ما هي المدينة الأكثر تلوثا؟

ما هي المدينة الأكثر تلوثا؟

(الائتمان: ناثان دوملاو / Unsplash)

أفادت دراسة جديدة أن ضعف المراقبة على الأرض يجعل من المستحيل معرفة المدينة الأكثر تلوثًا في العالم.

يقول راندال مارتن ، أستاذ في قسم هندسة الطاقة والبيئة والكيمياء في كلية ماكيلفي للهندسة في جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس: "أرى غالبًا تصنيفات لأكثر المدن تلوثًا في العالم".

يقول: "هذه التصنيفات مضللة ، لأنه لا توجد معلومات كافية يمكن معرفتها".

في ورقة في البيئة الجوية: Xيحدد مارتن مدى الفجوة بين ما يعرفه الباحثون وما لا يعرفونه عن المستويات الفعلية للمواد الجزيئية الدقيقة ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم PM2.5.

يشير الرقم إلى حجم جسيمات معينة في الهواء تشكل تلوثًا - فهي ميكرون 2.5 وأصغر ؛ للقياس ، يكون شعرة الإنسان حول قطر 70. يمكن أن تتكون هذه الجزيئات من أي شيء ، مثل المنتجات الثانوية للغبار والصناعة. بسبب حجمها ، يمكنهم السفر عبر الجهاز التنفسي للجسم والودائع في الرئتين.

الآثار الصحية لل PM2.5 تبدأ مع تلف القلب والأوعية الدموية وتزداد سوءا من هناك. تقدر منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، أن التكلفة المرتبطة بالوفيات المبكرة الناجمة عن التلوث سترتفع من 3 تريليون دولار في 2015 إلى 18-25 تريليون دولار بواسطة 2060.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عدم وجود بيانات جيدة

يتطلب فهم مقدار التلوث في الهواء مراقبة على الأرض ، لكن العديد من المدن - ظاهريا بعضها بمستويات PM2.5 عالية - ليس لديها أي مراقبة على الإطلاق. في الهند ، على سبيل المثال ، هناك شاشة واحدة لكل 6.8 مليون شخص. مثل هذا الرصد المتفرق لا يمثل تقلبات التلوث.

وجد مارتن وزملاؤه أن حوالي 9٪ تقريبًا من سكان العالم يعيشون في مناطق بها أكثر من ثلاثة مراقبين لكل مليون شخص. يعيش حوالي 18٪ من السكان في مناطق دون مراقبة.

يقول مارتن: "على الرغم من أن التأثيرات الصحية للـ PM2.5 تقدر قيمتها بنسبة قليلة في المئة من إجمالي الناتج المحلي العالمي ، إلا أن PM2.5 يخضع لرقابة صارمة". "الفرق بين أهمية هذا التدبير ومستوى المراقبة الأرضية مذهل".

بالإضافة إلى التخفيف من المخاوف الصحية ، من المهم فهم أفضل للتلوث على الأرض لعدة أسباب. بالنسبة لمارتن ، الذي يقع بحثه عند تقاطع الاستشعار عن بعد والنمذجة العالمية ، فإن وجود بيانات دقيقة هو الطريقة الوحيدة لتطوير نماذج دقيقة.

"جزء من تحليلنا ينطوي على ربط ما تقيسه الأقمار الصناعية على مستوى سطح الأرض PM2.5" ، كما يقول. "إذا اعتمدنا فقط على أجهزة المراقبة الأرضية ، فلن تكون لدينا معلومات كافية."

تحديد المدينة الأكثر تلوثا

من أجل تحسين البيانات على مستوى الأرض ، يقترح مارتن وزملاؤه "إطار عمل متكامل للرصد" يتكون من أنواع مختلفة من معدات المراقبة التي تركز على المناطق الأكثر كثافة سكانية ، أو حتى على المناطق الأكثر عرضة للتقلب. فهم يحسبون أنه من أجل تحقيق هدف واحد لكل مليون شخص ، سيتعين على آلاف الشاشات الجديدة الاتصال بالإنترنت.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يقترح مارتن وزملاؤه أن يشتمل هذا الإطار على قياسات الهباء الجوي الأرضية ، وشاشات مبتكرة منخفضة التكلفة ، ومراقبة متنقلة ، وقياسات في نقاط مختلفة بطول العمودي (بالطائرة ، على سبيل المثال). إن دمج هذه الأنظمة لن يساعد الباحثين فقط في الحصول على صورة أكثر شمولًا لمستويات PM2.5 على الأرض ، ولكنه سيساعد أيضًا في التنبؤ بجودة الهواء ويساعد على تحسين النماذج الجوية.

يقول مارتن: "القدرة على تحديد موقع المدينة الأكثر تلوثًا في مؤشر على التقدم العلمي". "من المهم أن تكون قادرًا على الإجابة عن الأسئلة الأساسية حول شيء مهم. إن الدافع للتغلب على هذا التحدي يتحدث إلى شيء أساسي حول معرفتنا للعالم من حولنا. "

دعم العمل جاء من مجلس العلوم الطبيعية والهندسة في كندا.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

What’s The Most Polluted City?

What’s The Most Polluted City?

(Credit: Nathan Dumlao/Unsplash)

Poor on-the-ground monitoring makes it impossible to know which city is the world’s most polluted, according to new research.

“I often see rankings of the most polluted city in the world,'” says Randall Martin, professor in the energy, environmental, and chemical engineering department in the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis.

“These rankings are misleading,” he says, “because there is insufficient information to know.”

In a paper in Atmospheric Environment: X, Martin outlines the extent of the gap between what researchers know and don’t know about on-the-ground levels of fine particulate matter, also known as PM2.5.

The number refers to the size of certain particulates in the air that constitute pollution—they are 2.5 microns and smaller; for scale, a human hair is about 70 microns in diameter. These particles can be composed of anything, such as dust and industry byproducts. Because of their size, they can travel through the body’s respiratory tract and deposit in the lungs.

The health impacts of PM2.5 start with cardiovascular damage and get worse from there. The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development estimates worldwide, the cost associated with premature deaths from pollution will rise from $3 trillion in 2015 to $18-25 trillion by 2060.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Lack of good data

Understanding the amount of pollution in the air requires on-the-ground monitoring, but many cities—ostensibly some with high PM2.5 levels—have no monitoring at all. In India, for example, there is just one monitor for every 6.8 million people. Such sparse monitoring fails to represent pollution variability.

Martin and colleagues found that just about 9% of the world’s population lives in areas that have more than three monitors per million people. About 18% of the population live in areas without monitoring.

“Although the health effects of PM2.5 are valued at a few percent of global GDP, PM2.5 is grossly under-monitored,” Martin says. “The difference between the importance of this measure and the level of ground-based monitoring is shocking.”

Beyond mitigating health concerns, a better understanding of pollution on the ground is important for several reasons. For Martin, whose research sits at the intersection of remote sensing and global modeling, having accurate data is the only way to develop accurate models.

“Part of our analysis involves relating what satellites measure to ground-level PM2.5,” he says. “If we relied only on ground-based monitors, we would have insufficient information.”

Pinpointing the most polluted city

In order to improve the ground-level data, Martin and colleagues propose a robust “integrated monitoring framework” composed of different types of monitoring equipment focused on the most densely populated areas, or even on those most prone to variability. They calculate that in order to achieve a goal of one monitor per million people, thousands of new monitors will need to come online.

In addition, Martin and colleagues suggests this framework should include ground-based aerosol measurements, innovative low-cost monitors, mobile monitoring, and measurements at different points along the vertical (by aircraft, for example). Integrating these systems would not only help researchers gain a more comprehensive picture of the PM2.5 levels on the ground, but would assist with air quality forecasting and help to improve atmospheric models.

“The ability to identify the location of the most polluted city in an indicator of scientific progress,” Martin says. “It is important to be able to answer basic questions about something this important. The drive to overcome this challenge speaks to something fundamental about our knowledge of the world around us.”

Support for the work came from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}