Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплением

Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплениемВ воскресенье, январь, январь 27, 2019. AP Photo / Nam Y. Huh

Рекордно холодная волна посылает буквально дрожь в спины миллионам американцев.

Прогнозируется, что температура на верхнем Среднем Западе упадет на этой неделе на удивление в градусах Фаренгейта (50 градусов Цельсия) ниже нормы - всего в градусах 28 ниже нуля.

Сложите порывистый ветер сверху, и воздух будет ощущаться как -60 F.

Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплениемПрогнозируемые приземные температуры воздуха (F) на утро среды, январь. 30, 2019. Прогноз по модели Глобальной системы прогнозирования NOAA. Основная погода, CC BY-ND

На этот холод нечего чихать. Национальная служба погоды предупреждает о жестокие, опасные для жизни условия, Обморожение быстро ударит по любой открытой коже. В то же время Северный полюс сталкивается с тепловой волной, температура которой приближается к точке замерзания - примерно на 25 градусов по Фаренгейту (14 C) выше нормы.

Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплением Прогнозируемые различия приземной температуры воздуха (C) от нормальной относительно 1981-2010. Основная погода, CC BY-ND

Что вызывает эту модель переворота? Ты угадал: полярный вихрь.

В последние несколько лет, благодаря предыдущим холодным волнам, полярный вихрь укоренился в нашей повседневной лексике и служил предметом шуток для ночных телеведущих и политики, Но что это на самом деле? Чаще ли он убегает от своих привычных арктических мест? И вопрос, который вырисовывается в моей работе: Как глобальное потепление вписывается в историю?


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Джимми Фаллон исследует все за и против полярного вихря.

Реки воздуха

На самом деле, в Северном полушарии есть два полярных вихря, расположенных друг над другом. Нижний обычно и точнее называется реактивная струя, Это извилистая река с сильными западными ветрами вокруг Северного полушария, примерно в семи милях над поверхностью Земли, около высоты, где летают струи.

Струйный поток существует круглый год и отвечает за создание и управление системами высокого и низкого давления, которые приносят нам нашу повседневную погоду: штормы и голубое небо, теплые и холодные периоды. Путь над реактивным потоком, около 30 миль над Землей, является стратосферный полярный вихрь, Эта река ветра также окружает Северный полюс, но образуется только зимой и обычно довольно круглая.

Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплениемТемные стрелки указывают на вращение полярного вихря в Арктике; светлые стрелки указывают местоположение полярного струйного потока, когда образуется меандр и в холодное время, арктический воздух опускается до средних широт. Л.С. Гардинер / UCAR, CC BY-ND

Обе эти особенности ветра существуют из-за большой разницы температур между холодной Арктикой и более теплыми районами на юге, известными как средние широты. Неравномерное нагревание создает перепады давления, и воздух перемещается из областей высокого давления в области низкого давления, создавая ветры. Вращающаяся Земля затем поворачивает ветры вправо в северном полушарии, создавая эти пояса западных ветров.

Почему холодный воздух падает на юг

За последние годы 1.8 выбросы парниковых газов в результате деятельности человека согрели земной шар примерно на 1 градусов по Фаренгейту (50 C). Тем не менее, Арктика имеет согрелся вдвое, Усиление арктического потепления обусловлено главным образом резким таянием льда и снега в последние десятилетия, которое обнажает темные поверхности океана и суши, которые поглощают гораздо больше солнечного тепла.

Из-за быстрого арктического потепления разница температур между севером и югом уменьшилась. Это уменьшает перепады давления между Арктикой и средними широтами, ослабляя ветровые струи. И так же, как медленно протекающие реки обычно выбирают извилистый маршрут, более медленный струйный поток имеет тенденцию извиваться.

Большие колебания север / юг в струйном потоке генерируют энергию волн в атмосфере. Если они волнистые и достаточно устойчивые, энергия может распространяться вверх и разрушать стратосферный полярный вихрь. Иногда этот верхний вихрь становится настолько искаженным, что распадается на два или более закрученных вихря.

Эти «дочерние» вихри имеют тенденцию блуждать на юг, принося с собой очень холодный воздух и оставляя позади более теплую, чем обычно, Арктику. Один из этих вихрей будет находиться над Северной Америкой на этой неделе, обеспечивая охлаждение костей до большей части страны.

Глубоко замерзает в потеплении

Расщепления в стратосферном полярном вихре происходят естественным образом, но следует ли ожидать их более частого появления в связи с изменением климата и быстрым потеплением в Арктике? Возможно, что эти холодные вторжения могли стать более регулярная зимняя история, Это горячая тема для исследования, и она ни в коем случае не решена, но несколько исследований дают убедительные доказательства того, что стратосферный полярный вихрь меняетсяи что это за тенденция могу объяснить приступы необычно холодной зимней погоды.

Несомненно, эта новая атака полярных вихрей вызовет новые заявления о том, что глобальное потепление - обман. Но это нелепое представление можно быстро развеять, посмотрев на прогнозируемые отклонения температуры по всему миру в начале этой недели. Кусок холодного воздуха над Северной Америкой намного перевешивается областями в других частях Соединенных Штатов и во всем мире, которые теплее, чем обычно.

Как холодные полярные вихревые взрывы связаны с глобальным потеплениемПрогнозируемые среднесуточные отличия температуры у поверхности (C) от нормальных (относительно 1979-2000) для января. 28-30, 2019. Данные из модели Глобальной системы прогнозирования NOAA. Анализатор климата, Институт изменения климата, Университет штата Мэн., CC BY-ND

Симптомы изменяющегося климата не всегда очевидны или просты для понимания, но их причины и будущее поведение все чаще становятся предметом внимания. И ясно, что иногда справиться с глобальным потеплением означает вооружиться дополнительными шарфами, варежками и длинным нижним бельем.Беседа

Об авторе

Дженнифер Фрэнсис, приглашенный профессор, Rutgers University

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Глобальное потепление; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global Warming

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingBundled up against the cold in downtown Chicago, Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019. AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh

A record-breaking cold wave is sending literal shivers down the spines of millions of Americans.

Temperatures across the upper Midwest are forecast to fall an astonishing 50 degrees Fahrenheit (28 degrees Celsius) below normal this week – as low as 35 degrees below zero.

Pile a gusty wind on top, and the air will feel like -60 F.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingPredicted near-surface air temperatures (F) for Wednesday morning, Jan. 30, 2019. Forecast by NOAA’s Global Forecast System model. Pivotal Weather, CC BY-ND

This cold is nothing to sneeze at. The National Weather Service is warning of brutal, life-threatening conditions. Frostbite will strike fast on any exposed skin. At the same time, the North Pole is facing a heat wave with temperatures approaching the freezing point – about 25 degrees Fahrenheit (14 C) above normal.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global Warming Predicted near-surface air temperature differences (C) from normal, relative to 1981-2010. Pivotal Weather, CC BY-ND

What is causing this topsy-turvy pattern? You guessed it: the polar vortex.

In the past several years, thanks to previous cold waves, the polar vortex has become entrenched in our everyday vocabulary and served as a butt of jokes for late-night TV hosts and politicians. But what is it really? Is it escaping from its usual Arctic haunts more often? And a question that looms large in my work: How does global warming fit into the story?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Jimmy Fallon examines the pros and cons of the polar vortex.

Rivers of air

Actually, there are two polar vortices in the Northern Hemisphere, stacked on top of each other. The lower one is usually and more accurately called the jet stream. It’s a meandering river of strong westerly winds around the Northern Hemisphere, about seven miles above Earth’s surface, near the height where jets fly.

The jet stream exists all year, and is responsible for creating and steering the high- and low-pressure systems that bring us our day-to-day weather: storms and blue skies, warm and cold spells. Way above the jet stream, around 30 miles above the Earth, is the stratospheric polar vortex. This river of wind also rings the North Pole, but only forms during winter, and is usually fairly circular.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingDark arrows indicate rotation of the polar vortex in the Arctic; light arrows indicate the location of the polar jet stream when meanders form and cold, Arctic air dips down to mid-latitudes. L.S. Gardiner/UCAR, CC BY-ND

Both of these wind features exist because of the large temperature difference between the cold Arctic and warmer areas farther south, known as the mid-latitudes. Uneven heating creates pressure differences, and air flows from high-pressure to low-pressure areas, creating winds. The spinning Earth then turns winds to the right in the northern hemisphere, creating these belts of westerlies.

Why cold air plunges south

Greenhouse gas emissions from human activities have warmed the globe by about 1.8 degrees Fahrenheit (1 C) over the past 50 years. However, the Arctic has warmed more than twice as much. Amplified Arctic warming is due mainly to dramatic melting of ice and snow in recent decades, which exposes darker ocean and land surfaces that absorb a lot more of the sun’s heat.

Because of rapid Arctic warming, the north/south temperature difference has diminished. This reduces pressure differences between the Arctic and mid-latitudes, weakening jet stream winds. And just as slow-moving rivers typically take a winding route, a slower-flowing jet stream tends to meander.

Large north/south undulations in the jet stream generate wave energy in the atmosphere. If they are wavy and persistent enough, the energy can travel upward and disrupt the stratospheric polar vortex. Sometimes this upper vortex becomes so distorted that it splits into two or more swirling eddies.

These “daughter” vortices tend to wander southward, bringing their very cold air with them and leaving behind a warmer-than-normal Arctic. One of these eddies will sit over North America this week, delivering bone-chilling temperatures to much of the nation.

Deep freezes in a warming world

Splits in the stratospheric polar vortex do happen naturally, but should we expect to see them more often thanks to climate change and rapid Arctic warming? It is possible that these cold intrusions could become a more regular winter story. This is a hot research topic and is by no means settled, but a handful of studies offer compelling evidence that the stratospheric polar vortex is changing, and that this trend can explain bouts of unusually cold winter weather.

Undoubtedly this new polar vortex attack will unleash fresh claims that global warming is a hoax. But this ridiculous notion can be quickly dispelled with a look at predicted temperature departures around the globe for early this week. The lobe of cold air over North America is far outweighed by areas elsewhere in the United States and worldwide that are warmer than normal.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingPredicted daily mean, near-surface temperature (C) differences from normal (relative to 1979-2000) for Jan. 28-30, 2019. Data from NOAA’s Global Forecast System model. Climate Reanalyzer, Climate Change Institute, University of Maine., CC BY-ND

Symptoms of a changing climate are not always obvious or easy to understand, but their causes and future behaviors are increasingly coming into focus. And it’s clear that at times, coping with global warming means arming ourselves with extra scarfs, mittens and long underwear.The Conversation

About The Author

Jennifer Francis, Visiting Professor, Rutgers University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Global Warming;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…