء والساحل (OSS) والفرنسية المعهد القومي للبحوث للتنمية المستدامة (IRD) أنتجت مؤخرا تقريرا ، "التصحر ونظام الأرض: من المعرفة إلى العمل"، الذي يقدم تحليلًا ظرفيًا غير مسبوق. يمكن أن يكون التشاور على الانترنت أو تحميلها مجانا.

تحقيق الحياد

تتطلب مكافحة التصحر وتدهور الأراضي النظر في العديد من النطاقات الزمنية والمكانية (من الأرض الزراعية والحوض ، إلى الزراعة ، إلى القرية ، الأراضي الجماعية ، المحلية ، الوطنية أو الإقليمية) ، ومستويات صنع القرار (من وحدة الأسرة والحكومة المحلية أو الإقليمية ، إلى الدولة والمؤتمر الدولي). كما يجب أن تأخذ في الاعتبار مختلف مستويات العمل والإدارة ، سواء أكانت في فهم آليات تدهور الأراضي ، أو في العمل نفسه أو في إدارته العلمية أو التقنية أو الإدارية أو السياسية.

بالنظر إلى الابتكارات التكنولوجية الحديثة والإبداع البشري ، فإن التصحر ليس حتمية. ومع ذلك ، لن يحدث شيء كبير إذا لم يتم تنسيق التعبئة العلمية والسياسية وتعبئة المواطنين.

من خلال بدء العمل اليوم بشأن الإدارة المستدامة للأراضي واستعادة الأراضي المتدهورة ، من الممكن الوصول إليها حياد تدهور الأراضي بواسطة 2030. حول هذا الموضوع ، يجدر التشاور مع تقرير قدمت في 14 سبتمبر خلال مؤتمر الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة التصحر في أوردوس (الصين) ، المكرسة للإدارة المستدامة للأراضي للبشر والمناخ.المحادثة

حول المؤلف

نبيل بن خاترة ، إنغنيور agronome ، برنامج تنسيق "البيئة" من أجل الصحراء وساحل الساحل ، المعهد الوطني للزراعة في تونس (INAT) و Maud Loireau ، Ingénieur de recherche en agronomie et géographie ، معهد البحوث من أجل التنمية (IRD)

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Immense Challenge of Desertification in Sub-Saharan Africa

The Immense Challenge of Desertification in Sub-Saharan Africa
Residents collect water in one of the many wells dug in the bed of a dried-up river in the Dierma region of Burkina Faso. Marc Bournof/IRD

Today, dry areas represent more than 41% of land on the globe and they are home to more than two billion people.

They are the stage for the ongoing process of land degradation that is aggravated by climate fluctuations – particularly drought – and pressure exerted by human activities (including demographic growth and inappropriate management of natural resources). All of these factors strongly undermine the capacity of populations to adapt to an increasingly difficult environment.

In Africa in the 1970s, droughts had terrifying consequences in an already fragile context. The images of their effects still mark collective memory today. They were a determining factor in the holding of the United Nations Conference on Desertification in Nairobi in 1977.

Beyond recognition by the international community (since the Rio Earth Summit in 1992, with the adoption of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification), we also face the question of our understanding and evaluation of the desertification process, and of sustainable solutions to fight it. The recent inclusion of the concept of “neutrality” in terms of land degradation in the United Nations’Sustainable Development Goals makes the battle against desertification a major issue for development, (re)connecting societies and environments, and human well-being.

Millions of hectares are disappearing

The situation is particularly sensitive in sub-Saharan countries, where over 80% of the economy is based on subsistence farming. According to Monique Barbut, UNCCD Executive Secretary, emphasised that almost 12 million hectares of arable land are being lost each year globally, to desertification and drought, when 20 million tonnes of cereals could have been cultivated on this area.

Despite the diversity and intensity of efforts to combat desertification, the challenge of land degradation in a time of climate change in Africa’s arid areas remains unresolved. The environmental and societal stakes are massive, including food security, climate change, health, law and social equity.

However, the progressive growth of knowledge about the causes, mechanisms and consequences of desertification now allows us to devise new solutions, particularly when it comes to combating land and soil degradation.

Good practices to adopt

The success of such projects and programmes combating land and soil degradation depends on an understanding and evaluation of the situation in the territory concerned. This assessment prior to action should allow us to determine the type of degradation anywhere, its severity, its temporal dynamics, its spatial distribution according to the degradation factors, and the types and intensity of consequences both locally and at regional and international levels. This approach is indispensable for effective action.

Sustainable land and water management practices over recent decades have improved our ability to combat desertification and preserving natural resources. However, efforts still need to be made, particularly to create a favourable socio-economic environment to support, promote and deploy such practices over larger regions.

The Immense Challenge of Desertification in Sub-Saharan Africa IRD

To assess the state of knowledge on these issues, the Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS) and the French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD) recently produced a report, “Desertification and Earth System: From Knowledge into Action”, that offers an unprecedented situational analysis. It can be consulted online or downloaded free of charge.

Achieving neutrality

The fight against desertification and land degradation requires the consideration of several temporal and spatial scales (from the agricultural plot and the basin, to farming, to village, communal, local, national or regional land), and levels of decision-making (from the family unit and local or regional government, to the State and international convention). It also must take into account various level of action and management, whether it be in understanding the mechanisms of land degradation, in the action itself or in its scientific, technical, administrative or political management.

Given recent technological innovations and human ingenuity, desertification is not an inevitability. However, nothing significant will happen if scientific, political and citizen mobilisation is not sustainably coordinated.

By starting work today on sustainably managing land and restoring degraded land, it is nevertheless possible to reach land-degradation neutrality by 2030. On this subject, it is worth consulting the report presented on 14 September during the UNCCD Conference of Parties in Ordos (China), devoted to sustainable land management for humans and the climate.The Conversation

About the Authors

Nabil Ben Khatra, Ingénieur agronome, Coordinateur du programme « Environnement » pour l’Observatoire du Sahara et du Sahel, Institut national agronomique de Tunisie (INAT) and Maud Loireau, Ingénieur de recherche en agronomie et géographie, Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD)

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}