كيف تغير المناخ هو جعل الشتاء أبرد في شمال شرق الولايات المتحدة

كيف تغير المناخ هو جعل الشتاء أبرد في شمال شرق الولايات المتحدةمصدر: Pexels

تؤدي درجات الحرارة المرتفعة إلى إضعاف التيار النفاث ، مما يسمح للهواء المتجمد الشمالي في الوصول إلى الجنوب.

في بداية هذا الأسبوع ، سجل البرد انتقد الشمال الشرقي ، كما بوسطن ، ماساتشوستس شهد ارتفاع 10 درجة فهرنهايت ، ورسيستر القريبة شهدت درجة الحرارة بها فقط في درجة 1 F. يقول الأرصاد الجوية هذا هو مجرد بداية من امتداد طويل من الطقس المتجمد.

ومن المفارقات ، كانت درجات الحرارة الشتوية الفاترة في بعض المناطق مرتبط لارتفاع درجات الحرارة حول العالم. تغيّر المناخ يشوه أنظمة الطقس ، ويؤدي إلى برودة الطقس الشتوي في أجزاء من العالم ، بما في ذلك الكثير من الولايات المتحدة. سبب واحد لهذه الظاهرة هو ضعف تيار نفاث قطبي، تيار الهواء يدور حول القطب الشمالي.

التيار القطبي النفاث. مصدر: وكالة ناسا

التيار النفاث هو نتيجة الاختلاف في درجة الحرارة بين خطوط العرض الشمالية الأكثر برودة وخطوط العرض الجنوبية المعتدلة. يتصادم الهواء الدافئ من خط الاستواء مع الهواء البارد من القطب الشمالي ، ويمتد شريط رياح قوية طول التصادم. تبعاً لدوران الأرض ، يتحرك تيار الهواء هذا غربًا إلى الشرق بسرعات أعلى من 200 miles في الساعة.

التيار النفاث هو الأقوى في أشهر الشتاء عندما يكون الفرق بين درجة الحرارة بين الشمال والجنوب هو الأعلى. الهواء البارد أكثر كثافة من الهواء الدافئ ، لذلك عندما يكون الفرق في درجة الحرارة أكبر ، يكون الفرق في الكثافة أكبر أيضًا ، ويكون الحاجز بين الهواء البارد والهواء الدافئ أكثر ثباتًا. فكر بالهواء البارد والهواء الدافئ مثل الخل والنفط ، والتي تبقى متميزة بكثافاتها المختلفة.

تيار نفاث 1 28مصدر: مكتب المملكة المتحدة الأرصاد

تغير المناخ هو إضعاف التيار النفاث عن طريق تقليل الفرق في درجة الحرارة بين الهواء البارد والهواء الشمالي والهواء الجنوبي الدافئ. مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض ، لا يتم تسخينها بالتساوي. المنطقة القطبية الشمالية هي الاحترار أسرع من بقية الكوكب ، بمعنى أنها تقترب من درجة الحرارة إلى خطوط العرض الجنوبية. ونتيجة لذلك ، ينمو الحاجز بين الهواء البارد والدافئ ، ويتدفق تيار الماء النفاث.

بدلا من تشكيل عصابة حتى حول القطب الشمالي ، فإن التيار النفاث هو الآن ملتوي والتلويث ، مما يسمح لل الدوامة القطبيةكتلة من الهواء البارد والكثيف على القطب الشمالي ، للوصول إلى محاصيله في اتجاه الجنوب ، تقشعر لها الأبدان أجزاء كبيرة من الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا. فكر في التيار النفاث كسياج حول الدوامة القطبية. تغير المناخ يسمح بدوامة القطبية تندلع السياج.

كيف تغير المناخ هو جعل الشتاء أبرد في شمال شرق الولايات المتحدةينفث التيار النفاث (الوردي) ، باردًا ، هواء القطب الشمالي (الأزرق) من الهواء الدافئ عند خطوط العرض السفلى (برتقالي). في ظل الظروف العادية ، يشكل التيار النفاث حاجزًا ثابتًا حول القطب الشمالي أ). ولكن مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض ، فإنها تتكاثر بدرجة أكبر (ب) ، مما يسمح للهواء البارد بالوصول إلى الجنوب (ج). مصدر: فريد الاويستر

وكما تسمح التغيرات في التيار النفاث للبرودة ، فإن هواء القطب الشمالي يصل إلى الجنوب ، كما أنه يسمح للهواء الاستوائي الدافئ بالوصول إلى الشمال أكثر ، طقس غير عادي في جميع أنحاء العالم ، على حد سواء حار و بارد. في شباط / فبراير الماضي ، على سبيل المثال ، الزئبق وصلت 76 درجة الحرارة F في مدينة نيويورك في نفس الوقت الذي انخفض فيها إلى 35 درجة F في جنوب كاليفورنيا ، كل ذلك بفضل تيار نفاث متذبذب أكثر سلاسة. ومع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الكرة الأرضية ، من المرجح أن تحدث المشكلة تسوء.

بمجرد كسر الدوامة القطبية من قلمها ، يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لاستعادتها مرة أخرى. يمكن أن تستمر الموجة الحالية من الطقس البارد غير المعتاد عدة أسابيع ، يحذر خبراء الأرصاد الجوية، تقشعر لها الأبدان الكثير من شرق الولايات المتحدة. لذلك حزم. الشتاء سيكون موجودًا لبعض الوقت.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على نيكسس ميديا

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيريمي ديتون يكتب Nexus Mediaوهي وكالة أنباء مشتركة تغطي المناخ والطاقة والسياسة والفن والثقافة. يمكنك متابعته deaton_jeremy.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords change، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

دعم وظيفة جيدة!

How Climate Change Is Making Winter Colder in the Northeast US

How Climate Change Is Making Winter Colder in the Northeast USSource: Pexels

Rising temperatures are weakening the jet stream, allowing frigid Arctic air to reach further south.

Early this week, record cold blasted the Northeast, as Boston, Massachusetts saw a high of 10 degrees F, and nearby Worcester saw the temperature top out at just 1 degree F. Meteorologists say this is just the beginning of a lengthy stretch of freezing weather.

Paradoxically, frosty winter temperatures in some areas have been linked to rising temperatures around the globe. Climate change is distorting weather systems, yielding colder winter weather in parts of the world, including much of the United States. One reason for this phenomenon is a weakening of the polar jet stream, the air current circling the Arctic.

 

The polar jet stream. Source: NASA

The jet stream is the result of the difference in temperature between colder northern latitudes and temperate southern latitudes. Warm air from the equator is colliding with cold air from the Arctic, and a ribbon of powerful winds runs the length of the collision. Ushered along by the rotation of the Earth, this air current is moving west to east at speeds upwards of 200 miles per hour.

The jet stream is strongest in the winter months when the temperature difference between north and south is greatest. Cold air is denser than warm air, so when the difference in temperature is greater, the difference in density is also greater, and the barrier between cold air and warm air is firmer. Think of cold air and warm air like vinegar and oil, which are kept distinct by their different densities.

jet stream 1 28Source: UK Met Office

Climate change is weakening the jet stream by reducing the difference in temperature between cold, northern air and warm, southern air. As the Earth warms, it’s not warming evenly. The Arctic is warming faster than the rest of the planet, meaning it is growing closer in temperature to more southern latitudes. As a result, the barrier between cold and warm air is growing weaker, and the jet stream is going wobbly.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Instead of forming an even ring around the Arctic, the jet stream is now twisting and contorting, allowing the polar vortex, the mass of cold, dense air over the north pole, to reach its tendrils further south, chilling large parts of the United States and Europe. Think of the jet stream as a fence around the polar vortex. Climate change is letting the polar vortex break out of the fence.

How Climate Change Is Making Winter Colder in the Northeast USThe jet stream (pink), divides cold, Arctic air (blue) from warm air at lower latitudes (orange). Under normal conditions, the jet stream forms a firm barrier around the Arctic a). But as the Earth warms, it’s growing more wobbly (b), allowing cold air to reach further south (c). Source: Fred the Oyster

Just as changes to the jet stream are allowing cold, Arctic air to reach further south, they are also allowing warm equatorial air to reach further north, fueling more unusual weather across the globe, both hot and cold. Last February, for example, the mercury reached 76 degrees F heat in New York City at the same time that it dipped to 35 degrees F in Southern California, all thanks to a squishier, wavier, wobblier jet stream. As the planet warms, the problem is likely to get worse.

Once the polar vortex breaks out of its pen, it takes a while to get it back in. The current spate of unusually cold weather could last several weeks, meteorologists warn, chilling much of the Eastern United States. So bundle up. Winter is going to be around for a while.

This article originally appeared on Nexis Media

About The Author

Jeremy Deaton writes for Nexus Media, a syndicated newswire covering climate, energy, policy, art and culture. You can follow him @deaton_jeremy.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate change;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}