دليلك إلى إعصار العلوم

دليلك إلى إعصار العلوم
2016-02-12 Cyclones Tatiana & Winston. الصورة الائتمان: فليكر

إعصار وينستون ضرب فيجي في فبراير 20 ، 2016 ، تاركًا وراءه دمارًا.

كان Winston من إعصار الفئة 5 (أقوى تصنيف) مع سرعات رياح تم الإبلاغ عنها تقريبًا من 300 كم / الساعة. هذا جعلها بين أقوى الأعاصير من أي وقت مضى لجعل اليابسة على مستوى العالم، وأقوى مسجل في نصف الكرة الجنوبي.

سلوك الإعصار

تتكون الأعاصير فوق الماء الدافئ ، عادة فوق 26 ℃. ويقتصر هذا إلى حد كبير على تشكيلها في خطوط العرض المدارية ، على الرغم من أنها بمجرد تشكيلها يمكن أن تتحرك خارج المناطق المدارية.

في جنوب المحيط الهادئ ، يتم تسجيل حوالي تسعة أعاصير مدارية في المتوسط ​​كل عام ، ولكن هناك الكثير من التباين من سنة إلى أخرى. وهي الأكثر شيوعًا في الفترة من يناير إلى مارس ، ولكن يمكن أن تحدث في وقت مبكر من شهر نوفمبر أو في وقت متأخر حتى شهر مايو.

في الماضي 30 سنوات أو نحو ذلك ، أثرت العديد من الأعاصير المدارية الشديدة فيجي ، لذلك ليس من غير المألوف أن تشهد فيجي أعاصير شديدة.

يشير الرقم الخاص بسايكلون وينستون من سرعات الرياح حتى 300 كم في الساعة إلى سرعة رياح مستمرة ، بمعدل متوسط ​​خلال دقائق 10. يتم استخدام الرياح المستدامة عادة لقياس كثافة الأعاصير ، ولكن الضرر يرتبط أيضًا برياح الرياح التي تقاس على فترات أقصر بكثير. وأفيد أن إعصار وينستون أنتج زخما يصل إلى 325 كم في الساعة.

يقوم مراقبو الإعصار بقياس سرعات الرياح بطريقتين. أولاً ، يمكنهم تقدير السرعة من صور القمر الصناعي. تتميز الأعاصير المدارية الشديدة جدًا بالعين المجردة جدًا وتكون متناظرة جدًا ، وهناك علاقات رسومية بين تلك الصور وقياسات الرياح المباشرة. في المحيط الأطلسي يتم قياس سرعة الرياح في الأعاصير الشديدة (المعروفة باسم الأعاصير) باستخدام الطائرات. الطريقة الأخرى هي استخدام ملاحظات الرياح على الأرض.

اتخذ إعصار وينستون مسارًا غير اعتيادي للغاية نحو فيجي ، حيث أدّى حلقة "loop-the-loop". وقد بدأ غرب فيجي قبل أن ينتقل إلى الجنوب ، ثم يعود إلى الشمال ، وأخيرا يقترب من فيجي من الشرق.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إن أقوى رياح للأعاصير المدارية في نصف الكرة الجنوبي تقع على يسار الإعصار ، وذلك لأن الرياح تضيف إلى الحركة الأمامية للعاصفة. لمعرفة أي جانب من الإعصار هو ، الوقوف في مواجهة الاتجاه الذي يتحرك فيه الإعصار. إن اليسار الخاص بالإعصار هو يسارك. لذلك بالنسبة إلى إعصار وينستون الذي يقترب من فيجي من جهة الشرق ، كان الجانب الأيسر من العاصفة في الجنوب.

هذا هو أيضا المنطقة التي يكون فيها العاصفة أعلى. ارتفاع العاصفة هو قبة مياه دفعت إلى الأمام قبل العاصفة. في بعض المواقع في فيجي هناك أيضا احتمال لارتفاع العاصفة وكذلك الرياح القوية.

عادة ، يتم دفع الأعاصير حولها من خلال مجموعة من العوامل. وغالبًا ما يتم دفعها من خلال الرياح التي يتراوح متوسطها من خلال عمق الغلاف الجوي (من السطح إلى 10,000 متر أو نحو ذلك). لذلك إذا كان اتجاه الرياح غير عادي هنا ، فقد يتتبع الإعصار في اتجاه غير عادي. قد تؤدي العوامل الأخرى ذات الصلة بدوران الأرض إلى حدوث إعصار في اتجاهات غريبة.

هل يؤثر تغير المناخ على الأعاصير؟

من الصعب تحديد الاتجاهات في كثافة الأعاصير في جنوب المحيط الهادئ ، حيث تتوفر بيانات محدودة فقط منذ 1980s. أعطت تحليلات الاتجاه في هذه المنطقة نتائج غامضة. وقد تم تكرار الأعاصير في المنطقة الأسترالية انخفاض في العقود الأخيرة. في منطقة جنوب المحيط الهادئ ككل ، الاتجاهات تبدو ضعيفة.

لقد رأينا للتو ذروة واحدة من أقوى أحداث النينيو على الاطلاق. ترتبط ظاهرة النينيو بحركة الماء الدافئ في المحيط الهادئ ، لذلك ليس من المستغرب أن يكون لها تأثير على الأعاصير.

عادة ، خلال أحداث النينيو ، تشكل الأعاصير وتتعقب شرقا في جنوب المحيط الهادئ. لذا فإن الأماكن التي لا تشاهد عادة الأعاصير ، مثل تاهيتي ، تختبرها أحيانًا أثناء ظاهرة النينيو.

في جنوب المحيط الهادئ ، إذا كنت غرب خط الطول 170⁰ شرقاً - إلى الغرب من فيجي - تحصل على المزيد من الأعاصير المدارية خلال النينيا وأقل خلال النينيو. شرق ذلك الخط هو عكس ذلك: تحصل على المزيد من الأعاصير خلال النينو وأقل خلال النينيا. فيجي بين هذه المناطق ، لذلك تحصل على بعض الشيء.

نحن أيضا لا نعرف كيف يؤثر تغير المناخ على الأعاصير في جنوب المحيط الهادئ. بعض التحليلات تشير إلى الأعاصير هي تتبع أبعد الجنوب. لكن من السابق لأوانه القول كيف أن تغير المناخ ربما يكون قد أثر بالفعل على كثافة الأعاصير في منطقتنا.

المؤلف: كيفن والش ، القارئ ، كلية علوم الأرض ، جامعة ملبورن

ظهرت على المحادثة

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = cyclone climate؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Your Guide To Cyclone Science

environment

Your Guide To Cyclone Science
2016-02-12 Cyclones Tatiana & Winston. Photo credit: Flickr

Cyclone Winston struck Fiji on February 20, 2016, leaving a trail of destruction.

Winston was a Category 5 cyclone (the strongest rating) with reported wind speeds of almost 300 km per hour. This made it among the strongest cyclones ever to make landfall globally, and the strongest recorded in the Southern Hemisphere.

Cyclone behaviour

Cyclones form over warm water, typically above 26℃. This largely confines them to forming in tropical latitudes, although once formed they can then move outside the tropics.

In the South Pacific, typically around nine tropical cyclones are recorded on average each year, but there’s a lot of variability year to year. They are most common in January through to March, but can occur as early as November or as late as May.

In the past 30 years or so, several severe tropical cyclones have affected Fiji, so it’s not unusual for Fiji to experience severe cyclones.

The figure for Cyclone Winston of wind speeds of up to 300 km per hour refers to sustained wind speed, averaged over 10 minutes. Sustained wind is typically used for measuring cyclone intensity, but damage is also related to wind gusts, which are measured over much shorter periods. Cyclone Winston reportedly produced gusts up to 325 km per hour.

Cyclone observers measure wind speeds in two ways. First, they can estimate the speed from satellite images. Very intense tropical cyclones have a very pronounced eye and are very symmetrical, and there are graphical relationships between those images and direct wind measurements. In the Atlantic Ocean wind speeds in severe cyclones (known there as hurricanes) are measured using planes. The other method is to use wind observations on the ground.

Cyclone Winston took a very unusual track towards Fiji, performing a “loop-the-loop”. It started west of Fiji before moving south, then back to the north, and finally approaching Fiji from the east.

The strongest winds for Southern Hemisphere tropical cyclones are on the left of the cyclone, because that’s where the winds are adding to the forward motion of the storm. To figure out which side of a cyclone is which, stand facing the direction in which the cyclone is moving. The cyclone’s left is then your left. So for Cyclone Winston approaching Fiji from the east, the left-hand side of the storm was to the south.

This is also the region where the storm surge is highest. A storm surge is a dome of water pushed ahead of the storm. In some locations in Fiji there is also the potential for storm surge as well as strong winds.

Typically, cyclones are pushed around by a combination of factors. Often they are pushed around by winds averaged through the depth of the atmosphere (from the surface to 10,000 metres or so). So if the wind direction is unusual here, then the cyclone may track in an unusual direction. Other factors related to the rotation of the earth may also cause a cyclone to track in weird directions.

Is climate change affecting cyclones?

It’s difficult to say what the trends are in cyclone intensity in the South Pacific, as only limited data are available since the 1980s. Trend analyses in this region have given ambiguous results. Frequency of cyclones in the Australian region has been decreasing in recent decades. In the South Pacific region as a whole, trends appear weak.

We have just seen the peak of one of the strongest El Niño events on record. El Niño is related to the movement of warm water in the Pacific Ocean, so it’s not surprising that it has an influence on cyclones.

Typically, during El Niño events, cyclones form and track further east in the South Pacific. So places that don’t typically see cyclones, such as Tahiti, sometimes experience them during El Niño.

In the South Pacific, if you’re west of the longitude 170⁰ east – just west of Fiji – you get more tropical cyclones during La Niña and fewer during El Niño. East of that line it’s the opposite: you get more cyclones during El Nino and fewer during La Niña. Fiji is between those zones, so gets a bit of both.

We also don’t know how climate change is affecting cyclones in the South Pacific. Some analyses suggest cyclones are tracking further south. But it’s too early to say how climate change may have already affected cyclone intensity in our region.

Authors: Kevin Walsh, Reader, School of Earth Sciences, University of Melbourne

Appeared On The Conversation

Related Books

Global perspectives on tropical cyclones: from science to mitigation (World Scientific Series on Asia-pacific Weather and Climate)
environmentAuthor: Johnny CL Chan
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Wspc
List Price: $141.00

Buy Now

Radar Meteorology: A First Course (Advancing Weather and Climate Science)
environmentAuthor: Robert M. Rauber
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell
List Price: $80.00

Buy Now

Cyclone
environmentAuthor: Robert Peake
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Nine Arches Press

Buy Now

environment
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!