المخاطر الصحية الحالية والمتوقعة للتغير المناخي

المخاطر الصحية الحالية والمتوقعة للتغير المناخي(Pixabay)

بسبب نقص الغذاء المرتبط بتغير المناخ ، قد تشهد الأرض زيادة صافية في عدد وفيات البالغين من 529,000 بواسطة 2050 ، وفقًا مراجعة المادة نشرت في نيو انغلاند جورنال اوف ميديسين.

يلقي المقال الضوء على حالة البحوث المتعلقة بتغير المناخ ، بما في ذلك الزيادات المتوقعة في درجات الحرارة العالمية ، والآثار الصحية المتوقعة ، واستراتيجيات التكيف ، والفوائد الصحية المرتبطة بالتخفيضات في انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري. ويستشهد بمصادر 54 ، بما في ذلك التقارير الحكومية والأبحاث الأكاديمية التي يراجعها النظراء ، كدليل.

"التغيير المناخي يحدث ، وسيكون لجميع أنواع الآثار على المجتمع البشري" ، وقال المؤلف الرئيسي آندي هينزوأخصائية في علم الأوبئة وأستاذ في التغير البيئي والصحة العامة في كلية لندن للصحة والطب المداري ، في مكالمة هاتفية مع موارد الصحفي. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، هينز وشريكه في التأليف كريستي ابي حدد لتلخيص البحوث المناخية ذات الصلة في أربعة مجالات الموضوع الرئيسية.

وبينما ينتهي الاستعراض بدعوة للعمل من أجل العاملين في مجال الصحة "لحماية صحة الأجيال الحالية والمقبلة" من المخاطر التي يشكلها تغير المناخ ، شدد هينز على أنه يمكن للصحفيين أن يلعبوا دورًا أيضًا.

"أعتقد أن للصحفيين دورًا حاسمًا تمامًا ، لا سيما في هذا العصر من" الأخبار المزيفة "، على حد قول هينز. "يتمتع الصحفيون بمنظور ودور هامين للغاية في مساعدة الجمهور على تمييز الآراء والآراء المستندة إلى أدلة قوية من تلك التي ليست كذلك".

وأضاف أن الصحفيين يمكنهم المساعدة في إيصال المدى الكامل إلى أي الأعمال الفردية تسهم في تغير المناخ.

مع وضع تعليقات هاينز في الاعتبار ، قمنا بتجميع بعض النقاط الرئيسية من المراجعة التي قد تكون مفيدة للصحفيين. يتم تقسيم الوجبات وفقا للفروع الفرعية الأربعة المستخدمة في الورقة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تغير المناخ المرصود والمتوقع

  • "إن ما يقرب من ثلثي التأثيرات العالمية للتغيرات في درجات حرارة المحيطات في الغلاف الجوي وشبه السطحي للفترة 1971-2010 قد عزيت إلى تغير المناخ الناتج عن الأنشطة البشرية [البشرية]."
  • شهد شهر أغسطس 2018 علامة 406th الشهر المتتالي الذي تجاوز فيه متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية متوسطات تاريخية طويلة الأجل.
  • "يزداد متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة العالمية حاليًا بمعدل 0.2 درجة مئوية لكل عقد".
  • منذ زمن ما قبل الصناعة ، ازداد متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة السطحية العالمية بحوالي 1 ° C ، وهو يساوي 1.8 ° F. غالبية هذا الارتفاع حدث من 1970s فصاعدا.
  • ارتفعت مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي إلى حوالي أجزاء 410 في المليون ، ارتفاعًا من مستويات ما قبل الصناعة من حول أجزاء 280 لكل مليون. ويمتلك غاز الدفيئة القدرة على البقاء - وتبقى نسبة 20 من الغاز في الغلاف الجوي فوق سنوات 1,000.
  • وتشمل الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة المرتبطة بتغير المناخ موجات الحر والفيضانات والجفاف. (للحصول على نصائح حول تغطية هذه الأحداث ، وفهم الروابط مع تغير المناخ ، تحقق من ورقة تلميح.)
  • وحتى إذا تابعت كل دولة الخطوات التي وافقوا على اتخاذها للحد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة بموجب اتفاقية باريس ، فإن العالم سيظل يرى زيادة تقارب 3.2 ° C (5.76 ° F) في السنة 2100 مقارنة بدرجات حرارة ما قبل التصنيع. للإشارة ، وضعت التقديرات 10 مليون شخص إضافي في خطر التعرض للفيضانات بسبب ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر إذا زاد متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة العالمية عن طريق 2 ° C بدلاً من 1.5 ° C.

المخاطر الصحية المرتبطة بالمناخ المتغير

  • هناك عدد من المخاطر الصحية التي تعمل من خلال الروابط المباشرة وغير المباشرة مع تغير المناخ ، بما في ذلك سوء التغذية ، وأمراض الإسهال ، والملاريا ، وضربات الشمس.
  • مثال على التأثير الصحي المباشر لتغير المناخ هو الموت المرتبط بالحرارة.
  • ترتبط الآثار الصحية الأخرى بتغير المناخ بشكل أقل مباشرة. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تؤدي درجات الحرارة المرتفعة إلى تغيرات في نطاق وتوزيع الأمراض المنقولة بالنواقل ، مثل الملاريا ، التي تنتقل عن طريق البعوض.
  • يرتبط تغير المناخ أيضاً بالتأثيرات الصحية التي تختلف باختلاف العوامل مثل الجغرافيا والعرق والحالة الاجتماعية الاقتصادية. على سبيل المثال ، سيحدد الوضع الاجتماعي الاقتصادي النسبي لبلد ما إلى حد ما القدرة على التعامل مع تأثيرات تغير المناخ أو التخفيف منها. (لقد عرضنا أبحاثًا تتناول هذه المشكلة موارد الصحفي. أندرياس فلوريس ، أستاذ علم التمرينات في جامعة ثيساليا في اليونان نشر التحليل التلوي توثيق الآثار الصحية للعمل في بيئة حارة ، وفي مقابلة ، أوضح أن تأثير الإجهاد الحراري من المرجح أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة الاقتصادية العالمية. تميل المناطق الأكثر حرارة في العالم إلى أن تكون أكثر فقراً ، وستواجه هذه الاقتصادات تحديات إضافية مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة العالمية. علاوة على ذلك ، تميل الاقتصادات النامية إلى الاعتماد بشكل أكبر على العمالة اليدوية ، مما يساهم أيضًا في خطر الإجهاد الحراري المهني.)
  • ويتوقع تقدير لوفيات البالغين المرتبطة بتغير المناخ والناجمة عن التغيرات المتوقعة في الإمدادات الغذائية زيادة صافية في عدد وفيات 529,000 في جميع أنحاء العالم بواسطة 2050 ، وهو ما يتجاوز إلى حد كبير التقديرات السابقة لمنظمة الصحة العالمية.
  • "قدّرت منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) أن ما يقرب من حالات وفاة 250,000 سنوياً بين 2030 و 2050 يمكن أن تكون بسبب الزيادات المرتبطة بتغير المناخ في التعرض للحرارة لدى كبار السن ، فضلاً عن الزيادات في أمراض الإسهال والملاريا وحمى الضنك والفيضانات الساحلية ، الطفولة التقزم. هذا تقدير متحفظ ، لأنه لا يشمل الوفيات الناجمة عن نتائج صحية أخرى مراعية للمناخ ولا يشمل الاعتلال أو الآثار المرتبطة بتعطيل الخدمات الصحية بسبب الأحداث المناخية والمناخية القاسية. "
  • يشير تقدير البنك الدولي إلى أن "تغير المناخ يمكن أن يفرض أكثر من 100 مليون شخص في فقر مدقع بواسطة 2030".

سياسات جديدة مطلوبة للتكيف

  • "لم يتم تطوير السياسات والتدابير الحالية لإدارة النتائج الصحية الحساسة للمناخ في ضوء اعتبارات تغير المناخ ، مما يعني أنها تحتاج إلى تعديل لتكون فعالة خلال العقود القادمة" ، كما يكتب المؤلفون. ﻳﻘﺘﺮﺣﻮن ﺗﺤﺴﻴﻦ اﻷﻧﻈﻤﺔ اﻟﺘﻲ ﺗﺮاﻗﺐ اﻟﺒﻴﺎﻧﺎت اﻟﺒﻴﺌﻴﺔ وﺗﻐﻴﺮ ﻗﻮاﻋﺪ وﻣﻮاﻗﻊ اﻟﺒﻨﺎء ﺗﺤﺴﺒﺎً ﻟﻤﺨﺎﻃﺮ اﻟﻔﻴﻀﺎﻧﺎت.
  • يقترح المؤلفون استخدام البيانات البيئية لإنشاء أنظمة إنذار مبكر استجابة لبعض التهديدات الصحية المرتبطة بالمناخ ، مثل موجات الحر. على سبيل المثال ، تظهر الأبحاث أنظمة تحذير موجة الحرارة تساعد على تقليل الوفيات من خلال السماح لمن في المنطقة باتخاذ تدابير وقائية.

الفوائد الصحية للاقتصاد "صفر كربون"

  • ومن شأن الفوائد الصحية المرتبطة بخفض انبعاثات الكربون العالمية إلى الصفر أن تشمل التعرض الأقل لتلوث الهواء (الذي يُقدر بحساب عدد الوفيات المبكرة سنويا في 6.5).
  • ومن شأن التحول إلى نظام غذائي أكثر استدامة من الأغذية النباتية أساسا أن يخفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري بمعدل وسيط من 20 إلى 30 في المناطق ذات الدخل المرتفع ويحسن النتائج الصحية.
  • وبالمثل ، فإن تحويل استخدام النقل في المدن لصالح المشي وركوب الدراجات والنقل العام على المركبات الشخصية سيخفض الانبعاثات مع تشجيع النشاط البدني المعزز للصحة.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على موارد الصحفي

نبذة عن الكاتب

جاء مراسل الأبحاث كلو رايتشل لمورد الصحفي في 2017 من فينيارد الجريدة الرسمية. كما ظهرت أعمالها في يوم كامبريدج، ال كيب كود تايمز و مجلة هارفارد.chloereichel.البريد الإلكتروني كلو

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords change، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Current And Projected Health Risks Of Climate Change

The Current And Projected Health Risks Of Climate Change(Pixabay)

Due to food shortages related to climate change, the Earth may experience a net increase of 529,000 adult deaths by 2050, according to a new review article published in the New England Journal of Medicine.

The article highlights the state of the research on climate change, including projected global temperature increases, anticipated health impacts, adaptation strategies and health benefits associated with reductions in greenhouse-gas emissions. It cites 54 sources, including government reports and peer-reviewed academic research, as evidence.

“Climate change is happening, and it’s going to have all sorts of impacts on human society,” said lead author Andy Haines, an epidemiologist and professor of environmental change and public health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, in a call with Journalist’s Resource. To that end, Haines and his co-author Kristie Ebi set out to summarize relevant climate research in four main topic areas.

While the review ends with a call to action for health professionals “to protect the health of current and future generations” against the risks posed by climate change, Haines stressed that journalists can play a role as well.

“I think journalists have an absolutely crucial role, particularly in this era of ‘fake news,’” Haines said. “Journalists have a very important perspective and role in helping the public to distinguish opinions and views that are based on strong evidence from those that are not.”

He added that journalists can help communicate the full extent to which individual actions contribute to climate change.

With Haines’ comments in mind, we’ve pulled together some of the key takeaways from the review that might be helpful for reporters. The takeaways are divided according to the four subheadings used in the paper.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Observed and Projected Climate Change

  • “Almost two thirds of the worldwide effects of changes in atmospheric and near-surface ocean temperatures for the period 1971-2010 were attributed to anthropogenic [human-caused] climate change.”
  • August 2018 marked the 406th month in a row for which average global temperatures exceeded long-term historical averages.
  • “The global mean temperature is currently increasing at a rate of 0.2°C per decade.”
  • Since preindustrial times, the global average surface temperature has increased by about 1°C, which is equal to 1.8°F. The majority of this rise happened from the 1970s onward.
  • Carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere have risen to about 410 parts per million, up from preindustrial levels of about 280 parts per million. And the greenhouse gas has staying power – 20 percent of the gas remains in the atmosphere for over 1,000 years.
  • Extreme weather events linked to climate change include heat waves, floods and droughts. (For tips on covering these events, and understanding the links to climate change, check out our tip sheet.)
  • Even if every country followed through on the steps they agreed to take to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per the Paris Agreement, the world would still see an increase of approximately 3.2°C (5.76 °F) by the year 2100 compared to preindustrial temperatures. For reference, estimates put an additional 10 million people at risk of exposure to flooding due to sea level rise if the average global temperature increases by 2°C instead of 1.5°C.

Health Risks Associated with a Changing Climate

  • There are a number of health risks that operate through both direct and indirect links to climate change, including malnourishment, diarrheal disease, malaria and heatstroke.
  • An example of a direct health effect of climate change is heat-related death.
  • Other health effects are linked to climate change less directly. For example, rising temperatures can lead to changes in the range and distribution of vector-borne diseases, like malaria, which is transmitted by mosquitoes.
  • Climate change is also linked to health effects that vary by factors such as geography, race and socioeconomic status. For example, the relative socioeconomic status of a country will to some extent determine the ability to cope with or mitigate the effects of climate change. (We’ve featured research that touches on this issue on Journalist’s Resource. Andreas Flouris, professor of exercise science at the University of Thessaly in Greece published a meta-analysis documenting the health impacts of working in a hot environment, and, in an interview, he explained that the effect of heat strain is likely to exacerbate global economic inequalities. Hotter regions of the world tend to be poorer, and these economies will face additional challenges as global temperatures rise. Further, developing economies tend to rely more on manual labor, which also contributes to the risk of occupational heat strain.)
  • An estimate for climate change-associated adult deaths resulting from expected changes to the food supply predicts a net increase of 529,000 deaths worldwide by 2050, which vastly exceed previous estimates by the World Health Organization.
  • “The World Health Organization (WHO) estimated that approximately 250,000 deaths annually between 2030 and 2050 could be due to climate change–related increases in heat exposure in elderly people, as well as increases in diarrheal disease, malaria, dengue, coastal flooding, and childhood stunting. This is a conservative estimate, because it does not include deaths from other climate-sensitive health outcomes and does not include morbidity or the effects associated with the disruption of health services from extreme weather and climate events.”
  • A World Bank estimate suggests that “climate change could force more than 100 million people into extreme poverty by 2030.”

New Policies Needed to Adapt

  • “The current policies and measures for the management of climate-sensitive health outcomes were not developed in light of climate-change considerations, which means that they need modification to be effective over coming decades,” the authors write. They suggest improving systems that monitor environmental data and changing building codes and locations in anticipation of flooding risks.
  • The authors suggest using environmental data to create early warning systems in response to certain climate-related health threats, such as heat waves. For example, research shows heat wave warning systems help to reduce deaths by allowing those in the area to take precautionary measures.

Health Benefits of a “Zero-Carbon” Economy

  • Health benefits associated with reducing global carbon emissions to zero would include less exposure to air pollution (which is estimated to account for 6.5 million premature deaths yearly).
  • Shifting to a more sustainable diet of mainly plant-based foods would reduce greenhouse gas emissions by a median of 20 to 30 percent in high-income areas and improve health outcomes.
  • Similarly, shifting transportation use in cities to favor walking, biking and public transportation over personal motor vehicles would reduce emissions while encouraging health-promoting physical activity.

This article originally appeared on The Journalist's Resource

About The Author

Research Reporter Chloe Reichel came to Journalist’s Resource in 2017 from the Vineyard Gazette. Her work has also appeared in Cambridge Day, the Cape Cod Times and Harvard Magazine.@chloereichel.Email Chloe

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate change;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}