كانت أنتاركتيكا ذات يوم دافئ مثل كاليفورنيا

كانت أنتاركتيكا ذات يوم دافئ مثل كاليفورنيا"إن الاحترار في هذه المناطق له عواقب وخيمة على المناخ بما يفوق ارتفاع خطوط العرض بسبب دوران المحيطات وذوبان الجليد القطبي الذي يؤدي إلى ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر". (Photo Credit: كريستوفر ميشال / فليكر)

ويقول علماء استخدموا طريقة جديدة لقياس درجات الحرارة في الماضي إن أجزاء من القارة القطبية الجنوبية القديمة كانت شاسعة مثل ساحل كاليفورنيا الحالي.

وركزت الدراسة على أنتاركتيكا خلال حقبة الإيوسين ، 40 إلى 50 منذ ملايين السنين ، وهي فترة ذات تركيزات عالية من CO2 في الغلاف الجوي ، وبالتالي مناخ الاحتباس الحراري.

اليوم ، أنتاركتيكا ، على مدار السنة ، واحدة من أبرد الأماكن على وجه الأرض ، وتصبح القارة الداخلية هي أبرد مكان ، مع متوسط ​​درجات حرارة الأرض السنوية أقل بكثير من الصفر درجة فهرنهايت.

والنتائج التي نشرت في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلومويشدد الباحثون على احتمال زيادة الدفء في أقطاب الأرض وما يرتبط بذلك من خطر ذوبان الجليد القطبي وارتفاع مستويات البحار.

ولكنها لم تكن دائما بهذه الطريقة ، ويمكن أن تساعد القياسات الجديدة في تحسين النماذج المناخية المستخدمة للتنبؤ بالمناخ المستقبلي ، وفقا لأستاذ مشارك في البحوث هاجيت أفيك ، والجيوفيزياء في جامعة ييل.

يقول أفيك: "إن قياس درجات الحرارة في الماضي يساعدنا على فهم حساسية النظام المناخي لغازات الاحتباس الحراري ، وخاصة تضخيم ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري في المناطق القطبية".

أجرى المؤلف الرئيسي للورقة ، بيتر إم جي دوغلاس ، البحث كطالب دراسات عليا في مختبر يالك التابع لشركة Affek. وهو الآن باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا. شمل فريق البحث علماء الأحافير ، والكيمياء الجيولوجية ، والفيزياء المناخية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة كانت مماثلة لولاية كاليفورنيا وفلوريدا اليوم

من خلال قياس تركيزات النظائر النادرة في الأصداف الأحفورية القديمة ، وجد العلماء أن درجات الحرارة في أجزاء من القارة القطبية الجنوبية وصلت إلى درجة 17 مئوية (63F) خلال العصر الأيوسيني ، بمتوسط ​​14 درجة مئوية (57F) - مماثلة إلى المعدل السنوي درجة الحرارة قبالة ساحل كاليفورنيا اليوم.

يقول الباحثون إن درجات حرارة الإيوسين في أجزاء من جنوب المحيط الهادئ قد قيست درجة 22 Centigrade (أو حوالي 72F) ، وهو ما يشبه درجات حرارة مياه البحر بالقرب من فلوريدا اليوم.

اليوم ، يبلغ متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة السنوية لحوض المحيط الهادئ الجنوبي بالقرب من أنتاركتيكا حوالي 0 درجة مئوية.

لم تكن درجات حرارة المحيطات القديمة هذه موزعة بشكل موحد في جميع أنحاء مناطق المحيط المتجمد الجنوبي - حيث كانت أعلى في الجانب الجنوبي من المحيط الهادئ من أنتاركتيكا - ويقول الباحثون إن هذه النتيجة تشير إلى أن التيارات البحرية أدت إلى اختلاف في درجات الحرارة.

الاحترار العالمي هو الاحترار القطبي

يقول دوجلاس: "من خلال قياس درجات الحرارة الماضية في أجزاء مختلفة من القارة القطبية الجنوبية ، فإن هذه الدراسة تعطينا رؤية أكثر وضوحًا عن مدى حرارة القارة القطبية الجنوبية عندما احتوى الغلاف الجوي للأرض على كمية أكبر بكثير من كوكومونكس أكثر من اليوم".

"نحن نعرف الآن أنه كان دافئا في جميع أنحاء القارة ، ولكن أيضا أن بعض الأجزاء كانت أكثر دفئا بكثير من غيرها. وهذا يوفر دليلاً قوياً على أن الاحترار العالمي واضح بشكل خاص بالقرب من أقطاب الأرض. إن الاحترار في هذه المناطق له عواقب وخيمة على المناخ إلى ما وراء الارتفاعات العالية بسبب دوران المحيطات وذوبان الجليد القطبي الذي يؤدي إلى ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر.

الأصداف الأحفورية

ولتحديد درجات الحرارة القديمة ، قام العلماء بقياس وفرة نظيرتين نادرتين متشابهتين في بعضهما البعض في القذائف ذات الصمامين الأحفوري اللذان جمعتهما الكاتبة المشاركة ليندا إيفاني من جامعة سيراكيوز في جزيرة سيمور ، وهي جزيرة صغيرة تقع قبالة الجانب الشمالي الشرقي من شبه الجزيرة القطبية الجنوبية.

يقول الباحثون إن تركيز الروابط بين الكربون 13 والأكسجين 18 يعكس درجة الحرارة التي نمت بها الأصداف. وجمعوا هذه النتائج مع مقاييس حرارة جغرافية ومحاكاة نماذج أخرى. تدعى تقنية القياس الجديدة مقياس كربونات النظائر المشعة.

"لقد نجحنا في دمج البيانات من مجموعة متنوعة من التقنيات الجيوكيميائية في الظروف البيئية السابقة مع محاكاة نماذج المناخ لتعلم شيئًا جديدًا حول كيفية عمل نظام المناخ في الأرض في ظروف مختلفة عن حالته الحالية" ، يقول Affek. "تقدم هذه النتيجة مجتمعة صورة أكمل من أي من النهجين يمكن أن يكون من تلقاء نفسها".

المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم ، شتات أويل ، والمجلس الأوروبي للبحوث دعمت البحث.

المادة المصدر: جامعة ييل
البحث: دراسة الأصلية


عن المؤلف

إريك غيرشون ، مسؤول اتصالات أول ، الاتصالات الخارجية ، جامعة ييلإيريك غيرشون هو كبير موظفي الاتصالات (في الاتصالات الخارجية) في جامعة ييل مكتب الشؤون العامة والاتصالات. يكتب النشرات الإخبارية حول موضوعات العلوم. تخرج من جامعة ويسليان في ميدلتاون ، كونيتيكت ، وحصل على درجة الماجستير في الصحافة من جامعة كولومبيا.


أوصى الكتاب:

تحذير عالمي: الفرصة الأخيرة للتغيير
بول براون.

تحذير عالمي: الفرصة الأخيرة من أجل التغيير بول براون.تحذير عالمي هو كتاب رسمي ومذهلة بصريا، فريدة من نوعها في نهجها. في حين أن معظم الدراسات الحالية حول هذا الموضوع غير العلمي للغاية، هدف هذا الكتاب هو تثقيف الجمهور بوجه عام. الرسومات والخرائط والنصوص شديد اللهجة، وصور قوية تظهر محنة التي يواجهها العالم بالفعل. لهجة جادة، ولكن في النهاية إيجابية وتلخص ما نحن جميعا بحاجة إلى القيام به لحماية مستقبلنا. ويقدم تقييما صادقا من الوضع الحرج، وبعض النصائح العملية حول حلول - سواء إجراء تعديلات صغيرة في الحياة اليومية، أو رفع مستوى الوعي العام في جميع أنحاء العالم. الكتاب يجمع بين معان من كتاب طاولة القهوة مع الصحافة وعمق صحيفة القطع الكبير.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

10 27 هناك تحول جديد في النموذج اليوم
نقلة نوعية جديدة اليوم في الفيزياء والوعي
by إرفين لازلو وبيير ماريو بيافا
أسباب 3 لديك آلام الرقبة
أسباب 3 لديك آلام الرقبة
by كريستيان ورسفولد
لماذا يحتضن الأمريكيون منتجات اللحوم النباتية؟
لماذا يحتضن الأمريكيون منتجات اللحوم النباتية؟
by شيريل كيرشنباوم ودوغلاس بوهلر

Antarctica Was Once As Warm As California

Antarctica Was Once As Warm As California"Warming in these regions has significant consequences for climate well beyond the high latitudes due to ocean circulation and melting of polar ice that leads to sea level rise." (Photo Credit: Christopher Michel/Flickr)

Parts of ancient Antarctica were as toasty as today’s California coast, say scientists who used a new method to measure past temperatures.

The study focused on Antarctica during the Eocene epoch, 40 to 50 million years ago, a period with high concentrations of atmospheric CO2 and consequently a greenhouse climate.

Today, Antarctica is, year-round, one of the coldest places on Earth, and the continent’s interior is the coldest place, with annual average land temperatures far below zero degrees Fahrenheit.

The findings, published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, underscore the potential for increased warmth at Earth’s poles and the associated risk of melting polar ice and rising sea levels, the researchers says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But it wasn’t always that way, and the new measurements can help improve climate models used for predicting future climate, according to co-author Hagit Affek associate professor of geology and geophysics at Yale University.

“Quantifying past temperatures helps us understand the sensitivity of the climate system to greenhouse gases, and especially the amplification of global warming in polar regions,” Affek says.

The paper’s lead author, Peter M.J. Douglas, performed the research as a graduate student in Affek’s Yale laboratory. He is now a postdoctoral scholar at the California Institute of Technology. The research team included paleontologists, geochemists, and a climate physicist.

Average Temperatures Were Similar to California and Florida Today

By measuring concentrations of rare isotopes in ancient fossil shells, the scientists found that temperatures in parts of Antarctica reached as high as 17 degrees Celsius (63F) during the Eocene, with an average of 14 degrees Celsius (57F)—similar to the average annual temperature off the coast of California today.

Eocene temperatures in parts of the southern Pacific Ocean measured 22 degrees Centigrade (or about 72F), researchers says—similar to seawater temperatures near Florida today.

Today the average annual South Pacific sea temperature near Antarctica is about 0 degrees Celsius.

These ancient ocean temperatures were not uniformly distributed throughout the Antarctic ocean regions—they were higher on the South Pacific side of Antarctica—and researchers say this finding suggests that ocean currents led to a temperature difference.

Global Warming is Polar Warming

“By measuring past temperatures in different parts of Antarctica, this study gives us a clearer perspective of just how warm Antarctica was when the Earth’s atmosphere contained much more CO2 than it does today,” says Douglas.

“We now know that it was warm across the continent, but also that some parts were considerably warmer than others. This provides strong evidence that global warming is especially pronounced close to the Earth’s poles. Warming in these regions has significant consequences for climate well beyond the high latitudes due to ocean circulation and melting of polar ice that leads to sea level rise.”

Fossil Shells

To determine the ancient temperatures, the scientists measured the abundance of two rare isotopes bound to each other in fossil bivalve shells collected by co-author Linda Ivany of Syracuse University at Seymour Island, a small island off the northeast side of the Antarctic Peninsula.

The concentration of bonds between carbon-13 and oxygen-18 reflect the temperature in which the shells grew, the researchers says. They combined these results with other geo-thermometers and model simulations. The new measurement technique is called carbonate clumped isotope thermometry.

“We managed to combine data from a variety of geochemical techniques on past environmental conditions with climate model simulations to learn something new about how the Earth’s climate system works under conditions different from its current state,” Affek says. “This combined result provides a fuller picture than either approach could on its own.”

The National Science Foundation, Statoil, and the European Research Council supported the research.

Article Source: Yale University
Research: Original Study


About the Author

Eric Gershon, Senior Communications Officer, External Communications, Yale UniversityEric Gershon is Senior Communications Officer (in External Communications) at the Yale Office of Public Affairs and Communications. He writes news releases on science topics. He graduated from Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn., and received a master’s in journalism from Columbia.


Recommended Book:

Global Warning: The Last Chance for Change
by Paul Brown.

Global Warning: The Last Chance for Change by Paul Brown.Global Warning is an authoritative and visually stunning book, unique in its approach. While most of the current literature on the subject is highly scientific, this book's aim is to educate the public at large. Graphics and maps, hard-hitting text, and powerful pictures show the plight the world is already facing. The tone is serious, but ultimately positive and outlines what we all need to do to safeguard our future. It provides an honest appraisal of a critical situation, and some practical advice about solutions - whether making small adjustments in everyday life, or raising public awareness across the globe. The book combines the gloss of a coffee-table book with the journalism and depth of a broadsheet newspaper.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}