كيف المخاطر والمال شكل قراراتنا تغير المناخ

كيف المخاطر والمال شكل قراراتنا تغير المناخ

يختبر بحث جديد كيف تؤثر الروابط بين التنمية الاقتصادية والتكنولوجيا والسياسة واتخاذ القرار على الأعمال التي يرغب الناس في اتخاذها ضد تغير المناخ.

أصدرت الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ مؤخراً تقريراً جديداً يدعو إلى اتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة بشأن تغير المناخ ، بما في ذلك زيادة فورية وحادة في الاستثمار في تكنولوجيات غير مؤكدة ولكنها ثورية محتملة مثل احتجاز الكربون وتخزينه ، وزيادة التعاون الدولي بشأن المناخ. تغيير التخفيف.

ويساعد البحث الجديد ، الذي يظهر في دراستين ، على تسليط الضوء على العديد من المشاكل المعقدة التي تم تناولها في تقرير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ. دراسة واحدة في طبيعة تغير المناخ يعالج رغبة الناس في الاستثمار في تقنيات محفوفة بالمخاطر ولكن محتملة الفعالية للتخفيف من تغير المناخ. الدراسة الثانية ، التي تظهر في طبيعة السلوك البشري، والتحقيق في التحديات التي تواجه التعاون الدولي في مجال تغير المناخ.

عالية المخاطر ، عالية المكافآت

في ال طبيعة تغير المناخ ورقة ، لقياس سلوك الناس فيما يتعلق بالتخفيف من تغير المناخ - وهو أمر يؤثر في نهاية المطاف على اتخاذ القرارات الحكومية والشركات بشأن هذه القضية - استخدم الباحثون في العلوم السياسية لعبة اقتصادية تسمى "لعبة تغير المناخ" كطريقة لتحديد تفضيلات الناس لبعض ، ولكن منخفضة - استثمارات في التخفيف أو استثمارات محفوفة بالمخاطر ولكن محتملة.

واكتشفوا أن اللاعبين يستثمرون عادة في تقنيات عالية المخاطر عالية المخاطر إذا كان هذا الاستثمار ضروريًا للتخفيف من الأثر السلبي لتغير المناخ ، كما يقول التقرير الجديد للفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ.

اشتمل البحث على أربعة تجارب ، بعضها على الإنترنت وبعضها في المختبر ، وشارك فيها ما يقرب من 2,000 من الولايات المتحدة. يبدأ اللاعبون ، الذين يعملون في مجموعات 4-person ، بمجموعة من المال الحقيقي الخاص بهم.

مع بدء اللعبة ، هناك فرصة مدمجة بنسبة 90 في المئة أنهم سوف يخسرون كل أموالهم ، مما يمثل كارثة المناخ. ولكن يمكن للاعبين اختيار إنفاق الأموال لمنع الكوارث ، إما من خلال الاستثمار عالي المخاطر ، أو المكافأة العالية ، أو الاستثمار بدون مخاطر ، والمكافأة. تلاعب الباحثون بشكل تجريبي بـ "عتبة تخفيف المناخ" - صعوبة منع الكوارث. في التجارب ، كانت عتبات التخفيف الأكبر تعني المزيد من الأموال اللازمة لمنع الكوارث


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"وجدنا أنه باستخدام هذه اللعبة الاقتصادية ، سيستثمر معظم الناس في تقنيات عالية المخاطر وعالية الثراء للتخفيف من تغير المناخ عندما تكون الخيارات الأخرى غير كافية للتخفيف" ، يلخص تالبوت أندروز ، مؤلف رئيسي وطلاب الدراسات العليا في قسم العلوم السياسية في جامعة ستوني بروك وعضو مركز الاقتصاد السياسي السلوكي.

في وضع اللعبة ، خلقت التقنيات المستخدمة بشكل شائع مثل طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية بعض التخفيضات الصغيرة نسبياً ولكنها صغيرة نسبياً في انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري. ومع ذلك ، فإن تكنولوجيات أخرى غير شائعة ، مثل أجهزة عزل الكربون ، كانت لها زيادات أكبر.

أظهرت هذه التجارب باستمرار أنه عندما كانت عتبة التخفيف التي واجهتها منخفضة ، فضل اللاعبون الاستثمار بدون مخاطر ، أو الاستثمار المنخفض الأجر. ولكن عندما كانت عتبة التخفيف التي واجهتها عالية ، يفضل اللاعبون الاستثمارات الخطرة ، على الرغم من أن هذه الاستثمارات لديها إمكانية فشل كامل.

تجنب الكارثة معًا

ووفقاً لتقرير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ ، هناك حاجة ملحة لمزيد من التعاون الدولي إذا كان لدى البشرية أي فرصة لتجنب أسوأ عواقب تغير المناخ.

في ال طبيعة السلوك البشري قام روبن كلاين ، الأستاذ المساعد للعلوم السياسية بجامعة ستوني بروك ، بقيادة فريق دولي من العلماء السياسيين والسلوكيين في تطوير تجربة لمحاكاة ميزتين رئيسيتين للاقتصاد العالمي ، أي أن النمو الاقتصادي يؤدي إلى زيادة خطر تغير المناخ. وأن فوائد النمو لم يتم توزيعها بالتساوي.

إجمالا ، اكتشفوا أن المستويات غير المتساوية للتنمية الاقتصادية ، أي عالم "من يملكون" و "لا يملكون" ، تقلل من التعاون لمنع تغير المناخ ، مما يجعل كارثة المناخ أكثر احتمالا.

استخدموا تباينًا في لعبة تغيير المناخ ، مرة أخرى بأموال حقيقية على المحك ، شملت مشاركين في الولايات المتحدة والصين. بدأ الباحثون بالسماح للاعبين لكسب المال من خلال التنمية الاقتصادية المحاكية - ولكن مع توضيح للاعبين أن زيادة التنمية تعني تكاليف أكبر لتخفيف المناخ المحاكى في وقت لاحق.

والأهم من ذلك أنه أثناء التطوير الاقتصادي ، خصص الباحثون بعض اللاعبين على أنهم "يملكون" وسمحوا بفترة طويلة من التطور والبعض الآخر "غير مؤمن" وأعطاهم فترة أقصر بكثير لكسب المال.

ثم قام الباحثون بتتبع ما إذا كان اللاعبون سيعملون على الحد من تغير المناخ طواعية مما سيؤدي إلى تحقيق نمو اقتصادي و / أو دفع مقابل التخفيف المباشر من تغير المناخ. ولسوء الحظ ، أظهرت نتائجهم أن التمييز بين "من يملكون" و "لا يملكون" يضر بإمكانية قيام اللاعبين بالعمل معاً بنجاح لمنع حدوث تغير مناخي كارثي.

"كانت النتيجة الرئيسية التي توصلنا إليها هي أن اختلافات الوضع الاقتصادي قللت من قدرة اللاعبين على الاتفاق والتعاون لمنع تغير المناخ. قد تساعد هذه المحاكاة التجريبية في تفسير سبب صعوبة عقد اتفاقيات دولية بين البلدان المتقدمة وغير المتطورة حول السياسات التي تؤثر على التخفيف من تغير المناخ "، كما يقول كلاين ، وهو أيضًا مدير مركز الاقتصاد السياسي السلوكي.

"حتى إذا اتفقوا من حيث المبدأ على أنه ينبغي للبلدان الأكثر نمواً اقتصادياً أن تدفع المزيد لأنهم أكثر ثراءً وأكثر مسؤوليةً للمشكلة ، فإن مجرد إدخال فكرة التفريق بين التزاماتهم يقدم نقطة خلاف حول كيفية القيام بذلك بالضبط وعلى ماذا أساسًا ، يقول كلاين.

مبدأ أخلاقي رئيسي في المفاوضات الدولية يسمى المسؤوليات المشتركة ولكن المتباينة (CDR) ، يعترف بهذه العلاقة السببية بين التنمية الاقتصادية التاريخية وخلق تغير المناخ الخطير. يدعو مجلس الإنماء والإعمار الدول الغنية - "من يملكون" - إلى "أخذ زمام المبادرة" في مكافحة تغير المناخ. من خلال تعيين بعض الأفراد عشوائياً ليكونوا من يملكون وغيرهم لكي يكونوا غير مقيمين ، ومن ثم يقارنونها بمجموعة مراقبة بمستويات متساوية ، تمكن الباحثون من اختبار ما إذا كان شيئاً أقرب إلى مبدأ مجلس الإنماء والإعمار هو الذي يوجه قرارات المشاركين.

ويوضح كلاين وزملاؤه أنه في التجربة أولئك الذين لديهم مستويات عالية وموارد متعددة كانوا على استعداد للتخلي عن ثروة إضافية لتقليل شدة تغير المناخ أو منعه. ومع ذلك ، وعلى الرغم من النمو الاقتصادي المرتفع الذي يضطلع به الأفراد ، بل وحتى التضحية بالمزيد ، عند مقارنته بشروط الرقابة المتساوية ، فإن التأثير العام لعدم المساواة على التنمية الاقتصادية هو أمر سلبي ، لأن غير المؤمنين يسعون إلى مزيد من فرص التنمية الاقتصادية وفي نفس الوقت أكثر ترددًا في الدفع المباشر لمنع تغير المناخ.

مصدر: جامعة ستوني بروك

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = econom change economics؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Risk And Money Shape Our Climate Change Decisions

climate

How Risk And Money Shape Our Climate Change Decisions

New research digs into how links between economic development, technology, politics, and decision-making affect actions people are willing to take against climate change.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) recently released a new report that calls for urgent action on climate change, including an immediate and sharp increase in investment in uncertain but potentially revolutionary technologies such as carbon capture and storage, and increased international cooperation on climate change mitigation.

The new research, which appears in two studies, helps shed light on many of the complex problems addressed in the IPCC report. One study in Nature Climate Change addresses people’s willingness to invest in risky but potentially highly effective technologies to mitigate climate change. The second study, which appears in Nature Human Behaviour, investigates challenges to international cooperation on climate change.

High-risk, high-rewards

In the Nature Climate Change paper, to gauge people’s behavior regarding climate change mitigation—something that ultimately affects corporate and governmental decision making regarding the issue—political science researchers used an economic game called the “climate change game” as a method to determine people’s preferences for certain, but low-yield investments in mitigation or risky but potentially high-yield investments.

They discovered that players typically invested in high-risk high-reward technologies if such investment was necessary to mitigate the negative effect of climate change, as the new IPCC report argues is necessary.

The research involved four experiments, some online and some in the laboratory, with nearly 2,000 people from the United States participating. The players, working in 4-person groups, each start with a pot of real money that is their own.

As the game starts, there is a built-in 90 percent chance they will lose all of their money, representing climate disaster. But players can choose to spend money to prevent disaster, either through a high-risk, high-reward investment or a no-risk, low-reward investment. The researchers experimentally manipulated the “climate mitigation threshold”—the difficulty of preventing disaster. In the experiments, larger mitigation thresholds meant more money was required to prevent disaster

“We found that by using this economic game most people will invest in high-risk, high-reward technologies to mitigate climate change when other options would not be sufficient for mitigation,” summarizes Talbot M. Andrews, lead author and a graduate student in the political science department at Stony Brook University and member of the Center for Behavioral Political Economy.

In the game setting, commonly used technologies such as wind and solar power created certain but relatively small reductions in greenhouse gas emissions. Yet other not so common technologies, such as carbon sequestration devices, had larger upsides.

These experiments consistently showed that when the mitigation threshold they faced was low, players preferred no-risk, low-reward investment. But when the mitigation threshold they faced was high, players preferred risky investments, even though these investments had the possibility of complete failure.

Avoiding disaster together

According to the IPCC report, increased international cooperation is urgently needed if humanity has any chance of avoiding the worst consequences of climate change.

In the Nature Human Behavior paper, Reuben Kline, associate professor of political science at Stony Brook University, led an international team of political and behavioral scientists in development of an experiment to simulate two key features of the global economy—that economic growth results in an increased threat of climate change and that the benefits of growth have not historically been distributed equally.

Overall, they discovered that unequal levels of economic development, i.e., a world of “haves” and “have-nots,” reduces cooperation to prevent climate change, making a climate disaster more likely.

They used a variation on the climate change game, again with real money at stake, involving participants in the United States and China. The researchers started by allowing players to earn money through simulated economic development—but making clear to players that greater development means greater costs of simulated climate mitigation later.

Importantly, during economic development researchers assigned some players as “haves” and allowed a long period of development and others as “have-nots” and gave them a much shorter period to earn money.

The researchers then tracked whether players would voluntarily curb climate change inducing economic growth and/or pay to directly mitigate climate change. Unfortunately, their results showed that differentiation into “haves” and “have-nots” hurt the possibility of players working together successfully to prevent disastrous climate change.

“Our main finding was that economic status differences reduced the ability of players to agree and cooperate to prevent climate change. This experimental simulation may help explain why it is difficult to have international agreements between developed and undeveloped countries on policies affecting climate change mitigation,” says Kline, also director of the Center for Behavioral Political Economy.

“Even if they agree in principle that more economically developed countries should pay more because they are both more wealthy and more responsible for the problem, merely introducing the idea of differentiating their obligations introduces a point of contention over exactly how to do so and on what basis,” Kline says.

A key ethical principle in international negotiations called common but differentiated responsibilities (CDR), recognizes this causal link between historical economic development and the creation of dangerous climate change. CDR calls on wealthy countries—the “haves”—to “take the lead” in combating climate change. By randomly assigning some individuals to be haves and others to be have-nots, and then comparing them to a control group with equal levels, the researchers were able to test whether something akin to the CDR principle was guiding participants’ decisions.

Kline and colleagues explain that in the experiment those with high levels and multiple resources were indeed willing to forgo additional wealth to reduce the severity of climate change or prevent it. However, despite the high economic development individuals taking the lead and indeed sacrificing more, when compared to the equal control conditions, the overall effect of inequality on economic development is negative, because have-nots pursue greater economic development opportunities and at the same time are more reluctant to directly pay for preventing climate change.

Source: Stony Brook University

Related Books

An Introduction to Climate Change Economics and Policy (Routledge Textbooks in Environmental and Agricultural Economics)
climateAuthor: Felix R. Fitzroy
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $72.95

Buy Now

The Economics of Climate Change: The Stern Review
climateAuthor: Nicholas Stern
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Buy Now

Economic Risks of Climate Change: An American Prospectus
climateAuthor: Trevor Houser
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Columbia University Press

Buy Now

climate
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}