كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالمي

كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالميمجمعة ضد البرد في وسط مدينة شيكاغو ، الأحد ، يناير. 27 ، 2019. AP Photo / Nam Y. Huh

إن موجة البرد التي تحطمت الرقم القياسي ترتقي بارتفاع حطاطي في أعمدة ملايين الأمريكيين.

من المتوقع أن تنخفض درجات الحرارة في جميع أنحاء الغرب الأوسط إلى درجة مذهلة من درجات 50 فهرنهايت (28 درجة مئوية) دون المستوى المعتاد هذا الأسبوع - وهي نسبة منخفضة مثل 35 تحت الصفر.

كومة رياح عاصفة في الأعلى ، وسيشعر الهواء مثل - 60 F.

كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالميدرجات حرارة الهواء شبه السطحية المتوقعة (F) صباح الأربعاء ، يناير 30 ، 2019. توقعات من قبل نظام توقعات النظام العالمي NOAA. الطقس المحوري, CC BY-ND

هذا البرد ليس للعطس. هيئة الارصاد الجوية الوطنية تحذر من ظروف قاسية تهدد الحياة. سوف قضمة الصقيع الإضراب بسرعة على أي الجلد المكشوف. في الوقت نفسه ، يواجه القطب الشمالي موجة حرّة مع درجات حرارة تقترب من نقطة التجمد - حول درجة 25 فهرنهايت (14 C) فوق المعدل الطبيعي.

كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالمي الاختلافات المتوقعة في درجة حرارة الهواء القريبة من السطح (C) من الوضع الطبيعي ، بالنسبة إلى 1981-2010. الطقس المحوري, CC BY-ND

ما الذي يسبب هذا النمط رأسا على عقب؟ انت حزرتها: الدوامة القطبية.

في السنوات العديدة الماضية ، وبفضل موجات البرد السابقة ، أصبحت الدوامة القطبية متحصنة في مفرداتنا اليومية وكانت بمثابة نكت من النكات لمضيفي التلفزيون في وقت متأخر من الليل الساسة. ولكن ما هو عليه حقا؟ هل هو الهروب من المعتاد في المناطق القطبية الشمالية في كثير من الأحيان؟ والسؤال الذي يلوح في الأفق في عملي: كيف يتناسب الاحترار العالمي مع القصة؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يفحص جيمي فالون إيجابيات وسلبيات الدوامة القطبية.

انهار من الهواء

في الواقع ، هناك نوعان من الدوامات القطبية في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، مكدسة فوق بعضها البعض. الجزء السفلي هو عادة ما يسمى أكثر دقة طائرة نفاثة. إنه نهر متعرج من الرياح الغربية القوية حول نصف الكرة الأرضية الشمالي ، على بعد سبعة أميال تقريبًا فوق سطح الأرض ، بالقرب من الارتفاع حيث تطير الطائرات.

يتواجد التيار النفاث طوال العام ، وهو مسؤول عن إنشاء وتوجيه أنظمة الضغط العالية والمنخفضة التي تجلب لنا الطقس اليومي: العواصف والسماء الزرقاء ، والتعاويذ الدافئة والباردة. الطريق فوق التيار النفاث ، حول 30 miles فوق الأرض ، هو دوامة قطبية الستراتوسفيرية. هذا النهر من الرياح يرن أيضا القطب الشمالي ، ولكن فقط خلال فصل الشتاء ، وعادة ما تكون دائرية إلى حد ما.

كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالميتشير الأسهم الداكنة إلى دوران الدوامة القطبية في القطب الشمالي ؛ تشير السهام الخفيفة إلى موقع التيار النفاث القطبي عندما تتشكل القشرة والباردة ، وينخفض ​​الهواء القطبي إلى خطوط العرض الوسطى. LS Gardiner / UCAR, CC BY-ND

توجد كلتا ميزتي الرياح هذه بسبب اختلاف درجة الحرارة الكبير بين القطب الشمالي البارد والمناطق الدافئة في أقصى الجنوب ، والمعروفة باسم خطوط العرض الوسطى. التسخين غير المتكافئ يخلق اختلافات في الضغط ، ويتدفق الهواء من مناطق الضغط المرتفع إلى مناطق الضغط المنخفض ، مما يخلق الرياح. ثم تحول الأرض الدوارة الرياح إلى اليمين في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، مما يؤدي إلى إنشاء هذه الأحزمة من الغرب.

لماذا الهواء البارد يغرق الجنوب

وقد تحسنت انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري الناجمة عن الأنشطة البشرية في جميع أنحاء العالم بنحو 1.8 درجة فهرنهايت (1 C) خلال السنوات الماضية 50. ومع ذلك ، فإن القطب الشمالي لديه تحسنت أكثر من ضعفي. ويعزى ارتفاع درجة الحرارة في القطب الشمالي إلى ذوبان الجليد والثلج بشكل كبير في العقود الأخيرة ، مما يكشف أسطح المحيطات والأرض القاتمة التي تستوعب الكثير من حرارة الشمس.

بسبب الاحترار السريع في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية ، تضاءل فرق درجة الحرارة بين الشمال والجنوب. وهذا يقلل من اختلافات الضغط بين القطب الشمالي وخطوط العرض الوسطى ، مما يؤدي إلى ضعف رياح تيار الهواء النفاث. ومثلما تأخذ الأنهار البطيئة الحركة عادة مسارًا متعرجًا ، يميل تيار نفاث بطيء التدفق إلى التعرج.

التموجات الكبيرة في الشمال / الجنوب في التيار النفاث تولد طاقة موجية في الغلاف الجوي. إذا كانت متموجة ومستمرة بما فيه الكفاية ، يمكن للطاقة أن تتحرك صعودا وتعطل الدوامة القطبية الستراتوسفيرية. في بعض الأحيان تصبح هذه الدوامة العلوية مشوهة لدرجة أنها تنقسم إلى دورين أو أكثر من الدوامات.

هذه الدوامات "ابنة" تميل إلى التجول جنوبا ، وبذلك جلب الهواء البارد معهم وترك وراءهم قطب أكثر دفئا من العادي في القطب الشمالي. واحدة من هذه الدوامات ستجلس على أمريكا الشمالية هذا الأسبوع ، مما يوفر درجات حرارة تقشعر العظام إلى الكثير من الأمة.

تجميد عميق في عالم الاحتباس الحراري

تحدث الانشقاقات في الدوامة القطبية الستراتوسفيرية بشكل طبيعي ، لكن هل ينبغي أن نتوقع رؤيتها أكثر في كثير من الأحيان بفضل تغير المناخ والاحتباس الحراري السريع في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية؟ من الممكن أن تصبح هذه الاختراقات الباردة قصة الشتاء أكثر العادية. هذا هو موضوع البحث الساخن وليس تسوية بأي حال من الأحوال ، ولكن حفنة من الدراسات تقدم أدلة دامغة على أن دوامة القطبية الستراتوسفيرية يتغير، وهذا الاتجاه يمكن أن يفسر نوبات الطقس الشتوي البارد بشكل غير معتاد.

مما لا شك فيه أن هذا الهجوم الدوامي القطبي الجديد سيطلق العنان لادعاءات جديدة بأن ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري هي خدعة. لكن هذه الفكرة السخيفة يمكن تبديدها بسرعة مع النظر إلى تنبؤات حول درجة الحرارة المتوقعة حول العالم في بداية هذا الأسبوع. يفوق فص الهواء البارد فوق أمريكا الشمالية مناطق أخرى في الولايات المتحدة وفي جميع أنحاء العالم أكثر دفئًا من المعتاد.

كيف ترتبط انفجارات Frigid Polar Vortex بالإحترار العالميمتوسط ​​الاختلافات المتوقعة في المتوسط ​​اليومي (C) في درجة الحرارة (C) عن المعتاد (بالنسبة إلى 1979-2000) بالنسبة إلى Jan. 28-30 و 2019. بيانات من نموذج نظام التنبؤات العالمي لدى NOAA. المناخ Reanalyzer ، معهد تغير المناخ ، جامعة مين., CC BY-ND

إن أعراض تغير المناخ ليست دائماً واضحة أو سهلة الفهم ، ولكن أسبابها وسلوكياتها المستقبلية أصبحت موضع تركيز متزايد. ومن الواضح أن التكيف مع الاحترار العالمي يعني في بعض الأحيان تسليح أنفسنا مع المزيد من الأوشحة والقفازات والملابس الداخلية الطويلة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جينيفر فرانسيس ، أستاذ زائر ، جامعة روتجرز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Global Warming؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global Warming

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingBundled up against the cold in downtown Chicago, Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019. AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh

A record-breaking cold wave is sending literal shivers down the spines of millions of Americans.

Temperatures across the upper Midwest are forecast to fall an astonishing 50 degrees Fahrenheit (28 degrees Celsius) below normal this week – as low as 35 degrees below zero.

Pile a gusty wind on top, and the air will feel like -60 F.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingPredicted near-surface air temperatures (F) for Wednesday morning, Jan. 30, 2019. Forecast by NOAA’s Global Forecast System model. Pivotal Weather, CC BY-ND

This cold is nothing to sneeze at. The National Weather Service is warning of brutal, life-threatening conditions. Frostbite will strike fast on any exposed skin. At the same time, the North Pole is facing a heat wave with temperatures approaching the freezing point – about 25 degrees Fahrenheit (14 C) above normal.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global Warming Predicted near-surface air temperature differences (C) from normal, relative to 1981-2010. Pivotal Weather, CC BY-ND

What is causing this topsy-turvy pattern? You guessed it: the polar vortex.

In the past several years, thanks to previous cold waves, the polar vortex has become entrenched in our everyday vocabulary and served as a butt of jokes for late-night TV hosts and politicians. But what is it really? Is it escaping from its usual Arctic haunts more often? And a question that looms large in my work: How does global warming fit into the story?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Jimmy Fallon examines the pros and cons of the polar vortex.

Rivers of air

Actually, there are two polar vortices in the Northern Hemisphere, stacked on top of each other. The lower one is usually and more accurately called the jet stream. It’s a meandering river of strong westerly winds around the Northern Hemisphere, about seven miles above Earth’s surface, near the height where jets fly.

The jet stream exists all year, and is responsible for creating and steering the high- and low-pressure systems that bring us our day-to-day weather: storms and blue skies, warm and cold spells. Way above the jet stream, around 30 miles above the Earth, is the stratospheric polar vortex. This river of wind also rings the North Pole, but only forms during winter, and is usually fairly circular.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingDark arrows indicate rotation of the polar vortex in the Arctic; light arrows indicate the location of the polar jet stream when meanders form and cold, Arctic air dips down to mid-latitudes. L.S. Gardiner/UCAR, CC BY-ND

Both of these wind features exist because of the large temperature difference between the cold Arctic and warmer areas farther south, known as the mid-latitudes. Uneven heating creates pressure differences, and air flows from high-pressure to low-pressure areas, creating winds. The spinning Earth then turns winds to the right in the northern hemisphere, creating these belts of westerlies.

Why cold air plunges south

Greenhouse gas emissions from human activities have warmed the globe by about 1.8 degrees Fahrenheit (1 C) over the past 50 years. However, the Arctic has warmed more than twice as much. Amplified Arctic warming is due mainly to dramatic melting of ice and snow in recent decades, which exposes darker ocean and land surfaces that absorb a lot more of the sun’s heat.

Because of rapid Arctic warming, the north/south temperature difference has diminished. This reduces pressure differences between the Arctic and mid-latitudes, weakening jet stream winds. And just as slow-moving rivers typically take a winding route, a slower-flowing jet stream tends to meander.

Large north/south undulations in the jet stream generate wave energy in the atmosphere. If they are wavy and persistent enough, the energy can travel upward and disrupt the stratospheric polar vortex. Sometimes this upper vortex becomes so distorted that it splits into two or more swirling eddies.

These “daughter” vortices tend to wander southward, bringing their very cold air with them and leaving behind a warmer-than-normal Arctic. One of these eddies will sit over North America this week, delivering bone-chilling temperatures to much of the nation.

Deep freezes in a warming world

Splits in the stratospheric polar vortex do happen naturally, but should we expect to see them more often thanks to climate change and rapid Arctic warming? It is possible that these cold intrusions could become a more regular winter story. This is a hot research topic and is by no means settled, but a handful of studies offer compelling evidence that the stratospheric polar vortex is changing, and that this trend can explain bouts of unusually cold winter weather.

Undoubtedly this new polar vortex attack will unleash fresh claims that global warming is a hoax. But this ridiculous notion can be quickly dispelled with a look at predicted temperature departures around the globe for early this week. The lobe of cold air over North America is far outweighed by areas elsewhere in the United States and worldwide that are warmer than normal.

How Frigid Polar Vortex Blasts Are Connected To Global WarmingPredicted daily mean, near-surface temperature (C) differences from normal (relative to 1979-2000) for Jan. 28-30, 2019. Data from NOAA’s Global Forecast System model. Climate Reanalyzer, Climate Change Institute, University of Maine., CC BY-ND

Symptoms of a changing climate are not always obvious or easy to understand, but their causes and future behaviors are increasingly coming into focus. And it’s clear that at times, coping with global warming means arming ourselves with extra scarfs, mittens and long underwear.The Conversation

About The Author

Jennifer Francis, Visiting Professor, Rutgers University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Global Warming;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…