ماذا يحدث عندما يغرق بلد ما؟

ماذا يحدث عندما يغرق بلد ما؟ جزيرة مرجانية في جمهورية كيريباتي ، وهي دولة جزرية في جنوب المحيط الهادئ معرضة لخطر الاختفاء بسبب تغير المناخ. (صراع الأسهم)

يؤدي تغير المناخ العالمي إلى تعريض البلدان الجزرية الصغيرة ، وكثير منها دول نامية ، إلى الإضرار بقدراتها على العمل كدول مستقلة.

مع توقف التعاون البيئي الدولي ، يجب أن نسأل ما هي عواقب تغير المناخ على حالة الدول الضعيفة. هذا مهم بشكل خاص لأن السيادة هي أهم مبدأ في العلاقات الدولية. أي تهديد لسيادة دولة ما يمكن أن يكون له تداعيات غير مسبوقة على الحكم العالمي.

يتم تعريف الدولة بموجب القانون الدولي من قبل اتفاقية مونتفيديو مع أربعة معايير محددة: السكان الدائمين ، ومنطقة محددة ، والحكومة والقدرة على الدخول في علاقات مع الدول الأخرى. اليوم ، يمكن تهديد هذه الظروف بسبب عجز المجتمع الدولي عن الالتزام بعمل بيئي قوي.

والواقع أن أعلنت جمهورية كيريباتي في 2015 أن آثار تغير المناخ تهدد وجودها ذاته كأمة. إلى جانب جزر المالديف وجزر مارشال وتوكيلاو وتوفالو ، فإن كيريباتي معرضة بشكل خاص لآثار تغير المناخ لأنها تتألف بالكامل من الجزر المرجانية المنخفضة.

فيما يناشد البلد اتخاذ إجراءات دولية واستباقية فيما يتعلق بالاحترار العالمي ، فإن آثار ارتفاع منسوب البحار وموت الشعاب المرجانية والمخاطر الطبيعية المكثفة تشكل ضغطًا على قدرتها على العمل.

كيف يؤثر تغير المناخ على دول بأكملها

تتميز الدول المرجانية باحتياطيات المياه العذبة تحت السطحية حساسة لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر والجفاف، مما يعرض السكان لخطر نقص خطير في المياه. تغير المناخ يؤثر أيضا على الإنتاج الزراعي ، مما يؤدي إلى نقص الغذاء والهجرات الداخلية.

في الجزر الصغيرة ، ستحتاج الحركات قريبًا إلى المجتمعات والأفراد التحرك عبر الحدود. هذه العوامل يمكن أن تهدد المعايير الأساسية لقيام الدولة على النحو المحدد في اتفاقية مونتيفيديو: السكان الدائمون.

السابقة رئيس كيريباتي ، أنوت تونغذات مرة قال "جزرنا ، ومنازلنا ، لم تعد صالحة للسكن - أو حتى موجودة - خلال هذا القرن". وهذا يشير إلى أن المعايير الثانية لقيام الدولة ، أي الإقليم ، مهددة. نظرًا لأن التغير المناخي لا تتم معالجته بكفاءة وبدأت الدول تشعر بآثار السواحل المتآكلة ، فقد بدأ العلماء في التفكير في الحلول.

حلول

من بينها ، و آلية "الحكومة في المنفى" وقد اقترح. تسمح هذه الأداة للحكومة بالعمل خارج أراضيها ، ولكنها تتطلب صيانة السكان. هذا ايضا يحتاج أمة أخرى ذات سيادة للتخلي عن قطعة أرض. بالطبع ، يبدو من غير المحتمل أن تمنح الدولة طواعية الأرض لأمة لإعادة توطينها ، أو أنها ستتخلى عن أراضيها.

ماذا يحدث عندما يغرق بلد ما؟ شوهدت طائرة بحرية تحلق فوق جزر المالديف في المحيط الهندي ، وهي جزر مهددة بالاختفاء بسبب ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر. (صراع الأسهم)

في النهاية ، من غير المرجح أن تكون هذه الآلية استجابة فعالة لأن تغير المناخ يعقد ديناميات القوة بين الأمم.

في حالة اختفاء بلد ما ، من غير الواضح ما إذا كان سيحتفظ بسيادته في نظر المجتمع الدولي. تلمح الأمم المتحدة إلى أنه من غير المحتمل أن تتوقف الدولة ببساطة عن الوجود بسبب ما تسميه "افتراض الاستمراريةهذا الغموض المحيط بإقامة دولة الدول الضعيفة يجب أن يهز المجتمع الدولي بسبب عجزه عن هذه المسائل.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن المبدأ الدولي للسيادة هو سيف ذو حدين. هذا يعطي بواعث تاريخية الحرية المطلقة للاستجابة لتغير المناخ من خلال اتفاقات غير ملزمة ، ومماطلة اعتماد معاهدات فعالة. لكن مسألة ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر والتهديد الذي يمثله قيام دول المحيط الهادئ يجب أن تثير القلق بين المدافعين عن السيادة.

مناخ سياسي بارد

كان الجمهوريون في الولايات المتحدة ، على سبيل المثال ، حريصين دائمًا على الدفاع عن سيادة الولايات المتحدة من خلال أشكال مختلفة من الخطابة والمواقف الدولية. في سبتمبر 2018 ، حذر الرئيس دونالد ترامب الأمم المتحدة أنه لن يتخلى عن السيادة إلى "بيروقراطية غير منتخبة" بعد سنة واحدة سحب الولايات المتحدة من اتفاق باريس للمناخ.

وقال ترامب إن "الدول المسؤولة يجب أن تدافع عن التهديدات للسيادة" بينما تتفاخر بصادرات بلاده الضخمة من النفط والغاز وما يسمى الفحم "النظيف". وبينما واصل تمجيد فضائل الوقود الأحفوري وحماية سيادة الولايات المتحدة ضد الحكم العالمي ، دفع ترامب بشكل فعال القضايا البيئية إلى أبعد من دائرة الضوء الدولية.

لقد كان الدفاع عن التحرر الأمريكي من الالتزامات الدولية على رأس جدول أعمال ترامب ، وبالتالي في سياق تسارع الأزمات البيئية والانعزالية المتزايدة ، يبدو من غير المرجح أن يدافع عن سيادة دول المحيط الهادئ المتداعية.

ومع ذلك ، دعونا لا نلوم الولايات المتحدة وحدها على فشلها في حماية مبدأ ثابت من العلاقات الدولية.

مستقبل مجهول

يقوم المجتمع السياسي الدولي بإنتاج اتفاقيات بيئية غير مُلزمة وغير مُلهمة ، سنة تلو الأخرى ، لا تفعل سوى القليل لتقليل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة. ال مبدأ "الملوث يدفع" يقترح أن تحمل تكاليف التلوث يجب أن يتناسب مع درجة المسؤولية في إنتاجه.

هذا التوجيه لم ينجح بالضبط في المفاوضات الدولية مسألة المسؤولية لا تزال سمة من النقاشات بين الدول الصناعية والبلدان النامية.

تتفاقم محنة الجزر الغارقة مع فشل المجتمع الدولي في معالجة تغير المناخ بشكل فعال. بدون إجراء ملموس ، سوف تتسارع هجرات المناخ عبر الحدود مع تقلص الموارد وتآكل الأراضي بسبب ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر ، طرد الناس من منازلهم وتعريض الدولة للخطر جميع بلدان المحيط الهادئ.

إنها من بين أصغر انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة ، ومع ذلك فهي تعاني بشكل غير متناسب من عواقب تغير المناخ. يكشف الوضع عدم وجود تضامن وعدالة المناخ في المجتمع العالمي.

لسوء الحظ ، يمكن أن يؤدي اتخاذ إجراءات باهتة بشأن تغير المناخ إلى جانب إحجام الولايات المتحدة عن الدخول في مناقشات بيئية إلى سؤال لم يسبق له مثيل في القانون الدولي سرعان ما يسير في الاتجاه السائد: ماذا نفعل بالضبط إذا غرق بلد ما؟المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

سارة م. مونوز ، باحثة دكتوراه في العلوم السياسية / دكتوراه العلوم السياسية ، جامعة مونتريال

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Happens When A Country Drowns?

What Happens When A Country Drowns? An atoll in the Republic of Kiribati, an island nation in the South Pacific that’s in danger of disappearing due to climate change. (Shutterstock)

Global climate change is endangering small island countries, many of them developing nations, potentially harming their ability to function as independent states.

As international environmental co-operation stalls, we must ask what consequences climate change will have on the statehood of vulnerable countries. This is especially important because sovereignty is the most important principle in international relations. Any threat to a nation’s sovereignty could have unprecedented repercussions for global governance.

A state is defined under international law by the Montevideo Convention with four specific criteria: a permanent population, a defined territory, a government and the capacity to enter into relations with other states. Today, these conditions could be threatened by the international community’s inability to commit to strong environmental action.

Indeed, the Republic of Kiribati declared in 2015 that the effects of climate change are threatening its very existence as a nation. Along with the Maldives, the Marshall Islands, Tokelau and Tuvalu, Kiribati is especially vulnerable to the effects of climate change because it is composed entirely of low-lying atolls.

As the country pleads for international and proactive action regarding global warming, the effects of rising seas, dying corals and intensified natural hazards are putting a strain on its capacity to function.

How climate change affects entire nations

Atoll nations are characterized by sub-surface freshwater reserves that are sensitive to sea level rise and drought, putting populations at risk of serious water shortages. Climate change is also affecting agricultural production, leading to food shortages and internal migrations.

On small islands, movements will soon require communities and individuals to move across borders. These factors could threaten a fundamental criteria of statehood as defined by the Montevideo Convention: a permanent population.

The previous president of Kiribati, Anote Tong, once said “our islands, our homes, may no longer be habitable — or even exist — within this century.” That indicates the second criteria for statehood, a territory, is being threatened. As climate change is not being efficiently tackled and countries begin to feel the effects of eroded shorelines, scholars have begun to ponder solutions.

Solutions

Among them, the “government-in-exile” mechanism has been proposed. This tool allows a government to function outside of its territory, but requires the maintenance of a population. It also needs another sovereign nation to relinquish a piece of territory. Of course, it seems highly improbable that a state would voluntarily give land to a nation for relocation, or that it would abandon its territory.

What Happens When A Country Drowns? A sea plane is seen flying over the Maldives in the Indian Ocean, islands that are also at risk of disappearing due to rising sea levels. (Shutterstock)

In the end, this mechanism isn’t likely to be an efficient response since climate change complicates power dynamics among nations.

In the event of the disappearance of a country, it is unclear whether it would retain its sovereignty in the eyes of the international community. The United Nations hints that it’s improbable that a state would simply cease to exist due to what it calls the “presumption of continuity.” This ambiguity surrounding the maintenance of statehood of vulnerable nations should shake the international community out of its immobility on these questions.

Unfortunately, the international principle of sovereignty is a double-edged sword. It gives historic emitters the absolute freedom to respond to climate change through non-binding agreements, and procrastinate the adoption of effective treaties. But the issue of rising sea levels and the threat posed to the statehood of Pacific states should raise concern among the defenders of sovereignty.

A cold political climate

Republicans in the United States, for example, have always been keen to defend the sovereignty of the U.S. through various forms of rhetoric and international stances. In September 2018, President Donald Trump warned the United Nations that he would not renounce sovereignty to an “unelected bureaucracy” one year after pulling the U.S. out of the Paris climate agreement.

Trump said “responsible nations must defend against threats to sovereignty” while bragging about his country’s massive exports of oil, gas and what he called “clean” coal. And as he continued to extol the virtues of fossil fuels and the protection of U.S. sovereignty against global governance, Trump effectively pushed environmental issues further out of the international spotlight.

Defending American freedom from international obligations has been high on the Trump agenda, and so in the context of accelerating environmental crises and growing isolationism, it seems highly unlikely that he would defend the sinking sovereignty of Pacific nations.

However, let’s not solely blame the U.S. for failing to protect an immutable principle of international relations.

An uncertain future

The international political community has been producing, year after year, non-binding and uninspired environmental accords that do little to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. The “polluter pay” principle proposes that bearing the costs of pollution should be proportionate to the degree of responsibility in producing it.

This directive hasn’t exactly worked out in international negotiations as the question of responsibility is still a feature of debates among industrialized nations and developing countries.

The plight of the sinking islands worsens as the international community fails to effectively tackle climate change. Without concrete action, cross-border climate migrations will accelerate as resources shrink and territories become eroded by rising sea levels, pushing people out of their homes and jeopardizing the statehood of entire Pacific countries.

They are among the smallest emitters of greenhouse gases, and yet are disproportionately suffering the consequences of climate change. The situation exposes the lack of solidarity and climate justice in the global community.

Unfortunately, lacklustre action on climate change along with U.S. reluctance to engage in environmental discussions could result in an unprecedented question in international law soon going mainstream: What exactly do we do if a country drowns?The Conversation

About The Author

Sarah M. Munoz, Doctoral researcher in Political Science / Doctorante en Science Politique, Université de Montréal

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}