غرينلاند الجليدي يذوب بمعدل متسارع

غرينلاند الجليدي يذوب بمعدل متسارع

وقد بلغ ارتفاع درجات الحرارة في القطب الشمالي الآن الأجزاء الشمالية من الغطاء الجليدي في غرينلاند. بعد فترة طويلة من الاستقرار (أكثر من 25 عاما)، وقد وجدنا في دراسة جديدة في المنطقة أن الجزء الشمالي الشرقي من الغطاء الجليدي لم يعد مستقرًا. وهذا يعني أن مستويات البحار العالمية قد ترتفع حتى أسرع مما كان متوقعًا في السابق.

الغطاء الجليدي في غرينلاند عبارة عن كتلة جليدية من الجليد تغطي تقريباً نسبة 80٪ من سطح جرينلاند. يحتوي الجزء الشمالي الشرقي على واحدة من أطول الجداول الجليدية (أنهار الجليد) ويستنزف مساحة كبيرة. كان يعتقد سابقا أن يكون باردا جدا وبالتالي مستقرة.

توضح دراستنا الجديدة كيف أنه ، على مدى السنوات الثماني الماضية ، فقد بالفعل كمية متزايدة من الجليد. تظهر صور الأقمار الصناعية أن معدل فقدان الجليد هنا هو الآن ثاني أكبر في جرينلاند - تجاوزه فقط نهر جاكوبسهافن الجليدي.

مشيرا إلى ميس التوقعات

وهذا يعني أن النماذج الأخرى قد قللت من قيمة الخسارة الكلية للكتلة وبالتالي مساهمات غرينلاند في المستقبل في التغير العالمي لمستوى سطح البحر. وحتى الآن ، لم تؤد حسابات الارتفاعات المستقبلية لمستويات سطح البحر إلى الإسهام الكبير في تدفق الجليد إلى المحيط من هذا الجزء من غرينلاند. نشرت دراستنا الجديدة في Nature Nature Change ، تشير إلى هذا التوقع الخاطئ.

وقد اقترحت العديد من نُهج النمذجة المستخدمة لتقييم الارتفاعات المستقبلية لمستوى سطح البحر أن القطاع الشمالي الشرقي من الغطاء الجليدي مستقر نسبياً وبالتالي لا يساهم في أي خسارة كبيرة في كتلة الجليد. لقد استخدموا البيانات من العقد الماضي لنموذج مساهمة الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند في ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر بواسطة 2100 ، لكنهم لا يفترضون أي خسارة جماعية في شمال شرق جرينلاند ، وهو أمر غير صحيح.

ورقة جريلاند جريلانديمكن ملاحظة انخفاض في الغطاء الجليدي في السنوات الأخيرة. (شفقت خان خان وآخرون)

استخدمت دراستنا مجموعة من الصور الجوية القديمة من 1978 ، وملاحظات الأقمار الصناعية الحديثة لقياس رقة الأنهار الجليدية في جرينلاند. معا ، فإنها تظهر أن التخفيف من 1978 إلى 2003 في الشمال الشرقي كان محدودا للغاية. ولكن ، منذ 2006 هناك بوضوح خسارة كتلة متواصلة في هذا القسم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ويرجع هذا الفقدان المتزايد إلى مزيج من درجات حرارة الهواء الدافئ في الصيف ودرجات حرارة البحر الدافئة. لقد أدى هذا الاحترار الإقليمي إلى خفض درجة الجليد البحري حول الغطاء الجليدي ، الأمر الذي له تأثير على استقرار الهوامش الجليدية.

على عكس الأنهار الجليدية الكبيرة الأخرى في غرينلاند ، تحتوي الطبقة الجليدية في شمال شرق البلاد على تيار جليدي ، يصل إلى أكثر من 600km مباشرة إلى داخلها. هذا يعني أن التغيرات في الهامش يمكن أن تؤثر على التوازن الشامل العميق في وسط الغطاء الجليدي. إن حقيقة أن فقدان الجليد هذا مرتبط بتيار جليدي رئيسي يربط الجليد من أعماق الجزء الداخلي من الغطاء الجليدي يضيف مزيدًا من القلق بشأن ما قد يحدث. نظرًا للحجم الهائل للمجرى الجليدي في شمال شرق جرينلاند ، فإن لديه القدرة على تغيير إجمالي التوازن للغطاء الجليدي بشكل كبير في المستقبل القريب.

ملاحظات جديدة ومفاجئة

وحقيقة أن الانخفاض العام في الغطاء الجليدي في غرينلاند قد ازداد بشكل عام خلال العقود القليلة الماضية أمر معروف جيدا. لكن المساهمة المتزايدة من الجزء الشمالي الشرقي البارد جداً من الغطاء الجليدي خلال السنوات السبع إلى الثماني الأخيرة هي جديدة ومفاجئة للغاية. على مدار العقد الماضي ، تراجعت واجهة النهر الجليدي بحوالي 20km من الساحل. هذا مقارنة مع تراجع 35km من Jakobshavn glacier في دفء غرينلاند الغربية خلال السنوات الماضية 150.

ساهم الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند أكثر من أي كتلة جليدية أخرى في ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر خلال العقدين الماضيين. وهو يمثل زيادة في متوسط ​​المستويات في جميع أنحاء العالم من 0.5mm سنويا ، من إجمالي الزيادة في 3.2mm سنويا. إذا ذاب تماما ، فإن الغطاء الجليدي لديه القدرة على رفع مستوى سطح البحر بأكثر من سبعة أمتار.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على المحادثة


خان شفقتنبذة عن الكاتب

شفقت عباس خان باحث أول في الجيوديسيا في معهد الفضاء الوطني في الجامعة التقنية في الدنمارك. وهو عالم كبير في الجيوديسيا ، وهو فرع من الرياضيات التطبيقية وعلوم الأرض التي تتعامل مع قياس حجم وشكل الأرض.


أوصى الكتاب:

العد التنازلي: آخر ، أفضل أمل لمستقبل على الأرض؟
من جانب آلان وايزمان.

العد التنازلي: آخر ، أفضل أمل لمستقبل على الأرض؟ من جانب آلان وايزمان.يزور آلان وايزمان مجموعة غير عادية من ثقافات العالم ، والأديان ، والقوميات ، والقبائل ، والأنظمة السياسية لمعرفة ما في معتقداتهم أو تواريخهم أو الليتورجية أو الظروف الحالية قد يوحي بأنه في بعض الأحيان يكون من مصلحتهم الخاصة الحد من نموهم. والنتيجة هي عمل بارز في إعداد التقارير: مدمر ، وعاجل ، ومتفائل في النهاية. بتفصيل واضح للتأثيرات المزدهرة لوجودنا المتراكم ، العد التنازلي يكشف عن ما قد يكون أسرع الطرق وأكثرها قبولا وعمليًا وميسورة التكلفة لإعادة كوكبنا ووجودنا فيه لتحقيق التوازن. كتاب له رسالة مقنعة لدرجة أنه سيغير طريقة رؤيتنا لحياتنا ومصيرنا.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Greenland Ice Sheet Is Melting At An Accelerating Rate

Greenland Ice Sheet Is Melting At An Accelerating Rate

Warming in the Arctic has now reached the northernmost sections of the Greenland ice sheet. After a long period of stability (more than 25 years), we have found in a new study of the region that the northeast section of the ice sheet is no longer stable. This means global sea levels may rise even faster than was previously anticipated.

The Greenland ice sheet is a vast body of ice covering roughly 80% of the surface of Greenland. The northeast portion has one of the longest ice streams (rivers of ice) and drains a huge area. It was previously thought to be very cold and therefore stable.

Our new study shows how, over the past eight years, it has actually lost an increasing amount of ice. Satellite images show that the ice loss rate here is now the second largest in Greenland – only exceeded by the Jakobshavn Glacier.

Pointing Out Mis-predictions

This means that other models have underestimated the total mass loss and thus Greenland’s future contributions to global sea level change. To date, calculations of future rises in sea levels have not accounted for the large contribution of ice flowing into the ocean from this part of Greenland. Published in Nature Climate Change, our new study points out this mis-prediction.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Many modelling approaches used to assess future sea level rises have suggested that the northeastern sector of the ice sheet is relatively stable and therefore not contributing to any significant ice mass loss. They have used data from the last decade to model the Greenland ice sheet’s contribution to sea level rise by 2100, but they assume no mass loss in northeast Greenland, which is incorrect.

greeland ice sheetDeclines in the ice sheet can be seen in recent years. (Shfaqat A. Khan et al.)

Our study used a combination of old aerial photographs from 1978, and modern satellite observations to measure the thinning of Greenland’s glaciers. Together, they show that the thinning from 1978 to 2003 in the northeast was very limited. But, since 2006 there has clearly been a sustained mass loss in this section.

This increased loss is due to a combination of warmer summer air temperatures and warmer sea temperatures. This regional warming has reduced the extent of sea ice around the ice sheet, which has a stabilising effect on the glacier margins.

Unlike other large glaciers in Greenland, the Northeast ice sheet has an ice stream, which reaches more than 600km directly into its interior. This implies that changes at the marginal can affect the mass balance deep in the centre of the ice sheet. The fact that this ice loss is associated with a major ice stream that channels ice from deep in the interior of the ice sheet does add additional concern about what might happen. Due to the huge size of the Northeast Greenland ice stream, it has the potential to significantly change the total balance of the ice sheet overall in the near future.

New And Surprising Observations

The fact that the overall decline of the Greenland ice sheet has generally increased over the past few decades is well known. But the increasing contribution from the very cold northeastern part of the ice sheet during the last seven to eight years is new and very surprising. Over the past decade the front of the glacier has retreated by about 20km from the coast. This compares with a 35km retreat of the Jakobshavn glacier in warmer, western Greenland over the last 150 years.

The Greenland ice sheet has contributed more than any other ice mass to sea-level rise over the past two decades. It accounts for an increase in average levels around the world of 0.5mm per year, out of a total increase of 3.2mm per year. If completely melted, the ice sheet has the potential to raise global sea level by more than seven metres.

This article originally appeared on The Conversation


khan shfaqatAbout The Author

Shfaqat Abbas Khan is Senior Researcher in Geodesy at the National Space Institute at Technical University of Denmark. He is a senior scientist in Geodesy, a branch of applied mathematics and earth sciences that deals with measuring the size and shape of the Earth.


Recommended Book:

Countdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth?
by Alan Weisman.

Countdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth? by Alan Weisman.Alan Weisman visits an extraordinary range of the world's cultures, religions, nationalities, tribes, and political systems to learn what in their beliefs, histories, liturgies, or current circumstances might suggest that sometimes it's in their own best interest to limit their growth. The result is a landmark work of reporting: devastating, urgent, and, ultimately, deeply hopeful. By vividly detailing the burgeoning effects of our cumulative presence, Countdown reveals what may be the fastest, most acceptable, practical, and affordable way of returning our planet and our presence on it to balance. A book whose message is so compelling that it will change how we see our lives and our destiny.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}