كيف يمكن تغير المناخ يمكن أن تجعل نظم الطقس الكارثية لفترة أطول

كيف يمكن تغير المناخ يمكن أن تجعل نظم الطقس الكارثية لفترة أطولهيوستن خلال إعصار هارفي.

عانت أجزاء كثيرة من أستراليا من سلسلة من الأحداث المناخية الشديدة ، وفي بعض الحالات ، غير المسبوقة هذا الصيف. ميزة واحدة مشتركة لكثير من هذه الأحداث - بما في ذلك موجة الحرمان تسمانيا و مدمرة فيضانات تاونسفيل - أنها كانت بسبب أنظمة الطقس التي أوقفت نفسها في مكان واحد لعدة أيام أو أسابيع.

كل شيء بدأ مع عرقلة عالية - ما يطلق عليه لأنه يمنع تقدم أنظمة الطقس المجاورة الأخرى - في بحر تسمان طوال شهر يناير وأوائل شهر فبراير.

منع هذا النظام الجبهات الباردة التي تحمل المطر من التحرك عبر تسمانيا ، وأدت إلى رياح شمالية غربية ساخنة طويلة الأمد ، معدل هطول الأمطار أقل من المتوسط ​​ودرجات الحرارة العالية.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، إلى الشمال ، أ الرياح الموسمية الشديدة منخفضة جلس ثابتًا على شمال غرب ولاية كوينزلاند لأيام 10. تم تغذيتها على جانبها الشمالي الشرقي من خلال الرياح الشمالية الغربية شديدة الإشباع من إندونيسيا ، والتي تجمعت في منطقة شمال كوينزلاند الكبرى مع الرياح التجارية الرطبة القوية من بحر المرجان ، لتشكل "منطقة التقارب".

ومن المفارقات ، هذه الرياح التجارية نشأت من الجناح الشمالي لل عرقلة عالية في تسمان، وغرق كوينزلاند في حين مغادرة ولاية الدولة الجاثم.

على غير العادة لفترات طويلة

ومناطق التقارب على طول حوض الرياح الموسمية ليست شائعة خلال موسم الأمطار ، من ديسمبر إلى مارس. ولكن من النادر للغاية أن تستمر منطقة التقارب الثابتة لأكثر من أسبوع.

هل يمكن ربط هذا النمط بتغير المناخ العالمي؟ هل نشهد تباطؤ في نظم الطقس لدينا وكذلك الطقس الأكثر تطرفا؟

يبدو أن هناك علاقة معقولة بين الاحترار الناجم عن النشاط البشري وتباطؤ تدفق النفاثات وعرقلة الارتفاعات والطقس القاسي حول العالم. في الآونة الأخيرة بحر تاسمان عرقلة عالية يمكن أن تضاف إلى تلك القائمة ، جنبا إلى جنب مع غيرها من الارتفاعات العالية التي تسببت حرائق الغابات غير المسبوقة في ولاية كاليفورنيا و موجة الحر الشديد في أوروبا العام الماضي.

هناك أيضًا اتجاه لتباطؤ السرعة الأمامية (مقابل سرعة الرياح) للأعاصير المدارية حول العالم. واحد دراسة حديثة أظهرت أن السرعة المتوسطة للأعاصير المدارية انخفضت بنسبة 10٪ في جميع أنحاء العالم بين 1949 و 2016. وفي الوقت نفسه ، خلال الفترة نفسها ، انخفضت سرعة الأعاصير المدارية بنسبة 22٪ فوق الأراضي في المنطقة الأسترالية.

من المتوقع أن يضعف تغير المناخ رياح الدورة الدموية في العالم بسبب زيادة الاحترار في مناطق العرض المرتفعة مقارنة مع المناطق المدارية ، مما يؤدي إلى تباطؤ السرعة التي تتحرك بها الأعاصير المدارية إلى الأمام.

من الواضح أنه إذا كانت الأعاصير المدارية تتحرك ببطء ، فقد يترك ذلك مناطق معينة تتحمل وطأة الأمطار. في 2017 ، تلقى هيوستن والأجزاء المحيطة من ولاية تكساس أمطار غير مسبوقة المرتبطة "المماطلة" إعصار هارفي.

ورددت فيضانات تاونسفيل هذا النمط. بالقرب من مركز الرياح الموسمية العميقة منخفضة، أجبر الهواء الدافئ للغاية على الارتفاع بسبب الرياح المتصادمة ، وتقديم أكثر من عام من هطول الأمطار إلى أجزاء من شمال غرب كوينزلاند في أسبوع واحد فقط.

تسببت الأمطار المنتشرة على ارتفاعات كبيرة في العديد من الأنهار التي تغذيها خليج كاربنتاريا و ال الحاجز المرجاني العظيم، وقد جعلها بعض الجريان السطحي في قناة القناة ، وفي النهاية تصل إلى بحيرة آير في جنوب أستراليا. للأسف ، وجد الجريان السطحي القليل طريقه إلى الروافد العليا لنظام نهر دارلينج.

كيف يمكن تغير المناخ يمكن أن تجعل نظم الطقس الكارثية لفترة أطول صور الأقمار الصناعية قبل (يمين) وبعد (يسار) الفيضانات في شمال غرب ولاية كوينزلاند. بإذن من وكالة الأرصاد الجوية اليابانية, مؤلف المنصوص

تأثيرات هائلة

كانت الآثار الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية لكوارث الطقس الأخيرة بطيئة الحركة في أستراليا ضخمة. حرائق كارثية غزت القديمة الغابات المطيرة المعتدلة في ولاية تسمانيابينما تسبب الفيضان الذي لم يسبق له مثيل في تاونسفيل في حدوث خسائر أكثر من مليون دولار 600 وتسلّمت مليار دولار أسترالي (A $ 1 بليون) لضاربي الماشية في المناطق المجاورة.

نهر روس تاونزفيل ، الذي يتدفق عبر الضواحي المصب من سد نهر روس ، قد بلغ مستوى الفيضان 1-in-500-year. بعض روافد السد شهدت كميات هائلة من الجريان السطحي، واعتبر موثوقا باعتباره حدث 1-in-2,000-year

حتى نصف مليون من الماشية تشير التقديرات إلى موتهم في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، نتيجة لحالتهم السيئة بعد سنوات من الجفاف ، بالإضافة إلى التعرض لفترات طويلة للماء والرياح أثناء حدث المطر.

أبعد من ذلك ، كلاهما جزيرة نورفولك و جزيرة لورد هاو - تقع تحت السماء الصافية المرتبطة مع ارتفاع حظر - سجلت انخفاض هطول الأمطار بشكل استثنائي حتى الآن هذا العام ، وتفاقم ظروف الجفاف الناجمة عن 2018 جاف جدا. هذه الجزر شبه الاستوائية الخصبة عادة في بحر تسمان تكافح للعثور على ما يكفي من المياه لتزويد مطالب سكانها والسياح.

تسامحت أجزاء كثيرة من أستراليا مع أحداث مناخية متطرفة واسعة النطاق هذا العام ، بما في ذلك بعض السجلات. هذا يتبع أ دافئة وجافة عموما 2018. في الواقع، 9 من 10 أدفأ سنوات على الإطلاق حدث في أستراليا منذ 2005 ، مع بقاء 1998 فقط من القرن الماضي بسجلات موثوقة تمتد إلى 1910. الاحترار المطرد للغلاف الجوي والمحيطات لدينا هو مباشرة مرتبطة بأحداث الطقس المتطرفة في أستراليا وعلى مستوى العالم.

إذا كانت تلك الأحداث المناخية القاسية تسافر ببطء أكثر عبر المناظر الطبيعية ، فإن آثارها على المناطق الفردية يمكن أن تكون أكثر تدميراً.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيف Turton ، أستاذ مساعد في الجغرافيا البيئية ، CQUniversity Australia

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = extreme extreme؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Climate Change Can Make Catastrophic Weather Systems Linger For Longer

How Climate Change Can Make Catastrophic Weather Systems Linger For LongerHouston during hurricane Harvey.

Many parts of Australia have suffered a run of severe and, in some cases, unprecedented weather events this summer. One common feature of many of these events – including the Tasmanian heatwave and the devastating Townsville floods – was that they were caused by weather systems that parked themselves in one place for days or weeks on end.

It all began with a blocking high – so-called because it blocks the progress of other nearby weather systems – in the Tasman Sea throughout January and early February.

This system prevented rain-bearing cold fronts from moving across Tasmania, and led to prolonged hot dry northwesterly winds, below-average rainfall and scorching temperatures.

Meanwhile, to the north, an intense monsoon low sat stationary over northwest Queensland for 10 days. It was fed on its northeastern flank by extremely saturated northwesterly winds from Indonesia, which converged over the greater northeast Queensland area with strong moist trade winds from the Coral Sea, forming a “convergence zone”.

Ironically, these trade winds originated from the northern flank of the blocking high in the Tasman, deluging Queensland while leaving the island state parched.

Unusually prolonged

Convergence zones along the monsoon trough are not uncommon during the wet season, from December to March. But it is extremely rare for a stationary convergence zone to persist for more than a week.

Could this pattern conceivably be linked to global climate change? Are we witnessing a slowing of our weather systems as well as more extreme weather?

There does seem to be a plausible link between human-induced warming, slowing of jet streams, blocking highs, and extreme weather around the world. The recent Tasman Sea blocking high can be added to that list, along with other blocking highs that caused unprecedented wildfires in California and an extreme heatwave in Europe last year.

There is also a trend for the slowing of the forward speed (as opposed to wind speed) of tropical cyclones around the world. One recent study showed the average forward speeds of tropical cyclones fell by 10% worldwide between 1949 and 2016. Meanwhile, over the same period, the forward speed of tropical cyclones dropped by 22% over land in the Australian region.

Climate change is expected to weaken the world’s circulatory winds due to greater warming in high latitudes compared with the tropics, causing a slowing of the speed at which tropical cyclones move forward.

Obviously, if tropical cyclones are moving more slowly, this can leave particular regions bearing the brunt of the rainfall. In 2017, Houston and surrounding parts of Texas received unprecedented rainfall associated with the “stalling” of Hurricane Harvey.

Townsville’s floods echoed this pattern. Near the centre of the deep monsoon low, highly saturated warm air was forced to rise due to colliding winds, delivering more than a year’s worth of rainfall to parts of northwest Queensland in just a week.

The widespread rain has caused significant rises in many of the rivers that feed into the Gulf of Carpentaria and the Great Barrier Reef lagoon, and some runoff has made it into the Channel Country and will eventually reach Lake Eyre in South Australia. Unfortunately, little runoff has found its way into the upper reaches of the Darling River system.

How Climate Change Can Make Catastrophic Weather Systems Linger For Longer Satellite images before (right) and after (left) the floods in northwest Queensland. Courtesy of Japan Meteorological Agency, Author provided

Huge impacts

The social, economic and environmental impacts of Australia’s recent slow-moving weather disasters have been huge. Catastrophic fires invaded ancient temperate rainforests in Tasmania, while Townsville’s unprecedented flooding has caused damage worth more than A$600 million and delivered a A$1 billion hit to cattle farmers in surrounding areas.

Townsville’s Ross River, which flows through suburbs downstream from the Ross River Dam, has reached a 1-in-500-year flood level. Some tributaries of the dam witnessed phenomenal amounts of runoff, reliably considered as a 1-in-2,000-year event

Up to half a million cattle are estimated to have died across the area, a consequence of their poor condition after years of drought, combined with prolonged exposure to water and wind during the rain event.

Farther afield, both Norfolk Island and Lord Howe Island – located under the clear skies associated with the blocking high – have recorded exceptionally low rainfall so far this year, worsening the drought conditions caused by a very dry 2018. These normally lush subtropical islands in the Tasman Sea are struggling to find enough water to supply their residents’ and tourists’ demands.

Many parts of Australia have tolerated widespread extreme weather events this year, including some records. This follows a warm and generally dry 2018. In fact, 9 of the 10 warmest years on record in Australia have occurred since 2005, with only 1998 remaining from last century with reliable records extending back to 1910. Steady warming of our atmosphere and oceans is directly linked to more extreme weather events in Australia and globally.

If those extreme weather events travel more slowly across the landscape, their effects on individual regions could be more devastating still.The Conversation

About The Author

Steve Turton, Adjunct Professor of Environmental Geography, CQUniversity Australia

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=extreme weather;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}